Travel Travel To Japan V3, Info on pg1

Lester1987
post Aug 17 2013, 03:28 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Aug 16 2013, 10:20 AM)
Just a question.
I was in Japan in Dec 2012, Osaka > Kyoto > Tokyo > Osaka.
10 Days free and easy tour.

While in Tokyo, i seem to be experiencing giddiness/sudden blackout and loose balance. It still occurs for 2 weeks after Im back from Japan. Medical result showed nothing. Wonder if caused by radiation.
Anyone experience this?

Anyway I will be going to Hokkaido > Osaka in Feb 2014. Further away from Fukushima
can share your itinerary? I will be going to Osaka in October, 18th - 27th. 9 days. flight ticket bought. But still haven plan what to do there.
Any suggestion? go to tokyo i guess. Is the JR pass worth puchasing? its around 300 USD for 7 days.
Lester1987
post Aug 17 2013, 03:32 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(investor77 @ Aug 17 2013, 03:13 PM)
Had an enjoyable trip to Japan, covering Tokyo, Osaka, Hiroshima within 9 days 8 nights, using 7 day JRPass.

Using Air Asia X to Haneda Airport, arrive at 11pm, but yet still make it to Keikyu line to \tokyo as Immigratn and Customs took around 45 minutes.  Then to vending machine to buy 590 Yen ticket and took the line before 12 mid night to reach Hotel Vintage at Shinjuku just before 1.00 morning.  Thanks to the Forum.

JRPass is very useful but if you foret to bring it, they will not let you in as our group experience this delay. We were worried about lugguage space in Trains, but really no worry as some Mat Salleh used very big lugguage which they put on top of their seat railings and behind the last seat row.  We only use 20 inch bag, thinking cumbersome to move in the train.  However on some platforms, you simply haave to lift/carry your lugguage as there are only steps, no escaltor or elevator to roll your lugguage.

In Osaka, there is a JR Osaka loop like the Yamanote loop in \tokyo, but to reach places faster and in many places, have to use other lines.  We had to use Midosuji line to our Hotel in Nagahori, ( Ark hotel, Shinsaibashi ), as it is more direct rather than JR loop as it does not cover this area.  Shinsaibashi is nice shopping area and the hotel room better than in Tokyo.

In Shinsaibashi and Namba, there are areas of underground shopping.  Dotonburi, Osaka is nice shopping area with bargains during evening time.  JRPass is worth it as we can use Shinkassen to Kyoto, Hiroshima, Odawara, but better to book a reserved Hikari or Sakura Shinkassen rather than KOdama as it stops at almost all stations along the route.  Journey from Hiroshima to Shin Osaka took us 3 hours by Kodama.  Hikari from Tokyo to Shin-Osaka also stops at some towns, like Yokohama, Odawara, etc.  All major shinkassen stops at Shin-Osaka, where you can then transfer to JROsaka / Umeda to your Hotel.  Departure to Kansai Airport , must use Tennoji station.

Due to lots of people using trian stations, you can get lost as there are many exits, many lines, and many platforms at the Stations like Osaka/ Umeda, Tennoji, which you must take in order to reach your destinations.

Managed to try Kobe Beef at Osaka.  Overall had a nice time in Japan.
hi bro... can tell me in more detail about the trip?? like how many days should i spend in Osaka and how many days in Tokyo & Kyoto? my departure and arrival are both in Osaka as I got the MAS promo ticket for RM900+ 2 way. Also which day u actually use the JR pass since u go for 9 days, which means there is 2 days u will not get covered.
Lester1987
post Oct 20 2013, 09:34 PM

2,017 posts

In Tokyo now. This is my 2nd day in Japan... I find it quite suffering..

1. All their restaurant serve food without spoon. Only chopstick....
2. Those Japanese can hear me speaking Cantonese with my brother. But still keep speaking Japanese with us.
I don't understand it. I already tell them sorry I am not Japanese. Then order food by pointing at the picture on the menu. They still keep reply me in Japanese.. Why!!!!

3. I find that the people there are less friendly. They won't talk to foreigners. The only place that I find their people is a bit helpful is the JR station. Mayb bcoz I holder a green class JR pass?

Sifus please teach me how to integrate with them better or at least a easier way to get them help me.. I am finding this trip hard and very hard for me to enjoy and I still have 7 days to go cry.gif
Lester1987
post Oct 21 2013, 07:42 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Oct 21 2013, 04:23 PM)
I am in Tokyo now. I speak English they replied to me in Japanese but no problem, chicken and duck talking. With universal sign language, surprisingly we understand each other  biggrin.gif

I bought Lonely Planet phrase book & get some help from reception to write me in Japanese things that I need to know. This is my 3rd day, so far so good.

Is not their are not friendly, sometimes they are shy. Pls do not mistaken they are not friendly to tourist/foreigner. Learn some Japanese useful phrase. It keeps you connect with the locals.
Thanks bro... After my 3rd day. Things start to get better. At least now I got no problem with getting food or finding a spoon laugh.gif
Went to odaiba and Ueno today. I think tomorrow should be shinjuku and shinagawa. Wanted to get some AV before go back.
Another thing I notice is even I stay near akihabara. The shops tend to close early. Around 8pm, 70% of shops are closed .
And any suggestion of where I can get some AV DVD with good price? Akirabara all stall sell animated AV.
I want real person one. Don't want cartoon..
Lester1987
post Oct 21 2013, 10:48 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 21 2013, 08:09 PM)
You can buy but u can't get through Malaysia Custom.  They will confiscated.
Malaysia side easy settle. No problem one. Where is the best place to buy??

FYI I bought some adult magazine back to Malaysia when I go Hong Kong last time. No problem going through kastam.

This post has been edited by Lester1987: Oct 21 2013, 10:49 PM

0.0408sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:26 AM