Car Care and Detailing [V2], LYN Automotive Detailing Thread

christ14
post Mar 11 2013, 09:19 PM

1,567 posts

anyone here using permanon? or duragloss?

it might just be me missing something when prepping the surface but permanon just wont last above 1 month or whatever duration it is sealant last (3months i think)

after it finishes though im gonna try duragloss! any good reviews on the sealant and car wash? because before permanon im using megs ultimate range.

altho due to its easy application, permanon is quite nice. wash clay seal in just over an hour
christ14
post Jun 1 2013, 06:09 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 1 2013, 12:15 PM)
Can any provide the detailing products which can purchase locally?
Wash, clay, polish, sealant, etc..
Quite number of similar products but unsure which is the most suitable to use smile.gif
prior to sifu krismas quaz and gkl mention. theres permanon. automotive garage got sell. imho is somewhat the best.

because i have only used some cheapo products and turtle and megs ultimate line so i cant comment further tongue.gif
christ14
post Jun 1 2013, 07:49 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jun 1 2013, 06:21 PM)
Currently I using cheapo Permeglass clay bar and sealant too on my current car... But planned for new car this year and looking for better detailing methods by DIY with better products...  smile.gif

the reasons I ask for assistance as too much variety of choices, such as Meguairs Waxing have 3 different type even though I can understand the purpose for each products, some wax come with polish compound etc and looking for best combination of products for better result...

anyway, i looking the product which serve the only purpose, clay means clay only, wax means wax only some sort... Meaning not looking for those all in one (wash + polish + wax) products smile.gif
is ok. i have read a blog or something b4 (sorry dunno is which so cant google it) that this guy compares some cheapo otc products that u can get for like below rm20 and pit it against its strong competitor (yes like optimum megs turtle dg etc) and surprisingly it works better than most of it.

the point is..cheap or expensive is ok as long as you know what you want and know HOW to use it...as per the directions whistling.gif

regarding the wax. yes different purposes. but im sure most sifu here will recommend u that a polish should only polish. wax that only wax. and so on.
christ14
post Aug 30 2013, 09:32 AM

1,567 posts

i got a problem with my car paint with industrial paint doh.gif

all the cars arent sparred. when the company do repairs to ships.. they spray the paint and then theres sea breeze. and then we get free mini paint job.

i tried claying and polishing to no avail. the whole car is rough. and after a good wash and failed polish. i can see black dots vmad.gif any tips? please dont tell me to repaint as its just a myvi lol
christ14
post Aug 30 2013, 11:56 AM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Aug 30 2013, 11:04 AM)
First, if possible, try to find out what kind of paint was it.
Second, find out whether mineral spirit, alcohol (IPA), turpentine, petrol, diesel, etc. (those solvent which we know won't harm the vehicle clear coat) would be able to remove them, or you can straight away try using the mentioned solvent.

You can also try claying...with a little bit of pressure. But be aware that you'd most probably would get some swirls afterwards and would required some polishing.

Worst case, if all else fails and re-spray IS required, you can try wet sanding a small area then compound/polish...for this, I'd suggest sending your car for the pro to do it la....

How much is the effected area anyway?
i'll ask the painter.. those are safe on paint?

like i said i tried. i tried my spoiler clay how hard also not removeable doh.gif polishing wont do also.

...the whole car NOT even under bumper, windscreen, and rims are missed

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Aug 30 2013, 09:45 AM)
Picture would be helpful.

Like mine, my car was attack by tahi besi. After clay, it was better. But still need something to really remove the sisa-sisa of tahi besi.

Now I am looking for Carpro Iron X, siapa ada jalan pls share.  smile.gif
sorry bro..my phone was stolen. just see the paint with uneven spray of white and black paint lol. the whoole surface is rough shakehead.gif
christ14
post Oct 10 2013, 02:57 PM

1,567 posts

dang i need that IPA. not postageable. using cheapo celotape to cover parts for plasti dip after take tape off the sticky part there doh.gif
christ14
post Oct 10 2013, 04:18 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Oct 10 2013, 03:40 PM)
To clean up small areas you can get some alcohol pads from pharmacy. If you have some WD40 you can try that as well. Spray and let it dwell for 10-20 seconds, wipe it with a cloth and quickly rinse the area with water. Make sure you don't leave the WD40 on the surface longer that required as it can stain the paint.

http://www.amazon.com/WEBCOL-Alcohol-Preps...ds=alcohol+pads
hmm.gif will give that a try. isnt wd40 like a lubricant? how to wash after? the paint not slippery?
christ14
post Oct 11 2013, 08:24 AM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Oct 11 2013, 02:31 AM)
hi to all d sifu...
i plan to buy some car wash & detailing product...
comparing between permanon platinum package which is selling in d garage...
vs d meguiar's car detailing product...
which one is better?
hopefully can get some advice...
thx in advance...
btw...
how many cloth we nid & wat cloth we nid for car detailing?
i've moved out from the megs ultimate line to permanon platinum.

i say not bad. for me personally is cost effective. saves more time. and.. very easy? except when its time to do a full detailing.

the first time is always tough. need to wash. clay. clean the paint to a bare for the platinum to really stick to the PAINT not anything else like wax or etc. application is very easy.

dilute with water. first time is more concentrate. (or i went over a lil bit. i spray 90% platinum 10% water) just because i wanted to tongue.gif that spray bottle it came with, you dont have to fill it up to that mark. thats enough (for me) for 2 and a half myvi to coat.

then i just reapplied every 2months since the shampoo itself is mentioned to "rejuvenate" the coating every wash. like a top up or whats the term. anyway..its just a spray on rinse off type. do take note since you apply it with the mf towel. its still wet. means you can go all over the section of the car. thats why i said you dont have to fill to the mark that the seller indicates on the spray. i usually would spray on the section of paint and while its still wet, go over the windscreen lol.

and since megs wax is abit trouble some needing to re apply every 2 weeks and needing to buff. decide it just takes too much time and energy. (my right arm was bulky cuz no shyt.. when you have to clay and wipe off lube and, polish and buff and, wax/coat and buff. damn..im not missing those moments)

...i should stop.. its already tldr doh.gif
christ14
post Nov 6 2013, 03:25 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(dynames07 @ Nov 6 2013, 03:19 PM)
sorry for my ignorance but what is DG? place that i can acquire the thing?

thank you boss.
duragloss. got a website for malaysia
christ14
post Nov 25 2013, 10:52 PM

1,567 posts

opti seal ok? not newbie not pro either.. permanon platinum almost finish and garage sale got stock
christ14
post Nov 26 2013, 11:32 AM

1,567 posts

site1

this 1 interested in wolfgang and collinite havent reply got opti seal or not

site2

usual guy. although i got permanon platinum from cars audio cuz he in sabah

just wanted to try somthing new. but albeit permanon saves alot of time and the ease of use

0.0586sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:20 PM