SPM 2013 Thread

TSmaximR
post Oct 18 2013, 02:28 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(mingisms @ Oct 18 2013, 02:18 PM)
In Amoeba sp., substances such as oxygen and carbon dioxide can diffuse in and out of the cell due to its large total surface area to volume ratio. Humans have a smaller total surface area to volume ratio than Amoeba sp. Substances such as oxygen and carbon dioxide have to travel a longer distance throughout the body. Human skin is impermeable to oxygen and carbon dioxide. Hence, specialised cells are required to form specialised organs such as respiratory organs to aid in the transport of oxygen throughout the human body.
As you can see, it's all over the place and I employed the "write everything you know" method.
I'll provide you with an 'official' answer as this question is from a Trial paper after I wake up . I'd also dearly , dearly want to address the 'write everything you know' method ; which is sometimes employed ( what am I saying ? most of the time for me ) when it comes to structured questions in Biology , not that succinct , but it gets the job done . To fix this 'write everything you know' issue , practising trial/past years comes to mind .

And also a few other stuff .

But before that , siesta time ! I can't live without it .
Ash96
post Oct 18 2013, 04:27 PM

206 posts

Sketch the graph of y= sin 2x +1 ...
do you have to draw it on graph paper ?
Just Visiting By
post Oct 18 2013, 04:37 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Ash96 @ Oct 18 2013, 04:27 PM)
No. Unless the question says 'draw', then you'll have to be specific and draw it on a graph paper.
assymessy
post Oct 18 2013, 05:05 PM

139 posts

How do you guys memorise all those food additives, composite materials and such for Chemistry ? I find it a pain in the ass.

Anyway, does anybody know the correct way to answer questions regarding the KBKK for Komsas ?
Critical_Fallacy
post Oct 18 2013, 05:39 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(assymessy @ Oct 18 2013, 05:05 PM)
How do you guys memorize all those food additives, composite materials and such for Chemistry? I find it a pain in the ass.
My brain matter is different from yours. I don't memorize but I do familiarize. It's a kind of backpropagation learning method, similar to the way a child learns to identify a motorcar from examples of 4-wheeled sedan cars. icon_rolleyes.gif
Heartnsoul
post Oct 18 2013, 06:27 PM

Going through hell? Keep going!
889 posts

QUOTE(Ash96 @ Oct 18 2013, 04:27 PM)
nope, because "sketch" just draw it below the question or in the space provided. Only use graph if the question is draw.

QUOTE(assymessy @ Oct 18 2013, 05:05 PM)
How do you guys memorise all those food additives, composite materials and such for Chemistry ? I find it a pain in the ass.

Anyway, does anybody know the correct way to answer questions regarding the KBKK for Komsas ?
Well, I look at the list or table a few times and I can form a blurry image in my brain. I then proceed to link the items I remember to their categories. I guess you could try to find a table that list down the materials, and remember the common ones?
Critical_Fallacy
post Oct 18 2013, 06:50 PM

∫nnộvisεr
3,713 posts

QUOTE(Heartnsoul @ Oct 18 2013, 06:27 PM)
Well, I look at the list or table a few times and I can form a blurry image in my brain. I then proceed to link the items I remember to their categories.
Could you describe exactly the PROCESS or METHODOLOGY of linking the items you remember to their categories? This way, assymessy might learn better. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Critical_Fallacy: Oct 18 2013, 06:50 PM
Heartnsoul
post Oct 18 2013, 09:19 PM

889 posts

Um, it's a mental process, I can't really explain it. I close my eyes and I see the blurry table and the things that should be in it, I remember where a few of them should be and I just link the rest together. It's crazy I know. I was just sharing how I did it, the best advice I could give was to find the stuff in table form(a tidy neat one at that) and not read in paragraph like what's provided in some reference books. It'll be easier to remember than a cold hard paragraph.

This post has been edited by Heartnsoul: Oct 18 2013, 09:30 PM
TSmaximR
post Oct 18 2013, 09:32 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(mingisms @ Oct 18 2013, 02:18 PM)
In Amoeba sp., substances such as oxygen and carbon dioxide can diffuse in and out of the cell due to its large total surface area to volume ratio. Humans have a smaller total surface area to volume ratio than Amoeba sp. Substances such as oxygen and carbon dioxide have to travel a longer distance throughout the body. Human skin is impermeable to oxygen and carbon dioxide. Hence, specialised cells are required to form specialised organs such as respiratory organs to aid in the transport of oxygen throughout the human body.
As you can see, it's all over the place and I employed the "write everything you know" method.
Here's the suggested answer for full [ 3 ] marks :

E1 : Multicellular organisms have many cells but unicellular organisms have one cell only
E2 : Multicellular organisms need specialised cells to perform different functions but unicellular organisms can perform different functions with its single cell
E3 : Cells of multicellular organisms are very far from environment and it's hard for diffusion but cells of unicellular organisms are near to environment to enable faster/easier diffusion

In a way , Terengganu's panel of question setters were quite stringent when they came out with the mark scheme . Normally , for Biology questions with the word 'explain' in it , there should be F , the main fact , and then E , explanations of the fact .

Back then , I used to write everything I knew ( in form four ) . After doing many trial papers , I have acquired the ability to structure my answers better ( still needs improvement ) according to sequence or facts . For example , if a question says ' Explain the effects of respiratory inhibitor like herbicide on Amoeba sp. ' , I sort my answers according to the sequence below :

1 . Respiratory inhibitor inhibits cellular respiration / Mitochondria cannot function
2 . Energy / ATP cannot be generated / produced
3 . Active transport cannot be carried out
4 . Contractile vacuole cannot contract to remove excess water
5 . Amoeba sp. dies / bursts / haemolyses

If the question awards 2 marks , any 2 would do . I would definitely write more than required for safety .

This comes from practice . I'd like to reiterate that I still need more practices as I've encountered many questions that tripped me off , for example , explain the process shown by Planarian sp. [ with a diagram of it dividing , 3 marks ] .

SPM Biology P2 is not a bed of roses . It requires high order thinking skills ( normally the last section of a question ) , where we need to apply what we've studied to come up with explanations . That's why I enjoy SPM Biology , it's not a swallow here puke there subject , it requires us to think . More examples of high order thinking skills questions :

Golgi apparatus is found abundantly in the cells of a root cap . Explain what happens to the root cap if Golgi apparatus fails to function . [2m] T'gannu 2012

Answer :

1 . Less slimy lubricant is produced
2 . Movement of root in between soil becomes more difficult

To highlight the plight I faced when answering this questions , here's my actual answer when I first encountered the question :

1 . Less mucus is produced because less extracellular enzyme is produced
2 . Root cannot penetrate deep into soil to absorb water

See ? I think everyone of us has difficulty coming up with perfect answers . If a student simply memorises the functions of organelles without knowing that mucus is an example of a protein , they wouldn't be able to answer this question . I'll try to highlight a few more , actual answers , and my answers :

If afferent neurone in spinal cord breaks down , what would happen ? [3 marks ] T'gannu 2012

Answer :

1 . Impulse cannot be transmitted from receptors to CNS / Brain and spinal cord
2 . Brain cannot detect / interpret / integrate the impulse / information
3 . Stimulus cannot be detected

My answer :

1 . Impulse cannot travel to the brain and spinal cord to be interpreted
2 . No impulse is sent to the effector
3 . No response is carried out

One example from SPM 2010 :

Silk is an example of protein . A silk garment crumples when it is washed with hot water at a temperature of 65 deg C . Explain this statement [3m] :

Answer :

1 . Silk is a protein fibre
2 . High temperatures will reduce the strength of the hydrogen bonds and disrupt the structure
3 . Denaturation of proteins occur

My answer :

1 . Proteins denature at high temperatures
2 . Three dimensional shape of protein molecule is altered

( my answer would only gain 1 mark . personally , I'd never have thought of hydrogen bonds , and wouldn't think that by mentioning the fact that silk is a protein fibre , 1 mark would be awarded as it's in the question ! )

In your answer , mentioning Amoeba sp. and humans is unnecessary . You've also rephrased your answer when you said that Amoeba sp. has higher TSA/V ratio , and humans have low TSA/V ratio . By mentioning higher , it's understood that the latter has a lower TSA/V ratio . Mentioning oxygen and carbon dioxide is also unnecessary .

When answering questions in all three sciences , I never care about grammar . In fact , if I can give a shorter answer with incorrect grammar , I'll gladly commit to it . For example , a student who wants to write in perfect grammar would answer like this :

The presence of respiratory inhibitor would inhibit cellular respiration , thus energy in the form of ATP will not be generated . This causes active transport to stop which causes the contractile vacuole of Amoeba sp. to stop functioning . Thus , Amoeba sp. dies due to excess water . [ I used to answer like this , in my first ever Biology exam when I was in form four . tongue.gif ]

How I'd answer now , and in SPM :

Respiratory inhibitor inhibits cellular respiration . Energy cannot be produced . Active transport stops . Contractive vacuole cannot contract . Amoeba sp. dies .

Simple , saves time , saves space , win-win situation as examiners would prefer shorter answers . They look at the key points only to award marks . No point coming up with coherent sentences to sound fancy .

But when in doubt , always , always write everything you know . A+ students do this . In fact , if you look at Kupasan Mutu Jawapan SPM published by LPM , Excellent candidates never give 'ngam-ngam' answers . They always give more than required . In many cases , doing this would save you from scoring zero marks in Section A . I've even asked seniors and they consistently gave the same advice : In Biology , ALWAYS WRITE MORE !

To become more familiar with questions like this , practising trial papers / past years is absolutely vital . There are many students who didn't read reference books and relied solely on trial / past years' mark schemes and scored A+ in SPM . Why ? Answers are usually succinct ( when you ignore atrocious grammar ) , you're able to remember keywords and points . Reference books have paragraphs and paragraphs of incessant rambling sometimes .

I think that would be it for now .

A quick share : When asked to compare in Physics P2 , I always write like this :

Frequency of wave in Diagram 1.1 > 2.1
Pressure at X > Y

I never write long sentences in Physics . If there's room for explanations using diagrams or equations , I'd gladly choose that . That's why I love Physics . You can answer using diagrams and symbols , provided that you label them .

For definition questions , there are 2 ways .

1 . Write complete sentence --- Impulse is the product of force and time
2 . Equation --- I = Ft , where I = Impulse , F = Force , t = time

That's about it for now . I'm actually taking the time off from studying to share everything with all of you . I see no point in keeping them to myself ; we're all facing the same battle , one way or another . I hope some of you would do the same too , if you have stuff to share . I actually am planning to take photos of my BM Module KOMSAS questions and share them here tomorrow or the day after . And the IMBAKUP technique I mentioned , I'll try snapping photos of the papers and share them here also .

This post has been edited by maximR: Oct 18 2013, 09:34 PM
mingisms
post Oct 18 2013, 10:09 PM

615 posts

Wow dude. Thank you so much for being so generous and thorough. Belanja you makan if you come up to KL!

TSmaximR
post Oct 18 2013, 10:15 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(mingisms @ Oct 18 2013, 10:09 PM)

Wow dude. Thank you so much for being so generous and thorough. Belanja you makan if you come up to KL!
You're most welcome ! My absolute pleasure .

Who knows we might end up meeting each other at Sunway ? tongue.gif
assymessy
post Oct 18 2013, 10:35 PM

139 posts

PROPS TO YOU MAXIS. thank you for the info ahh please do for BM! ㅋㅋ I will also belanja u makan if you ever come to KL. ! biggrin.gif
TSmaximR
post Oct 18 2013, 10:38 PM

Remember who you are
3,864 posts

QUOTE(assymessy @ Oct 18 2013, 10:35 PM)

PROPS TO YOU MAXIS. thank you for the info ahh please do for BM! ㅋㅋ I will also belanja u makan if you ever come to KL. ! biggrin.gif
Sure thing ! Please bug me on FB if I ever forget , or don't get it done by Sunday . And you're welcome ! tongue.gif

Heartnsoul
post Oct 19 2013, 10:32 AM

889 posts

Thank you so much MaximR!!! notworthy.gif

I too will belanja makan if you ever come to Penang, or when I go to KL smile.gif

This post has been edited by Heartnsoul: Oct 19 2013, 10:33 AM
Heartnsoul
post Oct 19 2013, 10:38 AM

889 posts

On a separate topic, in the Penang Sejarah trials question 18 objective:

Raja Henry VIII telah memutuskan hubungan England dengan gereja roman katolik di Rom. Apakah kesannya?

A Pungukuhan kuasa politik
B menyokong usaha counter-reformation
C melangsungkan upacara perkahwinan
D menjadi pusat penyebaran agama

I could not find the answer to this, mainly due to not having the F4 textbook(3 reference books and nothing). I selected D because according to what I remember(and checked), Henry made himself the ketua kerohanian for the protestan church.

manutd96
post Oct 19 2013, 12:04 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(Heartnsoul @ Oct 19 2013, 10:38 AM)
On a separate topic, in the Penang Sejarah trials question 18 objective:

Raja Henry VIII telah memutuskan hubungan England dengan gereja roman katolik di Rom. Apakah kesannya?

A Pungukuhan kuasa politik
B menyokong usaha counter-reformation
C melangsungkan upacara perkahwinan
D menjadi pusat penyebaran agama

I could not find the answer to this, mainly due to not having the F4 textbook(3 reference books and nothing). I selected D because according to what I remember(and checked), Henry made himself the ketua kerohanian for the protestan church.
According to textbook pg 222 its memutuskan kerana ingin berkahwin dgn anne boleyn. Maybe ans is c?
manutd96
post Oct 19 2013, 12:06 PM

184 posts

I want to ask too? For nilai/iktibar questions in p2/3 for sej, must we ans in full sentence like kita harus mempertahankan negara or just mempertahankan negara like many ans scheme give?
ericling
post Oct 19 2013, 12:08 PM

323 posts

Hi guys, I'm looking for you guys' opinion.
I am currently doing revision on Sejarah and for paper 2, should I start doing the trials of other states or the SPM past year papers?

Anyone of you have done the other states' trials papers? If so, which state?

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by ericling: Oct 19 2013, 12:10 PM
5p3ak
post Oct 19 2013, 12:21 PM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

Hi guys, just wanna share with you all some bit of information which may clear up some confusion.

Thus I have been told by my BM tuition teacher whom teaches at SMK DU, whom also examines SPM BM paper, that all that marks BM paper are of the Malay race so therefore it is okay to put in some words spoken by The Prophet ,know as Hadis if I am not mistaken, as long as it is accurate and fitting the context.

For example,

Cara-cara menambahkan ilmu pengetahuan.

> One of the points
Hadis bermaksud "Carilah ilmu hingga ke negara China" menunjukkan bahawa ilmu ada di mana-mana dan tuntutlah ilmu setinggi yang boleh. Ilmu yang dituntut pula tidak terhad kepada cabang ilmu sains dan teknologi malah dalam pelbagai bidan ilmu supaya insan berilmu yang terhasil merupakan insan yang kamil* dan seimbang dari segi jasmani, emosi, rohani dan intelek.

*Kamil bermaksud sempurna.

Hope this helps smile.gif

Heartnsoul
post Oct 19 2013, 12:35 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(manutd96 @ Oct 19 2013, 12:04 PM)
According to textbook pg 222 its memutuskan kerana ingin berkahwin dgn anne boleyn. Maybe ans is c?
Ah, thank you. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ericling @ Oct 19 2013, 12:08 PM)
Hi guys, I'm looking for you guys' opinion.
I am currently doing revision on Sejarah and for paper 2, should I start doing the trials of other states or the SPM past year papers?

Anyone of you have done the other states' trials papers? If so, which state?

Thanks smile.gif
Maybe do some of the older past years to familiarize yourself then move on to SBP/MARA papers?

Anyways, I was wondering, how do you guys answer Moral questions that ask us to menerangkan our tindakan(2 marks per question). Do you write :

Saya akan berjumpa dengan ibu-bapa pelajar. Saya akan berbincang tentang tindakan anak mereka membuli pelajar lain.

or

Saya akan berjumpa dengan ibu bapa pelajar untuk berbincang tentang tindakan anak mereka memebuli pelajar lain.

Write both points in a sentence or two? Oh and anyone wanna share their pendidikan moral essays? smile.gif

124 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0345sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:36 AM