125 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Model Kits GUNDAM & MECHA MODELLING THREAD V2, Share infos, tips & modification here

X10A Freedom
post Apr 9 2006, 04:05 PM

ZGMF-X20A Strike Freedom Gundam
3,875 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Apr 9 2006, 02:41 PM)
like Gundams model but then dont have time, money and skill to do them...

http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/9586/p1070626a0mb.jpg
looks pretty neat for a cosmic region
anymore photos?

This post has been edited by X10A Freedom: Apr 9 2006, 04:06 PM
andyxp
post Apr 9 2006, 04:53 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Apr 9 2006, 02:32 PM)
It's here! Work begins tonight! laugh.gif

Thanks young_soul!! notworthy.gif
great ~!

another Astray fan ~~

This post has been edited by andyxp: Apr 9 2006, 09:25 PM
young_soul
post Apr 9 2006, 04:57 PM

THIS is how you use a hammer
2,032 posts

wat lah, you all over here. Dun forget to post in my thread too~ biggrin.gif

so fast fixed up Strike Freedom blink.gif
KidsCode
post Apr 9 2006, 05:12 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

will post more later, when got time to take better photos...
YenS
post Apr 10 2006, 03:53 AM

249 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Apr 9 2006, 09:08 AM)
You're doing it wrong hurr. You're supposed to use acrylic/enamel paints, along with a primer if you want to apply lighter color on dark surfaces. Apply light colored primer on the dark surface, wait for it to dry, then apply paint.
huh? acrylic n enamels..wat are those? are the gundam markers either of em?

its my first time leh. i just went there n said "need stuff to paint n do finishing on gundam kit" then he said use the marker. so i bought the 6pack one with grey panel liner.

wats primer? where can i get it and how much is it? sorry yea, all this sounds like gibberish to me~~ lol at tha noobness...

thx infested:) n i saw that thing in ur avatar in LYP..in some dumb shop selling overpriced kits.

w00t!! red frame! planning to do finishing or gonna leave it like andyxp?

is it just me or are the wings a lil short?
dj898
post Apr 10 2006, 11:20 AM

QUOTE(YenS @ Apr 10 2006, 06:53 AM)
huh? acrylic n enamels..wat are those? are the gundam markers either of  em?

its my first time leh. i just went there n said "need stuff to paint n do finishing on gundam kit" then he said use the marker. so i bought the 6pack one with grey panel liner.

wats primer? where can i get it and how much is it? sorry yea, all this sounds like gibberish to me~~ lol at tha noobness...

thx infested:) n i saw that thing in ur avatar in LYP..in some dumb shop selling overpriced kits.
Acrylic and Enamel is the type of paints like there are water based paint and oil based paint when you go to hardware store/paint shop. biggrin.gif

Primer is basically the base coat modellers put on the assembled model. Its benefit being it will highlight any imperfection - i.e. improperly done seam fix - and also acting as the good base for the paint to grab on and gives you the even base to paint... Tamiya makes a can spray though it can be expensive - heck all primer is expensive considering the amount one need to paint per model. sad.gif You can get the bottle type but that's really for the air brushing so I'd say if you can find Tamiya's can spray would be the ideal/only choice.

for panel lining there are half million ways - ok. maybe not that many biggrin.gif - to paint.
Gundam marker is alright though many people use the rotering pen for that since you can get the finer tip...
If you are interested check out Military modellers and see what they do.
They often use what they call washing - not recommended for Gundam models unless you are going to use for diorama with heavy weathering... Try Goggle as there are again half million or more web pages on these subject on the vast sea of Internet
young_soul
post Apr 10 2006, 12:16 PM

2,032 posts

QUOTE(YenS @ Apr 10 2006, 03:53 AM)
no lar, the wings are tilt-ed backwards
jhcj
post Apr 10 2006, 01:08 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

With what little skill I have, I shall attempt to do the panel lines as best as I can. sweat.gif

The head itself took me like, an hour...but still a little messy in the end. sad.gif
YenS
post Apr 10 2006, 01:27 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(dj898 @ Apr 10 2006, 11:20 AM)
Acrylic and Enamel is the type of paints like there are water based paint and oil based paint when you go to hardware store/paint shop. biggrin.gif

Primer is basically the base coat modellers put on the assembled model. Its benefit being it will highlight any imperfection - i.e. improperly done seam fix - and also acting as the good base for the paint to grab on and gives you the even base to paint... Tamiya makes a can spray though it can be expensive - heck all primer is expensive considering the amount one need to paint per model. sad.gif You can get the bottle type but that's really for the air brushing so I'd say if you can find Tamiya's can spray would be the ideal/only choice.

for panel lining there are half million ways - ok. maybe not that many biggrin.gif - to paint.
Gundam marker is alright though many people use the rotering pen for that since you can get the finer tip...
If you are interested check out Military modellers and see what they do.
They often use what they call washing - not recommended for Gundam models unless you are going to use for diorama with heavy weathering... Try Goggle as there are again half million or more web pages on these subject on the vast sea of Internet
thx for the explanation but i still got some questions..

ive seen those can sprays. so first i gotta spray it on (with masking tape right?) and then paint it with acrylic or enamel? then where does the gundam markers come in?

okay, ive managed to paint my kit with ONLY gundam markers. before this i mentioned that i cant apply light colors to dark ones; but later it was okay already cos i think the marker was still new, so it needed some 'warming-up'. the only problem is, painting with gundam markers are not very nice..cos the surfaces dont look smooth.

as for panel lining, im quite happy with the job done by the fine tip gundam marker.

and googling..sigh, i got bad results. can u guys direct me to any site with good info on modelling?

QUOTE(young_soul @ Apr 10 2006, 12:16 PM)
oh is it? i didnt notice that..

QUOTE(jhcj @ Apr 10 2006, 01:08 PM)
With what little skill I have, I shall attempt to do the panel lines as best as I can. sweat.gif

The head itself took me like, an hour...but still a little messy in the end. sad.gif
whoa cool. when ure done put up the pictures on ur blog lorr.. im getting 1/100 blue frame astray. love its big ass sword. btw, u must be rich huh? i saw all ur orders on the bulk..damn all 1/100s and MGs..yikes.
StarGhazzer
post Apr 10 2006, 01:31 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Apr 10 2006, 01:08 PM)

Hell the Astrays have so many parts... but the more parts it have, the more fun it is to built thumbup.gif Man I took approximately 8 hours to built my blue frame.

It's quite hard to do the panel lines, especially the white part of legs. I did the inner part of my blue frame's right leg, then rubbed it all off and left the others untouched. I did the lines on the blue parts though, especially the forearms.

If only the red frame had the back pack to go with it, then I might get it to accompany my 2nd L...

jhcj
post Apr 10 2006, 02:36 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

First day progress:

Torso took me 2 hours to build. >_<

The head took me another hour. sweat.gif I did MINIMAL panel lining cause I didn't wanna end up with super thick lines ala Dalong.net. laugh.gif

Finished work (3 hours):

When I was applying the sticker on the lower torso, I accidentally scratched the surface while trying to press it down. Now small lines can be visibly seen. cry.gif

Continued later tonight. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jhcj: Apr 10 2006, 02:39 PM
320cbr
post Apr 10 2006, 03:15 PM

224 posts

They often use what they call washing

What most experienced plastic modeler do with the panel lines is 'enamel wash'. Given that you paint your model kits with either acrylic or lacquer, enamel won't dissolve with them.
Basically you are using enamel paint with 80:20 thinner to paint ratio and wash them throughout the grooves.
After that you clean up the excess paint with thinned cloth/tissue or cotton bud

Enamel thinner would do, but it is recommended that you use zippo lighter fluid as thinner.

Tamiya's can spray would be the ideal/only choice.

got Gunze Sangyo's Mr.Surfacer which I prefer more. Mr Surfacer 1000 should be good enough for gunpla

so first i gotta spray it on (with masking tape right?) and then paint it with acrylic or enamel? then where does the gundam markers come in?

No. You prime the entire surface that is visible (that you want to paint). Masking occurs when you want to spray/airbrush specific parts only. Gundam markers or panel line inking comes after you paint.

This post has been edited by 320cbr: Apr 10 2006, 03:23 PM
andyxp
post Apr 10 2006, 03:25 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

go search BT for modelmaking series....

those videos are from japanese modellers... they will show how they build and paint their gundams and other things like military models, cars and etc.

damn cool...
KidsCode
post Apr 10 2006, 03:27 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ Apr 10 2006, 12:16 PM)
yup, i tilt the wings abit backwards...
320cbr
post Apr 10 2006, 03:37 PM

224 posts

I was wandering whether the term 'modelling' is correct or not
my opinion, modelling refers to models who show off fashion stuff thing
it can also mean 3D modelling.

but for plastic models, we assemble, we mod, we paint, we pose
so which part is 'modelling'?
asuk
post Apr 10 2006, 03:59 PM

189 posts

not sure if i've posted them here yet, but here's some pics of my 1/144 astray red frame. i should've waited for the 1/100 scale. would've saved me alot of trouble painting it

QUOTE(320cbr @ Apr 10 2006, 03:37 PM)
I was wandering whether the term 'modelling' is correct or not
my opinion, modelling refers to models who show off fashion stuff thing
it can also mean 3D modelling.

but for plastic models, we assemble, we mod, we paint, we pose
so which part is 'modelling'?
they are after all gundam model kits, so i guess whatever we do to them is considered modelling
320cbr
post Apr 10 2006, 04:53 PM

224 posts

yeah, I mean some ppl might get confused that our hobby is 'modelling' tongue.gif
young_soul
post Apr 11 2006, 12:16 AM

2,032 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Apr 10 2006, 02:36 PM)
First day progress:

Torso took me 2 hours to build. >_<

The head took me another hour. sweat.gif I did MINIMAL panel lining cause I didn't wanna end up with super thick lines ala Dalong.net. laugh.gif

Finished work (3 hours):

When I was applying the sticker on the lower torso, I accidentally scratched the surface while trying to press it down. Now small lines can be visibly seen. cry.gif

Continued later tonight. biggrin.gif
I did not use the Gundam Marker Remover on my first "test" NG Saviour. Made tons of mistakes. I got the marker remover for my Freedom MG and it works wonders thumbup.gif

Btw, Dalong.net simply do wan lar...that's why got thick lines sweat.gif
jhcj
post Apr 11 2006, 01:06 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Superior wallpaper you must get!

dj898
post Apr 11 2006, 10:40 AM

bit OT but I was asked to sell off some of my gunpla to make room for other family member and wondering what would be the fair price to ask for the completed/painted Bandai Perfect Grade 1/60 scale RX-78-2 Gundam?

TIA

This post has been edited by dj898: Apr 11 2006, 02:39 PM

125 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:08 AM