Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

bearbear
post May 2 2013, 08:08 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ May 2 2013, 05:49 PM)
Typo? how much the room cost for such short period per month?
just master room, sorry.

Rental is 1k so can be nego but be reasonable. smile.gif
momijigari
post May 2 2013, 08:43 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ May 2 2013, 05:41 PM)
Must be d stupid HR la... Who fault??? Where got ppl tend to offer a freshgraduate salary to experience ppl? If they think they cannot offer the applicant expected salary then better don't select la...
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
You're so right, no wonder you rage like my ovary during PMS.

SUSalaskanbunny
post May 2 2013, 08:46 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ May 2 2013, 12:57 AM)
I got quite many unimates are working in SG as well...
timing very important.. now sg gov is cutting places
QUOTE(samual8833 @ May 2 2013, 01:28 AM)
I read newspaper reported only those NUS & NTU medicine & lawyer freshgraduated with no exp can get 3.0K-3.5K SGD salary!....Others fields of study all below 3.0K SGD!... 
Must be d stupid HR la... Who fault??? Where got ppl tend to offer a freshgraduate salary to experience ppl? If they think they cannot offer the applicant expected salary then better don't select la...
sientang says you are only worth as much as what people offer..
QUOTE(fongwan @ May 2 2013, 12:11 PM)
All Sifu,

My wife is trying to find a job in SG since I will be working there. Already trying to look and apply for some job online but anyone know whether your company is hiring as well?

She doesn't have degree just diploma in LCCI but she has been working as a HR Executive for almost 12-13 year.  So i would say she should be more easy to look for HR and Admin line right?

Please advice. Thank you.
may i know wats LCCI?

SUSalaskanbunny
post May 2 2013, 08:46 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(glo0my @ May 2 2013, 02:21 PM)
hi, anyone know what is the average wages for a Malaysian fresh degree holder in IT industry (Programmer)?
$1.5-5k
QUOTE(xwen90 @ May 2 2013, 03:48 PM)
dear all....
i'll be graduating in oct this year..was wondering should i go to singapore and work wihout any strong working experience in malaysia or work malaysia for ard 3~4 years then only go to singapore.. well my plan is to work learn then start business.. if i end up go to sg i wil start business ther too..u all think possible?

P/s : i dont have strong family background.. so consider me starting from zero.. i'm doing marketing course btw.. =)

Any comment will be welcome..i'm open for all ..XD
work first irregardless msia or sg.. think about business later when u have capital
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 2 2013, 05:03 PM)
It is hard to enter any mid tier acc firm in SG?
for fresh junior audit associate position
nope, not hard... depending on individual especially qualification..
shinnyx
post May 2 2013, 09:41 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 2 2013, 08:46 PM)
$1.5-5k
5k for fresh graduate? blink.gif
Zenith Lim
post May 2 2013, 09:57 PM

118 posts

hey all, anyone in accounting or audit field here?
from what I understand from my friends who are working there, it's somewhere around 2.5 to 2.8 for a freshgrad but none of them is in the same field as me.
Can anyone let me know the normal salary range for it, I only have a year working experience though.
Thanks smile.gif
ZombieLand
post May 2 2013, 10:07 PM

203 posts

Hi, can anyone enlighten me how much is the starting salary for fresh graduate (first degree) in s'pore banking industry? Just high level estimation...
dreamwar
post May 2 2013, 10:07 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ May 2 2013, 01:45 AM)
It is a very top famous company in SG!... Almost all sg ppl know it... Don't you notice that this co. always looking for people? They hv alots of vacancies from time to time!... I attended this co. interview in their HQ b4... But, woodland is factory based.... I got one Singaporean colleague work at there 1 month only and straight away resigned!... He told me that he really cannot take the stress!.... Hear say, their pay not really good la... Anyway, no harn to try to attend their interview!... As u can gain some interview exp in MNC!... I think the questions that they ask should be different from experienced candidate... Coz the question that interviewer asked all are related to my working experiences!.... Oh yeah,,, She asked my hobbies/ what you do during ur leisure time (Such a boring question), u r from which state of M'sia!.... If u really wish to get this job, no harm to try to put lower abit ur salary... If u really get d offer, u can bear with it till 3yrs and looking for another better job!... As u know that nowadays global and sg econ also no good... The big impact to eletronics line!... U know d sales is keep on dropping in electronics line? U still dare to ask for higher salary? haha... Think twice!... Good Luck to you!....
Thanks for your valuable advice. I will try my best for the interview.

So did you manage to get into the company?
crazy25kid
post May 2 2013, 10:50 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ May 2 2013, 07:05 PM)
Are u currently accepted the fresgraduated pay? Don't be too typical especially u post a comment here... Try to accept and share ur view with others and not toutoring....
i have no idea what is toutoring...i am assuming you are referring to trolling
if u think i am trolling (yes, i admit i m starting to)...wait till u see the main trolls for this thread appear.
Try to accept and share?
Everyone here is sharing to the extent of the comfortable zone...but can YOU accept it?

I also become freshgraduated b4... That's why I knew this theory well... Freshgraduated degre holders deserve an entry pay salary because they don't hv relevant exp. They only may ask for higher pay when they hv enough exp (This is real, No offence to all freshgraduated)!... That's obvious if the employers are trying to offer exp candidate with entry pay!... Do u understand?....

so you were a fresh graduate? wow, is that some sort of achievement that only you alone and a limited few throughout the world can achieve?
fresh graduate should be paid entry level pay and be paid more when they gain more experience? OMG...the whole world did not know of such discovery. thank you for enlightening us.

stop beating around the bush.
so u were offered a entry level pay which u do not think is what you deserve and you are pissed and that is all
there is no need to give all kind of excuse to make ur irrelevant stand of u being a foreigner (a malaysian) and the conversion rate having anything to do with it
so the PRC should be paid half, 1k instead since the exchange rate for RMB to SGD is 5:1 instead of 2.5:1 for RM:SGD
grow up and move on. the whole world does not revolve around you.
if this company does not value you...why the hell are you still interested in that company.
u understand that there is a pay grade scale...so if you are offered an entry level pay...that means the position you are applying is an entry level job and they do not think you are capable enough to be paid for a more senior role. do you even understand such logic?
just because u have a reputable degree and have 5 years of experience does not entitle u to anything.
shinnyx
post May 2 2013, 11:04 PM

215 posts

Anyway, I need some recommendation for my friend, who get a job offer somewhere in June ~ August (unconfirmed yet). However she's now in SG and got another job offer which definitely with lower pay and not-that-bright-future job.

So my question is, is that advisable to apply for the lower pay job while waiting for the unconfirmed job offer? Will there be any difficulty to apply for pass when switch to the unconfirmed job? Btw, she just finished a contract basis job a month ago.
r1v3r
post May 2 2013, 11:24 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(samual8833 @ May 2 2013, 06:21 PM)
Are you PhD holder and trying to looking for a job in sg? If yes, my best advise to you: "Better Don't" coz of ur nationality... Usually, all the lecturers vacancies in University will go to foreigner (Caucasian/ someone really hold a very good PhD from reputable university)!... Bear in mind, they still want to maintain their best university world ranking!... As I told you, sg really hv a tonnes of diploma from poly, ok?
1. " You need to highlight what so special about your x years of experience."- I did highlight all of my special during the interview. For HR, they just thinking of ur expected salary is suit their offer salary range? If u r exceed their limit, it mean they hv less chance to get the job! (HR will always think of the currency conversion when they tends to offer to a foreigner)!....

2. "Working in a high tech company does not means you are the key person that hold valuable technical expertise."- You know how much valuable information and experiences can be contribute to their company? And, that's inter-related and can apply directly to the jobs tasks...
Nope, not so practical for me to start my PhD program at least for now as I have jobs and family. There are many position available so local and PR still have chance.

Sg just make some changes, N level can apply poly directly. This is just part of the action to ensure almost all Singaporean will have minimum diploma qualification in near future. They also build new uni to promote more poly grad to get a basic degree. So you are right that there are many diploma holders but there are many of them also hold a degree. So they have one more qualification than you who has just a degree.

If they try to fit you into their salary range then most likely the HR treat your skill like a COST, lower quote that meet minimum requirement win. Big company normally head hunt top talent to be part of their asset. So I guess you have to look for jobs elsewhere where you will be a valuable asset.

Certain industries are not doing well, if you have better offer in Malaysian then stay put.
Fiona Chin
post May 2 2013, 11:56 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(ZombieLand @ May 2 2013, 10:07 PM)
Hi, can anyone enlighten me how much is the starting salary for fresh graduate (first degree) in s'pore banking industry? Just high level estimation...
Depend on the position. Say 4.5 to 8.
fcuk90
post May 3 2013, 01:09 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

nope, not hard... depending on individual especially qualification..
Thanks for the info
Trying my luck on those RSM, GTT, Baker tilly, since i know i am hard to join big4's with my degree result which is not first class.

hope can joining you all at there, icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by fcuk90: May 3 2013, 01:11 AM
fongwan
post May 3 2013, 06:18 AM

139 posts

timing very important.. now sg gov is cutting places

sientang says you are only worth as much as what people offer..

may i know wats LCCI?
LCCI is type of account cert that is what i understand. Any account sifu can help out here? icon_question.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 3 2013, 07:55 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(shinnyx @ May 2 2013, 09:41 PM)
5k for fresh graduate?  blink.gif
oh.. this 1 in the defense industry, that was the pay of freshies doing customization for f-15&16s in mindef, foreigners can enter instead try 3rd party contractors like thales, bae, eads... etc etc

QUOTE(Zenith Lim @ May 2 2013, 09:57 PM)
hey all, anyone in accounting or audit field here?
from what I understand from my friends who are working there, it's somewhere around 2.5 to 2.8 for a freshgrad but none of them is in the same field as me.
Can anyone let me know the normal salary range for it, I only have a year working experience though.
Thanks smile.gif
actually 2.6k was the package for big4 auditors correct for the last 3 years... with encashment of cpf, total around 2.8-2.9k but no bonus...

you can say around 1.6-3.5k

QUOTE(ZombieLand @ May 2 2013, 10:07 PM)
1.8k-4k

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ May 3 2013, 01:09 AM)
Thanks for the info
Trying my luck on those RSM, GTT, Baker tilly, since i know i am hard to join big4's with my degree result which is not first class.

hope can joining you all at there,  icon_idea.gif
all the best rclxms.gif

QUOTE(fongwan @ May 3 2013, 06:18 AM)
LCCI is type of account cert that is what i understand. Any account sifu can help out here? icon_question.gif
hmm, doesnt seem like a academic cert.. i think it is like a cert issued by wsq in sg.. hmm.gif mayb at CAT level?
yhoong12
post May 3 2013, 08:24 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ May 2 2013, 10:50 PM)
stop beating around the bush.
so u were offered a entry level pay which u do not think is what you deserve and you are pissed and that is all
there is no need to give all kind of excuse to make ur irrelevant stand of u being a foreigner (a malaysian) and the conversion rate having anything to do with it
so the PRC should be paid half, 1k instead since the exchange rate for RMB to SGD is 5:1 instead of 2.5:1 for RM:SGD
grow up and move on. the whole world does not revolve around you.
if this company does not value you...why the hell are you still interested in that company.
u understand that there is a pay grade scale...so if you are offered an entry level pay...that means the position you are applying is an entry level job and they do not think you are capable enough to be paid for a more senior role. do you even understand such logic?
just because u have a reputable degree and have 5 years of experience does not entitle u to anything.
I think the answer for his problem is simple, SG is not a place for him, he should stay at Malaysia, he can ranting and say anything, but cannot denied all of us who work in SG.
hokin
post May 3 2013, 08:35 AM

245 posts

Looks like traffic at Woodlands is still light into Malaysia.

LTA camera grab at Woodland Checkpoint:

Same with Tuas:

Anyone crossing into Malaysia by road (bus or car), perhaps you can advise first hand experience of the traffic and immigration counters at the Tuas and Woodlands and the N/S Expressway during the course of the day.

Have a good day ahead to all.
jitshiong
post May 3 2013, 08:43 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

Are u currently accepted the fresgraduated pay? Don't be too typical especially u post a comment here... Try to accept and share ur view with others and not toutoring....

I also become freshgraduated b4... That's why I knew this theory well... Freshgraduated degre holders deserve an entry pay salary because they don't hv relevant exp. They only may ask for higher pay when they hv enough exp (This is real, No offence to all freshgraduated)!... That's obvious if the employers are trying to offer exp candidate with entry pay!... Do u understand?....
Fren, y r u ranting here like a headless cow?
i dunno if that's the way u type or u have problem positioning the '!'

u know it means raising your voice right?
reading your post, it looks as if u r fighting the whole forum
learn some ethics of how to post

we are all sharing here
and mind u, we have at least the same amount of experience as you do, some way even more
apart from that, we are already in Singapore with salary that we are happy with

just like how i agree to SeanTang, you are worth how much the company is willing to offer you.
Period.
jitshiong
post May 3 2013, 08:51 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ May 3 2013, 08:35 AM)
Looks like traffic at Woodlands is still light into Malaysia.

LTA camera grab at Woodland Checkpoint:

Same with Tuas:

Anyone crossing into Malaysia by road (bus or car), perhaps you can advise first hand experience of the traffic and immigration counters at the Tuas and Woodlands and the N/S Expressway during the course of the day.

Have a good day ahead to all.
Hopefully when i cross over later it is still like this
i'll depart at 12pm, will update when i reach Penang
fongwan
post May 3 2013, 09:36 AM

139 posts

Safe and plesant journey to all coming back.

By the way, since i am coming down June. Was thinking should i bring my rig over coz doesn't want to buy another computer when mine still can be use. However the OS is not Genuxxxx.

All the Sifu, please share your comment.

125 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0319sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:59 AM