826 Pages « < 478 479 480 481 482 > » Bottom

Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative

johnny_kiu2003
post Dec 14 2018, 08:25 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Edward_Ng @ Dec 9 2018, 04:35 AM)
Hi guys i experience something very unusual.

i have been using RT-AC66U for long time. i just recently bought a new phone Xiao Mi 8. when i connect using 5Ghz the whole internet will shut down and reconnect. it happened almost everytime i try connect it with my phone.

i am using latest firmware. at first i thought is my phone problem but when i am in company there is no such issue. it connects just without resetting the whole internet so i am now confuse. Anyone face same issue??
I'm having the same issue. No solution so far
Edward_Ng
post Dec 14 2018, 11:36 AM

105 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Dec 10 2018, 10:16 AM)
Hi Edward_Ng,

Will this happen is you connect to 2.4GHz?

Can you try do a factory reset on the router and try again.

Thank you
if i connect through 2.4Ghz. it is ok at first but if i off my wifi in my smartphone and on back wifi in my smartphone, the whole router will restart again. same with 5Gz. if i just connect usually without turning off the wifi on my smartphone, chance is 50% 50% it will restart the whole router.

i tried reset but problem still persist.

QUOTE(johnny_kiu2003 @ Dec 14 2018, 08:25 AM)
I'm having the same issue. No solution so far
are you also using Xiao mi Phone?
Khalid21
post Dec 14 2018, 12:44 PM

1,138 posts

QUOTE(Edward_Ng @ Dec 9 2018, 04:35 AM)
Hi guys i experience something very unusual.

i have been using RT-AC66U for long time. i just recently bought a new phone Xiao Mi 8. when i connect using 5Ghz the whole internet will shut down and reconnect. it happened almost everytime i try connect it with my phone.

i am using latest firmware. at first i thought is my phone problem but when i am in company there is no such issue. it connects just without resetting the whole internet so i am now confuse. Anyone face same issue??
try channel 44
wanjun23
post Dec 14 2018, 05:01 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Dec 12 2018, 02:50 PM)
Hi wanjun23,

You can try selecting the ISP profile at LAN->IPTV->UNIFI.

If no profile, you can set the VLAN manually.

Thank you
Are you saying that i have to set up VLAN manually in order to use IPTV? What if i only use unifi internet service?
jusbella
post Dec 14 2018, 08:03 PM

3,037 posts

QUOTE(wanjun23 @ Dec 14 2018, 05:01 PM)
Are you saying that i have to set up VLAN manually in order to use IPTV? What if i only use unifi internet service?
Just put all port same vlan id will do.
wanjun23
post Dec 15 2018, 11:25 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(jusbella @ Dec 14 2018, 08:03 PM)
Just put all port same vlan id will do.
Same VLAN id as in 500?
Do i just set the same as blacktubi guide?
jusbella
post Dec 15 2018, 11:45 AM

3,037 posts

QUOTE(wanjun23 @ Dec 15 2018, 11:25 AM)
Same VLAN id as in 500?
You can follow his guide. If u don't use unifitv then u can ignore the guide and put all same vlan id can liao.
blacktubi
post Dec 15 2018, 12:29 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(wanjun23 @ Dec 15 2018, 11:25 AM)
Same VLAN id as in 500?
Just follow my guide and use the Unifi-Business profile if you don't need HyppTV.
firecracker
post Dec 15 2018, 10:55 PM

97 posts

hi, i am having a problem where i need to ask TM to refresh my unifi from their side everytime i restart my btu and router. if not, my asus 86u will show red light for the internet, but unifi tv is well working fine. Anybody has any idea?
elementum
post Dec 16 2018, 12:04 PM

41 posts

Wanna check with you guys, can I use back my old Asus rt-n14uhp with maxis 100mb?
blacktubi
post Dec 16 2018, 12:29 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(firecracker @ Dec 15 2018, 10:55 PM)
hi, i am having a problem where i need to ask TM to refresh my unifi from their side everytime i restart my btu and router. if not, my asus 86u will show red light for the internet, but unifi tv is well working fine. Anybody has any idea?
TM is having some limit between PPPOE connection.

Not really sure how long it is but it will be reconnected after 5 minutes.
neuromancerx
post Dec 16 2018, 03:56 PM

879 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Dec 13 2018, 04:56 PM)
Hi neuromancerx, ulala2 & stinky,

Sorry for the delay, our RD still looking into the problem, will update ASAP once got the fix firmware.

In the meantime you can try use the remote control to go stand by mode and on again to see whether the HyppTV will have display or not.

Thank you
I doubt ASUS will fix this issue. Not sure if your RD team really looking into this, but i have seen this case already observed and reported since June, that is almost 6 months already.

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/rt-ac86u-...snooping.47201/

If i know this unique issue is related to AC86U SoC, i will definitely avoid this model and opted for lower or higher model.
sHawTY
post Dec 16 2018, 04:13 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(neuromancerx @ Dec 16 2018, 03:56 PM)
If i know this unique issue is related to AC86U SoC, i will definitely avoid this model and opted for lower or higher model.
Actually it applies to all Broadcom 4900 SOC, Broadcom 4906 (used in RT-AC86U) & Broadcom 4908 (used in GT-AC5300, GT-AX11000 & RT-AX88)

It's a limitation set by Broadcom, not ASUS
ASUS is trying to overcome this by providing a fix to go around it, and yes, it might take them some time to do it but I do agree with you that 6 months is already too long

ASUSmy we paid a good amount of money to buy your company's routers so please be quick about it
We as your customers pride ourselves of buying your routers because of very good after sales support compared to D-Link, TP-Link, Netgear, Tenda (and any other brands out there) so don't tarnish your brand because of this thumbsup.gif
blacktubi
post Dec 16 2018, 04:52 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 16 2018, 04:13 PM)
Actually it applies to all Broadcom 4900 SOC, Broadcom 4906 (used in RT-AC86U) & Broadcom 4908 (used in GT-AC5300, GT-AX11000 & RT-AX88)

It's a limitation set by Broadcom, not ASUS
ASUS is trying to overcome this by providing a fix to go around it, and yes, it might take them some time to do it but I do agree with you that 6 months is already too long

ASUSmy we paid a good amount of money to buy your company's routers so please be quick about it
We as your customers pride ourselves of buying your routers because of very good after sales support compared to D-Link, TP-Link, Netgear, Tenda (and any other brands out there) so don't tarnish your brand because of this thumbsup.gif
Buying the product directly from overseas then demanding support from ASUS Malaysia. laugh.gif

Well, as far as I know, they are working on this. Although I am not a fan of their pricing here but well, at least ASUS MY got someone there to take care of issues like this.

Hopefully they still able to provide the same level of service when most people are not buying from them. whistling.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 16 2018, 05:21 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 16 2018, 04:52 PM)
Buying the product directly from overseas then demanding support from ASUS Malaysia. laugh.gif
No offense bro but I'm talking on behalf of all ASUS customers
Not all Broadcom 4900 based routers are bought from overseas
My RT-N16, RT-AC68U & RT-AC88U is original ASUS Malaysia unit. Only my RT-AC86U & GT-AC5300 is from Taobao, does that meant I can't request support from ASUS Malaysia?

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 16 2018, 05:21 PM
wanjun23
post Dec 16 2018, 10:53 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Dec 15 2018, 12:29 PM)
Just follow my guide and use the Unifi-Business profile if you don't need HyppTV.
Alright thank you! Will consult you if i faced problem setting up after my router arrived. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wanjun23: Dec 16 2018, 10:54 PM
pl95077
post Dec 17 2018, 09:57 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 16 2018, 06:21 PM)
No offense bro but I'm talking on behalf of all ASUS customers
Not all Broadcom 4900 based routers are bought from overseas
My RT-N16, RT-AC68U & RT-AC88U is original ASUS Malaysia unit. Only my RT-AC86U & GT-AC5300 is from Taobao, does that meant I can't request support from ASUS Malaysia?
Support or not support is one thing.

I think majority of us don't know, all communication equipment that shipped into Malaysia required certification from Malaysia authority.

I experienced once, then I give up already. Customs demanding for tax in order to release my purchase.

https://www.mcmc.gov.my/sectors/celco/certification

Communications and Multimedia (Technical Standards) Regulations 2000
Regulation 14 - “All communications equipment which are required to be certified under these Regulations shall be so certified.”
Regulation 27(1) - "No person shall undertake or conduct any activity in a designated skill area unless that person is certified."

blacktubi I support you!
SUSstinky
post Dec 17 2018, 11:30 AM

1,436 posts

QUOTE(pl95077 @ Dec 17 2018, 09:57 AM)
Support or not support is one thing.

I think majority of us don't know, all communication equipment that shipped into Malaysia required certification from Malaysia authority.

I experienced once, then I give up already. Customs demanding for tax in order to release my purchase.

https://www.mcmc.gov.my/sectors/celco/certification

Communications and Multimedia (Technical Standards) Regulations 2000
Regulation 14 - “All communications equipment which are required to be certified under these Regulations shall be so certified.”
Regulation 27(1) - "No person shall undertake or conduct any activity in a designated skill area unless that person is certified."

blacktubi I support you!
Communication equipment need to be certified to avoid different country's frequency band to affect Malaysia's band and causes interuption.
But in this case, the Asus hardware and software are the same both China and in Malaysia.
pl95077
post Dec 17 2018, 01:25 PM

245 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Dec 17 2018, 12:30 PM)
Communication equipment need to be certified to avoid different country's frequency band to affect Malaysia's band and causes interuption.
But in this case, the Asus hardware and software are the same both China and in Malaysia.
Not only frequency, it also power adapter. There are several cases power adapter burned happened.

Each of the unit that brought into Malaysia “the brand” need to registered the particular unit serial number to Malaysia authority.

Whatever reason, in short it is illegal.
SUSstinky
post Dec 17 2018, 03:32 PM

1,436 posts

QUOTE(pl95077 @ Dec 17 2018, 01:25 PM)
Not only frequency, it also power adapter. There are several cases power adapter burned happened.

Each of the unit that brought into Malaysia “the brand” need to registered the particular unit serial number to Malaysia authority. 

Whatever reason, in short it is illegal.
I’m short Sirim just wanna put a Sticker and charge money

826 Pages « < 478 479 480 481 482 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:11 AM