133 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

jacky187
post Apr 8 2013, 06:05 PM

Would like to ask what wax is good for a new car, white color ? Is Meguiar's good ?

Thanks in advance

p/s: noob in this area need guide
mav3rick
post Apr 8 2013, 06:09 PM

45 posts

arghh.. feeling the full effect today. I had another 7 hour elbow greasing session yesterday....

1) scrubbed the rims
2) Washed the car (Nxt Wash)
3) Clay bar-ed (Meg's Claybar with QD)
4) Polished (Ultimate Polish)
5) Wax (Ultimate Liquid Wax)

am wondering if it is possible to split the work to a couple of day. really do not have the energy. my right arm felt like dropping off when i was buffing off the wax.. biggrin.gif

anyway, i think i had better shine this time, because i really took time to work the polish in, and ensure that both polish and waxes are buffed off properly. However, i still didnt get the mirror like shine due to the orange peel, but the reflections are better than my first attempt (or at least that's what i like to think biggrin.gif).

anyway, found a bit of infor in MO, so for those using Meg's stuff, maybe this will be helpful to you.

http://www.meguiarsonline.com/forums/showt...different-waxes

seems that ULW have some polishing oils in it, so i did not bother putting on a 2nd later. maybe i can skip the Ultimate Polish completely tongue.gif

anyway, not sure if i can afford another 7 hour session in 4 months time. let's see if the machines are able to help me out.. biggrin.gif if not in saving time at least saving the strain on my poor right arm.. biggrin.gif

p/s noobie question: is it possible to overbuff with a microfibre and remove LSP?
TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 8 2013, 09:15 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Apr 8 2013, 06:09 PM)
am wondering if it is possible to split the work to a couple of day. really do not have the energy. my right arm felt like dropping off when i was buffing off the wax.. biggrin.gif

anyway, not sure if i can afford another 7 hour session in 4 months time. let's see if the machines are able to help me out.. biggrin.gif if not in saving time at least saving the strain on my poor right arm.. biggrin.gif

p/s noobie question: is it possible to overbuff with a microfibre and remove LSP?
I split the claying, polishing, sealing and waxing sessions on panels depending on the weather biggrin.gif. Since it rains pretty often and only half of the car when parked on the porch is covered, I'd normally do the front section first before leaving the back till the weather is clear, or if I have the chance to move the car in reversed instead. biggrin.gif
acefreakz
post Apr 8 2013, 09:46 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(jacky187 @ Apr 8 2013, 06:05 PM)

Would like to ask what wax is good for a new car, white color ? Is Meguiar's good ?

Thanks in advance
meguair's best wink.gif my car body still shiny after 2 weeks, before this i use other brands was no good, 1 week wash 2 times also not as nice -.- well we shall see how long can it hold biggrin.gif
acefreakz
post Apr 8 2013, 09:48 PM

146 posts

am wondering if it is possible to split the work to a couple of day. really do not have the energy. my right arm felt like dropping off when i was buffing off the wax..

LOL i did total 10hrs car babysiting 2 weeks ago XD but i split into 2 days la, super tired XD but satisfied! cheers bro!
MyWifeCar
post Apr 8 2013, 10:27 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Suggest after #3, do IPA wipe down.

"...IPA = Isopropyl alcohol. Usually mixed with (distilled) water and used to wipe the car down after a polishing session to check that the polish oils/residue haven't filled any defects. Best to check this before applying LSP as it shows the true correction - otherwise you can get "drop back" where although the surface looks defect free immediately after polishing, the defects haven't fully been removed and re-reveal themselves after a short time..."

This way, your wax will last longer. I tried, it lasted 2 weeks more.

For example, this one : http://www.duragloss.com/Marine-R-V-Produc...ine---RV-Polish

This post has been edited by MyWifeCar: Apr 8 2013, 10:27 PM
Quazacolt
post Apr 9 2013, 01:08 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 8 2013, 10:27 PM)

Suggest after #3, do IPA wipe down.
typo? should be after #4
MyWifeCar
post Apr 9 2013, 07:28 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 9 2013, 01:08 AM)
typo? should be after #4
Sorry, mistake. Should be AFTER #4.

thumbup.gif
redhatlinux
post Apr 9 2013, 08:43 AM

72 posts

how to maintain shine & protection after doing a polish work?
mav3rick
post Apr 9 2013, 09:39 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Apr 8 2013, 09:15 PM)
I split the claying, polishing, sealing and waxing sessions on panels depending on the weather biggrin.gif. Since it rains pretty often and only half of the car when parked on the porch is covered, I'd normally do the front section first before leaving the back till the weather is clear, or if I have the chance to move the car in reversed instead. biggrin.gif
ok, what do you do about the dust particles that gather after leaving your car for a night? do you wife them off with a quik detailer or something like that?

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Apr 8 2013, 09:46 PM)
meguair's best wink.gif my car body still shiny after 2 weeks, before this i use other brands was no good, 1 week wash 2 times also not as nice -.- well we shall see how long can it hold biggrin.gif
i wouldn't go so far as to call them the best smile.gif but it works up to my expectations as a normal consumer.

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Apr 8 2013, 09:48 PM)
LOL i did total 10hrs car babysiting 2 weeks ago XD but i split into 2 days la, super tired XD but satisfied! cheers bro!
fuuh.. 10 hours, must be including the interiors.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 9 2013, 07:28 AM)
Sorry, mistake. Should be AFTER #4.

thumbup.gif
thanks for the tip. but wouldn't the IPA also remove any good work done from step 4?

ehehhe as for durability, i'm too lazy to do more analysis on it. so i just alternate between UQD and UQW during my weekly washes. I get good beading throughout the week, but i'm not sure which product it comes from.. biggrin.gif i'm just too ordinary of a user to bother.. blush.gif

QUOTE(redhatlinux @ Apr 9 2013, 08:43 AM)
you apply whatever last step products you;re using, be it natural carnauba waxes, sealents or coatings smile.gif

mav3rick
post Apr 9 2013, 09:45 AM

45 posts

oops.. forgot the pics..

again, this is taken from my soon to be extinct Nokia 5800XM tongue.gif i need to start taking photos with an actual camera, but was too lazy after the hard work tongue.gif

TDUEnthusiast
post Apr 9 2013, 09:45 AM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Apr 9 2013, 09:39 AM)
ok, what do you do about the dust particles that gather after leaving your car for a night? do you wife them off with a quik detailer or something like that?
I'd just spray water on the surface and wipe it dry. I don't normally wash the entire car though if I'm doing it section by section. I usually wash it by sections if I'm not planning to finish everything in a day.
MyWifeCar
post Apr 9 2013, 10:25 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Apr 9 2013, 09:45 AM)
oops.. forgot the pics..

again, this is taken from my soon to be extinct Nokia 5800XM tongue.gif i need to start taking photos with an actual camera, but was too lazy after the hard work tongue.gif

New car ah?

You should try and apply sealant on you wheels. Then only this state of cleanliness will last.

mav3rick
post Apr 9 2013, 10:30 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Apr 9 2013, 10:25 AM)
New car ah?

You should try and apply sealant on you wheels. Then only this state of cleanliness will last.
5 months old tongue.gif yeah.. i use my ULW on the wheels. have to do it regularly as my wheels cleaner will always remove any sealants.. grr.. maybe i should try Turtle Ice Wheel cleaner tongue.gif it claims to clean and add a protective barrier.. are you using 501 on it as well?
acefreakz
post Apr 9 2013, 10:34 AM

146 posts

fuuh.. 10 hours, must be including the interiors.. biggrin.gif
No ler, only exterior xD

btw bro mav3rick, ur car tyre insanely looked NEW XD love it!
TSKrisMas
post Apr 9 2013, 10:35 AM

QUOTE(avanray @ Apr 8 2013, 04:15 PM)
for plastic part like our plate number we can polish also to make it shine and blacker? sori noob here..
Yes, of course. For starter, better use polishes dedicated for plastic la. You're definitely more OCD than me man. I tried it once before and gave up and just do cincai2 after half way...polishing in between those letters and numbers are a PITA. Need a Dremel......

QUOTE(jacky187 @ Apr 8 2013, 06:05 PM)

Thanks in advance
You should be fine with Meguiars....or other well established brands like 3M, Duragloss, Mothers, etc. Or if you're on a budget you can start with Soft99.

Instead of splitting into days, why not do (and complete) one or two panels at a time...or divide the car into sections like, front, mid, roof and back, so you can stop any time you want. I normally do that unless I have the whole weekends to myself. But, most of the time, it'll be months before I'd start the other panels/sections....hehehe

seems that ULW have some polishing oils in it, so i did not bother putting on a 2nd later. maybe i can skip the Ultimate Polish completely tongue.gif
Not sure about ULW. But NXT is said to have some also. But it's very very mild...more like a cleaner/glaze (filler) than polish. If you're thinking of removing some minor swirls with it, then forget it la. Cleaning up and give a little shine...maybe, but removing some mild defects...I don't think so.

You're just LIGHTLY 'wiping off' the sealant/wax residue right? If it remove the LSP, then may I suggest....CHANGE TO ANOTHER PRODUCT....hehehe.....

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Apr 8 2013, 09:15 PM)
Second this. Good plan.

QUOTE(redhatlinux @ Apr 9 2013, 08:43 AM)
Practice on PROPER washing method.

thanks for the tip. but wouldn't the IPA also remove any good work done from step 4?
After the IPA wipedown, if you see defects coming back, you're not really doing such a 'good work'. Ok...that sounded a bit harsh. Let me put it in another way. Most polishes have oils in them, acting as carriers and/or lubrication. Some of the oil *could* act as fillers. While the polish is able to remove defects, these oil *could* have a 'masking' effect and you wouldn't know whether you have FULLY remove the defects until you remove these oils. IPA will do that. Furthermore, these oil *could* also effect the 'bonding' of the sealant/wax with the paintwork. Removing the oil would make better bonding (think using alchohol/cleaner to clean before using glue), hence better performance/durability. Make sense....?
acefreakz
post Apr 9 2013, 10:39 AM

146 posts

I have a noob question, can i apply permanon > sealant > wax > LSD?
TSKrisMas
post Apr 9 2013, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(acefreakz @ Apr 9 2013, 10:39 AM)
I have a noob question, can i apply permanon > sealant > wax > LSD?
I'm not that familiar with permanon....but that's a whole bunch of layers you're trying to do there. May I ask why?

This post has been edited by KrisMas: Apr 9 2013, 10:53 AM
acefreakz
post Apr 9 2013, 10:59 AM

146 posts

Experiment lol.
mav3rick
post Apr 9 2013, 11:04 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Apr 9 2013, 10:35 AM)
Instead of splitting into days, why not do (and complete) one or two panels at a time...or divide the car into sections like, front, mid, roof and back, so you can stop any time you want. I normally do that unless I have the whole weekends to myself. But, most of the time, it'll be months before I'd start the other panels/sections....hehehe

Not sure about ULW. But NXT is said to have some also. But it's very very mild...more like a cleaner/glaze (filler) than polish. If you're thinking of removing some minor swirls with it, then forget it la. Cleaning up and give a little shine...maybe, but removing some mild defects...I don't think so.

You're just LIGHTLY 'wiping off' the sealant/wax residue right? If it remove the LSP, then may I suggest....CHANGE TO ANOTHER PRODUCT....hehehe.....

After the IPA wipedown, if you see defects coming back, you're not really doing such a 'good work'. Ok...that sounded a bit harsh. Let me put it in another way. Most polishes have oils in them, acting as carriers and/or lubrication. Some of the oil *could* act as fillers. While the polish is able to remove defects, these oil *could* have a 'masking' effect and you wouldn't know whether you have FULLY remove the defects until you remove these oils. IPA will do that. Furthermore, these oil *could* also effect the 'bonding' of the sealant/wax with the paintwork. Removing the oil would make better bonding (think using alchohol/cleaner to clean before using glue), hence better performance/durability. Make sense....?
ok noted on the splitting work tongue.gif

regarding ULW/NXT, what i meant was that i do not need to apply a 2nd layer since it would most probably remove the 1st one?

regarding the buffing off part, what i meant was it is possible to overwipe and remove LSP?? i wasn't going at it lightly and was afraid that i would remove/reduce the LSP tongue.gif seems like i do not need to worry about removing then, but I'll take note that i will need to go lightly to reduce the risk of introducing swirls.

oh and regarding the IPA, your explanation does make a lot of sense. A new eye opener for me. Now I have a better understanding on the filler part. What i meant was trying to convey and ask was that i wasn't trying to remove defects with the polishing (just wanted to give it a better shine). by using the IPA, would that remove the shine introduced by the polish?

btw i was being told my the megs guys that Ultimate Polish works in tandem with ULW. but seeing the post in meguiarsonline by the Megs US guys seem to make me rethink why i bought the Ultimate Polish in the first place, since the ULW already has some polishing elements in it. i mean i just wanted to give the car a better shine...

This post has been edited by mav3rick: Apr 9 2013, 11:13 AM

133 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:50 PM