103 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

rc2x
post Jan 3 2014, 11:29 AM

Ask me about my vore fettish
1,838 posts

Was wondering how many person here actually got hands on the corsair RM series? Does it really live up to it's name?

wcypierre
post Jan 4 2014, 05:36 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

I've just looked up at the FSP Hexa 500W that is usually recommended here, and I saw this: "Capxon LP Primary capacitor". I thought that Capxon is not generally not recommended? rclxub.gif

http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/1...r-supplies.html
SUSHuman10
post Jan 4 2014, 06:58 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jan 4 2014, 05:36 PM)
I've just looked up at the FSP Hexa 500W that is usually recommended here, and I saw this: "Capxon LP Primary capacitor". I thought that Capxon is not generally not recommended?  rclxub.gif

http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/1...r-supplies.html
I guess it is for RM150, you can't complain much.
TSchocobo7779
post Jan 4 2014, 06:59 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Jan 4 2014, 06:58 PM)
I guess it is for RM150, you can't complain much.
Yup, too bad we don't much quality and cheap choice on <500W units...
hmwgbworld
post Jan 4 2014, 08:22 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 4 2014, 06:59 PM)
Yup, too bad we don't much quality and cheap choice on <500W units...
There's some high quality psu that are 500w or less than 500w. but the price just make most ppl don't wanna spent for it.
example: seasonic 80+ gold/platinum fanless psu.
Easily cost more than rm400 already brows.gif .
TSchocobo7779
post Jan 4 2014, 08:29 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Jan 4 2014, 08:22 PM)
There's some high quality psu that are 500w or less than 500w. but the price just make most ppl don't wanna spent for it.
example: seasonic 80+ gold/platinum fanless psu.
Easily cost more than rm400 already  brows.gif .
You forgot my keyword: cheap... laugh.gif
Wish we can find some XFX/Antec/low wattage Rosewills at cheap pricing... sad.gif
em0ti0n
post Jan 8 2014, 08:21 PM

438 posts

Hi, any recommended cheap PSU to power up hd5670?
Minecrafter
post Jan 8 2014, 08:24 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jan 8 2014, 08:21 PM)
Hi, any recommended cheap PSU to power up hd5670?
Cheap PSU?FSP Hexa 500W RM149 from Viewnet.
em0ti0n
post Jan 8 2014, 08:59 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 8 2014, 08:24 PM)
Cheap PSU?FSP Hexa 500W RM149 from Viewnet.
if i take FSP Hexa 400W is it okay? i check from sapphire website 400W is required.. hmm.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Jan 8 2014, 09:26 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jan 8 2014, 08:59 PM)
if i take FSP Hexa 400W is it okay? i check from sapphire website 400W is required..  hmm.gif
Why would you want a lower wattage unit when you can get a better one? brows.gif
You can have room for better GPU... brows.gif
Minecrafter
post Jan 8 2014, 09:29 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jan 8 2014, 08:59 PM)
if i take FSP Hexa 400W is it okay? i check from sapphire website 400W is required..  hmm.gif
Iinm,i heard the 400W isn't that good...it's a thing that you called ripple,but idk what exactly is that... sweat.gif
Click this link,scroll down abit till u see FSP,where it says FSP psus that's bad.
http://johnnylucky.org/power-supplies/psu-lemon-list.html

This post has been edited by Minecrafter: Jan 8 2014, 09:31 PM
em0ti0n
post Jan 8 2014, 09:40 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 8 2014, 09:26 PM)
Why would you want a lower wattage unit when you can get a better one? brows.gif
You can have room for better GPU... brows.gif
im asking on behalf of my friend. he is low on budget.. so i would like to find an affordable.. i already persuade him to buy fsp hexa 500W but he don't have that much budget.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 8 2014, 09:29 PM)
Iinm,i heard the 400W isn't that good...it's a thing that you called ripple,but idk what exactly is that... sweat.gif
Click this link,scroll down abit till u see FSP,where it says FSP psus that's bad.
owh... tq for highlighting this.. i shall avoid buying theese psus smile.gif
SUSHuman10
post Jan 9 2014, 12:31 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(em0ti0n @ Jan 8 2014, 09:40 PM)
im asking on behalf of my friend. he is low on budget.. so i would like to find an affordable.. i already persuade him to buy fsp hexa 500W but he don't have that much budget..  sweat.gif
owh... tq for highlighting this.. i shall avoid buying theese psus  smile.gif
400 vs 500?

The price different achievable with few days of bread eating what? sweat.gif
em0ti0n
post Jan 9 2014, 01:37 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Jan 9 2014, 12:31 AM)
400 vs 500?

The price different achievable with few days of bread eating what? sweat.gif
he too strict abt money sweat.gif need to ask him to topup budget
cloud97
post Jan 13 2014, 11:02 AM

62 posts

Hi sifus, any good recommended 750W gold certified PSU with semi-modular (or better fully modular as long as withind budget) under RM550 budget?
Use to power up 2xgtx460 currently and future (SLI/CFX and moderate OC) and pc running 14+ hrs or more everyday.
Thank you

This post has been edited by cloud97: Jan 13 2014, 11:13 AM
SUSHuman10
post Jan 13 2014, 11:28 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(cloud97 @ Jan 13 2014, 11:02 AM)
Hi sifus, any good recommended 750W gold certified PSU with semi-modular (or better fully modular as long as withind budget) under RM550 budget?
Use to power up 2xgtx460 currently and future (SLI/CFX and moderate OC) and pc running 14+ hrs or more everyday.
Thank you
CM V700? It is a good PSU OEMed by Seasonic, and within your budget.

It is more than enough to support your system.

If you came across V750s, it is also acceptable, but it isn't OEMed by Seasonic.

This post has been edited by Human10: Jan 13 2014, 11:30 AM
cloud97
post Jan 13 2014, 11:35 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Jan 13 2014, 11:28 AM)
CM V700? It is a good PSU OEMed by Seasonic, and within your budget.

It is more than enough to support your system.

If you came across V750s, it is also acceptable, but it isn't OEMed by Seasonic.
Need good quality PSU as my PSU die yesterday. If this is the case, I take V700 instead.
Edit: the downside of V700's peripheral only 4 cables.

This post has been edited by cloud97: Jan 13 2014, 11:58 AM
kingkingyyk
post Jan 13 2014, 12:10 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ Jan 8 2014, 09:29 PM)
The rating is pretty subjective.
Let's see what JonnyGuru said :
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...Story6&reid=341
What's our total score then? 6.5. Not great, but again... think about the market this is intended for. Does Cousin Bob need 1% regulation and stupid low ripple to check his email, update his Facebook status, and play a round of Minecraft on his low end GPU? No, he does not.

wink.gif
Anyway, you get what you paid. laugh.gif
Sentinel92
post Jan 18 2014, 06:08 PM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Jan 13 2014, 12:10 PM)
The rating is pretty subjective.
Let's see what JonnyGuru said :
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=...Story6&reid=341

And that's why I love Jonny Guru. biggrin.gif

Anyways sifus I wanna ask, are so called full Japanese capacitors a real benefit or is it a gimmick? Also is low ripple, while not a must for daily use, affect full blown gaming with your GPUs running at full tilt at any way?

And holy heck take a look at this.
http://www.corsair.com/en/power-supply-uni...odular-psu.html
kingkingyyk
post Jan 18 2014, 07:01 PM

15,694 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Jan 18 2014, 06:08 PM)
And that's why I love Jonny Guru. biggrin.gif

Anyways sifus I wanna ask, are so called full Japanese capacitors a real benefit or is it a gimmick? Also is low ripple, while not a must for daily use, affect full blown gaming with your GPUs running at full tilt at any way?

And holy heck take a look at this.
http://www.corsair.com/en/power-supply-uni...odular-psu.html
Japanese capacitors are usually with better quality compared to taiwanese or china. (those pregnant caps laugh.gif )

103 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:00 PM