Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029

bearbear
post May 3 2013, 11:12 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

Remember even when they say its free - they are still charging you for entering Singapore.

Tuas - SGD6.4 and Woodland is cheaper (can't remember as i always opt for Tuas). Make sure you have enough credit in your autopass.
RabbitS
post May 3 2013, 11:13 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ May 3 2013, 10:42 AM)
u asked many times already. your marketing degree is worthless in singapore. you will be put below sg poly grads and surely your pay will not exceed 2k.

reality check.
Xtlish I disagree on this post.. You can't say it is worthless, he/she might had gotten it from harvard.. Sometimes how successful you are depends a lot on timing too, luck is when preparation meets opportunity.. Some of the ppl might be highly qualified by when looking for job, the opening is just not there..

I don't have a degree, but I know not all msians get below 2k when they are fresh..

QUOTE(xtylish @ May 3 2013, 10:51 AM)
i go back tomolo 11am. i expect to reach at night in PJ lol
Me too, by any chance first coach?

QUOTE(xwen90 @ May 3 2013, 10:57 AM)
LOL sorry if its annoying cause i dint reali get an answer previously...  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
I gave you an answer.. U didn't read nia
xtylish
post May 3 2013, 11:13 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(xwen90 @ May 3 2013, 11:12 AM)
lol..so what should i do then.. its like everything is worthless..wrk malaysia get experience 1st?
the girl sitting beside me graduate from curtin with degree. now marketing exec here for 2 years. still below 2k. with 4 years experience in malaysia. when come here her experience doesn't matter.

so u do the math. maybe you are luckier than her?
tayhaithian
post May 3 2013, 11:15 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ May 3 2013, 11:06 AM)
you just want to pick a fight.

I said so is because I am scanning through hundreds of resumes a week. I know because I schedule interviews everyday.

So you prefer i fabricate it all for him? Let him come back and tell u he got a job above 2k with a marketing degree with no experience.

He will be very lucky then. And you are just a seasoned troll.
Yo, I'm an IT(Artificial Intelligence) guy graduated with 4years experience. How much am I going to worth in the current market?
puppyee

97 posts

QUOTE(xwen90 @ May 3 2013, 11:12 AM)
lol..so what should i do then.. its like everything is worthless..wrk malaysia get experience 1st?
THAT is exactly what you should do if you think that everything is worthless. Brush up on your speaking/presentation/selling skills. You're gonna need it if u wan higher pay.

This post has been edited by puppyee: May 3 2013, 11:16 AM
Mackiddo

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ May 3 2013, 11:06 AM)
you just want to pick a fight.

I said so is because I am scanning through hundreds of resumes a week. I know because I schedule interviews everyday.

So you prefer i fabricate it all for him? Let him come back and tell u he got a job above 2k with a marketing degree with no experience.

He will be very lucky then. And you are just a seasoned troll.
so now you are using your company as a benchmark and telling ppl that is the 'de-factor' standard for Sg ? That he/she for sure can't get > $2k ? maybe for your sorry case but definitely not for others.
no one is trying to pick a fight.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 3 2013, 11:17 AM
xtylish
post May 3 2013, 11:19 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ May 3 2013, 11:15 AM)
Yo, I'm an IT(Artificial Intelligence) guy graduated with 4years experience. How much am I going to worth in the current market?
you can get around 2.5k and above

normally if the boss is smart, he will ask u to do a small project to see how good you are.

then he will give you how much u are worth. good luck.

This post has been edited by xtylish: May 3 2013, 11:23 AM
xtylish
post May 3 2013, 11:23 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 3 2013, 11:15 AM)
so now you are using your company as a benchmark and telling ppl that is the 'de-factor' standard for Sg ? That he/she for sure can't get > $2k ? maybe for your sorry case but definitely not for others.
no one is trying to pick a fight.
if you wanna say like that, you can put your input instead of challenging me or whatever benchmark i have.

at least i have a benchmark for him, what do you have to offer for him?

I am just from a small SME company, if u are so smart u can work for any big MNC and they will pay you 10k per month. ain't that nice to hear?

Go on continue asking me questions.
TSdeodorant
post May 3 2013, 11:25 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ May 3 2013, 11:19 AM)
you can get around 2.5k and above

LOL that tayhaitian guy was testing you only lah, he came to SG last year on that exact same experience on a $7k a month package. $2.5k for 4 years experience, please.
tayhaithian
post May 3 2013, 11:26 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ May 3 2013, 11:19 AM)
you can get around 2.5k anf above

normally if the boss is smart, he will ask u to do a small project to see how good you are.

then he will give you how much u are worth. good luck.
Ooohh.....
I'm a nasty manager with poor skill in Singapore, don't know when I will get fire.
xtylish, try to push upward for the wages and don't let the bangla pull us down.
xtylish
post May 3 2013, 11:27 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 3 2013, 11:25 AM)
LOL that tayhaitian guy was testing you only lah, he came to SG last year on that exact same experience on a $7k a month package. $2.5k for 4 years experience, please.
ok lo. the guy my boss just hired is a dumbass then. should interview at his company ma. sg land of gold. i will continue dig.
yhoong12
post May 3 2013, 11:30 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(xwen90 @ May 3 2013, 09:40 AM)
i'm only 23 i consider that as young? haha...yea i plan to work in marketing field...so do u think i get some experience in malaysia 1st then just go sg? or straight go sg find work.
Depend on you. if i want to choose, i will straight apply SG job first, if you are the kind of person cannot wait, start working in malaysia and continue apply for job, cannot guarantee you immediate get a job, maybe 1 week, maybe few month, you never know
Blues89
post May 3 2013, 11:32 AM

☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆
4,892 posts

-removed-

This post has been edited by Blues89: May 3 2013, 11:54 AM
xtylish
post May 3 2013, 11:33 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ May 3 2013, 11:26 AM)
Ooohh.....
I'm a nasty manager with poor skill in Singapore, don't know when I will get fire.
xtylish, try to push upward for the wages and don't let the bangla pull us down.
pretty hard these days. i am still trying to understand the people here.
Mackiddo
post May 3 2013, 11:33 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ May 3 2013, 11:23 AM)
if you wanna say like that, you can put your input instead of challenging me or whatever benchmark i have.

at least i have a benchmark for him, what do you have to offer for him?

I am just from a small SME company, if u are so smart u can work for any big MNC and they will pay you 10k per month. ain't that nice to hear?

Go on continue asking me questions.
talking about big MNC, still looking for a bigger MNC to jump to but after looking for so many years, just come to the reality there isn't any.
but I'm sure you are having fun at your company.
xtylish
post May 3 2013, 11:42 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 3 2013, 11:33 AM)
talking about big MNC, still looking for a bigger MNC to jump to but after looking for so many years, just come to the reality there isn't any.
but I'm sure you are having fun at your company.
I am having fun. doing work that doesn't need to use the brain. My Director Exec promised me he will change me to the new department that he is setting up now. At least he appreciate my existence unlike the others. The person who hired me is just a manager. But this new director asked her to let me to the personality test.

After that, the very 2nd day, the director came and sit next to me and ask, "Young lady, what are you doing here in HR?! You should be at least at the marketing side. What do you mean you can't get a job? I know many people in advertising, I'll just give them a call but I would prefer to keep you here to help me instead. Just give me some time to set up the new business."

I am just sitting here waiting for the time to come. once I don't see any changes after 6 months, I will start go for interviews again. Because i can get annual leave unlike now i have to apply for non paid leave.

drastic changes in my life, i know.

lowering myself, i know.

but i can do it, because i know i worth so much more than the idiots here. and not all Singaporeans are smart.
puppyee
post May 3 2013, 11:46 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(xtylish @ May 3 2013, 11:42 AM)
I am having fun. doing work that doesn't need to use the brain. My Director Exec promised me he will change me to the new department that he is setting up now. At least he appreciate my existence unlike the others. The person who hired me is just a manager. But this new director asked her to let me to the personality test.

After that, the very 2nd day, the director came and sit next to me and ask, "Young lady, what are you doing here in HR?! You should be at least at the marketing side. What do you mean you can't get a job? I know many people in advertising, I'll just give them a call but I would prefer to keep you here to help me instead. Just give me some time to set up the new business."

I am just sitting here waiting for the time to come. once I don't see any changes after 6 months, I will start go for interviews again. Because i can get annual leave unlike now i have to apply for non paid leave.

drastic changes in my life, i know.

lowering myself, i know.

but i can do it, because i know i worth so much more than the idiots here. and not all Singaporeans are smart.
Self confidence is good but bragging too much and thinks that oneself is above all and are entitled to a "crown", is just plain spiteful. Lowering yourself? You're not even halfway up there.
hokin
post May 3 2013, 11:47 AM

245 posts

I want to add my 2 cents on salaries and getting a job in Sg.

My observations:

This first set of observations should be universal throughout the world:
a) Each country will have its pay scale / range for different roles and professions, be it starting salaries for graduates or experienced hire, so one cannot compare salaries for same position / role country to country;
b) If you have a skill that is highly sought after, you get a premium compared to someone else who does not have your skill;
c) If you hold a good degree from top schools / universities, you will most likely get called for an interview and offered a job….provided if you are not too cocky or a show off or be able to carry yourself well and articulate your responses well;
d) Inter-personal skills (and good English skills) plays a big part on how one progresses in your career, vis-à-vis salary;

This second set of observations are Singapore centric:
a) Civil service and statutory bodies, LTA, PUB, NEA, etc., offers competitive salaries – priority goes to Singaporeans thou’. Teachers are well paid here, I was told fresh grads during training can get between SGD3-3.5K;
b) Start-ups and SMEs pay scale is usually at the lower end of the spectrum compared to MNCs;
c) Employers preferred grads from Singapore institutions of higher learning and are willing to pay higher compared to someone with regional obtained degrees / diplomas.
d) You are competing with talents from whole of Asia, from India to China and closer to home, from the region, from Myanmar to Philippines…and I can tell you the ones I have encountered from this region, a great number can speak better English and carry themselves better than Malaysians! The only advantage is perhaps we are closest in relation to culture to Singapore and perhaps some can speak Mandarin and BM…apart from these, you are just any foreign talent!

My observations are based on my short 1.5 yrs here and I am here not because I came down to cari kerja but on a company reassignment, so my observations may be skewed. Therefore I do stand to be corrected.
jitshiong
post May 3 2013, 11:48 AM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 3 2013, 11:25 AM)
This is where you are wrong. He's already getting 8k paycheck now. That was last year.
xtylish
post May 3 2013, 11:49 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(puppyee @ May 3 2013, 11:46 AM)
Self confidence is good but bragging too much and thinks that oneself is above all and are entitled to a "crown", is just plain spiteful. Lowering yourself? You're not even halfway up there.
yea. u are godlike level, i should listen to u like a dog.

125 Pages « < 98 99 100 101 102 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:49 PM