125 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Model Kits GUNDAM & MECHA MODELLING THREAD V2, Share infos, tips & modification here

jhcj
post Apr 12 2006, 01:52 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

After 8-9 hours of work, it is complete! XD

Sorry for the lousy picture quality. My Canon no more battery, so I had to use a Sony Cybershot T3 (whose picture quality is made of lose and suck even after tweaking its settings) instead.

I wished the molds for the Gerbera Straight came with the colors. I left it untouched cause I dont have the resource to get to colors right. So it's just plain white. sad.gif
kingkong81
post Apr 12 2006, 02:01 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Apr 12 2006, 01:44 PM)
amazon... not everyone buys from them and you have to consider the shipping costs when you buy online. you can get low prices from other online sites but add in the shipping fees and the price shoots up... RM 80 for a MG in Lowyat plaza is considered cheap... and Lowyat's prices are often RM10-20 more expensive than say Sg Wang, or even aunty lenny's shop... higher rental perhaps? unsure.gif

but one thing's for sure... those pieces of plastic are definitely overpriced... hell they're just plastic, and yet we willingly pay them for our own satisfaction. laugh.gif
Yo man, i went to Sg Wang yesterday, but did not really see any shops selling Gundam Kits. Mind to tell me where is the location?

Went to the shops in Low Yat Plaza as well, some of the kits they r selling r quite cheap, even newer models like MG Freedom r going for RM155 n MG Wing Zero Custom for RM153.
infested_ysy
post Apr 12 2006, 02:43 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Apr 12 2006, 01:44 PM)
amazon... not everyone buys from them and you have to consider the shipping costs when you buy online. you can get low prices from other online sites but add in the shipping fees and the price shoots up...

but one thing's for sure... those pieces of plastic are definitely overpriced... hell they're just plastic, and yet we willingly pay them for our own satisfaction. laugh.gif
I calculated before. Buying only one kit from them would cost you around RM70 including shipping fees. Buy moar = cheaper.

Bandai's overcharged plastic is nothing compared to SHE's ridiculous full-transformation Getter/Gunbuster. They're the size of a regular 1/144 Gundam kit, only that they cost 200000yen or so o_O. Though I'm very impressed by the amount of engineering they managed to cram on the figurines (can transform Getter 1 to 3 without any extra parts, Gunbuster can split into 3 parts as seen on animu, and can deploy the 3284358765 canons from its arms/legs)

I wished the molds for the Gerbera Straight came with the colors. I left it untouched cause I dont have the resource to get to colors right. So it's just plain white. sad.gif

1: buy paintbrush (nylon brushes FTW!)
2: buy enamel/acrylic paints (I'm sure there are loads of shops over there selling them at reasonable prices, unlike in Melaka >_>)
3: buy retarder
4: mix paint and retarder
5: spend some quality time painting carefully
6: ?????
7: profit
young_soul
post Apr 12 2006, 03:27 PM

THIS is how you use a hammer
2,032 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Apr 12 2006, 02:01 PM)
Yo man, i went to Sg Wang yesterday, but did not really see any shops selling Gundam Kits. Mind to tell me where is the location?

Went to the shops in Low Yat Plaza as well, some of the kits they r selling r quite cheap, even newer models like MG Freedom r going for RM155 n MG Wing Zero Custom for RM153.
shocking.gif Last I check it was RM175...and that was Sungei Wang. Low Yat was worse...

This post has been edited by young_soul: Apr 12 2006, 03:28 PM
andyxp
post Apr 12 2006, 10:02 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

any idea how much is a air spray set?

sousuke
post Apr 12 2006, 10:07 PM

2,968 posts

QUOTE(andyxp @ Apr 13 2006, 12:02 AM)
any idea how much is a air spray set?

air spray as in air brush? Toy City should have one for around RM500-RM700 last time (which was btw bout a year ago sweat.gif )
320cbr
post Apr 12 2006, 11:23 PM

224 posts

sousuke the airbrush set u mention, what brand
is it like, set from gunze sangyo/tamiya?
YenS
post Apr 13 2006, 02:17 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(dj898 @ Apr 11 2006, 08:26 PM)
primer comes in either grey or white if you want the white base coat...
one of main use of primer is to find out any imperfection before you start to paint and also gives the nice even base for the paint to grab on.

if using white primer well you could leave it at that followed with decal, lining, top coat, etc...

enamel and acrylic is just different types of paint. if you like think of permanant marker and white board marker. tongue.gif it really depens on the availability as for me getting Acrylic paint is far easier

I really don't recommand the gundam marker unless you want to do is pre-assembly with lining O_O
err..isnt it those tamiya ones? cos i saw the tamiya cans at jusco..they come in a lot of colors.

how abt those parts that dont need painting? do we still need to prime it?

as for the gundam markers, why is it better to use acrylic/enamel than the markers? sorry ya, still blur smile.gif

thx

This post has been edited by YenS: Apr 13 2006, 02:19 AM
infested_ysy
post Apr 13 2006, 03:33 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(sousuke @ Apr 12 2006, 10:07 PM)
air spray as in air brush? Toy City should have one for around RM500-RM700 last time (which was btw bout a year ago  sweat.gif )
Why ToyCity...? O_o

Aren't the stuff they sell overpriced? At least, the Melaka branch does it. I can hardly imagine them making a profit otherwise (given how skyhigh their expenses should be, what with renting two HUEG lots in Parkson, and hiring like, 2 dozen of employees? O_O)
KidsCode
post Apr 13 2006, 03:46 AM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

andyxp@ why dont you ask young_soul@ see able to bring back for you, as think it would be cheaper from there and more choices too...

yup, ToyCity is always overly price on their stuff...

This post has been edited by KidsCode: Apr 13 2006, 03:46 AM
dj898
post Apr 13 2006, 08:50 AM

QUOTE(YenS @ Apr 13 2006, 05:17 AM)
err..isnt it those tamiya ones? cos i saw the tamiya cans at jusco..they come in a lot of colors.

how abt those parts that dont need painting? do we still need to prime it?

as for the gundam markers, why is it better to use acrylic/enamel than the markers? sorry ya, still blur smile.gif

thx
Yes Tamiya makes nice selection of Acrylic paints though I prefer Gunze as they have more wide range - so I don't have to mix paints tongue.gif
I do use Tamiya spray can when I see one for cheap but it's mainly for paint the diorama base or something I just need the basic cover up. Other than that I don't use coz it's quite costly

for smaller parts don't need painting? Don't know which parts don't need painting with MG kits coz I only use MG and PG kits myself. Never do 1/144 scale nor HG kits

I use the paint brush for the small piece since it's not easy to use air brush and masking can be a hell with small pieces. It's easier to hand paint 'em

well IMHO Gundam marker could be alright for smaller scale kits and even that at smaller areas unless you have the skill to cover large areas with Gundam marker and not have the stroke(?) marks - well I don't. Using air brush will give you the nice even finish though properly prepared/thin'd enamel/lacquer could achieve nice finish with hand paint provided you have steady hands and patience doh.gif
TSprovidence
post Apr 13 2006, 09:12 AM

648 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Apr 13 2006, 03:46 AM)
andyxp@ why dont you ask young_soul@ see able to bring back for you, as think it would be cheaper from there and more choices too...
They were selling a paint brush slightly thicker than a toothpick for RM36.90 sweat.gif
young_soul
post Apr 13 2006, 09:32 AM

THIS is how you use a hammer
2,032 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Apr 13 2006, 03:46 AM)

dun ask me...I don't know anything about sprays...
eZee
post Apr 13 2006, 09:59 AM

20 posts

Hey guys.. This is my 1st time.. juz finished two gundams.. freedom n destiny.. eh.. feels free to comment ya.. sweat.gif

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Freedom in action

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Sorry for my lousy camera phone ya! tongue.gif
kingkong81
post Apr 13 2006, 12:31 PM

1,351 posts

Wah ezee, d pics really blur ler...may try taking d pics in smaller size instead of 640X480 (better quality camera shall do the trick though sweat.gif ). Work on destiny not bad.

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Apr 13 2006, 12:33 PM
YenS
post Apr 13 2006, 01:11 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Apr 13 2006, 03:33 AM)
Why ToyCity...? O_o

Aren't the stuff they sell overpriced? At least, the Melaka branch does it. I can hardly imagine them making a profit otherwise (given how skyhigh their expenses should be, what with renting two HUEG lots in Parkson, and hiring like, 2 dozen of employees? O_O)
ooO..infested u from malacca too? im studyin in mmu. so i guess that makes u the best person to ask for sources for modelling stuff rclxms.gif

QUOTE(dj898 @ Apr 13 2006, 08:50 AM)
Yes Tamiya makes nice selection of Acrylic paints though I prefer Gunze as they have more wide range - so I don't have to mix paints tongue.gif
I do use Tamiya spray can when I see one for cheap but it's mainly for paint the diorama base or something I just need the basic cover up.  Other than that I don't use coz it's quite costly

for smaller parts don't need painting? Don't know which parts don't need painting with MG kits coz I only use MG and PG kits myself. Never do 1/144 scale nor HG kits

I use the paint brush for the small piece since it's not easy to use air brush and masking can be a hell with small pieces.  It's easier to hand paint 'em

well IMHO Gundam marker could be alright for smaller scale kits and even that at smaller areas unless you have the skill to cover large areas with Gundam marker and not have the stroke(?) marks - well I don't.  Using air brush will give you the nice even finish though properly prepared/thin'd enamel/lacquer could achieve nice finish with hand paint provided you have steady hands and patience doh.gif
which one is cheaper, tamiya or gunze? this is for the primer right? how abt the acrylic paints? normally how much do u pay for a can/bottle/watever ?

for the parts that dont need painting, i meant that the part is those that comes molded in the right color already. for example, freedom, do u paint its white parts too? (since u tear it off from the trees its already white)

oh, so the reason u guys dont use gundam markers is cos of the stroke marks? yeah i noticed that when i painted mine..i was wonderin how to get rid of those marks. so i guess the best solution is acrylic paint huh?

hmm, looks like i gtg toycity and find those stuff. anyone knows where i can get these cheap in malacca?
infested_ysy
post Apr 13 2006, 01:20 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(YenS @ Apr 13 2006, 01:11 PM)
which one is cheaper, tamiya or gunze? this is for the primer right? how abt the acrylic paints? normally how much do u pay for a can/bottle/watever ?

for the parts that dont need painting, i meant that the part is those that comes molded in the right color already. for example, freedom, do u paint its white parts too? (since u tear it off from the trees its already white)

oh, so the reason u guys dont use gundam markers is cos of the stroke marks? yeah i noticed that when i painted mine..i was wonderin how to get rid of those marks. so i guess the best solution is acrylic paint huh?

hmm, looks like i gtg toycity and find those stuff. anyone knows where i can get these cheap in malacca?
I'd say Gunze. I remember a hobby shop somewhere in Ipoh (I forgot where, it's in a building where a whole floor is dedicated to shops that sells animu crap/gaming crap/pirated CD/model kit crap) selling those tiny Gunze paints (small, rectangular, long container) for around RM6 or so.

For painting parts with paints of the same color, it's entirely on your personal taste. Some just leave it as so, some elitist paint everything over to reduce the plasticky look of it.

Stroke marks? What kind of marker you're using? Felt tip? Coloring the surface over a few times more after the initial coat's dried can reduce the stroke marks (at least that's what I did when painting my 1/100 HG Heavyarms Custom-EW)

NO. Toycity (at least the one in Melaka) is made of lose and fail. Don't ever go there unless you're a rich ******* with loads of cash to burn. There's no model kit shop here that sells model supplies cheaply (or at all). So far I've only seen them selling Tamiya's acrylic paints, going at RM14~18 a pop, and a Tamiya acrylic thinner (say, around 1litre worth of it?)for RM35... O_O
dj898
post Apr 13 2006, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(YenS @ Apr 13 2006, 04:11 PM)
ooO..infested u from malacca too? im studyin in mmu. so i guess that makes u the best person to ask for sources for modelling stuff rclxms.gif

primer is kind of paint with small particles inside - it serves dual purpose as I explained before. You can get primer from other makers but it seems Tamiya and Gunze are the two most popular - Tamiya has a small pray can that can be found cheap depends on shops and sales day whereas Gunze has the primer in bottle so you can use w/ air brush

if you don't want to paint, say the white area you can leave it out though in my case after done fixing seam line and sanding I need to prime/paint anyway

if you don't fix seam line and just snap assemble you can put the flat top coat to kill that plastic sheen which makes the kit like toy

Gundam marker can be useful especially for panel lining though you can use the Routering(?) pen as substitute and it can be found cheaper
YenS
post Apr 13 2006, 01:53 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Apr 13 2006, 01:20 PM)
I'd say Gunze. I remember a hobby shop somewhere in Ipoh (I forgot where, it's in a building where a whole floor is dedicated to shops that sells animu crap/gaming crap/pirated CD/model kit crap) selling those tiny Gunze paints (small, rectangular, long container) for around RM6 or so.

For painting parts with paints of the same color, it's entirely on your personal taste. Some just leave it as so, some elitist paint everything over to reduce the plasticky look of it.

Stroke marks? What kind of marker you're using? Felt tip? Coloring the surface over a few times more after the initial coat's dried can reduce the stroke marks (at least that's what I did when painting my 1/100 HG Heavyarms Custom-EW)

NO. Toycity (at least the one in Melaka) is made of lose and fail. Don't ever go there unless you're a rich ******* with loads of cash to burn. There's no model kit shop here that sells model supplies cheaply (or at all). So far I've only seen them selling Tamiya's acrylic paints, going at RM14~18 a pop, and a Tamiya acrylic thinner (say, around 1litre worth of it?)for RM35... O_O
6bucks is kinda cheap compared to gundam markers. but thats ipoh. hmm hard luck malacca doesnt have those stuff. recently my friend bought a 1/100 HG from a shop in gajah berang..he says its 100bux after haggling. thats quite cheap right? im not sure if that shop sells supplies or not..

the gundam markers that i have are the standard 6pack ones. well, coloring on top of a dried coat seems like a good idea, but sometimes i find that when i paint it, the bottom coat comes off..leaving a really nasty smudge. anyways, how many coats do u apply with a gundam marker?

omg, painting eq's arent cheap..just thinner alone 35 bux. crap thats damn expensive.

QUOTE(dj898 @ Apr 13 2006, 01:29 PM)
primer is kind of paint with small particles inside - it serves dual purpose as I explained before. You can get primer from other makers but it seems Tamiya and Gunze are the two most popular - Tamiya has a small pray can that can be found cheap depends on shops and sales day whereas Gunze has the primer in bottle so you can use w/ air brush

if you don't want to paint, say the white area you can leave it out though in my case after done fixing seam line and sanding I need to prime/paint anyway

if you don't fix seam line and just snap assemble you can put the flat top coat to kill that plastic sheen which makes the kit like toy

Gundam marker can be useful especially for panel lining though you can use the Routering(?) pen as substitute and it can be found cheaper
ah so primers are important if im gonna paint with acrylic or enamel. but i guess my painting plans are gonna be put on hold, since malacca doesnt have any modelling supplies shop. crap, shud have gotten those at xl-shop when i went there..haha.

oh, i remember a post abt the top coat spray. that spray will kill the glossy plastic look right?

and the pen. its Rotring. my dad has those. its really fine tips, and he uses that for his engineering drawings. LOL, accuracy huh.
infested_ysy
post Apr 13 2006, 03:48 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(YenS @ Apr 13 2006, 01:53 PM)
recently my friend bought a 1/100 HG from a shop in gajah berang..he says its 100bux after haggling. thats quite cheap right? im not sure if that shop sells supplies or not..

the gundam markers that i have are the standard 6pack ones. well, coloring on top of a dried coat seems like a good idea, but sometimes i find that when i paint it, the bottom coat comes off..leaving a really nasty smudge. anyways, how many coats do u apply with a gundam marker?
By right, 1/100 HG kits have a retail price of 2000yen, which translates to RM66. Which shop did your friend bought it from? There's two (not counting the third one selling Bendi crap) shops selling model kits at jalan Gajah Berang.

So it's felt tip then?

You're supposed to leave the paints dry (aka 'curing process') for a looooonnnngggg time before applying the second coat. Some even leave the painted parts over a day before applying the second coat.

Hurr I don't apply paints with Gundammu marker. I just black panel line'd them. Or outline the edges with the black panel line pen, before painting it with black acrylic for surfaces that are supposed to be black.

125 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:00 AM