The newbie guide to power supply units, Questions and comments are welcomed

wcypierre
post Jan 4 2014, 05:36 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

I've just looked up at the FSP Hexa 500W that is usually recommended here, and I saw this: "Capxon LP Primary capacitor". I thought that Capxon is not generally not recommended? rclxub.gif

http://forums.vr-zone.com/hardware-depot/1...r-supplies.html
wcypierre
post Jan 20 2015, 09:30 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

Hexa 550W enough to power up X3 8650 + HD6950?

wcypierre

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Jan 20 2015, 01:50 PM
wcypierre
post Jan 20 2015, 01:51 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

Summoning Minecrafter and chocobo7779 notworthy.gif
wcypierre
post Jan 20 2015, 02:22 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 20 2015, 01:55 PM)
Yes. AMD recommends only 500W or better for HD6950.
thanks. was wondering of getting an used 6950 from ipmart because it is pretty cheap yet with pretty good performance biggrin.gif
wcypierre
post Jun 14 2018, 06:07 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

what is the sweet point for psu atm? I'm planning to run a pc for 24x7x365 so I'm planning to get a better psu to replace the FSP Hexa+ 550w that I'm currently using.

Budget: RM300 (willing to go more if needed)
System power usage: ~60+ watt on idle, < 150w on full load, but mostly idle (e3 1231v3 + 1hdd + 3 case fan + 2 lan + 1 pendrive)
Features that I'm looking for:
1. Semi modular/modular (better airflow and cable management)
2. Prefer to get a psu that is lower in power for better efficiency, but not too low as it would spin the fans and be noisy (the pc is currently as silent as I wanted it to)

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Jun 14 2018, 06:10 PM
wcypierre
post Jun 14 2018, 06:51 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Jun 14 2018, 06:44 PM)
You could consider these:

Super Flower Leadex Silver Full Modular PSU 550W - RM299
Super Flower Leadex Gold Full Modular PSU 550W - RM379 (Recommended)
EVGA SUPERNOVA 550 G3 Gold - RM399

If you're willing to spend slightly more, a gold rated PSU with semi passive mode will be most ideal. smile.gif
Thanks for the reply biggrin.gif how much more is more (from what you've shared, the difference between Silver and Gold is RM80 and so I assume that is the more?) and what do you mean by semi passive mode?

EDIT: and where did you get this pricing from? I see that Super Flower Leadex Gold Full Modular PSU 550W is sold for RM425 at lazada

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Jun 14 2018, 06:53 PM
wcypierre
post Jun 14 2018, 07:10 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Jun 14 2018, 06:57 PM)
Yes my more I meant the RM80 difference between Silver and Gold rated one. Semi passive mode meaning the fan will not spin if it's less than a certain usage/temp.

Sorry I should've mentioned. I got those prices from Lelong. Prices exclude shipping fee though. Haha.

https://www.lelong.com.my/super-flower-lead...7-01-Sale-I.htm

ah, am I correct that the super flower leadex gold psu is a tier 1 psu (https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/631048...r-list-updated/)?

just out of curiosity, any psu that you would recommend at qoo10? Cashback is higher there laugh.gif

EDIT: and I realized there's a leadex II edition, is it significantly better or marginally?

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Jun 14 2018, 07:17 PM
wcypierre
post Jun 14 2018, 08:04 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Jun 14 2018, 07:41 PM)
Yes they are tier 1 PSU. biggrin.gif I'm not too sure bout qoo10. I don't use that platform at all. In fact never heard of them till you mentioned lol.

Ahh yes my bad. I was meant to recommend leadex II (too exhausted from work). They are a newer version compared to leadex. They are somewhat supposedly slightly better compared to leadex in terms of efficiency.
The one that you recommended currently is leadex and not leadex II, is it worth the 36 ringgit difference?
wcypierre
post Jun 14 2018, 09:13 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Jun 14 2018, 08:51 PM)
Yes and that’s my mistake my apologies. Well, I’m not sure if you can even tell the difference between the two of them in real life situation but I’d personally pay that extra 36 to have a newer version item. Who doesn’t like newer versions anyways biggrin.gif
leadex gold seems to have some issues though https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/585894...uent-brownouts/, although it should not affect me much as I'm staying at kl (with way lesser blackouts)
wcypierre
post Jun 15 2018, 09:02 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Jun 14 2018, 08:51 PM)
Yes and that’s my mistake my apologies. Well, I’m not sure if you can even tell the difference between the two of them in real life situation but I’d personally pay that extra 36 to have a newer version item. Who doesn’t like newer versions anyways biggrin.gif
any other inputs that you can provide? biggrin.gif

0.0180sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:54 AM