133 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

OhNooy
post Nov 5 2013, 01:21 PM

1,133 posts

When you guys say using detergent to wash MF cloth, what are the recommended detergent? Now dynamo seems to have softener inside also.
dynames07
post Nov 5 2013, 06:17 PM

272 posts

i am having a serious watermarks problem at my rear window and the rear bonnet. even with regular weekly washing, the marks is pretty visible. i reckoned this is due to the fact my parking slot is under a tree and tree saps is the main culprit..

based from this article,
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-ar...spots-hand.html

i think most are type 2 watermarks. this morning, i washed my car and spend extra time to rub-off the marks. the attempt is successful but takes too much effort and energy. my thumb and index finger still feel numb due to the extra pressure applied to remove the marks. anything better i can do to improve the condition without damaging my clear coat?

what is the advantage of RainX? AceHardware got it?
chongkiatz
post Nov 5 2013, 07:57 PM

6,750 posts

A question guys , did u all encounter a problem when using RainX ? When Wiper ON , the whole glass will become white layer then will become lighter after few second?/
jakesean
post Nov 6 2013, 12:56 AM

1,361 posts

thinking of getting the Bosche 123AE ROB.. planning to use mostly to remove slight to moderate swirls, maintenance and not hardcore restoration..

can anyone recommend a pad that is a good pad to start off with for this polishing job?

i mainly use OCW, so dont really need a pad for waxing.. not planning to compound, so maybe that can come in later too...
TSKrisMas
post Nov 6 2013, 09:03 AM

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Nov 5 2013, 01:21 PM)
When you guys say using detergent to wash MF cloth, what are the recommended detergent? Now dynamo seems to have softener inside also.
Before this, I used to use dishwashing detergent to wash my mfs.

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Nov 5 2013, 06:17 PM)
i am having a serious watermarks problem at my rear window and the rear bonnet. even with regular weekly washing, the marks is pretty visible. i reckoned this is due to the fact my parking slot is under a tree and tree saps is the main culprit..

based from this article,
http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-ar...spots-hand.html

i think most are type 2 watermarks. this morning, i washed my car and spend extra time to rub-off the marks. the attempt is successful but takes too much effort and energy. my thumb and index finger still feel numb due to the extra pressure applied to remove the marks. anything better i can do to improve the condition without damaging my clear coat?

what is the advantage of RainX? AceHardware got it?
For protection of the paint, you can try switching to carnauba wax instead of synthetic sealant. I find that they're more resilient to water etchings but need to apply more regularly as it's not as durable as a sealant. For cleaning up the water marks, you can try the DG water spots remover, no need to 'rub', just spray on, agitate then rinse.

Yup...ACE got it, but you can find RainX just about in any big shopping mall. Just make sure it's the 'original' one with the registered trade marks printed on the label.

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Nov 5 2013, 07:57 PM)
A question guys , did u all encounter a problem when using RainX ? When Wiper ON , the whole glass will become white layer then will become lighter after few second?/
Yup...I get that also...especially during cold mornings.

QUOTE(jakesean @ Nov 6 2013, 12:56 AM)
thinking of getting the Bosche 123AE ROB.. planning to use mostly to remove slight to moderate swirls, maintenance and not hardcore restoration..

can anyone recommend a pad that is a good pad to start off with for this polishing job?

i mainly use OCW, so dont really need a pad for waxing.. not planning to compound, so maybe that can come in later too...
What polish/compound you (plan) on using and on what car please?
Quazacolt
post Nov 6 2013, 12:28 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Nov 5 2013, 06:17 PM)

check first page on my post and give it a try. do it once and just regular maintenance will do smile.gif

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Nov 5 2013, 07:57 PM)
it it during washer fluid spraying? if yes then you may have diluted too much rain x washer fluid additive. use more water (clean/soft/filtered water is preferred)

else, is your rain x properly cured/"buffed off"?

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Nov 6 2013, 12:30 PM
Quazacolt
post Nov 6 2013, 12:35 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

arj

bro, you using/used HydrO2 right?
http://www.store.autorage.com.sg/productdetails.php?id=429

any good? aside from the water repellancy, how is the smoothness of the surface/paint protection? (eg: in comparison to carnauba waxes?)
metaloid
post Nov 6 2013, 02:00 PM

konpeko~
1,972 posts

Is rainx the recommended item for glass water mark protection? basically looking for a good lasing coating.
OhNooy
post Nov 6 2013, 02:21 PM

1,133 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Nov 6 2013, 09:03 AM)
Thanks sifu.

BTW, anyone applied RainX at side window and rear windscreen?
TSKrisMas
post Nov 6 2013, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(metaloid @ Nov 6 2013, 02:00 PM)
Is rainx the recommended item for glass water mark protection? basically looking for a good lasing coating.
I wouldn't say it's 'recommended', but I've been using it for ages (since the late '80s) on my cars and (unless very neglected) it's not easy to get etched watermarks on the glasses. Just a comparison, I've gotten watermarks on Aquapel's treated glass but not on RainX...and Aquapel is supposed to last longer and provide better protection (not to mention much more expensive).
TSKrisMas
post Nov 6 2013, 02:26 PM

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Nov 6 2013, 02:21 PM)
I used them on ALL glasses, including my waja (glass) headlamps.
arj
post Nov 6 2013, 02:47 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 6 2013, 12:35 PM)
arj

bro, you using/used HydrO2 right?
http://www.store.autorage.com.sg/productdetails.php?id=429

any good? aside from the water repellancy, how is the smoothness of the surface/paint protection? (eg: in comparison to carnauba waxes?)
Can't comment much when used on paint as I've only use them on wheels before due to the ease of application.
Quazacolt
post Nov 6 2013, 02:56 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(OhNooy @ Nov 6 2013, 02:21 PM)
i got em on all my car glass/windows

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Nov 6 2013, 02:26 PM)
I used them on ALL glasses, including my waja (glass) headlamps.
eh i thought it's not recommended on plastics hmm.gif
or the waja headlamps are glass?

QUOTE(arj @ Nov 6 2013, 02:47 PM)
Can't comment much when used on paint as I've only use them on wheels before due to the ease of application.
thanks for the info, tempted to try myself haha

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Nov 6 2013, 03:02 PM
arj
post Nov 6 2013, 03:12 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 6 2013, 02:56 PM)
thanks for the info, tempted to try myself haha
For me the only advantange is the ease of use. For paint I prefer something glossier with good sheeting hehe...
Quazacolt
post Nov 6 2013, 03:15 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Nov 6 2013, 03:12 PM)
For me the only advantange is the ease of use. For paint I prefer something glossier with good sheeting hehe...
eh so it doesn't gloss? and the surface doesn't have that "thicker" smooth surface as with conventional wax will provide? (may suspect that the actual protection it offers is very minimal, in comparison to waxes even when they don't sheet/bead water as well)
dynames07
post Nov 6 2013, 03:19 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Nov 6 2013, 09:03 AM)
For protection of the paint, you can try switching to carnauba wax instead of synthetic sealant. I find that they're more resilient to water etchings but need to apply more regularly as it's not as durable as a sealant. For cleaning up the water marks, you can try the DG water spots remover, no need to 'rub', just spray on, agitate then rinse.

Yup...ACE got it, but you can find RainX just about in any big shopping mall. Just make sure it's the 'original' one with the registered trade marks printed on the label.
Yup...I get that also...especially during cold mornings.
What polish/compound you (plan) on using and on what car please?
sorry for my ignorance but what is DG? place that i can acquire the thing?

thank you boss.
Quazacolt
post Nov 6 2013, 03:22 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Nov 6 2013, 03:19 PM)

duragloss:
http://estore.duragloss.com.my/
TSKrisMas
post Nov 6 2013, 03:25 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 6 2013, 02:56 PM)
or the waja headlamps are glass?
Waja OEM headlights are glass..... thumbup.gif

thank you boss.
DG = Duragloss
Google for Duragloss Malaysia and you'd find their site. There's also a couple of shops in PJ that sells them. You can find their address in Duragloss website also.
christ14
post Nov 6 2013, 03:25 PM

1,567 posts

thank you boss.
duragloss. got a website for malaysia
Quazacolt
post Nov 6 2013, 03:37 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Nov 6 2013, 03:25 PM)
Waja OEM headlights are glass..... thumbup.gif
lol i ditched my default iswara glass headlamps by modifying the front to LMST (saga2) which is plastic laugh.gif

133 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:11 PM