1311 Pages « < 704 705 706 707 708 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

dwRK
post Jul 7 2023, 09:07 PM

the consummate chartist
6,241 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Jul 7 2023, 08:19 PM)
bro, this time different....because the country is really going downhill at accelerated rate due to external and internal factors. Now it is not so much taking your money but throwing a wrench in your plan. If you have a lot outside beside EPF, then it's ok. If EPF represents over 80% of your networth, then better reevaluate your strategies.
true... can see drastic changes after najib... also we are running out of oil... gov increasing taxes, reducing subsidies... dun say future generations, current generation also tough

as for epf... will deal with it once the time comes lah... right now cant worry too much... our retirement plans exclude epf, hence my outlook very different smile.gif

dwRK
post Jul 7 2023, 09:20 PM

the consummate chartist
6,241 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jul 7 2023, 08:39 PM)
Problem is previously. Gov dun dare to tell this type of story.
previously our economy was growing... developments everywhere... new generation of tongkat ppl, easy money reckless spending...

now future not so good...

faizfizy39
post Jul 7 2023, 09:45 PM

VVIP
681 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jul 7 2023, 08:35 PM)
For the immediate future, the parameters seems to be fixated at 20 years, 1K rm and 240K rm.... and the nonsense talk about mandatory vs voluntary and EPF is here to promote some senses, with a pinch of salt about new members being impacted.

These are the "parameters" EPF and PMX are pre-empting us about.

If we just focus and think about the parameters, we all pretty much can guess the extend of this can impact us....  hmm.gif

High High wealth amount... not a problem.
Low wealth problem: loss of freedom but could end up a good thing.
Middle wealth.... need to retweak one's plan.

** special category... too much EPF as % of wealth... as you said, re-eval
New members also can consider as new parameters being born since xx.

It think changes is inevitable. Workforce sectors now is not similar as decade ago. EPF will adapt to be relevant. Gig workers esp, don't have EPF. Should expect more changes to come, surely they will find a way to target these people.
Wedchar2912
post Jul 7 2023, 09:52 PM

3,668 posts

QUOTE(faizfizy39 @ Jul 7 2023, 09:45 PM)
New members also can consider as new parameters being born since xx.
It think changes is inevitable. Workforce sectors now is not similar as decade ago. EPF will adapt to be relevant. Gig workers esp, don't have EPF. Should expect more changes to come, surely they will find a way to target these people.
true... new members we can assume either by age/year of birth like those born after 2005,
or could be based on actual date of a person be a EPF member after Dec 2023.

I prefer the latter criteria.... that will give more comfort (again, politicians can say new things regardless) that the "old" members can depend on EPF not to pull the rugs under us straight to 6 feet under before our time... nod.gif
ronnie
post Jul 7 2023, 10:29 PM

Not enough stars
21,315 posts

Is the newer KWSP I-Akaun supposedly replace the old I-Akaun ?
Same same bu different app ke?
faizfizy39
post Jul 7 2023, 10:35 PM

VVIP
681 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 7 2023, 10:29 PM)
Slowly replace...
kevyeoh
post Jul 7 2023, 11:40 PM

4,720 posts

Wait... the proposed mandatory withdrawal plan.. does that mean we cannot choose to withdraw all if we want to? Then i got a problem with that.. it is my money.. i won't even know how long i can live... i hope they give us a choice... mandatory withdrawal unless we take out more lump sum...
hedfi
post Jul 7 2023, 11:46 PM

649 posts

I am sure if the father knew then it'll come to this, he would just wank off and fed the fishes
guy3288
post Jul 8 2023, 12:25 AM

5,901 posts

QUOTE(akidos @ Jul 7 2023, 12:55 PM)
Personally i agree with the government's position.  You see, majority in malaysia is dumb enough to plan their retirement . The moment , they get their hands on EPF money - they instantaneously spend it.

Example , if you have 2 mil in your epf - the right thing to do is to just withdraw the dividend and survive based on the dividend alone . With 2 mil in account, you can afford to live a decent live ~ RM 120,000 on average .

I knew an idiot ( My father ) who took out close to 1.8 mil and finished using them in 5 yrs and now became a professional beggar .
120k - give out to sister cos she is poor
loan to friend
renovated a properly functioning kitchen

At this moment i told him, if you want money from me , please itemize all your expenses before we can discuss about me supporting you financially .
how bad also is father
dont lah wash too much dirty linens in public
not nice

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 7 2023, 08:10 PM)
will continue dump all fresh funds into epf... smile.gif

40 yrs liao...variation of same story gov/epf gonna take all your money... lol...

anyways ...
thumbsup.gif
i would think so
people are over reacting
too early.

koaydarren
post Jul 8 2023, 12:43 AM

Mr D
430 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ Jul 7 2023, 11:46 PM)
I am sure if the father knew then it'll come to this, he would just wank off and fed the fishes
He got angry because he tot he could have inherited the 1.8 million.
prophetjul
post Jul 8 2023, 07:00 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 7 2023, 09:07 PM)
true... can see drastic changes after najib... also we are running out of oil... gov increasing taxes, reducing subsidies... dun say future generations, current generation also tough

as for epf... will deal with it once the time comes lah... right now cant worry too much... our retirement plans exclude epf, hence my outlook very different smile.gif
Good if you can exclude EPF as your retirement plan. Most cannot. Like me. biggrin.gif
prophetjul
post Jul 8 2023, 07:03 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 7 2023, 10:29 PM)
And i just downloaded the old one i think a week ago! icon_question.gif
adele123
post Jul 8 2023, 08:27 AM

4,726 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Jul 8 2023, 12:25 AM)
how bad also is father
dont  lah wash too much dirty linens in public
not nice
:thumbsup:
i would think so
people are over reacting
too early.
It's an emotional thing. I would have been very angry if it happened to me.

While we are all not perfect, i think we can learn something from the original poster about parents not knowing how to do financial planning. Those who come to LYN finance, has the intention to improve their finances or already "OK". At least those who are learning can keep this in mind lo. Like someone say, abit like strike lottery syndrome

I view it as, let's not end up like that person, get 1.8mil, and didnt do proper planning.

Being an adult is about being responsible for your actions.
CommodoreAmiga
post Jul 8 2023, 08:36 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jul 8 2023, 08:27 AM)
It's an emotional thing. I would have been very angry if it happened to me.

While we are all not perfect, i think we can learn something from the original poster about parents not knowing how to do financial planning. Those who come to LYN finance, has the intention to improve their finances or already "OK". At least those who are learning can keep this in mind lo. Like someone say, abit like strike lottery syndrome

I view it as, let's not end up like that person, get 1.8mil, and didnt do proper planning.

Being an adult is about being responsible for your actions.
If parents not good at financial management is one thing. But children shouldn't be entitled to think their parents wealth should be theirs. It's your parents money, and it's really their perogative to use their money as they see fit.

Unless the parent is really useless like gambler, drug addict, criminal, wife beater, adulterator etc. One shouldnt really complain about their parents who has brought you up and gave you a decent education. Be grateful for that.

Like Jackie Chan said, "if he is not capable, he will waste my money. If he is capable, he can make his own money!".
MUM
post Jul 8 2023, 08:41 AM

14,934 posts

Some just wanted to built a "bigger" & longer lasting legacy for their children and grand children in a much quicker way.

It is better to spend all that 1.8 millions in things that makes one happy in a few years than being scammed all of it either thru money games, love scam, parcel scam, lhdn scam etc etc.

Scams are very common and can get hit without warnings to many. It may entice one thru greed, love, fear, etc too.

This post has been edited by MUM: Jul 8 2023, 08:43 AM
batman1172
post Jul 8 2023, 09:20 AM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Jul 7 2023, 11:40 PM)
Wait... the proposed mandatory withdrawal plan.. does that mean we cannot choose to withdraw all if we want to? Then i got a problem with that.. it is my money.. i won't even know how long i can live... i hope they give us a choice... mandatory withdrawal unless we take out more lump sum...
Guess so. Want to make it like CPF
dwRK
post Jul 8 2023, 09:34 AM

the consummate chartist
6,241 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 8 2023, 07:00 AM)
Good if you can exclude EPF as your retirement plan. Most cannot. Like me.  biggrin.gif
this just means your retirement activity...includes how to divi up and shifting your wealth... biggrin.gif no necessary spending it... hahaha...

did a simple calc...
save 100/mth flat in epf for 35 yrs at 5.5% = 127K

include company contribution easily > 250k

if salary increase only match inflation 3% > 390k liao... easily beat 240k epf talking point today... can retire early... lol
dunno lah these ppl...

prophetjul
post Jul 8 2023, 09:36 AM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 8 2023, 09:34 AM)
this just means your retirement activity...includes how to divi up and shifting your wealth... biggrin.gif  no necessary spending it... hahaha...

did a simple calc...

dunno lah these ppl...
Good illustration.
Many do not understand the power of yearly compounding. The longer the better.
TyroneS
post Jul 8 2023, 09:39 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(akidos @ Jul 7 2023, 12:55 PM)
Personally i agree with the government's position.  You see, majority in malaysia is dumb enough to plan their retirement . The moment , they get their hands on EPF money - they instantaneously spend it.

Example , if you have 2 mil in your epf - the right thing to do is to just withdraw the dividend and survive based on the dividend alone . With 2 mil in account, you can afford to live a decent live ~ RM 120,000 on average .

I knew an idiot ( My father ) who took out close to 1.8 mil and finished using them in 5 yrs and now became a professional beggar .
120k - give out to sister cos she is poor
loan to friend
renovated a properly functioning kitchen

At this moment i told him, if you want money from me , please itemize all your expenses before we can discuss about me supporting you financially .
Agreed,
My father also,
Retirement in 55,
then travel here travel there for couple of month,
come back Home and feel boring then go up Genting EVERYDAY.
Max withdraw his ATM around 10~30k PER DAY
*have win have lose but sure Lose > Win*
2month later, boom~
Sell all the houses, clear all the saving & EPF bla bla bla...
mine & mom saving cash out to cover puke.gif

Only lucky thing was he know to STOP and no pinjam from loan shark there. sweat.gif

Then he went back to work and started at zero until the covid and he lost his job again...
But luckily this time I've spent the last ten years trying to save money,
Can't be rich in the bank, but at least rich in life,
No need to worry about food, clothing, families can have lunch outside on Sundays. innocent.gif
batman1172
post Jul 8 2023, 09:55 AM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 8 2023, 09:36 AM)
Good illustration.
Many do not understand the power of yearly compounding.  The longer the better.
Lessons already given in form 5 math. Just that didn’t apply it to dividends.

1311 Pages « < 704 705 706 707 708 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:11 PM