TSchocobo7779
post Dec 8 2012, 11:24 PM, updated 4 months ago

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

Work in progress - updating

The basics of computer power supplies

The power supply unit of a PC is arguably one of the most important part of a PC (whether it's a gaming/workstation machine, or a low powered office PC), as it is responsible for providing power for all PC components such as the CPU, graphics card, HDD and others. Yet, this is something many PC builders ignore or cut cost on - instead of spending more on a better PSU, many chose to opt for a cheaper unit so that they can spend the rest of their funds on better hardware. This however can have catastrophic consequences in the event of a PSU failure, from random shutdowns to complete damage of an entire system.

This guide aims to educate novice PC builders on how to pick and choose a PSU that befits their system, while keeping the guide as simple to understand as possible for novice users.
Note that the complete innerworkings of a PSU has been omitted in the post for the sake of brevity.

What I should look for when it comes to picking a good PSU?

When it comes to looking for a good power supply, you should first look for the following:

1. Wattage
2. Topology and platform
3. The actual manufacturer behind the PSU (not the brand name)
4. Component selection (such as capacitors and fan)
5. Voltage regulation and ripple suppression
6. Availability of proper reviews
7. Pricing and stock availability

[B]How much wattage do I need for my build?
[/B]

Introduction
I often come across with those questions such as:
1. What PSU is suitable for my rig?
2. Which PSU is better?
3. X Watts is enough for this build?
4. Is this PSU good? Got high power ripple?
and so on...

Well, to answer these questions.... I have opened this thread. This thread also serves as a reference guide for choosing a good PSU.

How do I choose a good PSU?
Well, this one is hard, considering picking a 'good' PSU can be tricky.
However, here are some characteristics of a good PSU, that are:
1. The 'real' wattage the PSU can output
2. Total wattage of +12V rail
3. Power ripple, noise and voltage regulation of each rails
4. Component quality
5. Brand
6. The manufacturer of the PSU
7. The efficiency of the PSU

So, let us break this down into smaller sections, shall we?

1. The 'real' wattage

2. Total wattage of +12V rails

3. Power ripple, noise and voltage regulation

....To be continued...

4. Component quality

5. Brand

6. The manufacturer of the PSU

7. The efficiency

Conclusion
As a conclusion, there are quite a few aspects that make a good PSU. Despite a good PSU can cost a bit, but having them is always good. Any questions and comments are welcomed.
You may ask for PSU recommendation here. wink.gif

References
http://www.overclock.net/t/715889/psu-articles#post9110838
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/181

Useful links
http://www.realhardtechx.com/index_archivos/Page541.htm (A database of PSU reviews)
http://www.overclock.net/t/738097/psu-review-database
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com
http://www.jonnyguru.com

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Nov 2 2020, 06:47 PM
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 9 2012, 09:08 AM

14,673 posts

Recommended PSUs
Here is a list of recommended PSUs you can buy here. They will be sorted according to their wattage.
Note: Not complete!
(E) denotes entry level
(M) denotes modular/semi-modular
* Denotes highly recommended PSUs

Less than 501W
FSP Hexa 400W (E)
Seasonic X-400 (Fanless) (M)
Silverstone Strider Essential 400W (E)
Gigabyte N400A PSU (E)
Gigabyte 420W PSU (E)
Corsair CX430
Antec VP450
Cooler Master GX450
Gigabyte PoweRock 500W
FSP Hexa 500W
Corsair CX500 *
Enermax NAXN 500W

Between 501W and 600W
Antec High Current Gamer 520M (M) *
Seasonic G 550 (M) *
Rosewill Capstone 550W (M) *
Enermax NAXN 550W
Rosewill Hive 550W (M)
Antec Earthwatts Platinum 550W *
Corsair GS600
Cooler Master Silent Pro M600 (M) *
FSP Aurum 600W
Enermax NAXN 600W *

Between 601W and 700W
Antec High Current Gamer 620M (M) *
Seasonic S12II 620W *
Seasonic M12II 620W (M) *
Rosewill Capstone 650W (M) *
Corsair TX650 v2 (M) *
Enermax NAXN 650W (M)
Seasonic X-650 (M) *
Corsair AX650 (M) *
Corsair HX650 (M) *
Rosewill Tachyon 650W (M) *
Rosewill Hive 650W (M) *
XFX 650W XXX Edition (M) *
Antec Earthwatts Platinum 650W *
FSP Aurum 700W
Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 (M)
Corsair GS700
Enermax Modu87+ 700W (M) *

Between 701W and 800W
Rosewill Capstone 750W (M) *
Corsair AX750 (M) *
Corsair HX750 (M) *
Seasonic M12II 750W (M) *
Seasonic X-750 (M) *
Rosewill Tachyon 750W (M) *
XFX 750W Black Edition (M) *
Corsair TX750 v2 (M) *
Silverstone Strider Plus 750W (M)
Antec High Current Pro 750W (M)
Silverstone Strider Gold Evolution 750W (M)
Corsair GS800 (M)

Between 801W-900W
Corsair TX850M (M) *
Seasonic X-850 (M) *
XFX 850W Black Edition (M) *
Corsair HX850 (M) *
Antec High Current Pro 850W (M)
Seasonic P-860 Platinum (M) *
Corsair AX850 (M) *
Silverstone Strider Plus 850W (M)

901W and above
Corsair HX1050 (M) *
Seasonic X-1050 (M) *
Antec Quattro 1200W (M)
Corsair AX1200 (M) *
Corsair AX1200i (M) *
Seasonic X-1250 (M) *
Enermax MAXREVO 1500W (M) *
Rosewill Hercules 1600W (M)

Please contribute to this section if possible.

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Dec 11 2012, 09:47 PM
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 9 2012, 11:43 AM

14,673 posts

About some power supply brands
Here, I'm going to describe some common PSU brands.

About Aerocool
OEM: Andyson (Strike-X), HEC/Compucase (V series /E85/E80 series)

About E85/E80
The E85/E80 PSUs are a series of PSUs with modular cabling (again, semi-modular) with 80+ Bronze efficiency (The latter does not have modular cabling nor 80+ certification). Those are Aerocool's entry level PSUs.

Verdict
Unfortunately, the E85Ms exhibited failed voltage regulation test, albeit the ripple was within specs and almost touching the ATX limit. The E80s may fare better as an entry-level unit, but the cable configuration isn't ideal for a 600W unit.

Reviews
E85M 550
E80-600

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Mar 31 2013, 05:45 PM
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 9 2012, 11:59 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(NoobHacker @ Dec 9 2012, 11:57 AM)
i didnt read everyword of your guide but seems you didn't answer how much wattage is enough for my rig  hmm.gif
maybe put some calculating tutorial like
processor - google TDP , or with overclock
graphic card - google TDP , or with overclock, maybe +20%
add 150W to other components,then thats wattage you need
Well, I'm including it in the next section of my post, for clarity purposes. tongue.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 9 2012, 07:15 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(nerdlessguy @ Dec 9 2012, 03:52 PM)
Nice update,and advise are taken rclxms.gif nice chart by the way,draw it yourself?
Nope. wink.gif

Added on December 9, 2012, 7:16 pm
QUOTE(kuanzc @ Dec 9 2012, 12:39 PM)
IINM, CPU and GPU are the only one that utilize +12V rail whereas +5v are for optical drives and HDD. Not quite sure about +3.3V rail though.
As for (-) rails, nowadays, there aren't much hardware that utilize it.
Anyhow, I am not quite sure regarding these. Sorry if any info is wrong.

Maybe you could use some spoiler to make it more neat and organize. Just a suggestion though.
Updated with spoilers. wink.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Dec 9 2012, 07:54 PM
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 9 2012, 07:54 PM

14,673 posts

Picking the right power supply according to your PC specifications
Now we get into something most people will ask.
How many watts do I need for this?
Well, to start it off, consider using this formula:

(Processor TDP)+(GPU TDP x number of GPUs)+(100W)

This will provide a rough image of which PSU you should use. wink.gif

Examples:
Let's say I'm building a rig with a 3570K and a HD7950.
My formula would look something like this:
77W+200W+100W=427W
Hence, I would need a 450-500W PSU.
Do bear in mind that does not account CPU and GPU overclocking.
If you wish to overclock your CPU and GPU, add around 100-150W for OC headroom.

But how about if I want to build a rig with a 3930K and 2 HD7970s in Crossfire?
My formula would look like this:
130W+(210x2)W+100W=650W
Again, add 100-150W for overclocking headroom.
You will need at least 750-800W for this setup.

If you are overclocking your CPU and GPU real hard, you may need more PSU juice, thats for sure. tongue.gif

Another option to calculate your power consumption of your setup is by the use of PSU calculators

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalc...e.jsp#footnote5

Just pick the hardware you wish to setup, and the calculator will calculate one for you.
Do bear in mind that you do not need to adhere to the values strictly; it's recommended to go a bit more for some headroom.

There's another PSU calculator as well, and this is a program written by Phaedrus2129.
http://www.overclock.net/t/1140534/psu-calc-final-release
Credits to Phaedrus2129@Overclock.net
This one is even more comprehensive. Just input your system information and it will produce a list of recommended PSUs for your build.
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 9 2012, 08:09 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(rc2x @ Dec 9 2012, 08:06 PM)
Nice thread, but you should have reserve few upper post. Your guides all sprawling between some.
Tell mods to clean up the thread.... brows.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 9 2012, 08:14 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(nerdlessguy @ Dec 9 2012, 08:11 PM)
cheh...maybe u shouldn't write comment & advise are welcome lo.Simply wan to delete post doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
1st time doing this thread ma.... whistling.gif sweat.gif blush.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 10 2012, 07:20 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 10 2012, 07:13 PM)
the above part, it's actually the other way around. it's not wrong at all because it really is about % of power draw reaching the computer.

i would have put it .....

If a computer drains 400w, then an 80% efficiency PSU would theoretically draw 500w from the wall.

because it's from the components, telling the PSU what they need, and the PSU then draw from the wall.

anyway, nice thread pinned.
Thanks a lot! Edited the wrong part. tongue.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 10 2012, 11:05 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Dec 10 2012, 11:03 PM)
UPDATE for your FIRST POST

#1 - TX650 V2 Outdated. Now it's called TX650M. Previous batch of TX650M was still made by Seasonic. Now they are no longer Seasonic OEM but AFAIK according to my pro-PSU partner. Basically just change everything V2 to M.

#2 - When calculating for power draw, please allocate more headroom that you need. Leave about 30-40% headroom (so that the PSU runs at about 50-60% load). Usually PSU can only achieve higher efficiency rating at over 50% load (if not mistaken). This also keep the PSU temperature down and keep everything in its IDEAL performance.
1. Really? Wasn't that M=made by CWT, v2=made by Seasonic meh? blink.gif
2. Noted. Thanks. nod.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 10 2012, 11:11 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ Dec 10 2012, 11:07 PM)
I believe M was still made by Seasonic until recently. The M packaging and some internal stuff seems to have changed. But hey, the M now shuts off its fan under light load, did not notice until today where we tried the PSU on a bench table with the fan facing upwards tongue.gif
You're right.... It seems like the v2 has been discontinued... But it seems like it's made by CWT...
There are a lot of TX M series... rclxub.gif There's actually another variant of the TX M, made by HiPro, without 80+ certification.

Added on December 10, 2012, 11:19 pm
QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Dec 10 2012, 10:58 PM)
Efficiency:
I see something missing here.
Already fixed that part. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Dec 10 2012, 11:19 PM
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 11 2012, 09:01 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Dec 11 2012, 12:33 AM)
I believe that "lost as heat" would be a better term.

Anyway, I find that the explanation on the 12V rail maximum power supply part is rather indirect. It would probably be much nicer this way :
Anyway, you may also want to label the single rails and multi-rail power supplies properly as you just jumped into telling people how to read the current reading of this 12V rail and that 12V rail.
I see... Noted. Thanks!
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 22 2012, 06:22 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Dec 21 2012, 12:31 AM)
I own a Huntkey APFC 7000(RM225), brought it 2 years ago, I remember Huntkey PSU was hot selling product at Garage Sales. Now people try to avoid this bad due to high failure rate according to reviews.

I need some sellers here to clarify, does this brand really that bad ?
Considering most Huntkey PSUs (V-Power and Green Star) actually exploded when loaded... So yeah, Huntkey doesn't really make good PSUs... However some of them are surprisingly good. (especially the Jumper series)
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 23 2012, 08:30 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Dec 23 2012, 07:07 PM)
How do I test my PSU ? Really out of budget to get a new PSU.

My rig currently is problematic, ramdom freeze, sometimes can't even turn on, I need to on and off the switch multiple times in order to get the PC on. hmm.gif

I am not sure problem with the mobo or the PSU.

How to test that my PSU is dying/problematic or still going strong ?
You'd need a PSU load tester and an oscilloscope.... You can't really test the PSU straight away. Try getting another PSU to try it...
TSchocobo7779
post Dec 26 2012, 06:57 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Dec 25 2012, 01:26 PM)
Please update your list. Coolermaster GX and GX Lite is crap. Only Coolermaster GX Bronze is decent.

Also, you have Flextronics, Enhance Electronics and Sirfa for the manufacturer.
I can't really recommend the GX Bronze due to those units suffer from quality issues... plus the price tag alone can give you a better, higher quality units...

For the OEM, I cannot state all of them before my whole post becomes wall of text already.. tongue.gif

TSchocobo7779
post Dec 30 2012, 05:45 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(justordinary @ Dec 30 2012, 05:12 PM)
Lets say in this scenario

FSP Hexa 500w @ Rm149

Xigmatek Go Green 600w @Rm149 (Brand new but no warranty)

Which will give perform better? I dont really mind about warranty cos i'll be sleeving it and i will have to open the insise since its non modular. And i will be voiding the wattanty anyway.
I'd rather get the FSP one, despite the lower wattage... I can't really trust a 600W PSU at that price range...
From what I've known, the Hexa 500W is internally similar to the Antec VP450, but with an APFC circuit.
TSchocobo7779
post Mar 26 2013, 11:19 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(Shin86 @ Mar 26 2013, 10:44 AM)
Hello guys,

My PSU recently went down, so I was thinking about getting a new & better one within my budget, below are my rigs (it's an obsolete rig smile.gifsmile.gif

Proc : AMD Phenom X3 8650
Mobo : Gigabyte GA - MA78GM - S2HP
RAM : 2 x 2GB DDR2 RAM
Graphic : Sapphire HD6670 DDR5 1GB
HDD : 1TB Samsung

My budget is around RM200 (Maybe I can top-up another RM50 if situation permits)

My question is, will a good 500W PSU power up this system efficiently.?

Please suggest me a decent PSU with its retail price.
FSP Hexa 500W/Corsair CX500 should do the trick. They should be retailing under RM200. tongue.gif
TSchocobo7779
post Mar 29 2013, 08:45 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(tanalvis @ Mar 28 2013, 12:23 AM)
Ok, my current PSU is facing some problem and need to send for RMA...I guess i will sell the PSU once its come back from RMA.

PSU: Gigabyte PowerRock Ex500W
Mobo: MSI B75P45 (lga1155)
GPU: Sapphire 7850 2gb (OC version)
Processor: i3-3220
Ram: 2 x 4GB DDR3 1333 value ram
HDD:500 GB WD blue.
DVD: LG DVD RW

What power supply i should get for price range around RM150? Or maybe recommend other alternative PSU. Looking for low failure rate PSU.
1. FSP hexa 500W (HE-500)
2. Enermax Naxn Tomahawk II 500W
3. AcBel ME2 Plus 500W
4. Corsair VS450
5. Corsair VS550 (slightly out of budget)

I have asked idealtech, they mentioned that FSP hexa 500W (HE-500) and Gigabyte PowerRock Ex500 has high failure rate, so they do not carry it anymore...

Anyone used the tomahawk II before? how was it?
The Hexas... The lower-end NAXNs and the Corsair VS series are made by CWT, but it is based on Chieftec's GPA platform. (The quality is just slightly better than those Cap Ayam ones, TBH)
TSchocobo7779
post May 18 2013, 08:19 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ May 18 2013, 08:14 PM)

I need advice on which to decide out of these 2 PSUs:

1. Corsair GS700w 2013 edition
2. Zalman ZM700-GT 700w psu

Reason for purchase: a recent GPU upgrade to GTX650

This is my rig:
Gigabyte GA-880GMA-UD2H + phenom II x2 555
Corsair Value 4GB ram
500GB HDD
Leadtek Geforce GTX650

My use of the PC normally video watching, music, surfing and of course gaming, not much but occasionally some heavy games. I don't intend to spend $$ on top of the line but I have budgeted +/-RM350.

Many thanks for the advice in advance

warmest regards
RM350? Seasonic G 550. icon_idea.gif
These two units aren't good when compared to the Seasonic unit. There's no need for a 700W PSU. A quality 550W can power it up nicely. brows.gif
TSchocobo7779
post May 20 2013, 11:06 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(bobds78 @ May 19 2013, 10:52 PM)
thanks smile.gif

BTW, how big is the difference between the 2 PSUs? 

Seasonic G 550w vs S12II 620w

Is the price difference of +/-RM70 (@Lelong Quotes - g550 @rm377 - s12ii620 @rm305) worth it? Sorry, I am afraid my knowledge of PSUs is really limited. Your input is truly appreciated,

thanks in advance
Seasonic G 550 (80+ Gold efficiency, possibly better electrical components, semi-modular cabling). You can remove some unused cables on the unit, which makes cable management easier. tongue.gif

18 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0220sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:49 PM