Do anyone of you feel hated and not welcomed from reading those news or articles related to foreign workers/talents?
By the way, any of you registered your marriage in Singapore?
Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029
Mar 3 2013, 01:02 AM
189 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Do anyone of you feel hated and not welcomed from reading those news or articles related to foreign workers/talents?
By the way, any of you registered your marriage in Singapore? |
Mar 4 2013, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 3 2013, 01:40 AM) Don't feel anything. So true, it's not don't feel anything but more like don't need to feel anything. Unless you are really a talent and can keep it that way, and work on EP forever, then you are a FT. If not, after some years, your skills degenerate, become normal worker. You apply and get PR, SG put you inside their resident stats. Grow old a bit, start family, pay house pay car, suddenly everything so exp. New batch of younger, more updated skill FT come in, then you will be one of the author of those articles. QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 3 2013, 02:25 PM) Almost every single time when I am in a cab the driver would start to complain foreigner as well...(I take cab everyday to customer site) I would say I got used to it....they never realize I myself is foreigner....I always respond with "oh...ok..." Then they will continue with their stories like.... "u know...government should increase all local people salary first before bringing in more foreigner...how can they bla bla bla" I replied in my heart "If you are such a good planner you wouldn't be driving taxi already lor" Anyway, hatred towards foreigner exists in every single country to some extent. Just get used to it as you can't shut people's mouth Not just taxi drivers. My landlord said the same thing "government no take care of us" and all those usual they-took-our-job talks. |
Mar 5 2013, 11:13 AM
From the statistics, those numbers are staggering.
I empathize with these people as they are generally here for a living, but are these people registered with the authority? Or they are illegal immigrants? Economic migrants are very common now. |
Mar 6 2013, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(ameil @ Mar 6 2013, 09:15 AM) Ello... any recommended coach from singapore to seremban? Reliable and safety coach... a bit paranoid taking bus for such distance journey... There are not many coaches to Seremban, I can only think of Grassland and Eltabina (not sure if they are still operating on this route Singapore->Seremban since we didn't take them for years). No one can guarantee you a "safety coach". Can try taking a flight to KLIA/LCCT and have someone to pick you up. |
Mar 6 2013, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 6 2013, 10:45 AM) Hi! Yes, I think Plusliner is the only bus to Seremban from Larkin. I'm planning to take bus back to Seremban as well. Will try this in April. I think there's Plusliner at Larkin. Last time i used to take Plusliner, quite good. Please get your ticket in advance if you're going back on Friday night or Saturday morning/afternoon. |
Mar 7 2013, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 7 2013, 12:46 PM) S Pass and work permit still cannot. Long term visit pass sponsored by EP and above coming to spend money can. How she get the long term visit pass ah? I plan to apply one for my fiancee but like cannot. http://www.mom.gov.sg/foreign-manpower/pas...es/default.aspxO... I never think so far about future PR application etc. You can but got criteria one. |
Mar 8 2013, 07:54 AM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 7 2013, 03:19 PM) Ya, but deodorant's fiancee apply thru which category? Common law spouse? How to show them is common law spouse? After engagement got cert? Or just write in to say confirm is fiancee they will approve. Common law spouse - I think it's safe to say they have registered their marriage. |
Mar 8 2013, 08:16 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 8 2013, 01:31 AM) I cannot understand what this drivel is about. I have learnt in the past that we need to read everything with a pinch of salt, then use our rational to evaluate the whole situation. invaded? the sulu people r just trying to make a living, survive, get a better life.. the ones invading are the weapon wielding sultan sulu terrorist followers that demands $$$ and land... are you blind? cannot see the difference? just like so called FT these sulus also work hard in plantations as cheap labour in msia to help msian palm companies make $$$.. they get blue IC is not their faults, u want to blame, blame it on your gov who gave it so freely not them who applied... and got it after hard work.. dont understand then read the title of the thread!!! working in singapore v13 not lahad datu invasion v8! angry smileys make your blood boil? and you asking all the sulus to the driven into the sea is ok? omg!!! stating what facts? that they deserve to be driven into the sea!!! those are fats not facts » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « when mom rejects some1 they dont tell the reason to prevent abuse just like how ica dont tell you the reason when they reject your pr... you dont like you can go google.. hello, do u know when did the ban take place? did u even read! good for them, you dont commit crime sg welcomes you.. you behave like barbarian they you deserved to be banned... i already told you, it is the sg gov's decision, dont blame me... ask mr.tan, already gave you his contact.. you can have people's session with him, i am sure he would like to hear from the likes of u no diff, did i say any diff? my moyang came from phillipines mind you... you and the sulus are no diff.. do you deserved to driven into the sea? i dont think so... but how about armed invaders of sultan sulu? how about gangster mafia from east asia? they deserve to be dealt with full justice that's why i am saying they should not be killed or driven into the sea as claimed by some1.. instead those that came and caused trouble deserve to be bombed... well in this case, the msia sulus supported the msian gov, so i guess they are good people... merely quoting doesnt mean i am not thinking... do you read journals? people quote each other all the time, are they thinking? i think so.. dont you? if sg gov ban east msian, so be it... i am just informing you... just like how the news is informing you how the sultan sulu's invaders are being bombed... MOM/ICA rejects numbers of application on a daily basis, they already issued a press statement that there is no ban on certain nationality or East Malaysia for this subject matter. East Malaysia do not specialised in breeding people who commit crime, it's really unfair to single them out to be the culprit. Criminal offenders can be from any part of the world, let alone Malaysia. sos Let's remind us not to be insensitive. |
Mar 9 2013, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Mar 9 2013, 02:45 AM) well, a lot of things are confidential and deniable.. but it is too obvious when many are rejected, until a lot of sources are mentioning about it.. then use our rational to evaluate the whole situation. How many are rejected? Do you have a figure from a concrete source? i.e. the MOM or the Singapore government? What sources are mentioning it? The fact is there are still East Malaysians getting their work passes approved and renewed.Do not believe everything reported on the media. It can be used as a tool for certain party. It's also funny that you keep telling people to contact the Acting Minister for Manpower- Mr. Tan when MOM have already made press statement in regards to your doubt. Have you contacted him? And you are missing the point, this is not about the approval rate for East Malaysians but your initial comment about banning the East Malaysians. |
Mar 9 2013, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(tailtwist @ Mar 9 2013, 11:11 PM) My wife(GF then 2years ago) open her POSB account with her MALAYSIAN blue IC!!! I opened my account with Malaysia IC only 5 years ago, now they have tightened the rules which required proof of residence. In her passport/Id portion details starts with 'M' followed by the 12 digit malaysia ic number Overheard from my HR that certain branch will not entertain IPA at all. Anyway, have you found a job? |
Mar 18 2013, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 18 2013, 09:27 AM) We get a lot of people who come in here with pre-conceived opinions from themselves or their friends & family. And it's not productive when they tell people who are actually living & working in Singapore that what they experience every day is mistaken because it is not consistent with whatever their friends told them. Human nature. They need further assurance when they're already expecting certain outcome but when you tell them otherwise they'll get their shield on and rebut. They do exactly what you did. Instead of asking the former who responds why they said what they said, they just reply with a - "but" so and so say not like that wor. So you'll get more from here if you ask about forumers experiences, instead of implying they are mistaken because your friends said something different. @samo1390 - There are people going back empty handed and there's no guarantee you'll get a job in certain time-frame. Have you tried sending in your resume? No experience in OnG, but you can try SMEs supplying instruments to OnG companies or EPC like JGC or Chiyoda. |
Mar 19 2013, 08:16 AM
QUOTE(bearbear @ Mar 18 2013, 11:08 PM) Hi all, i have a room to rent for 3 months (May - July). Might be perfect for those of you looking to get to Singapore and try out the working life there without committing to a 2 years rental. A friend of mine is expecting her baby will return to Malaysia so no point keeping an empty room for 3 months while the rental is on-going. Dude, http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2741250 I think it's illegal to sublet the room like this? |
Mar 20 2013, 12:57 PM
What makes me boiled is queue-cutters!!! They are everywhere, toilet, ATM, bus, MRT..
Mar 21 2013, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(keelim @ Mar 20 2013, 10:35 PM) You have to let them taste their own medicine. Deliberately repeat what they have done and create a confrontation if you need to. Here, most of the people adopt the "cannot rugi" mentality. Surprisingly msian commuters behave much more civic when it comes to the railway. In Klcc, despite the snaking queue spilling to the entrance, people are still queuing to my amazement. And that's without any gracious campaign movement required. Confrontation is almost fruitless. Told someone not to smoke while queuing for the outdoor ATMs which is very inconsiderate for alot of us. He questioned back there's no non-smoking signage where we stand and he added this "why he has to think about other people, other people have to think about him". The MRT situation is terrible, apparently you need to let people aboard the train before you can alight. Zero common courtesy. There's no amount of "gracious campaign" can remedy this. You learn this from young, you learn this from home. |
Mar 21 2013, 05:38 PM
Apr 5 2013, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 5 2013, 06:16 PM) Hi guys, what's a good weekend activity for a bunch of young dudes and dudettes? My 4th month here and I'm struggling to figure out what to do during weekends (other than shopping) Visit the zoo, etc. picnic at botanical garden. Go high tea, dimsum brunch. Pick up a hobby! |
Apr 7 2013, 03:54 PM
Pasta Brava is good and Taste Paradise serves okayish dimsum but really comfortable place to yumcha.
Apr 9 2013, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(Dendroid_King @ Apr 9 2013, 10:10 AM) Hi, Is this your first job in Singapore?Recently I just got terminated for an employment less than 2 months in Singapore. My question is: 1) Is it advisable for me to delete that employment in my future resume? I m worried that other companies can check. 2) Will my S Pass or employment pass be greatly affected by the termination? Thanks in advance. Just a head ups, your potential employers will be able to check if you've worked in Singapore before. However, I am not too sure if they are able to trace your previous employers/tenure with the company. |
Apr 10 2013, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(ilineZ @ Apr 10 2013, 03:31 PM) btw,where is the best shop (i.e: reliable no tipu2 n offer good price) to buy gadget (i.e laptop and prosumer camera)? I think it's cheaper to get in Malaysia but very troublesome with warranty claim. I get my stuff from Challenger/Harvey Norman here.in general is SG with its GST can give better price than Msia? |
Apr 12 2013, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Apr 12 2013, 10:24 AM) The baby not mine la, uncle You SIL need to train her baby not to wake up for night feed, but I think it's kinda difficult now since he's already 18mth old. PR can buy landed but need to apply to the land office. Comes with a bunch of criteria. Only for family members, can't rent out forever and have to sell after giving up PR. Paper rich only. Not a good passive income investment but the price gone up the most compare with other type of properties. Only the GCB reserved for citizen. So you are the selfish one who hate east malaysian last time right. Yes, PR can buy landed properties. E.g. the ex-CEO of the transport company. How many can afford GCB??! 20,000sqf @ SGD2K/sqf @_@. Really meant for those richie rich rich. |
| Change to: | 0.0529sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:12 AM |