Travel Travel To Japan V3, Info on pg1

PhungTM
post Jul 28 2013, 05:43 PM

585 posts

Hi guys,
I'll be going to Osaka on the CNY. From the website, it says the day ends early ( sunset at 5pm+ ). Does that mean the shops that open during the day will close early too? Like in the western countries?
PhungTM
post Jul 29 2013, 03:46 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 29 2013, 08:24 AM)
Japan most shop closed at 10pm.
Oh thanks. Is shopping for clothes there cheap? compared to in Msia.
I'm planning to slot in shopping time in Shinsaibashi if its cheap, if not i'll plan another place to visit.
And I heard that the clothes there follows season, if im going in the winter season then all the clothes are gonna be winter clothes?
PhungTM
post Aug 3 2013, 07:41 PM

585 posts

If I were to reach at Osaka at 9am, is there any place to put our luggage? The hotel check-in is around 3pm right. I don't want to carry our big luggage here and there while sightseeing.
PhungTM
post Aug 16 2013, 06:57 PM

585 posts

RegentCid
I am staying in Osaka for 7 days, so my hotels are booked there.
Can I do Fushimi Inari shrine, kinkakuji, ginkakuji, kiyomizu temple and higashiyama district in 2 days? Or will it be too rushed?
Planning my itinerary. thanks

This post has been edited by PhungTM: Aug 16 2013, 06:58 PM
PhungTM
post Aug 16 2013, 07:42 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Aug 16 2013, 07:19 PM)
of course can, depend on u schedule. fushimi is at south, u can combine ginkakuji,higashiyama, kiyomizu at one days but will be rush.. visit gion/potoncho at night.
if u know, kinkakuji is at north. u only have 2 days at kyoto?
I'm planning to visit Osaka, Nara and Kyoto in 7 days. So maybe i can put 3 days in Kyoto and a day in Nara. It looks like a lot of walking so maybe my grandmother needs some time ( she's used to walking in Aussie )
PhungTM
post Aug 16 2013, 09:38 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(menmissed @ Aug 16 2013, 07:59 PM)
i see. then u shouldnt plan so tight. nara just a day trip. u can consider combine nara with fushimi.
3 day in kyoto is ngam ngam. 1 day arashiyama, 1 day higashiyama, 1 day central kyoto. u can combine subway and citybus. got higashiyama and central, city bus are just well connected to all attraction. mind to share when u go? different period can see different scene at japan.
I'm going on end of January - early Feb. Probably not much to see as its still winter. Any recommendation?
Is the city bus there efficient? I don't really like to take bus with Malaysia's experience.
PhungTM
post Aug 17 2013, 02:13 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Aug 17 2013, 01:10 PM)
My Data SIM Card when I'm on free & easy trip in Hokkaido / Tokyo last month ..

[attachmentid=3586507]
Is 1GB SIM card more than enough for 7 days? Just going to use it for web surfing, chatting and maybe GPS. ( using iPad )
I was planning to get a pocket Wifi but it cost RM200+.

This post has been edited by PhungTM: Aug 17 2013, 02:14 PM
PhungTM
post Aug 26 2013, 09:23 PM

585 posts

To all sifus, here is my rough itinerary. Any advice is well appreciated icon_rolleyes.gif Thanks!

Day 1
Arrive Kansai Airport --> Aquarium ( buying nankai railway version of kaiyukan ticket at airport )
( Buying Kansai Thru pass for 3 days in airport also? )

Day 2
Osaka castle, Sumiyoshi Taisha

Day 3
Kiyomizudera, Higashiyama district, Kinkakuji

Day 4
Nijo Castle, Ginkakuji

Day 5
Fushimi Inari Taisha, Nara Park, Todaiji Temple

Day 6
USJ thumbup.gif
Is there any other places to buy the tickets from besides the entrance?

Day 7
Still thinking where to go ... Any advice? Its around winter season so scenery sightseeing is limited i think?

Day 8 - leave Japan in the morning

Oh and will be going to Dotonbori and Namba at night for few nights for nightlife/dinner I guess.
PhungTM
post Sep 20 2013, 08:08 PM

585 posts

Is Kansai Thru Pass worth it if I travel from Osaka > Kyoto > Osaka or Osaka > Nara > Osaka?
And is late-Jan and early-Feb peak season for USJ?
PhungTM
post Sep 21 2013, 09:42 AM

585 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 20 2013, 08:58 PM)
Study more on Nansai Thru pass then you should know how good it was.  BTW other than Kansai Thru Pass...You need another Pass for JR train.

Late Jan and early Feb still Winter Season.  Too cold if you ride Roller Coaster.  The Chill wind will blow you away.
Okay thanks, i'll study more on the passes. But i dont understand what the pass meant by 24 hours starting from first train to last train in a day hmm.gif
One more thing, Arashiyama is good for all the scenic views and stuff, but if its winter wont the scenery be kind of dead? unless its covered in snow.
Is it still a good place to go?
PhungTM
post Sep 22 2013, 12:40 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 20 2013, 08:58 PM)
Study more on Kansai Thru pass then you should know how good it was.  BTW other than Kansai Thru Pass...You need another Pass for JR train.

Late Jan and early Feb still Winter Season.  Too cold if you ride Roller Coaster.  The Chill wind will blow you away.
If I don't sit JR train that's still okay right? I'll be using other trains.
PhungTM
post Sep 22 2013, 02:52 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 22 2013, 02:38 PM)
If you want go USJ by Tran....you still need take JR train.
Oh i forgotten about that. Can I just buy to and fro tickets for the JR train?
I'll only be using JR train for USJ. Others will be using Kansai Thru Pass and Osaka Unlimited Pass.
PhungTM
post Sep 22 2013, 09:42 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 22 2013, 04:14 PM)
U got Kansai Thru pass u no need Osaka Unlimited Pass.

Visting Kansai still Kansai Thru pass + JR west rail Pass kansai Area are the best combo.
Because from Kansai Airport to Osaka / Kyoto.....The Limited express train Haruka is JR train.
My rough itinerary is like this:
Day 1 : Aquarium ( buying Aquarium ticket Nankai Railway version which don't need JR train i assume )
Day 2 : Osaka
Day 3 : USJ
Day 4 - Day 6 : Kyoto
Day 7 : Kyoto + Nara
Day 8 : Back Msia

Originally I was thinking of getting Kansai Thru Pass for Day 4-6 and Osaka Unlimited Pass for Day 2.
So now I just need Kansai Thru Pass only?
And JR train ( according to Google Map ) I rarely use. Except USJ and maybe back to Airport on Day 8.
Thanks for advice.
PhungTM
post Oct 10 2013, 03:26 PM

585 posts

If I were to enjoy my first time in hot spring, which will be a better choice?
Those secluded natural hot spring or big public onsen or something like SpaWorld?
Only in Osaka, Nara, Kyoto region. Thanks!
PhungTM
post Oct 20 2013, 01:00 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 19 2013, 03:36 PM)
December are peak time.  have to Queue 2 hour for ticket and Queue another 2 hour just for entrance .

Want sit rollercoaster have to Q 1 hour....sit marry go around 1 hour , see disney 3D movie ...1 hour......anything also 1 hour. Minimum also 30 minute
blink.gif ohmy.gif shocking.gif

nid so long? What about late Jan? Will there be many ppl since its winter. Less people will go right? icon_rolleyes.gif
PhungTM
post Dec 2 2013, 11:33 AM

585 posts

If I want to go to USJ from Osaka, can I just buy JR train seats like normal trains? Or do I have to reserve seats?
I only need a return ticket.

0.0523sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:33 AM