73 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

Wedchar2912
post Sep 6 2019, 04:54 PM

3,665 posts

don't have to worry about EPF return for 2019. Many of us focuses only on the equity holdings of EPF and then jump to conclusion that EPF will not do well for 2019.

in reality, the bulk of EPF investment is in Malaysia government bonds, which thanks to BNM rate cut, have gone up in price. Overall, i believe EPF made tonnes of mark to market gains
Wedchar2912
post Jan 12 2020, 04:00 PM

3,665 posts

would guess that 2019 EPF dividend will be close to 6%. Malaysia government need to show that if a financial institution is will managed professionally, the investment performance will be good. Especially true when TH, KWAP and PNB are declaring positive returns....
Wedchar2912
post Jan 13 2020, 04:19 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 13 2020, 04:00 PM)
Your Answer  dry.gif  biggrin.gif  innocent.gif
Interesting... thanks for the table....

it appears that bad news come later... good news earlier. Hopefully this year announcement happens on 27 Jan!
Wedchar2912
post Jan 14 2020, 05:51 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 14 2020, 02:54 PM)
Not saying you are wrong, sometimes getting too big can itself be a problem, more difficult to perform at its best.

From history ...

[attachmentid=10403474]

I have not updated my spreadsheet for the past few years. Too lazy to do it now. So just used the data I have.

Historical trend is no guarantee but it is a good indicator, predictor.

But hope I am wrong this time.
Thank you for this plot. It does show a clear trend.

But ASN/PNB all this while has not been really transparent in their asset holdings vs EPF. Year in and Year out always outperform everything in all asset classes. It is a bit scary and if didn't know better, it would be tell tail sign of a pyramid scheme.
EPF at least shows how their asset combo can generate returns with fixed income/government bonds.

I dont know if ASN/PNB holds enough fixed income to have such effects.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 20 2020, 03:01 PM

3,665 posts

Well, the Plus new restructuring will allow EPF extra legroom to maintain a "high or higher" dividend for 2019.
At end, looking at all the previous years, the dividend rate is not really based on actual income or return of EPF's realized investment.

At end, it is now based on whether Tun and LGE wish to give a nice looking return of say 6% and then market this positive return is due to good management by EPF, and then say give them more chance to do the right things elsewhere.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 1 2020, 08:14 PM

3,665 posts

Equity market performance is one part of the dividend equation, but there is another portion that most of us tend to overlook. 50 odd% of all assets of EPF is actually in Malaysian government bond-like instruments.

and we know BNM has been cutting interest rates. rates down means bond prices up.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 2 2020, 01:49 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Feb 1 2020, 11:23 PM)
Epf does not take into account unrealised capital gains for dividend distribution. So while Malaysian govt bond prices have gone up nicely last year (about 9% based on abfmy) , it will not matter to epf dividend unless epf sells the bonds. And usually, AFAIK, epf keep bonds for the long haul.
if the government bonds followed roughly the same price increase of 9%, that would indicate that the fixed income component itself is able to provide a dividend of 4.5% for 2019... provided EPF managed to realised all the gains of course.

any method to see if EPF has been selling some of their positions? Like what they do with their equity positions in bursa, which is reported to bursa.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 4 2020, 01:35 PM

3,665 posts

Dividend is a cashflow/capital type of movement, while profit is about revenue from business exceeding costs of said business.

in other sense, a firm which is not making profit can still give dividend. Giving dividend will not impact profitability directly.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 6 2020, 12:26 PM

3,665 posts

Ooooo... thanks vinchee1219 for the post.

can it be that epf div rate is that good? earlier better right?
Wedchar2912
post Feb 17 2020, 08:40 PM

3,665 posts

I dream 6.15% with condition that all the dividend for 2019 must be disbursed into the 3 e-wallets and must be spent by everyone in 2 months to spur the economy....

kill 2 birds with 1 stone!
Wedchar2912
post Feb 19 2020, 01:57 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Feb 19 2020, 01:34 PM)
+ Pakatan Harapan (PH) presidential council meeting on Friday (Feb 21).

Hoping for double GOOD news!
I am guessing it will be a good announcement, else why do it together with the PC meeting. Everyone wants to bask in the good feel announcement.

If pro PH, better hope this is good, else this will be really a one time government when institutions like TH, PNB and KWAP had to be "helped by government" while EPF contributors is "abandoned".

Wedchar2912
post Feb 21 2020, 03:38 PM

3,665 posts

between now till end of day, going to be interesting.
I wonder who will announce? EPF CEO? Minister of Finance? Prime Minister?
Wedchar2912
post Feb 21 2020, 05:32 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(Dd2318 @ Feb 21 2020, 04:00 PM)
Reason for delay in announcement...

If bad dividend scenario, all ministries passing the buck, nobody wants to be messenger. End up, KWSP ceo does it.

If great dividend scenario, everyone wants to present. End up, PM does it.
lol... good one.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 29 2020, 01:16 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Feb 28 2020, 01:59 PM)
anyone here contribute more than 11% ?

what is the highest % here ?
What you actually elect is not the absolute % to contribute, but the additional % on top of the statutory % determined by the government. Ie, soon the statutory % will be 7%.
So when you want to change your contribution, you select the additional %. For example, you select 10%, that would mean your contribution will now be 7% + 10% = 17%. That is how the rule works.

The highest technically is all your net/take home salary from employer post (that is after paying tax and other obligations that your firm/HR deduct from your gross salary).

Using simple example, lets say your gross salary is RM 10K. Your take home pay currently is RM 8K. Assume your income tax and socso and statutory epf contribution add up to RM 2K.
that means you can select 80% as your addiditonal % for contribution into EPF, making your total % EPF contribution as 87%.
Wedchar2912
post Feb 29 2020, 01:17 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(not timid and slow @ Feb 29 2020, 01:13 PM)
epf only up to 6k is tax free right?  that's only 500 per month
PH gov changed the tax deduction to 4K rm for 2019 and 2020.
Wedchar2912
post Mar 2 2020, 06:07 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Mar 2 2020, 12:52 PM)
Sure bor....?
Where you pluck the 4k thingy?
you may check at kwsp official site to verify if it applies to you.
Wedchar2912
post Mar 5 2020, 09:14 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(beLIEve @ Mar 4 2020, 12:12 AM)
no and no.

Your payslip, if done correctly, will have 2 columns for you. 1 for statutory and 1 for variable.

You are to submit the form, not your HR. Print out the Form 17 AHL, fill it, get payroll (or your manager) to sign, company stamp, submit to EPF, get EPF photocopy, EPF stamp photocopy, submit to payroll.
Just to share from my experience previously, the form is to be filled by the employee (ie worker) and handed over to HR. HR will take over from there. Also, depending on the size of the firm, HR may request the employee to fill another form, which happened in my previous experience.

Best to contact the HR department to find out the proper procedure. I suspect different HR has slightly different practices.
Wedchar2912
post Mar 24 2020, 03:10 PM

3,665 posts

For this year 2020, unless KLCI revert back to 1500 levels, we should just expect 3% type of returns for conventional accounts.

to make it worse, our government's strategy to ask the EPF members to withdraw from account 2 to sustain oneself at the expense of one's retirement is irresponsible and unbecoming.
And to compound on this, this means EPF would need to liquidate some of its holdings to cater to the expected 40 bio myr withdrawal from EPF, as estimated by the government.

One the other hand, those who have FDs in banks, just use those since bank interest is like 2% nowadays
Wedchar2912
post Mar 29 2020, 02:50 PM

3,665 posts

The government should not use EPF's member's retirement fund to save the employers. Find other ways to do so.

By allowing employers to say delay payment for 9 months, it is the employees who are losing out as the deductions and employer contributions will be missing out on the dividend declared for the year.

Furthermore, what if the employers still go belly up before payment settlement into EPF?

The government should have had considered the versions now practiced by certain governments of covering 50% of all employee's pay of those impacted up to say RM 2K absolute and by that way, reduce's employers' financial burden.
Wedchar2912
post Mar 29 2020, 07:47 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Mar 29 2020, 03:05 PM)
if a company go belly-up before settling EPF:
https://asklegal.my/p/company-bankrupt-owe-...-corporate-veil
--snippet--
Other laws and (possibly) lawsuits
Other than the Companies Act, there are various other laws that specifically allow for the directors of the company to be personally liable for certain debts of the company. Two prominent and good examples of this are the Employees Provident Fund Act 1991 (“EPF Act”) and the Income Tax Act 1967 (“ITA”).

Section 46 of the EPF Act makes the directors of the company jointly and severally liable for the company’s unpaid EPF contributions. Similarly, section 75A of the ITA provides that where any tax is due and payable under the ITA by a company, any person who is a director of that company during the period in which that tax is liable to be paid, shall be jointly and severally liable for such tax that is due and payable. “Director” in section 75A has a special definition i.e. someone who is occupying the position of director (by whatever name called and includes any person who is concerned in the management of the company's business) and either directly or indirectly has control of not less than 20% of the ordinary share capital of the company.

The rationale behind this is that the separate legal entity / limited liability concept should not be used as a shield to evade liability towards employees and the tax authority.

One interesting issue is whether a director can be held personally liable for tortious acts (e.g. negligence or defamation) committed in the course of acting as director on behalf of the company. A tort is essentially a legal right to sue someone for a wrong-doing, even though the parties may not have any contractual relationship between them.

https://www.thestar.com.my/opinion/letters/...-their-epf-duty
They must ensure that mandatory EPF contributions for their employees are made in a timely manner.

This is crucial because company directors are jointly and severally liable should the company fail to remit EPF contributions. 

PS: Of course one can argue, what if directors also bankrupt?
By then, personally, i think it's beyond finger pointing liao. While i'm an employee/worker-ant only, i do sympathize with businesses where the owners/directors do their best to keep the biz going not only for themselves but also for their employees. They take on the risks & stress..
The spirit and actual interpretation (I think, as I am not a lawyer) of these laws are to make sure no foul play or ill intention.

however, when a firm goes bankrupt, this needs to go to bankruptcy court to settle priority of debts etc. Isn't this unfair to employees that their EPF contribution (from the employers) which would have been safe in EPF accounts now become part of the debt owed by the defaulted firm?

For example. Let's say with or without this program, the firm would still go belly up in Dec as the economy is really bad. No fault of the directors or the firm.
Without the program, the employees' EPF money all would be put into the EPF accounts promptly (else its a wrong doing and against the law) until the firm goes bankrupt in Dec.
Now with the program, the employees' 9 months EPF contribution (which is practically 1 month pay = 12% x 9 months) is gone. How to sue the employer? is this fair to both employee and employer?

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Mar 29 2020, 07:48 PM

73 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0419sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:35 AM