Model Kits GUNDAM & MECHA MODELLING THREAD V2, Share infos, tips & modification here

andyxp
post Mar 2 2006, 09:35 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

im gonna get my hands on

1/100 Gundam Astray Blue Frame 2nd L (ive got red frame...laugh.gif)
1/100 Destiny Gundam

im thinking of MG Freedom as well.... any suggestions?
andyxp
post Mar 2 2006, 05:52 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Mar 2 2006, 11:33 AM)
Get an MG Freedom. Not 1/100 Destiny just yet. Not really worth it.  Try waiting and pray that Bandai's gonna relases an MG version of it soon.
I cut it off from the bunch using normal scissors and cut off the leftover plastics( OMFG the gurus here gonna LOL hard at me) using a nailclipper. Then I smoothen it again using the 1 used to smoothen fingernails(forgot wat it is called)
why not worth it??
andyxp
post Mar 2 2006, 07:06 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

oh... ok la....

im gonna cancel my destiny.... hahaha

no choice but i have to get the blue frame la.... cos i got red so i wanna have a pair biggrin.gif

thanks for all your advice....
andyxp
post Mar 3 2006, 12:13 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

my humble Red Frame

andyxp
post Mar 3 2006, 12:34 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 3 2006, 12:15 AM)
nail clippers... then use sandpaper or file... i prefer sand paper since it's flexible (paper mah)... but most of the time if u trim the sprues off nicely you wont really nice sandpaper. besides, sanding cannot be applied on dark surfaces, unless you want weathered effect tongue.gif....... but if you're painting it, by all means go ahead and sand. Just odo do it overboard until you wreck the surface...
I have no confidence in BANDAI releasing a MG destiny soon...

I have an 1/100 Destiny and i must say it's considerably well made... compared this to the horrendous SF and you'll get what i mean.

Of course, unless you're really desperate to get Destiny, otherwise it's ok to wait for the MG.... most probably another year...

andyxp: i'm planning to get a blue frame too..... but still a bit reluctant coz my wallet's a bit tight at the moment... but that is a good model with a wide range of articulations thumbup.gif and most importantly it has hell lots of parts... makes modelling more enjoyable.

btw, nice red fframe....... panel lines perhaps biggrin.gif
im not desperate in getting a destiny.... but i like the colors and the concept of the sword and gun behind the unit....

i wanna draw it.. but my lines are a bit think ler always.... im using gundam marker GM01.... but cant draw thin lines... how?

andyxp
post Mar 3 2006, 10:51 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Mar 3 2006, 10:21 AM)
thick lines aint a problem if u clean it before it dries up..... u could draw the lines first (they'll look thick initially), then using an eraser, gently rub over the lines, so that the top layer is rubbed off, while a thin line remains in the line pit/seam... alternatively, use ur finger (make ur skin a bit oily, not wet first)to rub the lines... but careful as it may smear...

sometimes magazines recommend spirits, but u dont know whether ur spirit is too strong or not, coz it may mess up the colored parts.

thanks for the tips....

any website for tips like that? thanks...
andyxp
post Mar 4 2006, 03:42 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(Guyver @ Mar 4 2006, 03:36 PM)
hahaha....quite funny there, but do you know that the giant blade of Blue Frame and it armor is made by the pilot of Red Frame for him??
true... very true...
andyxp
post Mar 4 2006, 06:07 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

i was trying my panel lining skills... haha

the eraser technique works fine !! SO FINE ~!

thanks StarGhazzer.... will post some pics soon...
andyxp
post Mar 5 2006, 07:37 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

just came back from Sg Wang.... went to Litt Tak and Stardust....

no new stocks... but i saw MG Freedom retailing at RM176 there.... biggrin.gif
andyxp
post Mar 6 2006, 03:07 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(jiant2k @ Mar 6 2006, 02:02 PM)
I'm wondering why is the shop beside the food court in the lower ground floor closed last saturday. I wanted to have a look at the prices for the gundam kits there
the boss closed for a while to go to the washroom... i was in "gong sek gong yam" when he closed it biggrin.gif

haha.... food court is still far away.. and u forgot to mentioned that it is in lowyat....
andyxp
post Apr 7 2006, 10:36 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Apr 6 2006, 03:27 PM)
true.... 1/100 GSD was ruined by the abundance of Zaku units. I mean why come out with Heine's orange zaku phantom? That unit was never the main focus of Heine, the GOUF was!! They should release a orange 1/100 Gouf for Heine, that'll sell better than the phantom. And the double zaku pack with dearka and athrun was stupid.

The druggies MSes, should have been released as a 1/100, but we've only got the chaos. The Gaia, which is probably the most popular of the three never got any love. And I believe the 1/100 Saviour would be a hit considering athrun's popularity, even if it did literally nothing in the series. Windams were the forgotten lot, as they didn't even get a 1/144 HG doh.gif WIndams need more attention.

I know a lot of people (at least some of my friends) would love to have an 1/100 Akatsuki.... not me though whistling.gif Hyaku Shiki pwns Akatsuki in terms of design, and more importantly the idea/spirit of the mecha, pilot behind it.

More Astrays would do just fine biggrin.gif tongue.gif Amatu, where are you??? but we don't need no M1 astrays... do we? whistling.gif more variations of red frame, blue frame, gold frame would be real sweet.

if only there was a 1/100 CGuE thumbup.gif

meanwhile.... ExS for the win notworthy.gif
i would definitely support that idea biggrin.gif

andyxp
post Apr 9 2006, 04:53 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Apr 9 2006, 02:32 PM)
It's here! Work begins tonight! laugh.gif

Thanks young_soul!! notworthy.gif
great ~!

another Astray fan ~~

This post has been edited by andyxp: Apr 9 2006, 09:25 PM
andyxp
post Apr 10 2006, 03:25 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

go search BT for modelmaking series....

those videos are from japanese modellers... they will show how they build and paint their gundams and other things like military models, cars and etc.

damn cool...
andyxp
post Apr 11 2006, 01:23 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(asuk @ Apr 10 2006, 03:59 PM)
not sure if i've posted them here yet, but here's some pics of my 1/144 astray red frame. i should've waited for the 1/100 scale. would've saved me alot of trouble painting it

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v498/kosuong/astray_04.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v498/kosuong/astray_05.jpg

welcome to the House of Astray Fans
andyxp
post Apr 12 2006, 10:02 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

any idea how much is a air spray set?

andyxp
post May 11 2006, 01:46 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

i have not assemble my Blue Frame and MG Freedom yet... haha...
andyxp
post May 14 2006, 03:25 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

i went to lyp this afternoon....

MG Freedom is on sale at Fantasy Toys for Rm155 only.... 1/100 Destiny is selling for RM100... Blue Frame for Rm110 biggrin.gif
andyxp
post May 14 2006, 11:49 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(kayint @ May 14 2006, 03:39 PM)
the sd destiny gundam out already ?
andyxp
post May 15 2006, 10:47 AM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(young_soul @ May 15 2006, 10:21 AM)
OMG...I just saw Strike Nior pics...damn geng man...first gundam ever using pistols laugh.gif

tkting, is that 1/144 Strike Freedom??? Got sticker wan? And you spray or paint the gold izzit? Coz my friend got the same model...looked sucky unsure.gif definitely not that golden color also.
yeah... very "yeng"...

andyxp
post Jun 10 2006, 11:47 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(kct-86 @ Jun 3 2006, 04:16 PM)
Mid Valley Metrojaya got a Gundam display going on. Some interesting ones were there.
too bad i didnt read this earlier.... i have been in MidValley for 2 days "berturut-turut"... consecutively.. damn...

QUOTE(whoami123 @ Jun 5 2006, 09:44 AM)
dj898:
Of course if you want to make your kits looks nice, then you've to paint it doh.gif
what I mean is MG kits' color are well seperated
so although you don't paint it
it still looks not so bad & can be display out

YenS:
Tamiya's one is around RM 7 for the small bottle
Big one bout RM 14
can't remember the exact price
you can get those in ToyCity

If you want to get spray can for coating
you can get the Gunze Sangyo Topcoat series
Gloss - http://www.hlj.com/product/GNZB-501

Primer is use on kits that made by material other than plastic (like metal, resin)
you'll use it on Gundam plastic kits?
If you want to get those that can cover the base color of your kits
then you should get Mr. Surfacer (also from Gunze Sangyo)
which is a liquid type putty to spray on your kits before put any paints
today,

i got my Gloss Top Coat at Miniature Hobbies at Rm24.90 ....

i also got 2 cans of spray (red, white) for RM26 each....

they are meant for my red frame... but i forgot to buy grey color.. damn

keke...

0.0502sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:55 AM