Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V4, Welcome to 2013!!Now with Android 4.2.1

IwanAGP
post Dec 14 2012, 07:17 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Dec 14 2012, 07:12 PM)
What is N7C..? rclxub.gif
N7 32GB 3G version
IwanAGP
post Dec 15 2012, 09:54 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(013 @ Dec 15 2012, 09:34 AM)
Nice to hear that you have experience in both device. Actually now i still thinking which one is better for me between nexus 7 and ipad mini coz the price different in malaysia is not much. I just want the wifi version. or should i just go for galaxy tab 2 7" that has phone function?
Do you need the phone function? Or you just need data function. If just for data, go for Nexus 7 32G 3G, 1049 only~
IwanAGP
post Dec 15 2012, 06:40 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Dec 15 2012, 12:35 PM)
Using Google Nexus 7 Toolkit.

1. Downloaded cm-10.1-20121214-UNOFFICIAL-grouper
2. extracted and put everything in the "put_img_files_to_flash_here
3. fired up toolkit and selected option 11. flash img to device. under one of the option I selected write to "system" , among the option was boot, bootloader, system and some others I forgot
I can get into Fastboot mode atm. But I am scared as ...
Maybe I am a bit off. since the Google with a padlock screen stayed for more then 5minutes. But the flashing took just like 5 seconds.
Is that normal?
edit: I think I am on the way to flashing back to stock JB.

*my heart stop for 5minutes just now.
doh.gif doh.gif
You're really new to android.

When they say img_files, it really means IMG file!!! The file format is in XXXX.img

And you put a .zip file to be flashed doh.gif

Sweattttttttttttttttttttttttt
IwanAGP
post Dec 15 2012, 07:23 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Dec 15 2012, 07:14 PM)
Ya loh... i am such a nub sauce.... I look at the flash. and it flash faster then those old bios flashing. Thats when I start to panic...
Now I am back to stock JB. Rooted. but it will be a while before I try custom ROMs.

I did unzip the downloaded pack. Got one boot.img file... so I just use that.... sigh.

Any hand holding guide for flashing custom rom for newbies?
doh.gif What you should do is...

Download the zip file, don't touch it, put into Nexus 7. Boot into recovery, CWM or TWRP to flash/install them. That's all...

Oh... Don't forget the gapps!

That's all. So hard??? sweat.gif

Who ask you hand itchy go unzip it.
IwanAGP
post Dec 15 2012, 10:14 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ahchun @ Dec 15 2012, 10:12 PM)
want to ask about n7 cellular

let say i take my micro sim card ( the one from my phone which can make call + data plan ) and put into nexus 7
will nexus 7 3g be active and data plan can be use straight away ?

this is extra simcard with data plan which i never use to make call

please advice

TQ
Shouldn't be a problem.

Just like broadband sim card (without call feature), you can also put in phone to use. At most you need to set the Access Point. Not a big deal. You can check for access point settings online nod.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 16 2012, 12:17 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(unixcorp @ Dec 15 2012, 11:51 PM)
Hi guys..

My Papago M9 in Nexus 7 cannot get fullscreen view.. I already put organic file (1280x800) in NaviSEA, which is Nexus 7 resolution.. But i still cannot get fullscreen view..

Anyone can help me on this matter?  icon_question.gif
You can't use 1280 x 800 because 1280 x 800 includes the navigation bar area. For apps, you need to consider only the available area. means 1280 x 800 deduct with the width and height of nav bar.

But I don't know the exact numbers though because I don't have nexus 7 tongue.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 16 2012, 11:58 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Dec 16 2012, 11:54 AM)
Thanks for the info, I will consider a Nexus 7C since my SGT 7.7 want to end it life soon  sad.gif
According to uncle benny... 7.7 has the best screen, Nexus 7 has the worst screen. Can you accept the fact? tongue.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 16 2012, 03:47 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Dec 16 2012, 03:37 PM)
Does it matter? Whether one bar or full bar, the Internet speed same only.
1 bar and full bar is different...

Full bar means the signal penetration is good, less signal drop and also packet loss. Less time is required to transferred same amount of data. You try look at your laptop. Those wifi you connected with only 1 bar might be giving you only 1mbps speed or so. If you walk near it, you regain 54/150/300m speed according to their spec

QUOTE(d@odao @ Dec 16 2012, 03:42 PM)
Yes it does for me, bcoz with  my other mobile device I got no bar except this n7.
N7 really so good? My galaxy nexus wifi also rubbish-ishh
IwanAGP
post Dec 17 2012, 12:29 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Kinoseng @ Dec 16 2012, 11:32 PM)
Anyone know Nexus 7 Wifi version still can sell for how much? Bought when around 20 October.
16GB or 32GB?
IwanAGP
post Dec 17 2012, 01:06 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Kinoseng @ Dec 17 2012, 12:31 AM)
16gb. smile.gif
I would say around 700 since it's used set. And... 32GB Wifi from Newegg is just 820.9

But if you sell to those that don't know about newegg, maybe can get higher.

Retail price for 16GB wifi now is 899 right?
IwanAGP
post Dec 17 2012, 08:50 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(jpaq @ Dec 17 2012, 08:29 PM)
Luckily there is only the one "pure" Android firmware build on all Nexus 7 units. Unlike the Galaxy Nexus. Sucks balls if you have the yakjuxw firmware build. If I'm gonna have to wait for Samsung to release firmware updates on a Google Galaxy Nexus, I might as well get a Samsung phone. Which I did. Sold my GalNex (which was also running yakjuxw) and got myself an S3 few months back.
Why don't you give Galaxy Nexus a chance and flash it to Yakju. It shines with Jelly Bean.

Btw... Even Yakjuxw also received jellybean 4.1.1 update about 2.5 months back. S3 one still rolling out whistling.gif

QUOTE(jpaq @ Dec 17 2012, 08:43 PM)
Really "yak juw" (cantonese: eat banana)! LOL!

Added on December 17, 2012, 8:44 pm

But bear in mind the SMS charges will be the normal full charge. Special or discounted rates will not apply.
How about using a sim with data plan?
I mean like... U mobile, got free sms that kind. Like that it still charges full? Don't think so laugh.gif
Broadband only sim not suppose to be able to send messages right?

Btw... Yak ju laugh.gif If cantonese + hokkien then become makan arak
IwanAGP
post Dec 18 2012, 08:01 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(jpaq @ Dec 18 2012, 11:33 AM)
Sold the GalNex also because of the shitty battery life. However, I got the 4.1.1 update for my S3 about a month ago.

Aiseh bro, OBVIOUSLY if you have a plan with free SMS, then won't be full charge lah. No need to write until intestines also come out, right?  doh.gif  But such a plan will normally come with voice calls, but if you can't make calls on the Nexus 7, for what?!

I already said I am using a broadband only SIM with my Nexus 7 and I have sent SMSes from it without any problems via a 3rd party app. You want me to SMS spam you?  tongue.gif

Added on December 18, 2012, 11:39 am

If you memang plan to root or already rooted, yes, why not. But if you don't want to root, then can get a 3rd party app like Go SMS. It's free after all.
laugh.gif Just trolling.

OOps... S3 JB rolled out? I slow poke only know GNex get 4.2.1 d whistling.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 21 2012, 07:29 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Dec 21 2012, 12:03 AM)
Guys, what is your remaining ram size?

Mine running on 4.2.1 and rooted. Only 413mb free ram left. @@
tapping at the task killer at most juz 459mb.  blink.gif before this i swear i saw 600+mb left.
So... The main point here is...

Did you ever feel extreme lagginess on your Nexus 7?
Did you ever find any apps closing itself because of lack of memory??

I doubt so... Why complain when there's no problem? Why get bothered about the figures? It is NOTHING!!!

Yea... in phones with 512MB RAM, this figure tells a lot. But in most of the 1G RAM phone, it isn't a problem unless the manufacturers tangan gatal let their stock apps overload the RAM. Btw... 400MB, is even enough for you to buffer whole youtube 1080p songs or even 10mins clip into it. It's a lot actually!

My advice: Just use it like it is UNTIL you found a problem... THEN, only you SEEK for solution.
IwanAGP
post Dec 21 2012, 09:15 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(LemonCoke @ Dec 21 2012, 08:56 PM)
Today 0.99 games sales is wild blood,avengers initiative,max payne n gta3...
Nice time for the newly bought 32gb N7... biggrin.gif
Sonic sonic and more soniccccc
IwanAGP
post Dec 22 2012, 12:55 AM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Dec 22 2012, 12:40 AM)
Intel Atom on Android tablet @@
Motorola Razr I also Intel nod.gif

Battery life is very awesome with intel processor!!
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2012, 05:49 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(n8210 @ Dec 24 2012, 05:37 PM)
Stay away from Atom cpu.... unless you want slow poke.
But looking at Razr I, it outperforms other in Web Browsing and battery life!
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2012, 06:17 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Dec 24 2012, 06:04 PM)
This is kewl!!!! Who wrote this awesome webpage? notworthy.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2012, 07:59 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Dec 24 2012, 07:22 PM)
pm me price you willing to pay for 16gb wifi.
see gooding or not
550 you sell? whistling.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2012, 08:15 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Dec 24 2012, 08:14 PM)
sigh now the resale value so low. sad.gif

for a moment there i thought wana sell and buy ipad mini.
but will rugi alot. oh well, stick to my baby then.
laugh.gif I don't know 2nd hand price for 16GB for now. But since 32gb new one can get at 820, guess 16gb 2nd hand should be around 600~700. Anything higher than 700 might as well get 32gb wink.gif
IwanAGP
post Dec 24 2012, 11:17 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(E71s @ Dec 24 2012, 11:13 PM)
Want to ask guys,after rooting,is there necessary to do a backup ? If necessary,how could it be done ?
People normally backup after Unlock Bootloader and Flash custom recovery (CWM or TWRP)

To make backup, it's done using CWM or TWRP Recovery, we call it Nandroid.

This backup is made before going to Custom ROM, if anything goes wrong in Custom ROM, you can just restore backup then your phone is clean and free from problem again.

0.0515sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:37 AM