Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V4, Welcome to 2013!!Now with Android 4.2.1
unixcorp
Dec 16 2012, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 16 2012, 12:17 AM) You can't use 1280 x 800 because 1280 x 800 includes the navigation bar area. For apps, you need to consider only the available area. means 1280 x 800 deduct with the width and height of nav bar. But I don't know the exact numbers though because I don't have nexus 7  Ya.. Thank you.. I didn't notice that.. But still cannot get fullscreen view.. Sad.. Anyone know hoe to get full screen view in Papago M9?
BlackWoods
Dec 16 2012, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(d@odao @ Dec 16 2012, 10:21 AM) Wahlau!... Impressed with the nexus 7 WiFi capability, really strong signal until can still surf net when the router is 2 floors upstairs and nexus 7 downstairs with all the concrete and doors closed. Can't do that with the iPad before. Glad to hear that, My S2 can't get wifi signal when there's blockage like walls even though the router is near. Not sure if router signal wear or S2 Wifi reception weak. Hope I can use Nexus 7 everywhere in my home.
d@odao
Dec 16 2012, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Dec 16 2012, 01:57 PM) Glad to hear that, My S2 can't get wifi signal when there's blockage like walls even though the router is near. Not sure if router signal wear or S2 Wifi reception weak. Hope I can use Nexus 7 everywhere in my home. Actually is not 2 floors, is 3 floor instead.
mtxx
Dec 16 2012, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(d@odao @ Dec 16 2012, 10:21 AM) Wahlau!... Impressed with the nexus 7 WiFi capability, really strong signal until can still surf net when the router is 2 floors upstairs and nexus 7 downstairs with all the concrete and doors closed. Can't do that with the iPad before. Does it matter? Whether one bar or full bar, the Internet speed same only.
d@odao
Dec 16 2012, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(mtxx @ Dec 16 2012, 03:37 PM) Does it matter? Whether one bar or full bar, the Internet speed same only. Yes it does for me, bcoz with my other mobile device I got no bar except this n7.
IwanAGP
Dec 16 2012, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(mtxx @ Dec 16 2012, 03:37 PM) Does it matter? Whether one bar or full bar, the Internet speed same only. 1 bar and full bar is different... Full bar means the signal penetration is good, less signal drop and also packet loss. Less time is required to transferred same amount of data. You try look at your laptop. Those wifi you connected with only 1 bar might be giving you only 1mbps speed or so. If you walk near it, you regain 54/150/300m speed according to their spec QUOTE(d@odao @ Dec 16 2012, 03:42 PM) Yes it does for me, bcoz with my other mobile device I got no bar except this n7. N7 really so good? My galaxy nexus wifi also rubbish-ishh
d@odao
Dec 16 2012, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 16 2012, 03:47 PM) 1 bar and full bar is different... Full bar means the signal penetration is good, less signal drop and also packet loss. Less time is required to transferred same amount of data. You try look at your laptop. Those wifi you connected with only 1 bar might be giving you only 1mbps speed or so. If you walk near it, you regain 54/150/300m speed according to their spec N7 really so good? My galaxy nexus wifi also rubbish-ishh Ya wor. Even my Macbook air also no bar. :-) Added on December 16, 2012, 5:02 pmCan anyone recommend an app for reading eBook and PDF ? This post has been edited by d@odao: Dec 16 2012, 05:02 PM
zer016
Dec 16 2012, 05:25 PM
The wifi reception of this tablet really quite strong.. Last time when i using Ipad 3, I cant detect the wifi in my room.. but with this tablet, I can detect 2 bar of wifi and surfing in the room..
skywardsword
Dec 16 2012, 05:35 PM
I did some trial run with Paranoid rom + google maps. Surprisingly, the location pickup so much faster then JB+google map.
Anyone else experience similar pickup in speed?
SecretJay
Dec 16 2012, 05:57 PM

QUOTE(QoMPLoT @ Dec 16 2012, 01:20 PM) i just transfered cash to newegg few days ago but dont get any feedback from them? is it normal? so i just have to wait for the delivery right? relax man, just send them an email, they are not working on sat and sun, send them an email for confirmation 2mrw
orenzai
Dec 16 2012, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(d@odao @ Dec 16 2012, 04:10 PM) Ya wor. Even my Macbook air also no bar. :-) Added on December 16, 2012, 5:02 pmCan anyone recommend an app for reading eBook and PDF ? For epub and mobi format I like moon reader a lot. PDF if for reading then Repligo reader is not bad. If just normal viewing I think any of the office suites should do fine. (quickoffice/polaris)
gin&tonic
Dec 16 2012, 07:50 PM
What earphone will u guys recommend?
nizam78
Dec 16 2012, 08:24 PM

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Dec 16 2012, 01:53 PM) Ya.. Thank you.. I didn't notice that.. But still cannot get fullscreen view.. Sad.. Anyone know hoe to get full screen view in Papago M9?  I wish I could help, but i forgot which organic I used. Mine was working flawlessly b4 update to 4.2, now its just FC. Yours still working in 4.2?
benny888
Dec 16 2012, 09:17 PM
Gadget Freak
ellimist
Dec 16 2012, 09:23 PM
Hey guys, was wondering, what cases do u guys use? Anyone uses the trifold candy series? Seems decent.
Also, the 3g version got different casing? Think some of the mic/noise cancelling mic is different man?
Erehwon
Dec 16 2012, 09:56 PM

QUOTE(ellimist @ Dec 16 2012, 09:23 PM) Hey guys, was wondering, what cases do u guys use? Anyone uses the trifold candy series? Seems decent. Also, the 3g version got different casing? Think some of the mic/noise cancelling mic is different man? The location of the mic for the 3g and wifi version slightly different so some case might block it
unixcorp
Dec 16 2012, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Dec 16 2012, 07:50 PM) What earphone will u guys recommend? I'm using earphone from Galaxy Tab Plus.. It's rocking my ears! QUOTE(nizam78 @ Dec 16 2012, 08:24 PM) I wish I could help, but i forgot which organic I used. Mine was working flawlessly b4 update to 4.2, now its just FC. Yours still working in 4.2? Ya.. Papago will just FC if open in 4.2.. I had to donwgrade to 4.1 in order to use it.. Btw, if you got organic file for Nexus 7, can you email me?
zdentws
Dec 16 2012, 10:39 PM
hi all sifus, can N7 make GSM phone call/sms ?
allycat
Dec 16 2012, 10:44 PM
Hi, Why are there so limited ebooks in Google Play Store? Can i purchase ebooks from other websites and read in my Nexus? If yes, appreciate some recommended websites. Tks Added on December 16, 2012, 10:45 pmQUOTE(Erehwon @ Dec 16 2012, 09:56 PM) The location of the mic for the 3g and wifi version slightly different so some case might block it Yeah I just found out that the seller sold me wi-fi only casing which covers up the mic of my 3g version. This post has been edited by allycat: Dec 16 2012, 10:45 PM
benny888
Dec 16 2012, 10:52 PM
Gadget Freak
QUOTE(allycat @ Dec 16 2012, 10:44 PM) Hi, Why are there so limited ebooks in Google Play Store? Can i purchase ebooks from other websites and read in my Nexus? If yes, appreciate some recommended websites. Tks Added on December 16, 2012, 10:45 pmYeah I just found out that the seller sold me wi-fi only casing which covers up the mic of my 3g version. You can only access the us playstore to download ebooks. Use a vpn server to do it to view the large variety available But you cannot buy unless you have a us credit card You can buy ebooks from kobo n these books you purchased can be read even in your pc n iphone/ipad I have bought many ebooks from kobo Added on December 16, 2012, 10:52 pmQUOTE(zdentws @ Dec 16 2012, 10:39 PM) hi all sifus, can N7 make GSM phone call/sms ?  NO This post has been edited by benny888: Dec 16 2012, 10:52 PM