126 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V14

samual8833
post Sep 30 2013, 08:08 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Sep 30 2013, 01:01 AM)
only bus stops at hubs/mrt are designated to be legal ad posting areas... bus stops at residential areas that arent designated wont have ads lor
U mean the legal ads posting at bus interchange something like kranji or toa payoh interchange right?
post Sep 30 2013, 09:27 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Sep 29 2013, 11:08 PM)
Most probably is EP. If you're a degree holder.
Hi sam ,

How bout without degree and diploma ya .

poor_engineer
post Sep 30 2013, 09:50 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Sep 30 2013, 12:02 AM)
Im working near bugis area. Anyone can suggest where can I rent a room near to bugis? I prefer the place near hawker centre, mrt and bus stop.
Stay at Kallang area ba for cheaper rental. Kallang Bahru rental is very cheap and quite convenient to travel to town.
crazy25kid
post Sep 30 2013, 09:52 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 30 2013, 12:30 AM)
I am trying to give some figure for starting a family in SG, just like the listed living cost in the 1st page which is more to a single person. You can take the car out, but at least must have a roof over the family.

When foreigner come here they not local so HDB out straight away. Would take sometime to get PR. Some family cannot buy a HDB even after they become PR. New PRs - wait three years, only one PR other half home maker, dependent PR - like not eligible - this one I not sure, have properties overseas.

The smallest 2 bedroom condo 800-900 sq ft also cross the 1 mil mark already.

Personally I think car is a necessity when you have a family, especially with young kids. Not to bring out the X6, main point its the 50% down payment. MY 10% down payment, opt for Perodua if starting out, few k can get you a car. SG 50%, with COE its min 50-60k to come out with a car.

Hence my point, working in SG seems good in the beginning with cheaper goods, travel, exchange rate, but ultimately family is the final goal.
2 people's 8 years effort of breakfast at home, home cook lunch at pantry, home cook dinner at home, no luxury items, no cab, no personal holidays, downloaded drama at home, pirated movies.
Nah not show off or troll. Those numbers are the real thing you will need to face one day if you plan to stay here for sometime. Its like those people who say their single air con room rent is 600-700, they are not showing off or trolling our dorm bunny rabbit who rent a bed for 180. For the car may be, but its unintentional as mentioned.

appreciate your input on the house buying...but still, your example is seriously ridiculous.
you say that when foreigner (us) come at first, we cannot buy HDB as we are not PR straight away
true...then how do you even expect one to have CPF for the initial payment or afford payment for installments using CPF?
most will be unable afford the initial 30% payment required...most of us are already having problems with initial payment for HDB and you come suggesting a 1.6m condo?
and the car...as all have mentioned, is an even more absurd example.
maybe your true intent is to help...but it kinda feels like you trying to show off
seriously your examples are just plain trolling pretty much like the over sensitive long eared animal.

JohnJon82
post Sep 30 2013, 10:58 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(840812145195 @ Sep 30 2013, 09:27 AM)
Hi sam ,

Try this

http://sat.mom.gov.sg/satservlet

Ex colleague, 4k +, degree, SP
Ex colleague 4k, degree, EP

See officer mood maybe.

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Sep 30 2013, 09:52 AM)
appreciate your input on the house buying...but still, your example is seriously ridiculous.
you say that when foreigner (us) come at first, we cannot buy HDB as we are not PR straight away
true...then how do you even expect one to have CPF for the initial payment or afford payment for installments using CPF?
most will be unable afford the initial 30% payment required...most of us are already having problems with initial payment for HDB and you come suggesting a 1.6m condo?
and the car...as all have mentioned, is an even more absurd example.
maybe your true intent is to help...but it kinda feels like you trying to show off
seriously your examples are just plain trolling pretty much like the over sensitive long eared animal.
So much back fire lol. All think you showing off. Might as well tell them how much offer for the house you staying now. drool.gif 2nd gen 2nd gen mad.gif
Lissa22
post Sep 30 2013, 11:08 AM

21 posts

This post has been edited by Lissa22: Oct 4 2013, 10:49 AM
kurasu
post Sep 30 2013, 11:17 AM

32 posts

Hi, i am new here also. is looking for a place to stay for one month to find job. have been working here in malaysia doing sales for 2 years.I am planning to rent a room then everyday keep find job till i found one.
just wanna ask for advice or suggestions because i wanna start working in sg. at the meantime now i am also applying job in jobstreet =)
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 30 2013, 11:19 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Personally, if the intention is to start a family in Singapore, it makes no economic sense to retain your malaysian citizenship, and convert over to Singapore. (except for the cost of the 2 year PR that your kid has to face) - in which case, once you convert, you can then opt for the HDB flat. My personal view is, working in Singapore is better in the long run, if the intention is to build up a big pot of gold, send it back to malaysia (or wherever), and then live a less stressful life supported by that pot that you made here in SG...

(doesn't apply for the top 10% obviously)

Mackiddo
post Sep 30 2013, 11:45 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Sep 30 2013, 11:19 AM)
Personally, if the intention is to start a family in Singapore, it makes no economic sense to retain your malaysian citizenship, and convert over to Singapore. (except for the cost of the 2 year PR that your kid has to face) - in which case, once you convert, you can then opt for the HDB flat. My personal view is, working in Singapore is better in the long run, if the intention is to build up a big pot of gold, send it back to malaysia (or wherever), and then live a less stressful life supported by that pot that you made here in SG...

(doesn't apply for the top 10% obviously)
for me, security, medical facilities, education and a less corrupted society is the main consideration, less about $. Malaysia lack of that, seriously.
post Sep 30 2013, 12:00 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Sep 30 2013, 10:58 AM)
Try this

http://sat.mom.gov.sg/satservlet

Ex colleague, 4k +, degree, SP
Ex colleague 4k, degree, EP

See officer mood maybe.
So much back fire lol. All think you showing off. Might as well tell them how much offer for the house you staying now. drool.gif 2nd gen 2nd gen mad.gif
I have attach my professional cert together , not sure how was the approval rate on mom
samual8833
post Sep 30 2013, 01:13 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(840812145195 @ Sep 30 2013, 09:27 AM)
Hi sam ,

Depend on ur company whether what kind of pass they will help you to apply. Usually, if u r working in mnc company. Ur EP will much more easier to get approved. Now, I feel like whatever pass also the same. As we are foreigners. Even, im a EP holder, I feel like nothing to me!
post Sep 30 2013, 01:27 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ Sep 30 2013, 01:13 PM)
Depend on ur company whether what kind of pass they will help you to apply. Usually, if u r working in mnc company. Ur EP will much more easier to get approved. Now, I feel like whatever pass also the same. As we are foreigners. Even, im a EP holder, I feel like nothing to me!
Thanks sam , may i know how was the aproval rate ya ,
By the way , there is how many type of work permit ya .

witchx
post Sep 30 2013, 02:01 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(840812145195 @ Sep 30 2013, 01:27 PM)
Thanks sam , may i know how was the aproval rate ya ,
By the way , there is how many type of work permit ya .
There are 3 type of employment / work passes which are EP (Employment passs), SP (S Pass) and WP (Work permit)

By the way I have heard that if you are a WP holder before / still holding WP, you can't get married with Singaporean or Singaporean PR in Singapore.
JohnJon82
post Sep 30 2013, 02:21 PM

716 posts

QUOTE(witchx @ Sep 30 2013, 02:01 PM)
There are 3 type of employment / work passes which are EP (Employment passs), SP (S Pass) and WP (Work permit)

By the way I have heard that if you are a WP holder before / still holding WP, you can't get married with Singaporean or Singaporean PR in Singapore.
WP can't get pregnant or give birth here, talk about human rights...
deodorant
post Sep 30 2013, 02:30 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(witchx @ Sep 30 2013, 02:01 PM)

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Sep 30 2013, 02:21 PM)
WP can't get pregnant or give birth here, talk about human rights...

Singapore doesn't want uneducated idiots to dilute her High IQ gene pool lol. Anyways in general, the no qualifications WP holders will kana that limitation, not allowed to get pregnant and not allowed to marry a PR/Singaporean. The got qualifications WP holders (who have WP because of low salary) typically their approval will say they are exempt from that limitation.

Sos: Personal Experience, my Work Permit IPA got say 'you are exempt from dunno what need to get MOM approval before marrying a SC/PR.'

This post has been edited by deodorant: Sep 30 2013, 02:30 PM
JoeYoung
post Sep 30 2013, 03:11 PM

152 posts

Hi guys.
Anyone want to rent a common room at Simei? Only 300 meter to MRT station. I will be moving out end of Oct and you can deal direct with landlord. Nice cantonese speaking couple btw.

TSjasonkwk
post Sep 30 2013, 03:29 PM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Sep 30 2013, 02:30 PM)
Singapore doesn't want uneducated idiots to dilute her High IQ gene pool lol. Anyways in general, the no qualifications WP holders will kana that limitation, not allowed to get pregnant and not allowed to marry a PR/Singaporean. The got qualifications WP holders (who have WP because of low salary) typically their approval will say they are exempt from that limitation.

Sos: Personal Experience, my Work Permit IPA got say 'you are exempt from dunno what need to get MOM approval before marrying a SC/PR.'
deodorant, I think you mean "Controller of Work Passes".
kurasu
post Sep 30 2013, 03:53 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(JoeYoung @ Sep 30 2013, 03:11 PM)
Hi guys.
Anyone want to rent a common room at Simei? Only 300 meter to MRT station. I will be moving out end of Oct and you can deal direct with landlord. Nice cantonese speaking couple btw.
hi, where is simei btw? and can pm me more details on the rental? thks.
Mackiddo
post Sep 30 2013, 05:56 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(kurasu @ Sep 30 2013, 03:53 PM)
hi, where is simei btw? and can pm me more details on the rental? thks.
unless you got a work pass, no❌ one would rent a room to you.
kurasu
post Sep 30 2013, 06:46 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 30 2013, 05:56 PM)
unless you got a work pass, no❌ one would rent a room to you.
thanks for the info. so i am suppose to have a job first before i do anything there? like renting and etc?

126 Pages « < 106 107 108 109 110 > » Top

0.4061sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:27 AM