55 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Dell Vostro 5460, Ultrabook

aristotletan
post Jul 11 2013, 09:23 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(PsVitaForLife @ Jul 11 2013, 12:02 AM)
Wondering should i get this model with the Core I5 3230M with Ubuntu Dos at RM1720 + rm300 for 128Gb SSD + Rm50 windows 8 Keys

OR

Go for samsung ativBook 7 with Full HD + 128gb SSD + 1.5Kg + 6-7 hours battery life ( Due to ULV core i5 ) at rm2860.
Samsung build quality better than Dell Vostro. Not only that, touchpad is better, 1 additional RAM slot, and better speaker.
But both laptop consider different "class" already. You already know vostro is standard processor with a low-mid range of Nvidia card, while samsung don't have dedicated graphic card, so depends on you need that kind of "performance" or not. Anyway can consider Samsung Series 5 NP530U4E at RM2.3k smile.gif
gyver
post Jul 11 2013, 03:49 PM

1,067 posts

Getting the Vostro 5460 Ultrabook for RM2,199.... Hari Raya promotion... free optical drive. Hopefully it will arrive in 1 weeks and not 14 days. My Sony Vaio screen kaput so have to get a new laptop asap.
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 11 2013, 03:56 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(PsVitaForLife @ Jul 11 2013, 12:02 AM)
Wondering should i get this model with the Core I5 3230M with Ubuntu Dos at RM1720 + rm300 for 128Gb SSD + Rm50 windows 8 Keys

OR

Go for samsung ativBook 7 with Full HD + 128gb SSD + 1.5Kg + 6-7 hours battery life ( Due to ULV core i5 ) at rm2860.
Apart from the lack of warranty extension, on-site warranty and weight, Samsung wins hands down laugh.gif
I wouldn't recommend going for the normal i5 processor in such a slim notebook though tongue.gif
devour
post Jul 11 2013, 04:10 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ Jul 11 2013, 03:49 PM)
Getting the Vostro 5460 Ultrabook for RM2,199.... Hari Raya promotion... free optical drive. Hopefully it will arrive in 1 weeks and not 14 days. My Sony Vaio screen kaput so have to get a new laptop asap.
what spec ?
beebee
post Jul 11 2013, 06:47 PM

3,091 posts

Guys considering G400s and Vostro RM1749 which is better buy?

Love the portability of the vostro
suadrif
post Jul 11 2013, 10:08 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 11 2013, 03:56 PM)
I wouldn't recommend going for the normal i5 processor in such a slim notebook though  tongue.gif
why is it so?
PsVitaForLife
post Jul 11 2013, 10:18 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 11 2013, 10:08 PM)
why is it so?
Cause ULV processor will have less heat dissipated thus better battery life since Heat lost generated is kind of a energy, So less heat = better efficiency = better battery life. And slim laptop does not have efficient cooling system, this is why better opt for ULV processor if u want higher battery life and runs cooler.

This post has been edited by PsVitaForLife: Jul 11 2013, 10:19 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Jul 11 2013, 10:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 11 2013, 10:08 PM)
why is it so?
It can get very hot. The Vostro is a bit too slim for proper ventilation hmm.gif
lowyj
post Jul 12 2013, 05:22 PM

199 posts

Hi all. Can i ask if i play game like dota2 on this laptop. Will it get very hot? Just asking. Thx. smile.gif
aliex87
post Jul 15 2013, 01:20 PM

376 posts

i ordered 1 unit today, ubuntu version, i5, 630, 3 years warranty, free bluetooth headset, targus bag and wireless dell mice, rm2041. gonna buy a crucial m4 and swap hdd to external storage. is m4 good? or anyone have any other recommendation?
nexus2238
post Jul 15 2013, 05:52 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 15 2013, 01:20 PM)
i ordered 1 unit today, ubuntu version, i5, 630, 3 years warranty, free bluetooth headset, targus bag and wireless dell mice, rm2041. gonna buy a crucial m4 and swap hdd to external storage. is m4 good? or anyone have any other recommendation?
You may have difficulty finding Crucial M4 now, in stock are mostly Crucial M500.
Just keep in mind that you need SSD with 7mm z-height (which unfortunately rule out lots of nice/cheap models).
aliex87
post Jul 15 2013, 05:58 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 15 2013, 05:52 PM)
You may have difficulty finding Crucial M4 now, in stock are mostly Crucial M500.
Just keep in mind that you need SSD with 7mm z-height (which unfortunately rule out lots of nice/cheap models).
so between m500 and m4, which is better? can point to any thread selling them? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 15 2013, 06:11 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 15 2013, 05:58 PM)
so between m500 and m4, which is better?  can point to any thread selling them?  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
M500 actually is the new model by Crucial replacing M4 (if you go to Crucial website now you couldn't find M4 listed anymore tongue.gif ) So M4, if any you find right now, are probably Crucial clearing stocks)
There are merit / demerit of M500 vs M4, you could find it in some detail review in Anandtech, eg.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6884/crucial...0gb-240gb-120gb

There are plenty of reputable re-sellers in garage sales forum selling Crucial M500 thumbup.gif You can find them easily.

iinm, M500 is the most affordable (and good) 7mm SSD right now. The other good one are Samsung 830/40(P), Plextor M5P, Intel 520, which are all slightly more expensive. (And these are the 4 SSD brands I "trust" laugh.gif )

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 15 2013, 06:12 PM
devour
post Jul 15 2013, 06:12 PM

2,227 posts

i can sense that Dell try to clear old stock xD
aliex87
post Jul 15 2013, 06:12 PM

376 posts

what about this: MKNSSDCR120GB-DX7 (7mm LP for Ultrabooks) 120GB [Read : 560MB/s | Write : 515MB/s ] - RM419 - its faster, right?
nexus2238
post Jul 15 2013, 06:14 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Jul 15 2013, 06:12 PM)
i can sense that Dell try to clear old stock xD
Haswell is coming, sifu rclxms.gif
Which mean it is actually good time to grab some nice discount from Dell for those who don't mind some Ivy Bridge laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jul 15 2013, 06:14 PM
devour
post Jul 15 2013, 06:15 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 15 2013, 06:14 PM)
Haswell is coming, sifu  rclxms.gif
Which mean it is actually good time to grab some nice discount from Dell for those who don't mind some Ivy Bridge  laugh.gif
brows.gif i know, cause retail side, no new stock in since May, brows.gif
nexus2238
post Jul 15 2013, 06:20 PM

4,196 posts

QUOTE(aliex87 @ Jul 15 2013, 06:12 PM)
what about this: MKNSSDCR120GB-DX7 (7mm LP for Ultrabooks) 120GB [Read : 560MB/s | Write : 515MB/s ] - RM419 - its faster, right?
Don't sweat too much with SSD speed. You probably will never notice it in normal real life usage unless you run benchmark.
Personally, my main criteria has always been consistency in speed / performance, and stable firmware.
aliex87
post Jul 15 2013, 06:29 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 15 2013, 06:20 PM)
Don't sweat too much with SSD speed. You probably will never notice it in normal real life usage unless you run benchmark.
Personally, my main criteria has always been consistency in speed / performance, and stable firmware.
okay noted, so which brand/model do u recommend? im looking for 128gb only....budget not that big.....hehehe sweat.gif
kiasuXD
post Jul 18 2013, 03:56 AM

13 posts

I have my eyes on the DELL VOSTRO 5460/i5-3230M/4GB/500GB/14"/2G/W8/SILVER version. Been using Acer Aspire 2920 for 5 years and thinking of an upgrade.

Can this laptop play games? Pretty much the only "graphic-intensive" game I play is Civilization V. So whether or not this laptop can play the game can make or break the deal for me.

55 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:01 PM