125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Model Kits GUNDAM & MECHA MODELLING THREAD V2, Share infos, tips & modification here

epsilon_chinwk86
post Apr 11 2006, 11:16 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Apr 11 2006, 01:06 AM)
Superior wallpaper you must get!

anymore of these? laugh.gif
320cbr
post Apr 11 2006, 11:16 AM

224 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Apr 11 2006, 01:06 AM)
Superior wallpaper you must get!
lol I'm starting to think that infested's /b/tard overused word is influencing other ppl
it might be contagious tongue.gif

and I think 'superior' means 'better than'
not sure if you got any sort of comparison though
and if you're refering to the noun of 'superior', it means person of higher rank
infested_ysy
post Apr 11 2006, 12:44 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(320cbr @ Apr 11 2006, 11:16 AM)
lol I'm starting to think that infested's /b/tard overused word is influencing other ppl

and if you're refering to the noun of 'superior', it means person of higher rank
It's contagious because /b/tards are the superior kind of homo sapiens to have ever existed, and everyone's jumping on the party van to be as cool as us.

How do I founded meaning of superior? ¯\( ¯A¯)/¯
andyxp
post Apr 11 2006, 01:23 PM

~ I Am Your Sword ~
2,366 posts

QUOTE(asuk @ Apr 10 2006, 03:59 PM)
not sure if i've posted them here yet, but here's some pics of my 1/144 astray red frame. i should've waited for the 1/100 scale. would've saved me alot of trouble painting it

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v498/kosuong/astray_04.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v498/kosuong/astray_05.jpg

welcome to the House of Astray Fans
jhcj
post Apr 11 2006, 01:46 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(320cbr @ Apr 11 2006, 11:16 AM)

NAY THEE!

All your /b/ are belong to all. laugh.gif
CooLeRthings
post Apr 11 2006, 01:50 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

the reason i din bought akat suki yet bcoz this month going to launch another version

i duno wether choose

1/144 HG Shiranui Akatsuki Gundam

or

1/144 HG Owashi Akatsuki Gundam

ur guys
think which 1 will b better?
infested_ysy
post Apr 11 2006, 01:53 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(hitler @ Apr 11 2006, 01:50 PM)
the reason i din bought akat suki yet bcoz this month going to launch another version
ur guys
Whichever version that has the "OMG FIN FUNNAL ACTION KEKEKEKE" clear plastic part.

Those things are spiffy. Best idea EVAR on Bandai's part.
jhcj
post Apr 11 2006, 02:09 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(hitler @ Apr 11 2006, 01:50 PM)

i duno wether choose

1/144 HG Shiranui Akatsuki Gundam

or

1/144 HG Owashi Akatsuki Gundam

ur guys
Owashi Akatsuki wins it for me. Gotta love the backpack on that one.
jhcj
post Apr 11 2006, 02:42 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

Day 2. Another 2 hours gone into the arms. smile.gif

dj898
post Apr 11 2006, 06:51 PM

you not fixing the seam line?
YenS
post Apr 11 2006, 07:27 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(YenS @ Apr 10 2006, 01:27 PM)
thx for the explanation but i still got some questions..

ive seen those can sprays. so first i gotta spray it on (with masking tape right?) and then paint it with acrylic or enamel? then where does the gundam markers come in?

okay, ive managed to paint my kit with ONLY gundam markers. before this i mentioned that i cant apply light colors to dark ones; but later it was okay already cos i think the marker was still new, so it needed some 'warming-up'. the only problem is, painting with gundam markers are not very nice..cos the surfaces dont look smooth.

as for panel lining, im quite happy with the job done by the fine tip gundam marker.
sry, mini bump for my question.

-what did u mean by spraying the primer on the whole surface? its like this; lets say i wanna paint a certain section of a white part blue. i assume primers come in different colors, so does that mean i have to spray the whole part white or just the section (blue)?

-is it possible to just have primer alone? and how many layers of primer do we normally apply?

-and for the paints, i still have no idea wat are enamel and acrylic paints; does the Gundam Marker fall under any of those two?

so now that i have the gundam markers, wat else do i need to start a proper painting?

sorry im kinda new in this modelling stuff. thx a lot for ur help rclxms.gif
dj898
post Apr 11 2006, 08:26 PM

primer comes in either grey or white if you want the white base coat...
one of main use of primer is to find out any imperfection before you start to paint and also gives the nice even base for the paint to grab on.

if using white primer well you could leave it at that followed with decal, lining, top coat, etc...

enamel and acrylic is just different types of paint. if you like think of permanant marker and white board marker. tongue.gif it really depens on the availability as for me getting Acrylic paint is far easier

I really don't recommand the gundam marker unless you want to do is pre-assembly with lining O_O
StormV
post Apr 11 2006, 09:11 PM

1,253 posts

i dun recommend using primer...

IF u dun cover the seamlines(gaps) with putty or superglue, and u r using hand-paint method.
jhcj
post Apr 11 2006, 11:10 PM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(dj898 @ Apr 11 2006, 06:51 PM)
you not fixing the seam line?
No. I'm happy with the way it is. Really serious modelling is not the way to go for me. I'm just happy with panel lining. For now, at least.

When the time comes, I'll be sure to ask all you guys here for help and tips. notworthy.gif
hzr77
post Apr 11 2006, 11:48 PM

96 posts

Hi guys,

Just started gundam modelling after making plane models for so long.. tongue.gif
Went to Lowyat today, planning on getting a HG 1/144 Palance Athene which was going for RM65, but found an MG 1/100 RX-78GP01 for RM80, so I took that one instead.. was this a better deal? Any place besides Lowyat that you guys recommend for getting cheap models?
jhcj
post Apr 12 2006, 12:11 AM

TK 20682
2,357 posts

QUOTE(hzr77 @ Apr 11 2006, 11:48 PM)
Hi guys,

Just started gundam modelling after making plane models for so long.. tongue.gif
Went to Lowyat today, planning on getting a HG 1/144 Palance Athene which was going for RM65, but found an MG 1/100 RX-78GP01 for RM80, so I took that one instead.. was this a better deal? Any place besides Lowyat that you guys recommend for getting cheap models?
Get from young_soul! His buddy's in Japan right now, so you'll be able to get kits for cheap! smile.gif

Link: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=271897
infested_ysy
post Apr 12 2006, 07:41 AM

4,061 posts

Hi guys,

The old MG kits are made of lose and suck. I bet ver.2 of them would come out in another few years.

And you're generic for prefering generic Gundams than a truly uniquely designed MS.
StarGhazzer
post Apr 12 2006, 10:09 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(jhcj @ Apr 10 2006, 02:36 PM)
First day progress:
When I was applying the sticker on the lower torso, I accidentally scratched the surface while trying to press it down. Now small lines can be visibly seen. cry.gif

well, some of the lines, especially around the waist still look quite thick... use an eraser to gently go over the lines as to rub the excess ink off... It'd make your lines look thinner.

Waiting for your completed kit thumbup.gif

Hi guys,

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Apr 12 2006, 07:41 AM)
The old MG kits are made of lose and suck. I bet ver.2 of them would come out in another few years.

And you're generic for prefering generic Gundams than a truly uniquely designed MS.

Well... RM 80 for an MG is a very good price, even though it might be an old MG kit. And I feel that the GP01 is a better looking model than the Athene, and of course, different people have different preferences...

Btw hzr77, where did you get the GP01? RM 80 for an MG... good deal... Too bad I'm kinda broke now.... gotta save up for a next model.
infested_ysy
post Apr 12 2006, 11:17 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Apr 12 2006, 10:09 AM)
Well... RM 80 for an MG is a very good price, even though it might be an old MG kit. And I feel that the GP01 is a better looking model than the Athene, and of course, different people have different preferences...

Btw hzr77, where did you get the GP01? RM 80 for an MG... good deal... Too bad I'm kinda broke now.... gotta save up for a next model.
O rly?

Amazon used to sell loads of old MG kits for USD$5 each. I recall someone reporting it happening quite recently too (forgot the site, some blogspot account, by a guy who frequently posts on dannychoo.com), whom bought 6 of them in one go o_O
StarGhazzer
post Apr 12 2006, 01:44 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Apr 12 2006, 11:17 AM)
O rly?

Amazon used to sell loads of old MG kits for USD$5 each. I recall someone reporting it happening quite recently too (forgot the site, some blogspot account, by a guy who frequently posts on dannychoo.com), whom bought 6 of them in one go o_O
amazon... not everyone buys from them and you have to consider the shipping costs when you buy online. you can get low prices from other online sites but add in the shipping fees and the price shoots up... RM 80 for a MG in Lowyat plaza is considered cheap... and Lowyat's prices are often RM10-20 more expensive than say Sg Wang, or even aunty lenny's shop... higher rental perhaps? unsure.gif

but one thing's for sure... those pieces of plastic are definitely overpriced... hell they're just plastic, and yet we willingly pay them for our own satisfaction. laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0264sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:51 PM