98 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

Hardware MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, For all your MB/MBP Needs

d@odao
post Feb 4 2007, 02:17 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

yeah, went nuts like the batt indicator is still blinking even it is detact from the macbook and it does not supply any power to the macbook...how old?...maybe 6 mth only...
xandman
post Feb 4 2007, 04:23 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

tinky,
same case wit my mbp...juz realized...
when it goes to sleep...i m disconnected from my network...
but only happens some times...
is this normal?
lokgotz
post Feb 5 2007, 02:42 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Feb 4 2007, 01:22 PM)
lokgotz,
I'm having the same problem as u when I'm at home, and especially more so at home - not too sure about it logging me out of the office network - don't know whether my MBP's ever 'gone to bed' when i'm at the office but most certainly when I wake up in the morning, i'm disconnected from my network at home...

Still not sure if it's the router problem or MBP problem - will let u know when I figure it out but at the same time, if u figure it out, keep me updated too yah?  notworthy.gif
ok...i dont know if this is the correct solution or not...but it works for me.....u guys (or gals, for that matter) can give it a try...

all these while i was using Channel 6 for my wifi, i changed it to chanel 12 and it never disconnect since then.....signal is very strong also....

once again, i dont know if this will help u ppl, but it certainly solves my problem....heheh
ed0gawa
post Feb 5 2007, 03:09 AM

coconut
4,398 posts

Erm.... is MAC OS slower in file transferring?
Well, i read at other thread that MAC OS is slower when BT-ing ..
And now i am using IRC to dl something, from the same XDCC bot, my PC is able to get like 80Kb/s while on this MB .. it;s getting only 8-9Kb/s

Wonder it is my connection problem or . . .
tinkerbel
post Feb 5 2007, 07:15 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

lokgotz,
I'll try Channel 12 when I get back later - home network's on Channel 11. Will also check out what Channel office network's on cause if it's on the same channels it probably's not the *right* solution *grins* unsure.gif

ed0gawa,
My speed or connection to BT varies - sometimes its better on the Mac sometimes it's better on the PC. As to file transferring from Mac to PC within the same network, er i find it much faster on the Mac - then again, i think speed on this one's pretty much determined by hardware issues such as router, etc etc.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Feb 5 2007, 07:17 AM
ed0gawa
post Feb 5 2007, 05:07 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

I'll take back my word on slow IRC transfer.....

lol.. got a fast transfer this morning... but... it is funny

Bot A - PC slow, MB fast
Bot B - MB fast, PC slow

but my MB connection with IRC server is very unstable.. d/c often, while my PC is always connected
tinkerbel
post Feb 5 2007, 05:58 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

ed0gawa,
Is ur MB connection unstable only when your PC is connected to the network? Could it be a conflict or some configuration preference on your client?

Er, be glad ur getting slow transfer than NO transfer at all `k? tongue.gif

xandman,
Theoretically, our MB/MBP should be d/c from the network when it goes to bed, but i believe it should also be reconnected automatically when it wakes up.... didn't think it was the fault of my MBP so didn't raise the issue here but will test it a few more times and also check out lokgotz' suggestion and keep all informed when I'm done.

Too bad i'm unable to test it as much on the office network - am almost never away from my 'workstation' for more than 30mins! but at home it's different nod.gif

Let's just keep each other updated yah?
SanosukeSagara
post Feb 6 2007, 10:59 AM

2008 2008
1,193 posts

no one care about my Sudden Motion Sensor thread? T_T
i m so interested in using this features to the MAX...
tinkerbel
post Feb 6 2007, 12:36 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

SanosukeSagara,
You go ahead and maximise usage then let us know the outcome lor. I haven't even had time to set my GUIs and other settings, where got time to check other stuff out for now? sad.gif
hairol83
post Feb 6 2007, 06:31 PM

344 posts

erm...guys..
i have a little problem here.
last night i erase my WinXP partition using bootcamp.
everything looks normal and the partition become 1.

this morning, i try to install WinXP back and do the partition thing.
the Windows XP is already install, but when i try to boot into OS X,
the Kernel Panic came out..

i try to use the Restore DVD (the DVD 1)
hold down the C button when the MacBook restart
but nothing happen..it's just blue screen (before OS X load up completely.)
but when i try to check hardware failure by pressing D, everything is fine.
no hardware failure..

i try to reformat & reinstall the MacBook using restore DVD,
but when i press the C button, its seem that the DVD cannot being read..
anyone? icon_question.gif
xandman
post Feb 6 2007, 07:55 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

QUOTE(SanosukeSagara @ Feb 6 2007, 10:59 AM)
no one care about my Sudden Motion Sensor thread? T_T
i m so interested in using this features to the MAX...
bro...
i m interested to exploit the SMS too...
but i m still noob in Mac...
so will have to wait a bit la...
and also currently...trying wii-mote...on osx!
hehehhe...i know...kinda lame...but...juz want to c what weird things can the osx handle...=)
siaukia
post Feb 7 2007, 07:30 PM

1,491 posts

sanosuke, i tried that and it freaked the hell out of me when i heard rumours taht if you try to turn your macbook while the harddisk is spinnin,g you might risk of scratching your hdd and end up with lots of badsector or dying harddisk O_o

call me paranoid, but well, lol i dont know

tinkerbel : 1 week they say, sad.gif haih, probably this saturday will visit them again

edogawa : firewall causing it?portforward?
vandetta
post Feb 10 2007, 01:41 AM

658 posts

My MacBook's HDD sometimes make noise when processing. Like old HDD. Anyone face this also? I wonder if I can claim for waranty because of this?
civic98
post Feb 10 2007, 10:49 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Feb 5 2007, 05:58 PM)
ed0gawa,
Is ur MB connection unstable only when your PC is connected to the network?  Could it be a conflict or some configuration preference on your client? 

Er, be glad ur getting slow transfer than NO transfer at all `k?  tongue.gif

xandman,
Theoretically, our MB/MBP should be d/c from the network when it goes to bed, but i believe it should also be reconnected automatically when it wakes up.... didn't think it was the fault of my MBP so didn't raise the issue here but will test it a few more times and also check out lokgotz' suggestion and keep all informed when I'm done.

Too bad i'm unable to test it as much on the office network - am almost never away from my 'workstation' for more than 30mins! but at home it's different  nod.gif

Let's just keep each other updated yah?
This should be useful for auto reconnect wifi:-

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?sto...070206143142824
siaukia
post Feb 12 2007, 12:28 AM

1,491 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ Feb 10 2007, 01:41 AM)
My MacBook's HDD sometimes make noise when processing. Like old HDD. Anyone face this also? I wonder if I can claim for waranty because of this?
i think u better bring it to check, better be safe than sorry,
after i took my mb for check on isight, they say at first no prob for first 2 day, and the nrealize another new proiblem on 3rd day, some cracking sound when switching on my mb, and this time they'll send it for warranty for even longer period sleep.gif rclxub.gif
vandetta
post Feb 12 2007, 02:28 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(siaukia @ Feb 12 2007, 12:28 AM)
i think u better bring it to check, better be safe than sorry,
after i took my mb for check on isight, they say at first no prob for first 2 day, and the nrealize another new proiblem on 3rd day, some cracking sound when switching on my mb, and this time they'll send it for warranty for even longer period sleep.gif  rclxub.gif
Already send the MB for waranty claim for 3 times. 1- Logic board problem 2- Hinge at the top cover 3- Trackpad not funtioning and now, HDD problem.. Very tired la of waiting, very bad luck with this MB, never have such experience like this with Mac.. and PC also.

People will laugh at me if they know I already send the MB for waranty 3 times sweat.gif
tinkerbel
post Feb 12 2007, 03:25 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

vandetta,
Let whoever wants to laugh at you laugh - u'll have the last laugh when u finally get ur MB working in perfect order smile.gif I do suppose u just happen to have gotten a 'bad' MB - it's probably a bad batch - perhaps speak to them and see if they could just replace an entire new unit for ya?

I'm sure Apple will do something, especially since you'd been inconvenienced so many times now wink.gif
vandetta
post Feb 12 2007, 08:37 PM

658 posts

Thanks tinkerbel. But to whom should I speak to?
Because when the third time I want to send my MB to repair, already ask for new unit but they say cannot because only a part is broken and they'll replace only that part.
It is Axis Computer, PJ. But good and fast service tough.
Then I call the operator and she also said Apple will only repair or replace broken part only.
I'm only one of many many many more Mac user in M'sia, very tiny one.
I think if Tan Sri Limkokwing call just to report the OS need to be formatted, they must've replace it with new unit in 24 hours.
Haih.. Ya it's the first batch, got it after a month announced.
tinkerbel
post Feb 12 2007, 09:09 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

vandetta,
Perhaps write an official letter and direct straight to Apple office in Malaysia and CC it to their USA counterpart and hope that their customer service is good smile.gif I don't deal with Apple so i'm unable to assist you further.

Or, if you really think Tan Sri Lim Kok Wing be able to get a replacement immediately, you can either speak with him or just use his name? blush.gif
vandetta
post Feb 12 2007, 11:12 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Feb 12 2007, 09:09 PM)
vandetta,
Perhaps write an official letter and direct straight to Apple office in Malaysia and CC it to their USA counterpart and hope that their customer service is good  smile.gif  I don't deal with Apple so i'm unable to assist you further.

Or, if you really think Tan Sri Lim Kok Wing be able to get a replacement immediately, you can either speak with him or just use his name?  blush.gif
Thanks for your advice. Regarding Tan Sri LKW, of course he'll able to get a replacement immediately. He's the biggest Apple customer in M'sia biggrin.gif

98 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:24 PM