Google NEXUS 7 Official Thread @V4, Welcome to 2013!!Now with Android 4.2.1

mtxx
post Dec 15 2012, 12:00 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(blur_mak @ Dec 14 2012, 04:40 PM)
Just got my nexus 7 3G..feels like the screen is washed out..icons are not even sharp..worse than my s2..

is this normal??

Nexus 7 and s2 same dpi.

The shorter side of n7 is exactly same as longer side of s2.
1280*800
800*400

U feel not sharp? Ur n7 use matte sp while s2 clear sp issit?
Matte sp cause screen to be blur. Both device equally sharp. No different, same dpi.

But color of cos the amoled pownes the lcd.

mtxx
post Dec 16 2012, 03:37 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Dec 16 2012, 10:21 AM)
Wahlau!... Impressed with the nexus 7  WiFi capability, really strong signal until can still surf net when the router is 2 floors upstairs and nexus 7 downstairs with all the concrete and doors closed. Can't do that with the iPad before.
Does it matter? Whether one bar or full bar, the Internet speed same only.
mtxx
post Dec 20 2012, 03:07 PM

5,011 posts

very sad, i notice i cant log in to amazin app store with my fake US account.

it works well on my phone which is on 4.1.2. i can still get free app of the day everyday,

i think after upgrade to 4.2, no longer can log in app store.
my amazon app store version is the old old one, i never update,
so when many people fail to login, mine still can work.

i titanium backup from my phone, and restore in my nexus7 also cant log in. i suspect it is due to android 4.2 upgrade. it was working when in 4.1.

sigh...all the free apps i collected over the years no longer working on my tablet.

anyone still have working amazon app store in 4.2?
mtxx
post Dec 23 2012, 02:59 PM

5,011 posts

is there a way to make the navigation bar dissappear and only have the notification bar?

i'm using GMD gesture controls,
5 finger pinch for home
4 finger swipe up for recent apps
4 finger swipe down for back

there is really no need for the bottom black bar to exist,
but if i hide it the notification bar also dissappear....
mtxx
post Dec 23 2012, 07:49 PM

5,011 posts

hi guys wow still many post about how to buy and compare pricing.

anway, i'm extra happy with my nexus7 today.
i've always admire the gesture in iOS ui navigation.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?....gesturecontrol (4.8 rating by 839 people)
now with GMD gesture control app, its available on android too.
i tried this app ages ago, it was terrible (laggy and slow), but this current version is very polish.

you can create custom gestures exactly similar to iOS
5 finger pinch in =home
4 finger swipe up = recent app
4 finger swipe left/right = previos/next app

my own self made gesture
4 finger swipe down= back.
4 finger tap twice at top half of screen = top of page in browser
4 finger tap twice at bottom half of screen = bottom of page in browser
5 finger rotate clockwise (like closing the water tap)= power button(screen off)

its so much faster and easier to use the device now, no longer need to aim at tiny buttons at the bottom of the screen, just use gestures. ah....no need jealous ipad liao, yeah yeah ^^
mtxx
post Dec 24 2012, 07:22 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(IceBlade97 @ Dec 24 2012, 05:45 PM)
Hi, anyone selling n7, no need 3g.....16g or 32g also can. Please pm me. Tq
pm me price you willing to pay for 16gb wifi.
see gooding or not
mtxx
post Dec 24 2012, 08:14 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Dec 24 2012, 07:59 PM)
550 you sell?  whistling.gif
sigh now the resale value so low. sad.gif

for a moment there i thought wana sell and buy ipad mini.
but will rugi alot. oh well, stick to my baby then.
mtxx
post Jan 2 2013, 08:47 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(tzershi @ Jan 2 2013, 01:02 AM)
For the rear camera is that really important for people? For me i don't think so. Imagine holding a tab to capture picture or itself or receive call, i feel very stupid.

Micro SD is important thing. Memory cannot extend.

Apps depend on company. All reviews, modified, testing, stabilize, need time.
Rear camera is useful. I hope to have one if possible even on a tablet.

Most people here saying it's useless pointless etc is just because n7 doesn't have one and thinking so makes them feel better.

Just like ipad wifi users say no point having gps on tablet too big never use etc. But the real reason is the don't have gps at all.

Rear camera is extra useful for video chat.
When you want to show your close friend/relatives something interesting. Swap the video to rear camera then just point at the thing u wana show and u are certain they cn see it.
mtxx
post Jan 5 2013, 12:59 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Jan 5 2013, 12:38 PM)
For rooted devices, you people can try out Seeder to reduce lag. It's created by one of the XDA members. Installed it on my device since yesterday and I can say that the stutters have reduced.

lifehacker.com/5973002/seeder-kills-lag-in-android-seriously-boosts-your-phones-performance

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1987032
Placebo effect? I feel no difference at all.
mtxx
post Jan 9 2013, 09:37 PM

5,011 posts

Lately my nexus randomly and quite frequently generate bug report.
My whole system will hang for 1 second then an option pop out ask choose a method. Then it will output a bug report about 5mb. So frustrating.

I thought it's due to stock 4.2 bug
So I flash aokp, but it's worst. It request superuser permission then generate the bug report.

Similar like this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=1983059&page=2

mtxx
post Jan 10 2013, 07:43 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ahchun @ Jan 9 2013, 10:06 PM)
any cracks apps ?

remember what u did before it happen?

i am using stock rom too and nothing as u mention happen
You know, it's ridiculously annoying when people just guess/assume problem caused by crack apps.

When the new variant of s2 the g version i9100G appear,
All the issue it faced (due to samsung bad gb rom which was fix after ixcs update) was accused to be cracked apps again.

I have not install any apps on my tablet for a long time.
It's just weird the tablet always generate bug reports on stock rom.
On custom rom it request superuser permission before generate bug report.

But seems u guys never experience this. Hm...
I denied superuser permission for dump state and reboot.
So far no more bug report generated.
mtxx
post Jan 13 2013, 05:37 PM

5,011 posts

this may sound weird and noobish.
but how to get flash to work on android 4.2?

the previous method was install flash apk, then use browser like boat or firefox then settle.

flash was working fine when i was on stock. last weekend i tried aokp and dislike it, so i try to do cwm restore, but it doesnt detect my backup. fml so i flash new factory image and start fresh.

in the new 4.2 that i had, after install flash apk, firefox and boat browser still dont have flash. it says it need flash plugin.
and yes i enable flash in the browser settings but still dont have.
i cant watch fb videos anymore. sad sad....

help? google also get same results which is ask to install flash apk only.

just curious why this didnt work for me
mtxx
post Jan 13 2013, 06:43 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jan 13 2013, 06:02 PM)
Flash working fine on Boat browser. Never like Firefox so never bother to test
Just simple install APK file will do
I am on Stephen AOPK build for past 1.5 months. Infact it works on all custom roms I have tested
i have a clean install fresh from factory image.
installed flash apk, but browser still no flash.
this sucks man, why all this weird stuff happen.....
mtxx
post Jan 15 2013, 10:34 PM

5,011 posts

you guys use case?
i bought one, but end up only using it when bring tablet outdoor.
when reach home, sure remove case and use it naked.

only during movies, then only plug it back to the case so it can stand.
other than that all the time use naked, its so light and easy to hold without the case.
mtxx
post Jan 20 2013, 06:14 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(im_not_stupid @ Jan 20 2013, 05:52 PM)
o ya comparing my C80 N7 16gb with latest N7C, screen lift issue is obviously solve...
can feel the screen of N7C is slighly lower than the edge if screen face up
any others feel that?
Oh crap, new screen sunk issue?
mtxx
post Jan 20 2013, 06:15 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Jan 20 2013, 02:24 AM)
Carp and now it seems my speakers got crackling sound. May I ask those who have sent N7 for speaker repaired/replaced, normally how long will it take to get it done? Thanks
3 days
mtxx
post Jan 20 2013, 08:10 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(im_not_stupid @ Jan 20 2013, 07:56 PM)
nexus 7 can play flash game..i doubt ipad mini can onot tongue.gif
officially android jellybean dont support flash also. chrome wont support no matter what.
you need sideload and use other browser.

on iOS, there's puffin browser.
http://www.itwire.com/opinion-and-analysis...-itouch-android

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jan 20 2013, 08:12 PM
mtxx
post Jan 20 2013, 09:28 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(yeelong @ Jan 20 2013, 09:14 PM)
Thanks for replying, do I need to unroot my N7 for the speaker repair?
better use the toolkit to restore everything stock and lock bootloader just to be safe
mtxx
post Jan 20 2013, 11:54 PM

5,011 posts

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2011169

check out this awesome case.
perfect for me since i use the tablet naked, the keyboard can work as a case to cover the front.

video review

written review

check the price in ebay is around 20-25USD.

i really feel like getting one. anyone already have this? sold in malaysia or not?

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jan 20 2013, 11:57 PM
mtxx
post Jan 21 2013, 05:10 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Jan 21 2013, 04:18 PM)
My Nexus 7C haz finally arrived!

gave up waiting for Nexus 4 so got this instead laugh.gif

[attachmentid=3273510][attachmentid=3273511]
congrats on your new gadget.
if you're looking for a nice case check my signature.

plan on letting go my case since i seldom use it.
anyone interested can check it out.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2676880

0.0440sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:35 PM