Working in Singapore V14

ThanatosSwiftfire
post May 27 2013, 10:24 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Eh I heard if apply in 6 months more likely to fail sad.gif I'm thinking whether to take a risk and apply now, or wait till 1 year and then apply...
ThanatosSwiftfire
post May 27 2013, 04:06 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ May 27 2013, 12:39 PM)
Thought you are acca member and some world medalist? Should be no problem for professional and world top. Know one case approved after 1 month working here.
So sour eh? Let it go laaaa notworthy.gif laugh.gif

ThanatosSwiftfire
post May 28 2013, 01:36 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Chill guys yo. chillax laugh.gif biggrin.gif
Hehe.

Anyway, I'll probably try my luck sometime next year then. Not gonna risk it. smile.gif
On forex, MYR is strengthening against SGD. Personally I suspect MYR will continue to strengthen against the back of post-election spending for the short term, so I'm thinking of holding back on sending cash back to KL.. But anyone here thinks I should still send cash back anyway?

Next question is.. anyone knows a good cheap massage (the clean and proper kind)? My muscles are sore all over from camping in front of my laptop all day sad.gif

ThanatosSwiftfire
post May 30 2013, 05:52 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 30 2013, 02:10 PM)
Just annual financial statements and audit for the ROS annual return. Besides that an annual tax return. Maybe because I was from the industry... will take me about 2-3 hours to do everything except the audit (which I can get any number of friends to sign off).

QUOTE(RabbitS)
Don't forget financing too.. Will bank finance a shell coy?
With you as the personal guarantor, yes.
Unless it's a singapore company, then you can make it an exempt private company then u don't have to audit..
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 5 2013, 04:26 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 5 2013, 03:22 PM)
Happens everywhere lah... in cities where the density is high and demand > supply.

Just look at Din Tai Fung... from their native Taiwan to SG and HK... always a big long queue during makan time.

My observation... this type of queuing happens in a public transport dependent city. Let's say you organise all your pakcik makcik, take an hour's walking, bus & MRT to get to the restaurant... and it happens to be crowded. What do you do? Walk away and come back another day? And eat at some other makan place that nobody wanted to go to in the first place? If you look for another desirable place to eat... it probably involves another hour of walking, bus & MRT? And no guarantees that there's no queue...

So once you're there... you feel committed already from all the time & public transport discomfort it took you to reach there.

Whereas in KL, if this shop got a lot of people, just get back into your car and drive to another nice shop to eat. And your car is just parked (illegally) in the street nearby. Singapore must park in HDB car park, or shopping center basement - and it probably took you a long time to find parking... so you really don't want to give it up after you park. Committed again.
Strange how this observation implies that in cities with higher public transport dependency, the range of competition shrinks. (in a sense)
You don't have to be the best in town, you just have to be the best in the vicinity.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 5 2013, 04:47 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 5 2013, 04:39 PM)
Of course. That's the whole premise behind the neighbourhood mom&pop store, 7-11, milkbar, Ramli Burger, coffeeshop, kedai runcit etc.

What they offer are convenience and proximity.
Hahaha. The car sorta ruined 7-11's business model in M'sia XD
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 6 2013, 05:37 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Are you spamming?
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jun 20 2013, 09:35 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Any company got work-from-home policy due to haze?

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 2 2013, 10:07 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Hmmm.. hiring spree is abit too strong a word.

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 7 2013, 02:26 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Yes. 5 months means u will be taxed as a non resident at a tax rate of about 20%
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 8 2013, 10:00 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(vincent829 @ Jul 7 2013, 03:05 PM)
Tax rates for non-resident individuals

Employment income
Your employment income is taxed at 15% or resident rate, whichever gives rise to a higher tax amount.

http://www.iras.gov.sg/irashome/page04.aspx?id=1190
Haha I stand corrected smile.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 8 2013, 11:28 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 8 2013, 11:09 AM)
That's why our mum ask us study good good lo. Y no listen lol but listen to those people saying GPA is not important bla bla bla. If the us, uk ivy league foreign graduate come here, normal local uni grad also need to step one side...
Deodorant, 7-8 years ago that time the salary is like that kind of range one. Local graduate around 2k, 8k is the high end investment banking guys liao. 3 bedroom condo in Bukit Timah only 600+ k  drool.gif .
It's only if you have the brains, willpower and stamina to be good enough to get into the Ivy League/Oxbridge. Above average doesn't quite cut it :'(
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 26 2013, 05:10 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Exchange rate veli good today. Anyone send money back? tongue.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 29 2013, 03:59 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Jul 29 2013, 03:57 PM)
I am very happy to receive the HDB approval letter for my purchase of a resale unit. Finally I can have my own place! the expected handover date is in mid September smile.gif

And tomorrow I will be registering P1 for my son under Phase 2C.

Will be more than happy to share the process (both HDB resale and P1 registration) when they are complete smile.gif
Congrats!!! smile.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 1 2013, 02:40 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Given that the newer generations these days are smaller family units, I actually think smaller, more affordable units are a good place to stay.
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 2 2013, 12:53 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

wahh damn good pay.
Regret never listen to my parents and join Singapore uni. (then again, i'm not hardworking enough for the top 10%)
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Aug 14 2013, 04:14 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

Genuine isolated incident. Genuine!
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 7 2013, 10:48 AM

Irregular
2,787 posts

One hill still got one hill higher, don't compare la XD do what makes you happy lor smile.gif
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 24 2013, 02:38 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

I definitely applaud the Singapore govt's initiatives to protect their own local people. That said, I'd like to see what are the detailed results and requirements of the 14 days issue and the open to local first

aka. Let's say there is an option to :

a. hire a local, but from interviews, not impressive and paywise is higher
b. hire a foreigner - competent, hardworking and asks for a lower salary than the singkie.
Would WDA allow the firms to still hire foreigners, or would this mean the local firms are forced to 'telan' the less competent local? (but from the sounds of it, it's just asking them to consider la.. )

Also, is the whole WDA job board thing going to bypass the other job boards. since essentially what this means is all job postings will now need to centrally go to this 'wda job board', since it has to go there anyway. So all the other boards such as jobsdb/monster/jobst etc are going to be redundant?

This post has been edited by ThanatosSwiftfire: Sep 24 2013, 02:50 PM
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Sep 28 2013, 09:11 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 28 2013, 01:10 PM)
Some figures for young couples want to start out with a home and car.

4 fully furnished bedroom condo next to upcoming MRT - got it below market rate, ex-owner got some financial problem, he need a lump sum cash immediately. Paid 30% cash deposit on booking for the deal. 1020/sq ft, total about 1.6 mil.

Downpayment 25%
ABSD 10% - due to one of the owner having other properties in SG, wholly own and co-own also count as 1. 5% for people with no property.
BSD - about 3%
Legal fee - 5k, partly on the house by a family friend. Heard the rate is 0.5% normally.
Agent fee - 3k. Not compulsory, only applicable to seller, but the agent spent a lot of effort helping us for the deal.
Bank loan fee - Few hundred, not a big amount.

Downpayment (partly), ABSD, BSD, legal fee can use CPF.

Dead broke after the 30% deposit. CPF also sucked dry.

Loan 800K from bank, repayment period 25 years, monthly payment about 4k (can use CPF, so basically only need a small amount of cash). Good thing when buy condo is can rent out immediately, not like HDB 5 years period. Current tenant rental 5.2k, so heehee! Good way to convert the monthly CPF contribution into cash. Maintanance fee about 500 though, paid by owner.

Car

A X6 cost about 400k with COE (about 85k), without COE the price is about the same as Malaysia I heard. Bad thing for SG is the 50% cash down payment. Monthly instalment about 2k for 10 years.
Lifestyles of the rich & the famous shocking.gif

0.0562sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:35 AM