Working in Singapore V14

SUSrobertchoo
post May 29 2013, 08:11 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(goldconnection @ May 28 2013, 11:06 PM)
With 5 years exp in financial industry, how much can I expect in Singapore? I'm looking into investment analyst vacancies. I tried to search for the salary survey report in those recruitment firm, but the range quoted quite big...

So if I put the amount I get here in Malaysia and change the sign to SGD, is it fair?
I think it would be wise to actually get an interview and offer first before you even talk about salary.
Chances are, even interviews are hard to come by judging from the bleak economic outlook in SG and the world.
Financial Institutions are scalling back lending and executing massive employee lay-offs which have a significant impact on the investment sector as credit are tightened.
As a result, many investment companies are freezing headcount and some are even scalling back their operations, waiting for the economic storm to pass.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: May 29 2013, 08:12 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 1 2013, 01:05 AM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(fkp1 @ May 31 2013, 12:03 PM)
Thanks for your feedback.

I am just wondering if anyone is working in banking, who might be able to offer some advice. Cause i was made to understand banking industry is quite protected as the government wants to conserve the quota to the citizens. My resume had in the past been submitted to the HR directly, but was told that as foreigner it will be only be considered AFTER the citizens and PRs.

My cousin is in consumer banking line, so very different from what i am doing.

Please correct me if i understood wrongly, or misinformed.
Hi there. I am in corporate banking.
It is maybe quite difficult to get a corporate banking RM job for someone fresh from Malaysia as you are deemed not to have contacts (same in my case) so I started in SG as a credit analyst.
2 years later still a credit analyst and still deemed not to have to contacts in the industry although i am more than capable of hunting.
Thinking of going back to malaysia to assume a corproate RM role as its more interesting than pushing credit papers, full time.

Further, in SG the sector is very different.
1) Majority of banks (except local and jap) don't want to take balance sheet risk. So they focus mainly on the NII (treasury, trade (non-funded) FX, structured products etc). Competition for business is very very keen as there are more than 30 banks (wholesale and offshore) trying to get a slice of the NII business while very few of them can provide balance sheet to the customers. So if you want to join a bank make sure you join one that can take balance sheet risk or one that has strong product offerings.
2) The local Singaporean market is dead slow these days (be it MNC or local large corps) arising from slow macro economy and trading. Singapore relies mainly on trade as it is an entreport. Try to join one that has regional coverage. Regional coverage in India and China are good bet as there are many business opportunites.
3) Many banks here are doing restructuring/reorganisation/lay-offs etc. Competition is very keen and if you miss your targets you will be let go. Try to avoid american/uk/small offshore banks as they are known for it.
4) Consumer banking is a whole another ball game alltogether. But once you enter, it is unlikely that you will break into corporate banking. But currently I think consumer banking is doing better than corporate banking as SG generally still have high disposable income and savings.
5) Credit is stringent in most banks. The credit quality here is very good (I came from a local bank in Malaysia). Comparatively the credit quality in Malaysia look like kids work esp with regards to cashflow projection, research reports, etc. There are also more sophisticated products in SG as compared to Malaysia.
6) Pertaining to your question of banking being protected agaisnt foreigners the answer is no but they are rumours that MOM is looking into it. Everytime I go for lunch near a certain bank, I get confused whether I'm in India or Singapore.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Jun 1 2013, 01:13 AM
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 1 2013, 11:55 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(fkp1 @ Jun 1 2013, 11:30 PM)
Thanks robert. if you dont mind, i would like to find out more from you personally.
My advice is going to cost you a cup of Teh C Peng and a bowl of wantan mee. tongue.gif
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 1 2013, 11:59 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 1 2013, 11:23 PM)
What position you're looking for? I've a contact of an agent whom has many job opening for banking & financial sector. smile.gif
Got contacts for a corporate banking RM position?
I will galdly buy you a cup of teh C peng and a bowl of wanton mee. tongue.gif
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 5 2013, 11:26 AM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(yinyum @ Jun 5 2013, 03:35 AM)
There are so many job openings of RM in banking sector!! Still ask for contacts? Lol

PS: Teh C peng not my favorite as I prefer milo dinosaur, the wanton mee in Sg sucks. tongue.gif
Actually I quite like the wanton mee with tomato sauce.....i dunno why but i seem to like it in a weird way blink.gif
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 7 2013, 12:36 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(LilyBud @ Jun 7 2013, 11:44 AM)
Hahahha..

I have rejected the Singapore offer biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
I feel so relieved. One less option to consider. But I construct the e-mail with a very heavyheart.
Opportunity don't knock my the same door twice, if i give up the opportunity I got in M'sia, I might not get it again.
Same thing with Sg tho. But I do not want to compromise my happiness.

I am happy with my Swift so won't be changing.
Sometimes happiness matters more than money, in my opinion.
For me personally, I won't even consider working in SG if not for the money.
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 10 2013, 02:40 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(wilhelm @ Jun 10 2013, 12:43 AM)
Hey guys, anyone here working in recruitment firm? Hows the job market there for Malaysian? Depends on the hiring manager. If the hiring manager is of a certain nationality, he will give preference to his own nationality since both are foreigners. But generally most companies with local hiring managers prefer to hire Singaporeans and Malaysians.And is it true that SIngapore bank normally won't take foreigners? Not true. I have been looking for job in SG for a month, some of you may thought that it's still not long but im getting more concern as i have sent almost 50 applications and none of them call back for at least a phone interview? I'm wondering is it my problem or what The job market is challenging in SG right now..I have two years experiences in trade finance with a global bank in Malaysia, i wouldn't say that my profile and resume are very impressive but i believe should be no problem for at least maybe secure an interview? This is a huge knock on my confidence sad.gif No. Too many junior bankers in the SG market esp foreigners.I am now still in Malaysia, due to financial problem it's not wise for me to simply go down and stay without interview. With Malaysia address and numbers in resume, could these affect the employer when they are short-listing? Yes. This is the another main reason why you do not get phone calls. Further, there are many people who are already in SG looking for a job and employers will find it easier for them to attend an interview.Thanks in advance guys
My 2 cents also comming from a banking sector but in the process of relocating back to malaysia.
My advice if you really want to get a job in SG is to spend at least 3 months in SG with a SG address and hp no.
Send as many CV as you can and tailor the CV to each job that you've sent. Also try those small offshore banks who many be more willing to accept foriegners espcially if you can read and write chinese well. There are lot of small chinese and taiwanese banks. Google them and write in to them. At least there are less competition becuase locals don't want to join them coz they are too small while non chinese cannot join them because they cannot speak, read and write chinese. You will have a significant advantage.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Jun 10 2013, 02:47 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 10 2013, 10:28 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jun 10 2013, 07:23 PM)
As one of the hiring committee for my department, I have never ever put nationality or race into any weightage. One, I won't risk my job for some country man I don't even know. How they pass through audit check with bias selection I don't know. Two, I need some one with competent skill, not some one who have common home story so I can gossip with him during office hour. Three, most of us are here because of the unfair competition in our home country, so I won't practice that so others will suffer like us. I specifically told my HR not to select candidate based on nationality for my interview round. If most places practice like what you said, SG will be similar to MY in terms of development.
Well, that's you.
Alot of hiring manages from certain banks don't think like you.
But having said that I heard MOM is looking into this problem already.

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Jun 10 2013, 10:41 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 11 2013, 10:07 AM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jun 10 2013, 05:49 PM)
Like what kind of "other than that"?
Food (the everday fare - not the high krass ones), wide open spaces, bigger accomodation, no queues during lunchtime or dinner time, no need for reservations most of the time, did i mention food?,
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 11 2013, 01:55 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(ivanswk @ Jun 11 2013, 11:11 AM)
hmm.. is that the reason u relocating back ?
Nah. Family issues.
SUSrobertchoo
post Aug 2 2013, 10:49 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Aug 2 2013, 10:28 PM)
fresh graduate. zero exp .

Lets say if salary rm2.5k compare with 1.5k sgd . no car , no commitment , no rental in MY .

which one will be better? in dilemma  doh.gif
Confirm + chop malaysia.
Room rental alone is going to set u back sgd600 pm for a cheap one. Then transport will cost u on average sgd100 pm
Then hp depending on yr plan 50 pm? Add all that up is sgd750. This is not yet include food, trips back to msia and incidentals. Dunno whether you can save any money or not. Too insecure. If for whatever reason u lose yr job then yr dead. Literally.

SUSrobertchoo
post Aug 23 2013, 11:01 PM

5,753 posts

For anyone interested there is an opening in a global bank for a credit analyst in the local sg corp team. Min requirement 6 years of credit writing and analysis. Must do operational work as well. Pay ~6k p.m. Pm yr resume if interested.

Disclaimer: i'm just helping a friend. I do not work in sg nor do i work in a bank. I do not derive any commission whatsoever. Like i say just helping a friend to look for an experienced credible CA.

SUSrobertchoo
post Sep 6 2013, 08:00 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Sep 6 2013, 06:35 PM)
Because they don't pay SG level salaries in Kampung Kemaluan Kechil where you selamba types live.
Nah, I think he's trying to sell his forex mlm scheme.
He will tell you "there is a way to work from home without a boss" or "forex can make you rich"
or "dictate your own working time" and he will go on to sell you his forex scheme
SUSrobertchoo
post Sep 11 2013, 08:30 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Sep 11 2013, 04:39 PM)
So its MYR3.7 vs MYR7.25 (converted at 2.5x). That's almost 2x (approx. 95% upside) on your current salary after conversion.  I think it's acceptable esp. if your role has the potential to grow in the future.

In a related news, a bank recently offered someone SGD4.3k for a role. That same person currently earns MYR8k++ here. Talk about low-balling.

Similarly, some idiot recruiter told me that my "realistic" salary in SGD is XXX which is equal to 15% upside of my MYR pay ....after conversion to SGD. So if I earned MYR10k, he was thinking that SGD4.6k (MYR10k/2.5 + 15%) is a fair price for my labour. I promptly told him off.

After the above 2 real-life scenarios, I'm seriously wondering about the ethical and mental (short) comings of our southern recruiters. I guess they are looking to recruit monkeys with their peanut level pay.
What I understand is that most employer pay according to how critical is the role to the company and the demand and supply situation of the role.
So if you're in/looking for a role that has more supply than demand, you're definately going to get low balled moreover you're a foreigner. Priority will always be given to locals then foreigners and you are competing with herds of Indians, Filipinos, etc who talk more than actually do work. Also if you're in a role that is static and monotonous say operations, the same thing will also happen since they can hire anyone and train them to do the same thing day in and day out.

But conversely if your role is very niche and not alot of people can do then you can ask for the sky.
Esp so if the role is critical and they cannot simply hire a monkey to do the job.

SUSrobertchoo
post Sep 12 2013, 01:56 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Sep 12 2013, 11:42 AM)
Gents, thank you for your thoughts.

For the first scenario, the available roles are at varying levels of seniority. I didn't imagine that they will offer what I think to be the most junior role + pay. As I understand it, it's only slightly better than a SG fresh grad's pay and a ballpark to a SG GT's remuneration. Additionally, the HR person actually backpedaled when the recipient paused for a few seconds upon hearing the amount offered. The HR person almost immediately said "yeah so low...I will check if the amount can be adjusted". The thing is - the HR person knew that the offer is totally off as it does not fit the profile of the candidate but went ahead and asked anyway. Simply because the candidate is a Malaysian. WTF?

In my case, I have been in the banking front line (CIB) for over 10 years. I've paid my dues and have rose thru the ranks. I've done pretty much everything from selling, buying and recovering (defaulted) loans. While I'm pretty sure that there are better, more rounded CIB guys out there - I'm not so bad myself. I have wined and dined CEOs and bang tables/kicked chairs with the best of them (and their lawyers). I've even told CDRC (for those who know who they are) to stick it where the sun don't shine and stood my ground against foreign creditors who want to liquidate clients because I disagree with their assessment to slash and burn (damn those hedge funds).

I totally agree with the "look for the right role and you will get the right pay" maxim and remain hopeful. There will be some of you who will say "complain so much for what, at the end of the day you still have to beg for a job in Sg". My interest in Sg is more because I wanted to grow and take up a regional role. I'm already in a top-ten international bank but I'm bored because the work is all...local. I'm often underwhelmed by the apparent "complexity" of my work that I surf /k all day and still get things done and still leave on time (never after 7pm). So much so that my boss complains that I make him look bad resulting in him piling up more work for me which I clear anyway.

HK/NY/London is all nice and good but I've gotta be realistic too. I'm no IvyLeaguer/Oxbridge dude so competition is tough but it doesn't mean I have to settle do I?

Just that it's annoying when a recruiter with a grand total of 3 years experience (including 1 year in recruiting) calls you up and starts throwing numbers that are not grounded in reality. (lack of logic aside and to his credit - he did demonstrate an ability to do divisions and multiplications).

Anyways - end of rant. Thanks for reading.
I think you have to think if the big picture as well. As you have mentioned, your experience are mainly local front line banking. Unless you have a strong case or convince mgmt that you can port your customers over, i don't think any bank will want to pay you. You have to look at the banks perspective as well. What they are looking for in a front line person is the ability to onshore clients from the day you join. That is what they are paying for. If you can't do that or you don't have customers which you can onshore/port over, then what is the point of hiring you? Might as well internally promote somebody or get someone with a customer base in hand, correct?

The bank does not care if you have or have not paid your dues. It wants someone who can meet thier budget and hit the ground running.
SUSrobertchoo
post Sep 12 2013, 07:06 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Quasi-Suave @ Sep 12 2013, 02:23 PM)

Robert, what you said it totally fair. Which is why I've not applied to roles that require the candidate to bring their customers along. Nevertheless, I've seen many front-line positions that do not require such - merely to take care of their existing portfolio.

In all honesty, I'm not really keen on a front office relationship management role in Sg. I know I'm at a distinct disadvantage there - so I rather play on my strength than spend effort and energy shoring up my weakness because it's a game I'm set to lose.

My specialty is in credit risk assessment. I like the fact that numbers don't lie and macro and micro economic conditions don't lie. I'm pretty good at understanding and digesting both financial and non-financial information quickly to come up with a business decision. The fact that I like to read alot about everything - from art, culture and languages to business and science, helps in my line of work.

Anyways, I'm sorry if my posts have become a blog - totally not my intention. Was here to rant about 2 unrealistic recruiters and I have. So case closed.

I'm here because I find the thread informative and credible (1 caveat tho - almost everyone here claims to be a blue collar worker earning basic wage) hence a dependable-ish source on the Sg employment arena.

Thanks again for your feedback and constructive comments as always.
Its the same for credit risk. You have to understand the players, the markets, the environment yr operating in. Numbers only tell you so much about a company. While it is important, it is not the single most important thing in credit. Its those non quantifiable things that are paramount more so than numbers. Like how well do you understand thier mgmt team, the business model, etc. what works in msia may not work in SG. As such you need local knowledge as well. In fact i'll go on to say that most fraud that happens do not have distressed financial numbers. Quite the opposite. They cook the numbers up and that is why banks lose the most money

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Sep 12 2013, 07:10 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Sep 20 2013, 10:32 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Sep 20 2013, 10:21 PM)
anybody had any exp interview with Goldman Sach?
I want to know how long their interview process would take.
I have 1 interview next Friday. On the other hand, I have RBS
ready to wrap up a remuneration for me, so I am wondering if
I could manage to get Goldman Sach offer before I make any decision.
What is rbs offer? I heard associates in goldman start with with sgd8-10k pm
SUSrobertchoo
post Sep 28 2013, 03:39 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(840812145195 @ Sep 28 2013, 03:22 PM)
My employer in singapore has just submit the work permit application to mom , now waiting for status .

normaly how was the approval rate on this work permit yah , i am quite worry about this , due to i fail all my subject during SPM .

my offer salary is bout 4k sgd , if this work permit is approve , which category will i fold in to  ( wp , sp or ep )
Is your user name yout IC number?
Don't reveal your IC no in public la. Dangerous
SUSrobertchoo
post Oct 15 2013, 09:52 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(totti 10 @ Oct 15 2013, 07:30 PM)
The firm that i am joining has 9-7pm average according to the hiring manager, and he says that is pretty much the average in the industry. I think for goldman sachs they have a longer working hours compared to the other firms, and research on the internet also confirmed this. But they do pay alot more.

This will be the first time i am joining a european company, i think their working culture is good, from what i learned during the interview. The manager even asked me to hang out this weekend for some drinks n sheesha to casually meet my future team and casually discuss about my future challenge jumping from engineering to banking.

Btw i have been in sg for 2years, just not really active here recently
European Investment Bank...hmmm....I hope for your sake its not Barclays...otherwise goodluck

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Oct 15 2013, 09:52 PM
SUSrobertchoo
post Oct 18 2013, 09:24 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Oct 18 2013, 08:05 PM)
Nobody is ever underpaid. Everybody is always paid exactly the value they can put on the table and what kind of value they manage to take away from the other guy... like a poker game. Like a negotiation.

You're not being paid less than others because you are Malaysian. You are being paid less because you have less stuff to negotiate with. You are a foreigner, they have to get a work permit for you, you have no Singapore experience, in fact you have no experience at all, it's harder to interview you because you're not in the country, if they give you a job, you have to deal with living in a new country, living away from home, finding a place to live, making new friends, learning to take care of yourself... on top of performing satisfactorily in a new job. They hire a local... they have no such issues.

And you are still surprised why they won't offer you the same as a local?

NB... in my experience, Malaysians are paid not one cent less if they can bring the same chips to the poker table as Singaporeans.
Fully agree. At the end of the day its about what benefit you can bring to the co. If you can, they are willing to pay

This post has been edited by robertchoo: Oct 18 2013, 09:25 PM

0.0597sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:33 PM