55 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

demol3
post Jul 22 2013, 06:50 PM

QUOTE(CalvinCLK @ Jul 20 2013, 07:18 PM)
I see there's a new one 5560. Anyone considering that? There's VGA and RJ45 port.
That one has dvd drive and weight 2.2kg, better off buy an haswell inspiron
demol3
post Jul 24 2013, 08:28 PM

dont buy this laptop because the two wifi anttena is mounted in the side of laptop, not the monitor. the result is very bad wifi
thriftgirl62
post Jul 25 2013, 06:54 PM

QUOTE(scarxxx @ May 17 2013, 04:09 AM)
I hope other owners can verify this..

Is the sound of speaker for this laptop really low? I have blast it up till 100% and I hardly hear anything.. But once i plugged in my headset, it seems to be perfectly fine.
I read this in a Press Release from audience.com but nobody seems to notice any great sound difference like it says here:

The first ultra-portable PCs to ship with Audience earSmart technology are the Dell Vostro 5460 and 5560 which will feature the Audience earSmart eS305 Advanced Voice processor. The earSmart eS305 analyzes the sound environment and identifies and enhances the voice signal while suppressing background noise, enabling an industry leading experience for video calls, multiplayer gaming or media capture.  The earSmart eS305 also features Audience Automatic Speech Recognition (ASR) Assist technology, a set of hardware-accelerated algorithms that isolate the primary voice to help improve the accuracy of speech-enabled applications in the presence of surrounding environmental noise.

Areas Elysian
post Jul 25 2013, 10:58 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(thriftgirl62 @ Jul 25 2013, 06:54 PM)
I read this in a Press Release from audience.com but nobody seems to notice any great sound difference like it says here:
Sounds like noise suppression only for the mic when you're doing voice calls or video calls with others. Meaning it makes you sound better, not the sound quality coming out of speakers better. I think... correct me if I'm wrong.
thriftgirl62
post Jul 26 2013, 12:39 AM

QUOTE(Areas Elysian @ Jul 25 2013, 07:58 AM)
Sounds like noise suppression only for the mic when you're doing voice calls or video calls with others. Meaning it makes you sound better, not the sound quality coming out of speakers better. I think... correct me if I'm wrong.
Well that explains why nobody noticed anything as amazing as that press release sounded. I like the idea of voice recognition and hearing without background noise getting in the way but I think you're right because sound quality and speakers are not mentioned. Thanks for putting 2 and 2 together - I knew there was something fishy when nobody said how great the sound was! Duh? lol thumbup.gif

aliex87
post Jul 26 2013, 03:56 PM

376 posts

received my 5460 ystrday, installed ssd and win 7, did a few tweaks but only got 24 secs boot time counted from pwr button push.....any more tweaks guys?

suadrif
post Jul 26 2013, 04:20 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 26 2013, 03:56 PM)
received my 5460 ystrday, installed ssd and win 7, did a few tweaks but only got 24 secs boot time counted from pwr button push.....any more tweaks guys?
yours is ULV or non ULV?
core i5?
lalobat
post Jul 26 2013, 05:24 PM

http://digital.discuss.com.hk/viewthread.php?tid=22065974

He have his laptop refunded as i read to the last reply. This Internal WIFI card not replace able? Whoever have this laptop may try to ask for replace else only way = refund.

I'm survey alot for this laptop, i intended to get a Vostro 5460 i5-3337U,dedicated graphic card GT630 with Ubuntu installed.

The only and last concern is the wifi problem. Should i get it?
At last, please comment on i5-3337U @ i5-3230M Which should i go?
cool2.gif

edit: comment update on link quoted.

This post has been edited by lalobat: Jul 26 2013, 05:29 PM
aliex87
post Jul 27 2013, 04:11 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 26 2013, 04:20 PM)
yours is ULV or non ULV?
core i5?
mine is non-ulv, core i5 with ubuntu n installd win7, im considering to get 8gb vengence.....win7 is perfect for me bcoz im not ready for win8 yet....overall satisfied but speaker is abit too soft lah....my ipad mini speaker is much louder..... sweat.gif
suadrif
post Jul 27 2013, 05:40 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 27 2013, 04:11 PM)
mine is non-ulv, core i5 with ubuntu n installd win7, im considering to get 8gb vengence.....win7 is perfect for me bcoz im not ready for win8 yet....overall satisfied but speaker is abit too soft lah....my ipad mini speaker is much louder..... sweat.gif
worh
even with non-ulv, the boot time is still more than 20sec? shocking.gif
i thought it should be less than that, especially with SSD
aliex87
post Jul 27 2013, 09:49 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 27 2013, 05:40 PM)
worh
even with non-ulv, the boot time is still more than 20sec? shocking.gif
i thought it should be less than that, especially with SSD
that's what bothering me... hmm.gif .....i counted 22 secs from the push of the power button. can be tweaked to get <10 secs?
SUSAllnGap
post Jul 30 2013, 10:09 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

hello guys, i have samsung 64gb mSATA for sale, new units. if interested please drop me a PM, thanks
nexus2238
post Jul 30 2013, 11:31 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 27 2013, 09:49 PM)
that's what bothering me... hmm.gif .....i counted 22 secs from the push of the power button. can be tweaked to get <10 secs?
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2874570
Maybe can refer to the tweak guide for SSD here.

Another thing, when you install the OS on the SSD, was the HDD connect?
aliex87
post Jul 30 2013, 12:32 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 30 2013, 11:31 AM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2874570
Maybe can refer to the tweak guide for SSD here.

Another thing, when you install the OS on the SSD, was the HDD connect?
thanks for the link, will look through it. i took out the hdd and replace it with ssd. now hdd become external hdd only...huhuhu
nexus2238
post Jul 30 2013, 01:40 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 30 2013, 12:32 PM)
thanks for the link, will look through it. i took out the hdd and replace it with ssd. now hdd become external hdd only...huhuhu
then your boot up time is really too slow for SSD hmm.gif

Areas Elysian
post Jul 31 2013, 02:20 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 27 2013, 09:49 PM)
Counted or using a stopwatch timer? Maybe better use stopwatch in case you count too slow. tongue.gif
KyriosxX
post Jul 31 2013, 09:15 AM

120 posts

fyi guys.. !!

4th Haswell processor is out for 14R and 15R series!! You can check it out at Dell Malaysia Official Website smile.gif
suadrif
post Jul 31 2013, 10:08 AM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(KyriosxX @ Jul 31 2013, 09:15 AM)
fyi guys.. !!

4th Haswell processor is out for 14R and 15R series!! You can check it out at Dell Malaysia Official Website smile.gif
it seems like not much difference in term of pricing hmm.gif
http://www.dell.com/my/p/inspiron-14r-5437...spiron-14r-5437
penguinkribo
post Jul 31 2013, 12:42 PM

fyi guys.. !!

how long usually will it take for products to be available in the market? As in lowyat or digital mall?
WhatMan
post Aug 1 2013, 03:48 PM

1,623 posts

fyi guys.. !!

What is the weight of this unit? hmm.gif

55 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0370sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:25 PM