Working in Singapore V14

rawrkun
post May 28 2013, 09:10 PM

316 posts

Recently I got an offer from a consultant eng firm with a starting salary of SGD2800. Initially I though it was okay and I assume that most company will have a standard pay for new hire... so I don't really bother to negotiate...

but... people told me that the salary is way below market rate for Singapore standard... and the rent there is freaking expensive sad.gif
Now I feel kinda stupid and feel that I'm being taken advantage of...

My academic qualification is fairly above average and I am currently attached with a MNC in Malaysia... but after 6 months I fell like I'm not really learning anything and I was bored... that's when I decided to explore my options else where...

but now I'm having second thoughts about the offer but I feel obliged honor my agreement with the SG company...

Any advice for some one who is just starting out like me icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by rawrkun: May 28 2013, 09:10 PM
rawrkun
post May 28 2013, 09:28 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ May 28 2013, 09:19 PM)
Which field? Company name too if you don't mind hehe. Consultant engineer low starting pay is quite common, I saw resume with asking salary much lower than yours with 2 years exp. My new colleague a bit higher than yours, but she local postgrad.
How much is her salary? I've no money to study in SG, only can afford free education in a third rate Malaysian uni cry.gif I'm in civil btw...
rawrkun
post May 28 2013, 11:40 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ May 28 2013, 10:02 PM)
EP holder roughly more than 3k, should be around there. Which company ah?
geotech consultant... can't reveal anything more than that coz its a very small field...

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 28 2013, 10:48 PM)
A year and a half ago http://www.mom.gov.sg/Documents/statistics...rsd_2011ROW.pdf

Civil Engineer Age 25-29
Median 2,800

Civil engineer - All
25 percentile 3,300
Median 4,100
75 percentile 5,308
Thank you so much for the info notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

So a year and a half ago I will fall under the median category hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

Damn... should have nego properly before accepting the offer sad.gif

Not sure whether I should just stick to my current job in MY or go for SG and try to negotiate after the probation period....

This post has been edited by rawrkun: May 28 2013, 11:42 PM
rawrkun
post May 30 2013, 12:11 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ May 29 2013, 08:35 AM)
negotiate after probation might not work because they will tell you that you sign the offer letter and agree to that salary.everything is still negotiable before you sign.

maybe you should ask if there is any increment after probation? hmm.gif
Now too late to renegotiate the offer liao... sad.gif since my S Pass is already approved. Later will give a very bad impression to the employer...
Already asked HR about increment, but the personnel just said that it depends on my performance... but usually this is the HR way of saying that there's none...

QUOTE(jitshiong @ May 29 2013, 08:44 AM)
If you are fresh, i'd say that salary is fairly decent. (1 year or less consider fresh for this argument ok?)
Consultants usually start low, so 2.8k is considered high for fresh consultants as the mentor will need to actually hold ur hand and guide u on how to do the design works.
when u have enuff experience, u will have the leverage to request for more.
Hope I'll get a good mentor, then at least it will be worthwhile and I am learning something.

QUOTE(jitshiong @ May 29 2013, 08:46 AM)
one thing u can do, provided u r really good....
ask for X amount (what u think u deserve), then take 2.8k for probation period
tell ur boss if u perform to expectation, after probation u r expecting X.

but u have to lay it out 1st what is expected of u...
a bit hard for freshie...since it's hard to set KPI then
Will use this pay as a motivation to work harder. Hopefully everything will turn out okay...
rawrkun
post May 30 2013, 11:44 PM

316 posts

Hi I need some advice about working in SG again...

I've recently signed an offer for a 2 year contract position with an S pass. But i'm worried if the company decided to just terminate me within that period so that they do not need to increase my pay... I would really appreciate it if fellow lyn members here could kindly clarify some of my questions:

- Will I be able to seek employment elsewhere with the same pass or do I need to reapply again?
- If I reject the current offer, will I still be able to work in SG since the company has already applied for a pass for me.
- regarding the tax issue, for the first 183 days before year of assessment, I am considered as a non resident. So for the first 60 days, i do not need to pay any tax but from the 61 to 182 days my tax will be fixed at 15%; and only from the 183 days onward will I be regarded as a tax resident. Am I right, or is there anything else that I miss out. 15% tax out of 2.8k is damn high cry.gif

rawrkun
post May 31 2013, 11:16 PM

316 posts

I'm looking for an affordable room to rent in Singapore.. any recommendation?
The rent over there seriously is no joke... everything is so damn expensive shocking.gif

This post has been edited by rawrkun: May 31 2013, 11:16 PM
rawrkun
post Jun 3 2013, 11:07 PM

316 posts

Will not knowing Mandarin be a hindrance to your career in SG?
My Chinese ain't really good... but on the bright side, at least I can force myself to pick it up bit by bit over there....
rawrkun
post Jun 10 2013, 10:52 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(glo0my @ Jun 7 2013, 09:38 PM)
hi guys, i just got an offer from a Singapore company and they said they will apply a S pass for me if the quota is still available.

After i get back from the interview, i used MOM website's Self Assessment Tool and the result stated that I am likely to qualify for both Employment Pass (EP) and S Pass.

However, i noticed that the basic requirement for Employment Pass (EP) is to earn a monthly salary of SGD 3k, but my salary is way below that figure, does that mean i still qualified for the Employment pass according to the self assessment tools?

and besides that, what is the major differences of EP and S pass.
Mind sharing your qualification, experience and offer? I'm still considering of whether I should move to SG or not..

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 7 2013, 11:59 PM)
hahhaha, but dun give up... maybe u can get better offer next time  rclxms.gif
pm u..
some sad also  cry.gif
correction, if u die healthy or bcoz of illness not covered.. then all gone, but i believe for the investment/savings u get it back..

medical usually company's grp insurance covers it...
EP
u pay ur own tax
can bring family member if u earn >4k
less hassle when applying for services

SP
company have to pay levy, u dont pay tax
cannot bring family over
have to pay for deposit... etc etc when applying pong line, bank acct, mobile internet... etc etc

if u ask me, no diff if u r single
So SP no need to pay tax? At least that's one good point... haha, dunno whether I should feel happy or sad...

rawrkun
post Jun 21 2013, 08:53 PM

316 posts

I will be working near Novena soon and I need some advice regarding accommodation here.. may I know which area is the most affordable and convenient for me to rent?? might even consider staying in JB and commute daily in the future once I'm more familiar with the area....
rawrkun
post Jun 24 2013, 11:18 PM

316 posts

Is it possible to get a single room in whampoa at around SG500? one agent was trying to push his unit at yew tee.. saying that over here is more expensive lar, and other nonsense... dun really like his attitude... lc and simply jacking up the prices for a lousy HDB

now exploring bradell...

This post has been edited by rawrkun: Jun 24 2013, 11:18 PM
rawrkun
post Jun 25 2013, 08:38 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(rawrkun @ Jun 24 2013, 11:18 PM)
Is it possible to get a single room in whampoa at around SG500? one agent was trying to push his unit at yew tee.. saying that over here is more expensive lar, and other nonsense... dun really like his attitude... lc and simply jacking up the prices for a lousy HDB 

now exploring bradell...
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jun 25 2013, 01:02 AM)
why you look down on hdb dwellers, especially yew tee  cry.gif  a lot of us staying at yew tee u know  sad.gif
Sorry, I don't mean to look down on anyone... just trying to find a place nearer to my office... but this particular agent was only interested in letting go of his unit and telling me all sort of nonsense...

QUOTE(shiyau @ Jun 25 2013, 12:24 PM)
3 months? so freaking long.. I'm a fresh grad only btw..  icon_rolleyes.gif
Mind sharing how much you're offered, I'm curious about the current market rate...
rawrkun
post Jul 9 2013, 12:43 AM

316 posts

Is it okay to get a part time job on weekends (Sat/Sun) for work pass holder?
Kinda bored and wanna meet more people...don't wanna be a shut in anymore, very lonely...
rawrkun
post Jul 10 2013, 06:19 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 9 2013, 01:12 PM)
Er, so ... does banking pay more than engineering or the other way around? When you start work you $3k and he $1k? And now you $10k and he $7k?
I'm kinda curios as well, haha tongue.gif

Maybe should venture into finance laugh.gif

This post has been edited by rawrkun: Jul 10 2013, 06:19 AM
rawrkun
post Jul 19 2013, 12:19 AM

316 posts

Urrm, is there any way for Malaysians to open a bank account in Singapore without deposit? When to OCBC earlier and they told me that I need to deposit at least SG1000. Wonder if its the same for other bank..
rawrkun
post Jul 20 2013, 04:02 AM

316 posts

Any funds/trust/investment with good interest rates to recommend? I have some funds in Singapore set up a long time ago but its maturing soon...
rawrkun
post Jul 24 2013, 10:58 PM

316 posts

Any activity to recommend for a cheapskate, foreveralone fellow like me?
Been to the national art gallery (free entrance on Fri evening), free performance@esplanade, national library, riding random public bus.. any other suggestion?
rawrkun
post Jul 27 2013, 11:45 AM

316 posts

Any mall similar to lowyat here?? Electronics seem be pricier here, maybe need to check more places...

This post has been edited by rawrkun: Jul 27 2013, 11:46 AM
rawrkun
post Aug 3 2013, 12:01 AM

316 posts

QUOTE(doogiedog @ Aug 2 2013, 10:06 AM)
Any civil engineering ppl wanna look for a job in SG? PM me...
Bro can pm me the details? Maybe I can help to pass the word around smile.gif
rawrkun
post Aug 3 2013, 12:03 AM

316 posts

Where's the best place to meet new people in sg? Any activity to recommend?
rawrkun
post Aug 7 2013, 08:53 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(akioen @ Aug 7 2013, 07:25 PM)
my employment pass approved ald, the last step is to go to medical check up. In email, they asking me to go to HOSPITAL to do the check up. May i know how much will that be?
My employer foot all the bills for me. Just need to show up at the medical centre with a letter from HR smile.gif

0.0543sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:03 AM