826 Pages « < 398 399 400 401 402 > » Bottom

Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative

Alex9182
post Mar 3 2018, 10:04 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Mar 2 2018, 08:43 PM)
Answer is YES.

Enable Wireless Multicast Forwarding.  ---> https://routerguide.net/how-to-adjust-optim...-network-speed/
Disable Enable WMM ASPD ---> https://routerguide.net/wmm-apsd-on-or-off/
Disable Enhanced interference management  ---> Will force 40Mhz to 20Mhz + channel hopping around in congested environment.  ---> Probably this explain your wifi signal gone missing few moments then come back.
Set Tx Power adjustment to 200 mW  ---> default 80mw is too low. C1200 for instance transmit at 100mW

It is as advertised, easy and simple setup, no?  bruce.gif
Enable Wireless Multicast Forwarding. ---> can not find where to do this setting
Disable Enable WMM ASPD ---> Disabled (default is enable )
Disable Enhanced interference management ---> Disabled (default is enable )
Set Tx Power adjustment to 200 mW ---> default is performance, (power saving, fair, balance, good, performance)

setting done and apply and rebooted then test.

Hyppe working normally
tested using lan connected notebook, speed is normal. (see attached)
tested with android mobile phone, Ping, UL, DL - all not normal (see attached)

disappointing result. the router WiFi not working normally.

kmrdeva
post Mar 3 2018, 10:12 AM

4,776 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 3 2018, 10:04 AM)
setting done and apply and rebooted then test.

Hyppe working normally
tested using lan connected notebook, speed is normal. (see attached)
tested with android mobile phone, Ping, UL, DL - all not normal (see attached)

disappointing result. the router WiFi not working normally.
Try this - set no password for your wifi SSID and test again.

Many years ago had encountered an issue between wifi security settings and my old android phone. Something about the key settings or other.

If still same then maybe router is a lemon and needs to be sent to the shop.

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Mar 3 2018, 10:18 AM
Alex9182
post Mar 3 2018, 10:22 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Mar 3 2018, 10:12 AM)
Try this - set no password for your wifi SSID and test again.

Many years ago had encountered an issue between wifi security settings and my old android phone. Something about the key settings or other.

If still same then maybe router is a lemon and needs to be sent to the shop.
tested.

Ps..
today i added 1 device to the test (Samsung Tab S), the Tablet not able to get connected, it say something like "Authentication failed" wink.gif

This post has been edited by Alex9182: Mar 3 2018, 10:31 AM
Alex9182
post Mar 3 2018, 10:23 AM

669 posts

TQVM to all for helping,

i have done enough setup, twicking and testing, the result is disappointing and i have concluded the device is faulty.

i have call up Lazada and CS has ask me to return the product with original packing with all item and accessory to them for a full refund.

case closed. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Alex9182: Mar 3 2018, 10:24 AM
JohnLai
post Mar 3 2018, 10:23 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 3 2018, 10:22 AM)
tested.
Our condolence to you console.gif We tried our best to help.
Alex9182
post Mar 3 2018, 10:28 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Mar 3 2018, 10:23 AM)
Our condolence to you console.gif  We tried our best to help.
Special thanks to JohnLai who take a lot of time and effort to help me. smile.gif

now put back Archer C1200 TM unit back to work.
AVFAN
post Mar 3 2018, 10:38 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Puteih @ Mar 3 2018, 12:55 AM)
Hello all,
Recently I bought an Asus RT-AC1300UHP router (well not so recent, was already using about 3 months or so). I'm using the cable connection between router and my PC. One thing I noticed was that when I play games, the connection keeps on dropping out of sudden. This has never happened when I use my old TM stock router. Cable is fine, WiFi is also fine. Firmware is also up to date.
Problem : Internet connection out of sudden drop in middle of games.
Troubleshooting:
- State of cable - OK
- WiFi - OK
- Firmware - Up to date
Is there anything else that I could check to fix this issue?
u may want put back the tm router, play the same game and reconfirm if it is tm incoming or asus router problem.

what about other uses... online streaming, torrent..?

last 2 days, i notice intermittent slowdowns.

and several people reported line down in pj, shah alam, subang, seremban.... in unifi thread.
JohnLai
post Mar 3 2018, 10:43 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 3 2018, 10:28 AM)
Special thanks to JohnLai who take a lot of time and effort to help me. smile.gif

now put back Archer C1200 TM unit back to work.
Last stuff to try for RT-N12HP? Change the MTU and MRU value at WAN section to 1480 (I think the default is 1492 for N12HP?)?

cannavaro
post Mar 3 2018, 11:05 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 3 2018, 10:23 AM)
TQVM to all for helping,

i have done enough setup, twicking and testing, the result is disappointing and i have concluded the device is faulty.

i have call up Lazada and CS has ask me to return the product with original packing with all item and accessory to them for a full refund.

case closed. smile.gif
sorry to hear that.. so are you gonna buy another unit from a different seller ?
btw did you try doing a reset via the button at the back of the router?
hiha123
post Mar 3 2018, 11:41 AM

198 posts

Hi all this is netis by modem TM there call me test,so my problem is comfirm is DSL line got problem right?the SNR dB become negative blush.gif blush.gif

Alex9182
post Mar 3 2018, 11:50 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Mar 3 2018, 11:05 AM)
sorry to hear that.. so are you gonna buy another unit from a different seller ?
btw did you try doing a reset via the button at the back of the router?
you mean buy the same model from other seller?
it is not seller fault.
I have wasted too much effort on RT-N12HP, fed up with it, now lost confidence and no more interest and drive to try.
just live with Tp-Link Archer C1200 for the time being until they fix the reboot issue or until can not tahan the self reboot then see how.

tried that yesterday - 30/30/30 reset. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Alex9182: Mar 3 2018, 12:32 PM
Alex9182
post Mar 3 2018, 12:44 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Mar 3 2018, 10:43 AM)
Last stuff to try for RT-N12HP? Change the MTU and MRU value at WAN section to 1480 (I think the default is 1492 for N12HP?)?
Unit pack nicely and sealed d, don't want to open and set up again.

don't want drop the unit or scratch the unit then can not get full refund. smile.gif
SilentVampire
post Mar 3 2018, 12:50 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 3 2018, 12:44 PM)
Unit pack nicely and sealed d, don't want to open and set up again.

don't want drop the unit or scratch the unit then can not get full refund. smile.gif
Sorry to hear that bro. Ever thought of trying the higher end models which could be better?
Alex9182
post Mar 3 2018, 01:16 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 3 2018, 12:50 PM)
Sorry to hear that bro. Ever thought of trying the higher end models which could be better?
i do not want to waste much money on high end unit because don't need high end feature.
also don't want to waste money because better model keep coming out every now and then.

voncrane
post Mar 3 2018, 01:21 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 3 2018, 01:16 PM)
i do not  want to waste much money on high end unit because don't need high end feature.
also don't want to waste money because better model keep coming out every now and then.
IMO, buying a good router should not be considered as wasting money as a good one (not necessarily expensive) will last you for years. Supporting current and future devices. Today's routers can't simply go obsolete as networking standards aren't radically changed or improved upon like say smartphones.. So I would advice, get a good one and be done with it. You setup once and forget.. My 2 sen.
SilentVampire
post Mar 3 2018, 01:45 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

i do not  want to waste much money on high end unit because don't need high end feature.
You are mistaken in that sense. I bought a high end router and it is a great investment as bro voncrane said above. It have been very stable, no reboots, and no problems. It is definitely not like a smartphone and even if you are not using the high end feature, it is still good to have as all the basics are done beautifully and no problems.
Alex9182
post Mar 3 2018, 01:48 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 3 2018, 01:21 PM)
IMO, buying a good router should not be considered as wasting money as a good one (not necessarily expensive) will last you for years. Supporting current and future devices. Today's routers can't simply go obsolete as networking standards aren't radically changed or improved upon like say smartphones.. So I would advice, get a good one and be done with it. You setup once and forget.. My 2 sen.
correct,

that is the reason why i want to invest in RT-N12HP, this is consider good N router, but so unlucky got a defective unit.

technology will only keep on changing and improving and the pace will only accelerate, so obsoletion is inevitable, time will tell.

when my younger age, since my first PC which using floppy disk and no HDD and running on DOS till now, already have boxes and boxes of IT related products, now i am more frugal.
by the way, pls see attached pic, any one has privilege to use one of the Floppy disk on the far left? an 8 inch X 8 inch floppy disk. - i used before during working for semiconductor company.

PS.. if got any good but not expensive wireless router to recommend please share share. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Alex9182: Mar 3 2018, 02:07 PM

Attached image(s)
Alex9182
post Mar 3 2018, 02:17 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Mar 3 2018, 01:45 PM)
You are mistaken in that sense. I bought a high end router and it is a great investment as bro voncrane said above. It have been very stable, no reboots, and no problems. It is definitely not like a smartphone and even if you are not using the high end feature, it is still good to have as all the basics are done beautifully and no problems.
ya, agreed, this high end router can serve for few years and finally become good memories no doubt.
i still remember my first dail up modem which connect to PC using serial port, i bought a few useless models until satisfied with one good investment, now can not even remember where that piece of gem went missing.

this good investment now =RM0.00 wink.gif

This post has been edited by Alex9182: Mar 3 2018, 02:21 PM
soonwai
post Mar 3 2018, 03:00 PM

11,458 posts

It doesn't have to be expensive. A good router (no wifi) such as a Mikrotik RB750Gr3 costs less than RM300. As others have mentioned above, networking stuff doesn't change much. Pair that with your existing Asus for the wifi. Wifi gets updated relatively more often. N, AC, AD and what not. Just update the wifi when the need arises.

QUOTE(Alex9182 @ Mar 3 2018, 01:48 PM)
when my younger age, since my first PC which using floppy disk and no HDD and running on DOS till now, already have boxes and boxes of IT related products, now i am more frugal.
by the way, pls see attached pic, any one has privilege to use one of the Floppy disk on the far left? an 8 inch X 8 inch floppy disk. - i used before during working for semiconductor company.
I can relate to that. My first part-time job while studying, I did nightly backups to this thing. I think it held 200MB which was huge at that time.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Mar 3 2018, 03:08 PM
Alex9182
post Mar 3 2018, 03:08 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 3 2018, 03:00 PM)
It doesn't have to be expensive. A good router (no wifi) such as a Mikrotik RB750Gr3 costs less than RM300. As others have mentioned above, networking stuff doesn't change much. Pair that with your existing Asus for the wifi. Wifi gets updated relatively more often. N, AC, AD and what not. Just update the wifi when the need arises.
oh, i only looking for wireless router. i am simple user needing simple solution. Modem-Router-Wireless AP setup is out of my comfort zone. smile.gif

my existing 2 days old Asus Wireless WiFi is defective. now no longer mine because already pack and going to return with Return Authorization code given

This post has been edited by Alex9182: Mar 3 2018, 03:10 PM

826 Pages « < 398 399 400 401 402 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:16 AM