Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative
firecracker
Sep 13 2018, 06:57 PM

hi ASUSmy, my unifi is upgraded with 500 mbps..but i can only get about 95 mbps (tested using my computer on lan cable)..could it be my ASUS RT-AC55UHP not suppoting 500 mbps?
This post has been edited by firecracker: Sep 13 2018, 06:59 PM
firecracker
Sep 13 2018, 07:29 PM

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 13 2018, 06:08 PM) What BTU model do you have? Your Asus router have gigabit ports. See my signature and read. You will need a new router for 500Mbps on wireless. hi silentvampire...first, thank u for the reply...really appreciate it...i checked and my btu is huawei HG8240w, which can support gigabit speed as per ur explanation. So, i can "access" speed of 500mbps at least by lan wired connection i assume?
firecracker
Sep 13 2018, 07:52 PM

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 13 2018, 06:44 PM) Yes, definitely if by LAN wired connection, but RJ45 cable needs to be Cat 5e or Cat 6 preferably. yes..checked on that..using cat6
firecracker
Sep 13 2018, 07:58 PM

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 13 2018, 06:56 PM) You should be fine then, and you will get the full speed if you are connected directly to the router. Again..tq for ur help..  ....trying to figure it out...called tm...n they said all in order...asked me to monitor 2-3 days before making official complaint if speed does not improve to at least 200-300 mbps
firecracker
Sep 13 2018, 09:01 PM

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Sep 13 2018, 07:01 PM) Good luck. You need to get a better router, if you want enjoy the full turbo speed on wireless, and make sure your device supports the turbo speed as well. Yeah..that will be ideal..been thinking abt asus rt-ac68u...just waiting for the speed upgrade..or maybe i will get 500mbps if i change the router now..just that troubled feeling when i could not figuring why my speed is below 100
firecracker
Sep 19 2018, 08:56 PM

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Sep 19 2018, 07:47 PM) hi @ASUSmy or anyone that can help? i'm using asus rt ac55uhp. unifi 500Mbps turbo. I cannot get pass 300Mbp (usually 250Mbps to 270Mbps) using the only LAN and the correct gigabyte cable. upload is okay 100Mbps +++. The problem is the download speed eventhough it is stated that the LAN is gigabt capable? Throtle (QOS) and bandwith limiter is OFF. Is there anything i can try? or there will be a firmware upgrade or is this a hardware error i'm in the same boat with u..unifi 500 mbps and using ac55uhp..i get over 300 (300-340) when i change bandwidth limit to 0...but never reach 350 above...dont know whether the router is the problem..i have even resented my router. Tempted to buy ac86u...but worry if i still get the same result
firecracker
Sep 19 2018, 09:01 PM

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Sep 19 2018, 08:00 PM) https://wikidevi.com/wiki/ASUS_RT-AC55UHPLook at the specs  How could you expect 500Mbps out this device  500 on lan..not wireless
firecracker
Sep 19 2018, 09:19 PM

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Sep 19 2018, 08:04 PM) Yes, I am referring to wired performance oh..then that's it..it's the router...gonna welcome ac86u soon..btw..which part of the specs that dampen the ability to go 500 on lan?
firecracker
Sep 19 2018, 09:22 PM

QUOTE(qwan1101 @ Sep 19 2018, 08:17 PM) swap the router with tp link ac1200 (unifi punya new stock router) can get 500Mbps above... return to ac55uhp the same below 300Mbps.... i'm going to suspect this is something limiting the asus router... still prefer to use Asus router if possible (tp link router not mine just borrow from sis house)... hope this is only firmware or software problem... then surely u are capable to go 500...must be the router then...i tested with my dusty dlink provided by tm..but turned out to be not a gigabit router.. i wouldn't know whether i can go 500
firecracker
Sep 19 2018, 09:38 PM

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Sep 19 2018, 08:33 PM) There are lots of routers support gigabit ethernet but the problem is the CPU in the router can't process so fast The CPU thank you man..feeling a bit let down by asus...i'm gonna kill this with 86u or 88u if i'm upset enuf...just figuring out how to convince the home minister This post has been edited by firecracker: Sep 19 2018, 09:39 PM
firecracker
Dec 15 2018, 10:55 PM

hi, i am having a problem where i need to ask TM to refresh my unifi from their side everytime i restart my btu and router. if not, my asus 86u will show red light for the internet, but unifi tv is well working fine. Anybody has any idea?
firecracker
Oct 12 2019, 12:57 PM

hi, my asus rt-ac86u suddenly died with burn smell coming...i turned it off then switched on after 1/2 hour and only port no 4 is blinking..i think it is gone...bought it on 22 sept 2018 from viewnet...from the box it says 3 yrs warranty...should be covered rite? should i bring it to viewnet lowyat back or where? anyone can help?
firecracker
Oct 12 2019, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(nasilemaksedap @ Oct 12 2019, 12:16 PM) U can try claim warranty But bro and all the asus router user here make sure u use ups u know lah malaysia punya power always surge not stable so I highly recomend ups for the longevity of the router. hi..i did use ups for my router
firecracker
Oct 12 2019, 09:23 PM

QUOTE(nasilemaksedap @ Oct 12 2019, 02:11 PM) Wah like that could be hardware issue. Hope u claim it. Do update us. sent it to viewnet service centre...they said maybe 1.5 mth to resolve it..lucky i got another asus router..oh well..been using asus routers my whole life, never any problem whatsoever..guess first time for everything..anyway thanks for the help