Proton Prevé V17, steady as she goes
dares
Feb 9 2013, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(didot @ Feb 9 2013, 06:43 AM) Iafm & iafm+ is not same. Totally different. Iafm+ basically is cfe engine without turbo. Means you can add turbo anytime. Iafm & iafm+ has different engine build up. Difference in diamention, compression, if you really need all the details, you can call proton engineer directly. It is not good to ASSUME this and that. IAFM and IAFM+ has the same compression ratio (10:1) and displacement. CFE has a lower compression ratio (8.9:1) and slightly lower displacement (lower stroke), not to mention strengthened internals to withstand the higher output. You can't simply bolt on the BorgWarner turbo on the IAFM+ and call it a CFE. The engine block is the same, the internals are different. This post has been edited by dares: Feb 9 2013, 10:01 AM
didot
Feb 9 2013, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(dares @ Feb 9 2013, 09:59 AM) IAFM and IAFM+ has the same compression ratio (10:1) and displacement. CFE has a lower compression ratio (8.9:1) and slightly lower displacement (lower stroke), not to mention strengthened internals to withstand the higher output. You can't simply bolt on the BorgWarner turbo on the IAFM+ and call it a CFE. The engine block is the same, the internals are different. I mean, cfe is build based on iafm+, not iafm. That is why iafm+ is different with iafm. Despite the compression ratio iafm n iafm+ is same, but it has different characteristic. Cheers. But doest matter, that is not what we cares, what we care is iafm+ should be better thn iafm. Im using cfe and I fully satisfied with the engine. My mom crv also not perform like cfe 1.6. Harap je vtec 2.0, tp lembap je.
SUSKinitos
Feb 9 2013, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(kyox88 @ Feb 8 2013, 10:31 PM) couldnt agree more...however MT the gear 1 seems got problem abit, hard to enter sometime..and u need to press extra oil too after releasing the clutch...m still nt used to it  Preve MT method is release clutch let the move forward then press oil release clutch and press oil same time the "over smart ECU" will do engine braking (waste your oil) kononnya to ensure smooth pickup slow like siput Everyone who intend to get Preve MT pls test drive it during working/lunchtime hours and try some hilly slopes. If U can handle it can Buy, this Preve MT ECU profiles not the same as others Proton MT Confirm u feel less power than MT Saga BLM on slope
gkl83
Feb 9 2013, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(Kinitos @ Feb 9 2013, 11:51 AM) Preve MT method is release clutch let the move forward then press oil release clutch and press oil same time the "over smart ECU" will do engine braking (waste your oil) kononnya to ensure smooth pickup slow like siput never heard different car have different MT shifting... though is depend on driver skill and preferences and road condition... there have some skill called "rev match" as throttle up the RPM according to car speed & gearing while releasing cluching... it is good as lesser wear and tear and clutch plate too and there almost dont have "shift shock" feeling (no engine brake or no sudden-boost) if skillful with MT enough... anyway, poor AT (such as proton savvy) will serious "shift shock" with engine brake too which supposing to sudden-boost feeling as i floored the pedal from low speed to high speed This post has been edited by gkl83: Feb 9 2013, 12:16 PM
gkl83
Feb 9 2013, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 9 2013, 08:08 AM) kk.. i think my myvi 1.3 also not any better.. full tank maybe 300-320km flashing need fill up liao, 35L like tat.. mine around 350km fill 40L like tat.. guess u driving AT? bcos i have myvi MT 2007, still managed to get average 17km/h around Klang Valley... about RM57 @ 30L for 450-500km...
sg999
Feb 9 2013, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(Kinitos @ Feb 9 2013, 12:51 PM) Preve MT method is release clutch let the move forward then press oil release clutch and press oil same time the "over smart ECU" will do engine braking (waste your oil) kononnya to ensure smooth pickup slow like siput Everyone who intend to get Preve MT pls test drive it during working/lunchtime hours and try some hilly slopes. If U can handle it can Buy, this Preve MT ECU profiles not the same as others Proton MT Confirm u feel less power than MT Saga BLM on slope of course la BLM gearbox has near disctance gear ratio from each gear ma that why at the end 12024000rpm
sg999
Feb 9 2013, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 9 2013, 01:11 PM) never heard different car have different MT shifting... though is depend on driver skill and preferences and road condition... there have some skill called "rev match" as throttle up the RPM according to car speed & gearing while releasing cluching... it is good as lesser wear and tear and clutch plate too and there almost dont have "shift shock" feeling (no engine brake or no sudden-boost) if skillful with MT enough... anyway, poor AT (such as proton savvy) will serious "shift shock" with engine brake too which supposing to sudden-boost feeling as i floored the pedal from low speed to high speed maybe due to throttle delay
gkl83
Feb 9 2013, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(sg999 @ Feb 9 2013, 12:18 PM) maybe due to throttle delay i guess our modern ECU should have the capabilities to differentiate the car speed and RPM level while shifting, it it just same like drive a manual as Kinitos described... but MT should have the room to reduce "shift shock" as we can play both pedals to control the car depend on road condition rather than 1 pedal only which have limited choices as controlled by ECU 100%... anyway, definitely i will buy preve no matter how if there have CFE manual with premium spec... i still prefer to "control" the car rather than car "control" me...
sg999
Feb 9 2013, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 9 2013, 01:40 PM) i guess our modern ECU should have the capabilities to differentiate the car speed and RPM level while shifting, it it just same like drive a manual as Kinitos described... but MT should have the room to reduce "shift shock" as we can play both pedals to control the car depend on road condition rather than 1 pedal only which have limited choices as controlled by ECU 100%... anyway, definitely i will buy preve no matter how if there have CFE manual with premium spec... i still prefer to "control" the car rather than car "control" me...  yeah that why i looking preve manual also
dares
Feb 9 2013, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(didot @ Feb 9 2013, 10:42 AM) I mean, cfe is build based on iafm+, not iafm. That is why iafm+ is different with iafm. Despite the compression ratio iafm n iafm+ is same, but it has different characteristic. Cheers. But doest matter, that is not what we cares, what we care is iafm+ should be better thn iafm. Im using cfe and I fully satisfied with the engine. My mom crv also not perform like cfe 1.6. Harap je vtec 2.0, tp lembap je. IAFM+ have different camshaft and different pistons compared to IAFM, mainly to accomodate the CVT, so you're right that characteristics are different
gkl83
Feb 9 2013, 12:59 PM
QUOTE(sg999 @ Feb 9 2013, 12:45 PM) yeah that why i looking preve manual also  but say no to CPS... even current Exora standard also equipped with CFE...
sg999
Feb 9 2013, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 9 2013, 01:59 PM) but say no to CPS... even current Exora standard also equipped with CFE...  why anti CPS???waja cps mt not bad leh
ben3003
Feb 9 2013, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 9 2013, 12:13 PM) guess u driving AT? bcos i have myvi MT 2007, still managed to get average 17km/h around Klang Valley... about RM57 @ 30L for 450-500km... yup AT one.. average 17km/h speed u still can get so low FC?
sg999
Feb 9 2013, 01:55 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 9 2013, 02:36 PM) yup AT one.. average 17km/h speed u still can get so low FC? DVVT + 5MT
ben3003
Feb 9 2013, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(sg999 @ Feb 9 2013, 01:55 PM) DVVT + 5MT  >< AT so makan fuel... i drive savvy MT at KL normally 50 can go 300++ like tat only le.. but is stop and go traffic la..
sg999
Feb 9 2013, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 9 2013, 03:08 PM) >< AT so makan fuel... i drive savvy MT at KL normally 50 can go 300++ like tat only le.. but is stop and go traffic la.. my BLM MT in KL CITY also 11km/l+ only
gkl83
Feb 9 2013, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 9 2013, 01:36 PM) yup AT one.. average 17km/h speed u still can get so low FC? typo, should be 17km/L  that why dont go for normal 4AT as it consume some petrol there... it is better go for CVT instead... This post has been edited by gkl83: Feb 9 2013, 03:16 PM
gkl83
Feb 9 2013, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(sg999 @ Feb 9 2013, 01:02 PM) why anti CPS???waja cps mt not bad leh  CPS old tech lo and lack of power sure have the reasons for new exora standard equip with CFE now even though CPS previously...
Manlet
Feb 9 2013, 04:18 PM
QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 9 2013, 12:40 PM) i guess our modern ECU should have the capabilities to differentiate the car speed and RPM level while shifting, it it just same like drive a manual as Kinitos described... but MT should have the room to reduce "shift shock" as we can play both pedals to control the car depend on road condition rather than 1 pedal only which have limited choices as controlled by ECU 100%... anyway, definitely i will buy preve no matter how if there have CFE manual with premium spec... i still prefer to "control" the car rather than car "control" me...  later preve hatch back got CFE 6 speed manual