Credit Cards Citibank Credit Cards V2, Discuss here

Redundant
post Dec 9 2013, 02:06 PM

Gundam Freak
1,713 posts

QUOTE(- @ Dec 9 2013, 12:23 PM)
I've been a user of Citibank Cashback ever since it came out (4+ years I think?) and this time, they refuse to waive my annual fees.

Spoke to 2 CS personnel, both reverted with the same negative response. One commented that "marketing dept not offering any waiver for this product this year".

I consistently use my card at least 4-5 times a month so it can't be due to inactivity. In any case, I requested for a cancellation and they did so without hesitation. So long, Citibank.
I feel you bro... I got the same response too... Bye bye citibank!
DarReNz
post Dec 9 2013, 02:36 PM

7,496 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Dec 9 2013, 02:06 PM)
I feel you bro... I got the same response too... Bye bye citibank!
i think it's ok that time when got new promo for citibank freebie stuff you can re-apply again rclxms.gif
hikki_boa
post Dec 9 2013, 08:58 PM

166 posts

QUOTE(one leg kicking @ Dec 8 2013, 07:22 PM)
instant reward is more worth it. 200point = RM1

https://www.citibank.com.my/instantrewards/categories.htm

10k points to RM50 is also 200point : RM1... what is minimum points amount to be used instant reward? unsure.gif
Azurika
post Dec 10 2013, 08:36 AM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

Seems like is not easy to get an Annual Waiver from citibank CC. And i was under the impression 1 phone call and it is waived.
Have personally been with CIMB Signature for years and I have never had this issue before.
pillage2001
post Dec 10 2013, 10:24 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Dec 10 2013, 08:36 AM)
Seems like is not easy to get an Annual Waiver from citibank CC. And i was under the impression 1 phone call and it is waived.
Have personally been with CIMB Signature for years and I have never had this issue before.
How often you use it??
pillage2001
post Dec 10 2013, 10:30 AM

1,991 posts

Anybody got offered PremierMiles Amex by citibank?
Redundant
post Dec 10 2013, 10:55 AM

Gundam Freak
1,713 posts

Just called to have my card canceled today and they did it with no hesitation... I guess citi has too many customers already... Time to cut my card into two and look for a replacement card wink.gif
Azurika
post Dec 11 2013, 02:14 AM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Dec 10 2013, 10:24 AM)
How often you use it??
Very often .... more then 20 transaction and over 5k spending in 2 months of getting the card.
pillage2001
post Dec 11 2013, 08:32 AM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(Azurika @ Dec 11 2013, 02:14 AM)
Very often .... more then 20 transaction and over 5k spending in 2 months of getting the card.
And then it was idle for the year??? Hmmm.i spent about 20k a year or more on the card. Did not have any problem getting the fees to be waived. Which exact CC are you having?
Azurika
post Dec 11 2013, 11:26 AM

Power to Leverage
1,721 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Dec 11 2013, 08:32 AM)
And then it was idle for the year??? Hmmm.i spent about 20k a year or more on the card. Did not have any problem getting the fees to be waived. Which exact CC are you having?
Erm nono, i just got my card 2 years. I was just expressing my concerns on getting annual waiver since there has been much talk on this.
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2013, 12:35 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(- @ Dec 9 2013, 12:23 PM)
I've been a user of Citibank Cashback ever since it came out (4+ years I think?) and this time, they refuse to waive my annual fees.

Spoke to 2 CS personnel, both reverted with the same negative response. One commented that "marketing dept not offering any waiver for this product this year".

I consistently use my card at least 4-5 times a month so it can't be due to inactivity. In any case, I requested for a cancellation and they did so without hesitation. So long, Citibank.
think all banks are cutting back on some generosities, paying attention to debt as per bnm memos. i doubt any bank will waive everything as easily anymore...

.. cashback platinum, yes, they are not blanket waivering the annual fee anymore, they have their criteria - spending amount, regularity, auto debit, payment record, etc. fortunate for me, i get it and the other one every year.

.. there is now an annual fee free card, no need to ask for waiver since there is no fee - the platinum rewards card. if you do not subscribe to any category to get 5x points, you pay no annual fee, just get regular points. this card can be good for some like me - use cashback platinum for good cashback places like petrol and tesco. for other spending, can pick one category like shopping or entertainment to get 5x pts... but need min 15k spending p.a. to qualify for rm100 annual fee waiver... however, i got it waived for a start until mid 2015, so ok for now.

i oso hold cimb card. my experience, citibank cards are better in terms of service, rewards and waivers.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 11 2013, 12:36 PM
DarReNz
post Dec 11 2013, 01:57 PM

7,496 posts

i would think should waive AF to those who pay regularly on time @ no debts

This post has been edited by DarReNz: Dec 11 2013, 01:58 PM
pillage2001
post Dec 11 2013, 02:56 PM

1,991 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Dec 11 2013, 01:57 PM)
i would think should waive AF to those who pay regularly on time @ no debts
Maybe that too. ahaha....Well..try and try again if you don't succeed...
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 12 2013, 03:05 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

I just got a mail telling me I can upgrade to Platinum Reward. I using the regular gold card now. I didn't bother to upgrade last time coz most citibank privileges i used is also available for gold card users. And their AF is just under 200 (in case they didnt want to waive) which is not that bad.

However this platinum is 600 AF. If they dont want to waive, i kena screwed liao. So still thinking should I upgrade or not. I rarely use this Citi card anyway except to take advantage of Citi specific discount.

What you guys think? Should I upgrade?
AVFAN
post Dec 12 2013, 03:16 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Dec 12 2013, 03:05 PM)
I just got a mail telling me I can upgrade to Platinum Reward. I using the regular gold card now. I didn't bother to upgrade last time coz most citibank privileges i used is also available for gold card users. And their AF is just under 200 (in case they didnt want to waive) which is not that bad.

However this platinum is 600 AF. If they dont want to waive, i kena screwed liao. So still thinking should I upgrade or not. I rarely use this Citi card anyway except to take advantage of Citi specific discount.

What you guys think? Should I upgrade?
gud to see u here! biggrin.gif

i was in same situation as you. i called them yesterday, asked some questions and agreed to change from gold to plat reward - becos i hv nothing to lose.

that af600... why? only true (rm500) if you subscribe to all the 5x points categories. if you take none, there is no af, no need to ask for waiver anymore. depending on where you most likely spend, choose 0, 1...5 categories:

if you choose just 1, af is rm100, total rm15k spending will get it auto waived . more categories, more spending req'd for waivers. anyway, they will give you waiver for 1st year, ask them.

do you have their platinum cashback card? this one no points, just cashback, good for petrol and groceries. so, for me this cashback card and the reward card will cover almost all spending - cashback for some spending, 5xpoints for others. the rest, just normal points with the reward card.

the mail has all details. if not, a call and a visit to the website, u wil b clear.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 12 2013, 03:21 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 12 2013, 03:28 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 12 2013, 03:16 PM)

i was in same situation as you. i called them yesterday, asked some questions and agreed to change from gold to plat reward - becos i hv nothing to lose.

that af600... only true if you subscribe to all the 5x points categories. if you take none, there is no af, no need to ask for waiver anymore. depending on where you most likely spend, choose 0, 1...6 categories:

if you choose just 1, af is rm100, total rm15k spending will get it auto waived . more categories, more spending req'd for waivers. anyway, they will give you waiver for 1st year, ask them.

do you have their platinum cashback card? this one no points, just cashback, good for petrol and groceries. so, for me this cahback pklus the reward will cover almost all - cashback for some spending, 5xpoints for others. the rest, just normal points with the rewards card.

the mail ahs all details. if not, a call and a visit to the website, u wil b clear.
Hahaha.. you here too! I was hanging around here more earlier this year to learn which is the best cc. Now that I got all i seldom here already. Playing more on AV stuff now. tongue.gif But OCBC screw up my spending pattern, so now need to revisit this place again. laugh.gif

thanks for the pointer.

most of my spending now goes to MBB2Kard and my MACH card. This citibank i keep for fun only actually. Only left one thing on it which is an iphone installment plan from maxis (regretted it. should have just pay straight one lump sum)

The 15k/category for annual fee waiver is hard to swallow...

Also, from 2nd year onwards, the annual fee is charge upfront. Any cancellation in the middle of the year, the fee no refund. MACH card charge per quarter, which is a little better.
namh
post Dec 12 2013, 05:12 PM

Just a passerby
1,422 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Dec 12 2013, 03:16 PM)

that af600... why? only true (rm500) if you subscribe to all the 5x points categories. if you take none, there is no af, no need to ask for waiver anymore. depending on where you most likely spend, choose 0, 1...5 categories:

do you have their platinum cashback card? this one no points, just cashback, good for petrol and groceries. so, for me this cashback card and the reward card will cover almost all spending - cashback for some spending, 5xpoints for others. the rest, just normal points with the reward card.

the mail has all details. if not, a call and a visit to the website, u wil b clear.
WoW, thank you for the list of shop.. i also got letter offering this platinum rewards card.. i seldom use my gold card, usually just for TGV flat rate rm10.. now the TGV promo will be ended this year, maybe want to keep the gold card in drawer.. then come this platinum reward offer.. but got to choose which categories.. not choosing any categories also can? so no Annual fees will be charged thumbup.gif
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 12 2013, 07:21 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(namh @ Dec 12 2013, 05:12 PM)
WoW, thank you for the list of shop.. i also got letter offering this platinum rewards card.. i seldom use my gold card, usually just for TGV flat rate rm10.. now the TGV promo will be ended this year, maybe want to keep the gold card in drawer.. then come this platinum reward offer.. but got to choose which categories.. not choosing any categories also can? so no Annual fees will be charged  thumbup.gif
eh? can got option not to choose any category? in this case its abit more better d... no annual fee, means i dont need to call back to the CS every year. I dont mind if they gave me x1 point. Since now also I have x1 point anyway...
WhitE LighteR
post Dec 12 2013, 07:31 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

https://www.citibank.com.my/english/credit-...HowWorks_100113

It says here : Minimum 2. But the FAQ didn't mention if we can choose not to subscribe any category or not.

Edit : Ok I dig more in the T&C

https://www.citibank.com.my/english/credit-...um-card-tnc.pdf

It says (refer to page 2), for the 1st year you must subscribe minimum 2 category. Following year, you may subscribe none or any number of reward category.

Ok so, it is possible to subscribe none icon_idea.gif Since the 1st year is free of AF, so i got nothing to loose! Almost 2nd year, I just cancel all category and go back to x1 point.

No more talking to Citibank CS every year!

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Dec 12 2013, 07:37 PM
SUSDavid83
post Dec 12 2013, 10:12 PM

52,874 posts

New T&C on Citibank CC wef 31 December 2013:

http://www.citibank.com.my/english/credit-...1Dec2013NewHOME

Lazy to read all. Too long!

120 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top