Working in Singapore V13, COE $61,029
momijigari
Mar 9 2013, 11:29 PM

QUOTE(tailtwist @ Mar 9 2013, 11:11 PM) My wife(GF then 2years ago) open her POSB account with her MALAYSIAN blue IC!!! In her passport/Id portion details starts with 'M' followed by the 12 digit malaysia ic number I opened my account with Malaysia IC only 5 years ago, now they have tightened the rules which required proof of residence. Overheard from my HR that certain branch will not entertain IPA at all. Anyway, have you found a job?
realventis
Mar 10 2013, 12:15 AM

QUOTE(momijigari @ Mar 9 2013, 11:29 PM) I opened my account with Malaysia IC only 5 years ago, now they have tightened the rules which required proof of residence. Overheard from my HR that certain branch will not entertain IPA at all. Anyway, have you found a job? Ya, I got my job already. Thanks alot for all the feedback. The last resort will be Bukit Panjang Branch it seems.
babycry123
Mar 10 2013, 12:41 AM
hi. can I do my medical check up in malaysia for my pre employment?
tailtwist
Mar 10 2013, 07:07 AM
QUOTE(momijigari @ Mar 9 2013, 11:29 PM) I opened my account with Malaysia IC only 5 years ago, now they have tightened the rules which required proof of residence. Overheard from my HR that certain branch will not entertain IPA at all. Anyway, have you found a job? Yup yup....gotten n started my new job before CNY....thanks for asking with STE
tailtwist
Mar 10 2013, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(babycry123 @ Mar 10 2013, 12:41 AM) hi. can I do my medical check up in malaysia for my pre employment? most probably NO...because MOM/ICA will specifically said that it will need to be done locally in SG
LYR
Mar 10 2013, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(babycry123 @ Mar 10 2013, 12:41 AM) hi. can I do my medical check up in malaysia for my pre employment? why do you want to do medical check-up in MY. it's reimbursable by your employer after all.
newaisa
Mar 10 2013, 10:05 PM

Hi guys,
I was just wondering does Singapore Technologies hire Malaysian? Or they only consider PR and singaporean only? Any Malaysian (non-PR) working there mind to clarify?
This post has been edited by newaisa: Mar 10 2013, 10:08 PM
tailtwist
Mar 10 2013, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 10 2013, 10:05 PM) Hi guys, I was just wondering does Singapore Technologies hire Malaysian? Or they only consider PR and singaporean only? Any Malaysian (non-PR) working there mind to clarify? I'm a Singapapore PR...not sure if there's any Malaysian's with EP working with ST...from what I know there are certain things that will be inacessible to me as a SPR
JohnJon82
Mar 10 2013, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 10 2013, 10:05 PM) Hi guys, I was just wondering does Singapore Technologies hire Malaysian? Or they only consider PR and singaporean only? Any Malaysian (non-PR) working there mind to clarify? Friend worked there before without PR. There are some positions for PR or local only and some for local only, normally will show in the requirements. Good luck.
rcv86
Mar 11 2013, 12:07 AM

QUOTE(newaisa @ Mar 10 2013, 10:05 PM) Hi guys, I was just wondering does Singapore Technologies hire Malaysian? Or they only consider PR and singaporean only? Any Malaysian (non-PR) working there mind to clarify? They only hire Singaporean for their defence business.
Mackiddo
Mar 11 2013, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(LYR @ Mar 10 2013, 04:36 PM) why do you want to do medical check-up in MY. it's reimbursable by your employer after all. it would safe a lot of time/hassle in travelling if it's allow in MY, BUT it's not. QUOTE(rcv86 @ Mar 11 2013, 12:07 AM) They only hire Singaporean for their defence business national security.
vinvin2z
Mar 11 2013, 10:33 AM

Hi All, For rental itself, it is necessary that tenant need to pay for the agent fee? Even via self online search where the room itself been advertised by agent themselves? Besides convenient, whats the cons of finding a room by ownself and what precaution should i take if i do so?
ghwong
Mar 11 2013, 10:51 AM
I'm SPR in Sg and I do saw a couple of EP holders (from MYS/PRC) working in places like ASTAR and ST
jitshiong
Mar 11 2013, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(vinvin2z @ Mar 11 2013, 10:33 AM) Hi All, For rental itself, it is necessary that tenant need to pay for the agent fee? Even via self online search where the room itself been advertised by agent themselves? Besides convenient, whats the cons of finding a room by ownself and what precaution should i take if i do so? I found mine online, no agent fees required. Direct to owner. Consequences, u might be trick or scammed. I almost got scammed, so u have to be careful.
TSdeodorant
Mar 11 2013, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(vinvin2z @ Mar 11 2013, 10:33 AM) Even via self online search where the room itself been advertised by agent themselves? It's like this actually. When a landlord wants to rent out a room/house, he will engage an agent. Normally, this agent will tell his/her friends, team members, colleagues, etc. These other agents are the ones who will advertise the room/property on propertyguru/etc. So when you go viewing, the 'other' agent will bring you go see the house and represent your interests. The landlord agent will represent the landlord's interests, and both agents will split the agent fee. Normally you will pay your half to your agent (cos he is representing you) and the landlord will pay his/her half to his/her agent.
crazy25kid
Mar 11 2013, 11:18 AM
wrong thread....oops
This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Mar 11 2013, 11:19 AM
yhoong12
Mar 11 2013, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(vinvin2z @ Mar 11 2013, 10:33 AM) Hi All, For rental itself, it is necessary that tenant need to pay for the agent fee? Even via self online search where the room itself been advertised by agent themselves? Besides convenient, whats the cons of finding a room by ownself and what precaution should i take if i do so? Online search for room is either from agent or landlord or main tenant, you need to read the info provided for that location as it would state required agent fee, normally is from agent, if not stated, mostly is landlord or main tenant. search room yourself mean is w/o agent, mostly kena scammed only because no black and white. i once found two rooms direct to main tenant. one of them is very nice but i moved out due to PR house rental issue with goverment and another is the enviroment condition very bad, only knew after moved in. both is without black and white, but luckily no scam happen on me.
yhoong12
Mar 11 2013, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 11 2013, 10:51 AM) I found mine online, no agent fees required. Direct to owner. Consequences, u might be trick or scammed. I almost got scammed, so u have to be careful. how they scam you?mind share?
JohnJon82
Mar 11 2013, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Mar 11 2013, 11:24 AM) search room yourself mean is w/o agent, mostly kena scammed only because no black and white. i once found two rooms direct to main tenant. one of them is very nice but i moved out due to PR house rental issue with goverment and another is the enviroment condition very bad, only knew after moved in. both is without black and white, but luckily no scam happen on me.  PR house rental issue?
TSdeodorant
Mar 11 2013, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(JohnJon82 @ Mar 11 2013, 11:33 AM) PR house rental issue? not too long ago government say PR cannot rent out their HDB, I guess he is referring to that.