124 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

V10 - Property Prices (Up, Down or .....), and the debate goes on and on and on ...

agentdiary
post Mar 18 2013, 10:49 PM

279 posts

Appreciate your compliment. One thing I learn the hard way from the 3 years writing blog is that most readers like to ridicule honest analysis sweat.gif

What I have seen happened with family in 82' and 97' really a nightmare that I vow never to see it from my home.

Been in this industry since early 2000 and consider myself not lazy spending spare time to learn finance and economics. All I can tell is assets class opportunity is always moving from one to another from time to time. Real estate in Malaysia is near its end at least for mid term.

Thus, I sold most last year and urging close friends and family to realize profit first. I walk my talk. Always believe paper 'profit' is just a mirage. It is like masturbation, period.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 18 2013, 06:51 PM)
ad, always enjoyed reading yr posts. thumbup.gif

i bot in 2006-09, excellent results. no eye see after that.

becos i remember what it was with bursa in the early 90s - simply punt and everyone made tens of k's within weeks. all went bust in 98.

humans have short memories of bad things, maybe? or some have no idea at all. tongue.gif
AMINT
post Mar 18 2013, 10:55 PM

7,446 posts

QUOTE(agentdiary @ Mar 18 2013, 10:49 PM)
Appreciate your compliment. One thing I learn the hard way from the 3 years writing blog is that most readers like to ridicule honest analysis  sweat.gif

What I have seen happened with family in 82' and 97' really a nightmare that I vow never to see it from my home.

Been in this industry since early 2000 and consider myself not lazy spending spare time to learn finance and economics. All I can tell is assets class opportunity is always moving from one to another from time to time. Real estate in Malaysia is near its end at least for mid term.

Thus, I sold most last year and urging close friends and family to realize profit first. I walk my talk. Always believe paper 'profit' is just a mirage. It is like masturbation, period.
I like ur analogy. Dont just masturbate (syok sendiri with paper gain). Must have intercourse (sell prop to realize gain)
agentdiary
post Mar 18 2013, 10:57 PM

279 posts

yeah, real thing is the best.

QUOTE(AMINT @ Mar 18 2013, 10:55 PM)
I like ur analogy. Dont just masturbate (syok sendiri with paper gain). Must have intercourse (sell prop to realize gain)
prody
post Mar 18 2013, 11:37 PM

Dance while the record spins
1,548 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ Mar 18 2013, 09:45 PM)
Actually for the units tat I mentioned, Emerald from 850K went up to 970K in 7 months time period...
So what is the current asking price for emerald?
all blacks
post Mar 18 2013, 11:48 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Mar 18 2013, 11:37 PM)
So what is the current asking price for emerald?
Actually most of the agents told me to skip Emerald as it's a waste of time dy... Because owners has started to ask 950K - 1mil now since the last transaction..

The agents told me tat Qaseh is a better choice if u r going for 1 mil++ price tag.. Was supposed to view 1 of the cheapest unit last weekend, wic was going for 910K and suddenly the owner didn't wanted to sell the unit.. So looks like he wana join the party too..

Sapphire wic is slightly smaller by 1xx sqft is asking for 940K, if not mistaken the last few units available... so wouldn't be too surprised if asking is more than 950K on wards..
ay@m
post Mar 19 2013, 08:14 AM

248 posts

I have US colleagues and they personally told me that they will never buy any properties ever....especially the younger ones (about less than 35 years old)...they prefer to just rent a house their whole life...based on their experience during the 2007/2008 housing crisis...

this is actual comments from my own colleagues in US... i don't make this up... smile.gif

QUOTE(joeblows @ Mar 18 2013, 10:19 PM)
It's precisely because we don't have that many years in our lives that one should be very very cautious about buying something on 20-30 yrs loan especially when price is at record high.

You would not wanna throw 30 years of your hard earn money down the toilet because too greedy and buy in when the market is high right.

Ask the Americans how it feels like to be working hard on 2 jobs to pay off your house mortgage but the value is actually underwater....
ay@m
post Mar 19 2013, 08:51 AM

248 posts

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-21826176#

For today's reading... still going up for China... smile.gif
prody
post Mar 19 2013, 08:51 AM

Dance while the record spins
1,548 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ Mar 18 2013, 11:48 PM)
Actually most of the agents told me to skip Emerald as it's a waste of time dy... Because owners has started to ask 950K - 1mil now since the last  transaction..

The agents told me tat Qaseh is a better choice if u r going for 1 mil++ price tag.. Was supposed to view 1 of the cheapest unit last weekend, wic was going for 910K and suddenly the owner didn't wanted to sell the unit.. So looks like he wana join the party too..

Sapphire wic is slightly smaller by 1xx sqft is asking for 940K, if not mistaken the last few units available... so wouldn't be too surprised if asking is more than 950K on wards..
Maybe 970k was the peak. There seem to be plenty at iproperty asking much less.
all blacks
post Mar 19 2013, 09:21 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(prody @ Mar 19 2013, 08:51 AM)
Maybe 970k was the peak. There seem to be plenty at iproperty asking much less.
Actually I called up most of the agents, its just their stupid trick to price it lower so tat potential customer calls them juz to be informed tat the asking price has been increased...
AMINT
post Mar 19 2013, 09:24 AM

7,446 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ Mar 19 2013, 09:21 AM)
Actually I called up most of the agents, its just their stupid trick to price it lower so tat potential customer calls them juz to be informed tat the asking price has been increased...
Yes, i got that a lot too. 1) that was 1 year old price. Now owner wanna sell higher 2) my staff put the price wrongly. Cannot be so cheap. Now market is at this price that i am telling u maa.
Steven83
post Mar 19 2013, 09:27 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ Mar 19 2013, 09:21 AM)
The agent has another method, they will tell you the unit was not available...but I have a more expensive unit. Are you u interested? rclxms.gif anyhow there are some area, the price really drop.
klbull
post Mar 19 2013, 09:28 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(ay@m @ Mar 19 2013, 08:14 AM)
I have US colleagues and they personally told me that they will never buy any properties ever....especially the younger ones (about less than 35 years old)...they prefer to just rent a house their whole life...based on their experience during the 2007/2008 housing crisis...
this is actual comments from my own colleagues in US... i don't make this up... smile.gif
That is an extreme, if understandable, reaction. It's probably because these younger ones ( age 30's ?) did not profit at all, or not much, from earlier property ownership before being caught in the 2007/8 financial meltdown, did'nt have enough buffer. Buying at market highs, their hard earned capital was probably wiped out. Their experience was therefore all bad. For this, blame the greedy lenders and investment bankers who helped create the property euphoria leading to the subprime crisis. It does'nt need to be that way.

In Malaysia, there is also a new generation of young property owners shaping up to be the local subprime aspirants. The triple 'B' promoters who believe property prices always rise long term, banks are forever friendly, interest rates perpetually low, economy always buoyant, civil unrest impossible. Let me just say that property values are largely a function of economic growth and social stability. If these two ingredients are missing, bang goes property prices among other things. Then triple 'B' can quickly be turned into single 'B' by banks. A new class of young bankrupts. Is it worth the risk at this late stage of the property cycle?
axisresidence17
post Mar 19 2013, 09:29 AM

352 posts

too much pent up demand..just like here buyers are looking at unit below 200K but developers not building that..so prices for low end will continue to rise

QUOTE(ay@m @ Mar 19 2013, 08:51 AM)
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-21826176#

For today's reading... still going up for China... smile.gif
all blacks
post Mar 19 2013, 09:34 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Mar 19 2013, 09:24 AM)
Yes, i got that a lot too. 1) that was 1 year old price. Now owner wanna sell higher 2) my staff put the price wrongly. Cannot be so cheap. Now market is at this price that i am telling u maa.
rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Steven83 @ Mar 19 2013, 09:27 AM)
The agent has another method, they will tell you the unit was not available...but I have a more expensive unit. Are you u interested? rclxms.gif  anyhow there are some area, the price really drop.
rclxms.gif

Indeed, very true.. Wasting our time...
ParagonHeights
post Mar 19 2013, 09:46 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ Mar 19 2013, 10:34 AM)
rclxms.gif
rclxms.gif

Indeed, very true.. Wasting our time...
mine still available, bigger and fully reno!!! rclxm9.gif
ay@m
post Mar 19 2013, 10:31 AM

248 posts

believe it or not... i know someone who actually just bought a landed property from an agent and according to that agent, the price quoted is based on the actual developer's price about 1-2 years ago...this landed property just obtained OC....

and comparing to other similar listing from other 'flippers', the selling price quoted by other owners or flippers is about RM180k more expensive...

weird eh...but for once, this agent actually sold this landed unit for about more or less the same price compared to 1-2 years ago...

QUOTE(AMINT @ Mar 19 2013, 09:24 AM)
klbull
post Mar 19 2013, 10:37 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(agentdiary @ Mar 18 2013, 10:49 PM)
Appreciate your compliment. One thing I learn the hard way from the 3 years writing blog is that most readers like to ridicule honest analysis  sweat.gif

Some readers have a self interested agenda, others are just flippant or too clever by half, while most will not believe what you write anyway. Notwithstanding you honestly shared your past experience and painstaking conclusions with no ulterior motives. That's human nature. If only one or two readers take note and save themselves from much future grief buying an overpriced property at the wrong time, one has done one's best.

Have a good day.
AVFAN
post Mar 19 2013, 10:39 AM

24,455 posts

QUOTE(ay@m @ Mar 19 2013, 10:31 AM)
believe it or not... i know someone who actually just bought a landed property from an agent and according to that agent, the price quoted is based on the actual developer's price about 1-2 years ago...this landed property just obtained OC....

and comparing to other similar listing from other 'flippers', the selling price quoted by other owners or flippers is about RM180k more expensive...

weird eh...but for once, this agent actually sold this landed unit for about more or less the same price compared to 1-2 years ago...
this scenario is not uncommon anymore.

some buyers for some projects can get up to 15% discount.

a fast smaller profit may be the priority rather than holding and pay interest.
all blacks
post Mar 19 2013, 10:46 AM

565 posts

QUOTE(ay@m @ Mar 19 2013, 10:31 AM)

Mind sharing the price tag and the location? Curios to noe y actually they decided to sell at developers price... But actually tat should be the case since developer always puts in "Future price" during launch.. nt add another few hundred K's on top of tat price tag..

This post has been edited by all blacks: Mar 19 2013, 10:47 AM
ay@m
post Mar 19 2013, 10:50 AM

248 posts

ok...the listing price by other owners, i think they simply quote the price...it is listed around RM840k...

but there's another unit sold by an agent for RM660k.... already paid RM5k deposit so i think the selling price can be considered confirmed...

Location is Teluk Kumbar area in Penang... smile.gif double storey landed...

QUOTE(all blacks @ Mar 19 2013, 10:46 AM)
Mind sharing the price tag and the location? Curios to noe y actually they decided to sell at developers price... But actually tat should be the case since developer always puts in "Future price" during launch.. nt add  another few hundred K's on top of tat price tag..

124 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:11 PM