Working in Singapore V14

deodorant
post May 31 2013, 03:46 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(fkp1 @ May 31 2013, 12:03 PM)
... was told that as foreigner it will be only be considered AFTER the citizens and PRs.

Apparently nobody told that to the hiring team in the banks based in CBP because during lunchtime it looks like Little India.
goldconnection
post May 31 2013, 06:07 PM

51 posts

If I want to apply jobs in Singapore, should I

1) include a photo on my CV?
2) State expected salary? I notice quite a number of ads require candidates to fill in expectation. In Malaysia, some employers also require, but I never do that still got many calls. So Singapore employers do they filter out applications according to salary expectation?
ivanswk
post May 31 2013, 07:25 PM

+J
2,110 posts

^ no photo ... Unless u going for mediacorp as actor or something

Mackiddo
post May 31 2013, 07:25 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ May 31 2013, 11:22 AM)
A property agent told me one can apply exemption from HDB prior to the purchase of the resale HDB.
(exemption to own an oversea property for elderly parents)

Another agent told me one can apply all he wants but HDB will not approve such cases as HDB cannot verify if the property is really for elderly parents or for , say rental income.

So.. yes its very headache..
i know a married couple, with HDB apartment already, the wife (the only daughter) wanna inherit a house from the parents. Applied exemption from HDB but rejected. Now trying to appeal but I think the odds of getting approve is really slim.
Are your case more extremely than her ?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 31 2013, 07:26 PM
Dark NT
post May 31 2013, 11:15 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 31 2013, 07:25 PM)
i know a married couple, with HDB apartment already, the wife (the only daughter) wanna inherit a house from the parents. Applied exemption from HDB but rejected. Now trying to appeal but I think the odds of getting approve is really slim.
Are your case more extremely than her ?
My case is my wife co-owns an apartment in Penang with her sister (for their parents).

We have not applied for exemption yet.
if rejected no choice have to transfer the property to her sister.
rawrkun
post May 31 2013, 11:16 PM

316 posts

I'm looking for an affordable room to rent in Singapore.. any recommendation?
The rent over there seriously is no joke... everything is so damn expensive shocking.gif

This post has been edited by rawrkun: May 31 2013, 11:16 PM
megadisc
post Jun 1 2013, 12:11 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ May 31 2013, 11:16 PM)
I'm looking for an affordable room to rent in Singapore.. any recommendation?
The rent over there seriously is no joke... everything is so damn expensive  shocking.gif
not eveything lah ...but the food tatstes great
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 1 2013, 01:05 AM

5,753 posts

Thanks for your feedback.

I am just wondering if anyone is working in banking, who might be able to offer some advice. Cause i was made to understand banking industry is quite protected as the government wants to conserve the quota to the citizens. My resume had in the past been submitted to the HR directly, but was told that as foreigner it will be only be considered AFTER the citizens and PRs.

My cousin is in consumer banking line, so very different from what i am doing.

Please correct me if i understood wrongly, or misinformed.
Hi there. I am in corporate banking.
It is maybe quite difficult to get a corporate banking RM job for someone fresh from Malaysia as you are deemed not to have contacts (same in my case) so I started in SG as a credit analyst.
2 years later still a credit analyst and still deemed not to have to contacts in the industry although i am more than capable of hunting.
Thinking of going back to malaysia to assume a corproate RM role as its more interesting than pushing credit papers, full time.

Further, in SG the sector is very different.
1) Majority of banks (except local and jap) don't want to take balance sheet risk. So they focus mainly on the NII (treasury, trade (non-funded) FX, structured products etc). Competition for business is very very keen as there are more than 30 banks (wholesale and offshore) trying to get a slice of the NII business while very few of them can provide balance sheet to the customers. So if you want to join a bank make sure you join one that can take balance sheet risk or one that has strong product offerings.
2) The local Singaporean market is dead slow these days (be it MNC or local large corps) arising from slow macro economy and trading. Singapore relies mainly on trade as it is an entreport. Try to join one that has regional coverage. Regional coverage in India and China are good bet as there are many business opportunites.
3) Many banks here are doing restructuring/reorganisation/lay-offs etc. Competition is very keen and if you miss your targets you will be let go. Try to avoid american/uk/small offshore banks as they are known for it.
4) Consumer banking is a whole another ball game alltogether. But once you enter, it is unlikely that you will break into corporate banking. But currently I think consumer banking is doing better than corporate banking as SG generally still have high disposable income and savings.
5) Credit is stringent in most banks. The credit quality here is very good (I came from a local bank in Malaysia). Comparatively the credit quality in Malaysia look like kids work esp with regards to cashflow projection, research reports, etc. There are also more sophisticated products in SG as compared to Malaysia.
6) Pertaining to your question of banking being protected agaisnt foreigners the answer is no but they are rumours that MOM is looking into it. Everytime I go for lunch near a certain bank, I get confused whether I'm in India or Singapore.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Jun 1 2013, 01:13 AM
Argiope
post Jun 1 2013, 02:04 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ May 30 2013, 11:44 PM)
- Will I be able to seek employment elsewhere with the same pass or do I need to reapply again?
No. Once your current pass is terminated, you are like a short term visitor come to Singapore for holiday. Your new company will have to apply a new pass for you.

- If I reject the current offer, will I still be able to work in SG since the company has already applied for a pass for me.
Hearsay that MOM might be stricter with your 2nd pass.

- regarding the tax issue, for the first 183 days before year of assessment, I am considered as a non resident. So for the first 60 days, i do not need to pay any tax but from the 61 to 182 days my tax will be fixed at 15%; and only from the 183 days onward will I be regarded as a tax resident. Am I right, or is there anything else that I miss out. 15% tax out of 2.8k is damn high  cry.gif
Yes, if you work for >=61 and <183 days, your tax will be 15% of your gross salary. If you work for more than 183 days (which is very likely since you are on a 2-year contract), then you refer to the resident scale.
QUOTE(crazy25kid @ May 31 2013, 08:40 AM)
anyway, the 15% will be rebated back to you once u work more than 183 days, if i am not mistaken, but it will be thru future deduction of tax.
Nope, IRAS will refund to your bank account.
wlcling
post Jun 1 2013, 04:48 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ May 31 2013, 11:15 PM)
My case is my wife co-owns an apartment in Penang with her sister (for their parents).

We have not applied for exemption yet.
if rejected no choice have to transfer the property to her sister.
is there a cooldown period for disposing pvt propert before can buy resale?
for bto, u haf to dispose the pvt property and wait 30 months then only can apply hdb and wait another 3 years for it to be built!

id say jusy transfer ownership and apply.. although i know a few ppl who hush hush still own pvt pty.
Mackiddo
post Jun 1 2013, 07:44 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

anyone have over-paid taxes before by means of under-claiming the relief? wondering how long do IRAS take to investigate and refund ?
yinyum
post Jun 1 2013, 11:23 PM

357 posts

Thanks for your feedback.

I am just wondering if anyone is working in banking, who might be able to offer some advice. Cause i was made to understand banking industry is quite protected as the government wants to conserve the quota to the citizens. My resume had in the past been submitted to the HR directly, but was told that as foreigner it will be only be considered AFTER the citizens and PRs.

My cousin is in consumer banking line, so very different from what i am doing.

Please correct me if i understood wrongly, or misinformed.
What position you're looking for? I've a contact of an agent whom has many job opening for banking & financial sector. smile.gif
fkp1
post Jun 1 2013, 11:30 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 1 2013, 11:23 PM)
What position you're looking for? I've a contact of an agent whom has many job opening for banking & financial sector. smile.gif
Really? Can PM me your contact?

Are you also based in Singapore?
yinyum

357 posts

QUOTE(fkp1 @ Jun 1 2013, 11:30 PM)
Really? Can PM me your contact?

Are you also based in Singapore?
Duh, of course i'm in SG! *eyes rolled*
fkp1

48 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Jun 1 2013, 01:05 AM)
Hi there. I am in corporate banking.
It is maybe quite difficult to get a corporate banking RM job for someone fresh from Malaysia as you are deemed not to have contacts (same in my case) so I started in SG as a credit analyst.
2 years later still a credit analyst and still deemed not to have to contacts in the industry although i am more than capable of hunting.
Thinking of going back to malaysia to assume a corproate RM role as its more interesting than pushing credit papers, full time.

Further, in SG the sector is very different.
1) Majority of banks (except local and jap) don't want to take balance sheet risk. So they focus mainly on the NII (treasury, trade (non-funded) FX, structured products etc). Competition for business is very very keen as there are more than 30 banks (wholesale and offshore) trying to get a slice of the NII business while very few of them can provide balance sheet to the customers. So if you want to join a bank make sure you join one that can take balance sheet risk or one that has strong product offerings.
2) The local Singaporean market is dead slow these days (be it MNC or local large corps) arising from slow macro economy and trading. Singapore relies mainly on trade as it is an entreport. Try to join one that has regional coverage. Regional coverage in India and China are good bet as there are many business opportunites.
3) Many banks here are doing restructuring/reorganisation/lay-offs etc. Competition is very keen and if you miss your targets you will be let go. Try to avoid american/uk/small offshore banks as they are known for it.
4) Consumer banking is a whole another ball game alltogether. But once you enter, it is unlikely that you will break into corporate banking. But currently I think consumer banking is doing better than corporate banking as SG generally still have high disposable income and savings.
5) Credit is stringent in most banks. The credit quality here is very good (I came from a local bank in Malaysia). Comparatively the credit quality in Malaysia look like kids work esp with regards to cashflow projection, research reports, etc. There are also more sophisticated products in SG as compared to Malaysia.
6) Pertaining to your question of banking being protected agaisnt foreigners the answer is no but they are rumours that MOM is looking into it. Everytime I go for lunch near a certain bank, I get confused whether I'm in India or Singapore.
Thanks robert. if you dont mind, i would like to find out more from you personally.
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 1 2013, 11:55 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(fkp1 @ Jun 1 2013, 11:30 PM)
Thanks robert. if you dont mind, i would like to find out more from you personally.
My advice is going to cost you a cup of Teh C Peng and a bowl of wantan mee. tongue.gif
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 1 2013, 11:59 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 1 2013, 11:23 PM)
Got contacts for a corporate banking RM position?
I will galdly buy you a cup of teh C peng and a bowl of wanton mee. tongue.gif
seantang
post Jun 2 2013, 12:47 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Firefly having a RM99 (one way) promo for flights booked 30 days in advance. For SIN-IPH, everyday except Fridays and Saturdays. For IPH-SIN, everyday except Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays.

Booked all the way to CNY next year already since it's available for booking. The website can now book 12 months in advance, up from 6 months in the past.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jun 2 2013, 12:51 AM
keelim
post Jun 2 2013, 01:42 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 2 2013, 12:47 AM)
Firefly having a RM99 (one way) promo for flights booked 30 days in advance. For SIN-IPH, everyday except Fridays and Saturdays. For IPH-SIN, everyday except Sundays, Mondays and Tuesdays.

Booked all the way to CNY next year already since it's available for booking. The website can now book 12 months in advance, up from 6 months in the past.
Thanks for the heads up.

JohnJon82
post Jun 2 2013, 02:46 AM

716 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 2 2013, 12:47 AM)

That's really cheap. Singapore airport tax alone cost 32-34 sgd, about 80 rm already. Sweep up all my tick until next year for Airasia but cheapest was 60-70 sgd to Sabah (32 sgd tax and 20 sgd fuel surcharge then the left over is ticket price), that's during the 12.01am 0 seat opening day, stay up whole night and jamming the server with others.

This post has been edited by JohnJon82: Jun 2 2013, 03:02 AM

126 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:01 PM