214 Pages « < 203 204 205 206 207 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

tailangong
post Sep 10 2010, 10:57 AM

470 posts

rm4k for freshy?!! contract or permanent??
is it good to start ur career in shell, if they were to give a fresh grad rm4k, i bet that guy will stuck in shell forever?
i mean who else can offer that salary even if u have 1 or 2 years experience?
SUSadvocado
post Sep 10 2010, 04:27 PM

2,948 posts

Is there any good opportunities in the petrol sales category instead of O&G? Is there a big difference between working in Shell itself or Shell Petrol Sales?
chezzball
post Sep 10 2010, 05:33 PM

Cheese
1,542 posts

QUOTE(tailangong @ Sep 10 2010, 10:57 AM)
rm4k for freshy?!! contract or permanent??
is it good to start ur career in shell, if they were to give a fresh grad rm4k, i bet that guy will stuck in shell forever?
i mean who else can offer that salary even if u have 1 or 2 years experience?
my coursemate graduated and got his first job in shell RM4.5k (SITI in cyber) as a permanent. Anyway he left liao, initially i dun understand but now i get it liao.

When I was there, morning come in at 10am just for meeting (if no meeting i will come in after lunch) then lunch from 12pm - 2pm. come back sometime go sleep a while or go check email do some work. around 4pm go play pool or pingpong with friends. 5pm+ go back seat check email chat with friends and spam lowyat forum. after that go gym, yoga, (most of the activities start at 5.30) sometime my whole day spent spamming in lowyat forum.

so back to your question, is it good to start ur career in shell, judging from my daily routine in shell, do u think it's a good start in ur career in such a way? (fyi i'm a 3rd Party Contractor with them earning rm1.2k daily rate... though high pay but i left cos i was suffering by not doing anything. )
tailangong
post Sep 10 2010, 08:51 PM

470 posts

but u were 3rd party contractor...how about those from IT graduate program?
if got nothing to do, y they pay so high?
depster666
post Sep 10 2010, 10:15 PM

452 posts

4.3k basic for fresh grads.. permanent. Excluding all other goodies.
chezzball
post Sep 10 2010, 10:57 PM

Cheese
1,542 posts

QUOTE(tailangong @ Sep 10 2010, 08:51 PM)

but u were 3rd party contractor...how about those from IT graduate program?
if got nothing to do, y they pay so high?
NOt sure about IT graduate program. My coursemate left because he was outsourced to EDS.

Btw, did u get call for IT graduate program? I'm not sure whether such thing still exist or not coz in the office I hardly see any fresh grads liao. Most of the perms there are converted from 3PC.
Why they pay high is : Market Rate ma.. else how to get good talent work there. but yeah quite free... learning curve is like zero sleep.gif"
tailangong
post Sep 11 2010, 01:19 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Sep 10 2010, 10:57 PM)
NOt sure about IT graduate program. My coursemate left because he was outsourced to EDS.

Btw, did u get call for IT graduate program? I'm not sure whether such thing still exist or not coz in the office I hardly see any fresh grads liao. Most of the perms there are converted from 3PC.
Why they pay high is : Market Rate ma.. else how to get good talent work there. but yeah quite free... learning curve is like zero sleep.gif"
then ur coursemate resigned and get another job with a cutoff in his pay?
i just heard that they are hiring for IT grad program.

This post has been edited by tailangong: Sep 11 2010, 01:31 AM
krayonkid
post Sep 11 2010, 09:45 PM

anyone been interviewed by hess b4? i was scheduled for an upcoming interview for a potential position as a business associate in that company. What will the structure of the interview be like? a lot of technical stuffs? god am sweating all over now. i dont wanna lose tis opportunity. seniors, sifus and gurus, help me now!

This post has been edited by krayonkid: Sep 11 2010, 09:47 PM
noiseemunkee
post Sep 12 2010, 11:57 AM

454 posts

anyone knows the details of the petronas package for the new fresh staffs? please share smile.gif
wishbone
post Sep 12 2010, 01:36 PM

:.Business as usual.:
960 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 8 2010, 10:23 AM)
Actually, global rate for Master ( Foreign Going License ) is USD 1k if USD500 a day kene con lah lolx.

That's not always true. It depends on the type of qualification and experience the Master mariner has, i.e. supply boats, anchor handling, drillship etc. DP certification would probably add 50 percent extra on the day rate.

That aside, the color of one's skin also determines the size of the pay cheque. You gotta live with that.

USD500/day is pretty decent for a Malaysian master mariner.
Noyze
post Sep 13 2010, 03:11 PM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

nah skin colour doesnt play that much of a role unless its to join a small company, but the senior mariners know each other thus can jack their own rates. heck my dad is a retiree and on occasion if he wants to go out for a bit he gets between usd 1k - usd 1.5k a day. Cos no.1 his name is very welcomed in the industry and confirm to get approval, he was the head of marine in Shell anyways in his heyday. and Now i'm in his shadow.. haiz more than 10 yrs he left shell and still ppl expect to be like him but sorry lah I made it very clear from the beginning, i'm not like him, i aint no goody two shoes I'm evil and I swear like no tomorrow lolx. I guess some ppl get it now. lol
syarz
post Sep 13 2010, 06:40 PM

691 posts

have you guys heard of global industries ?
it is another company located in KL which is about O&G as well.. i would say working there is quite good actually in terms of benefits and environment (Especially if you are an experienced one)
noobiejosh
post Sep 14 2010, 01:54 AM

65 posts

hi guys,
anybody got any contacts for working in O&G Companies?

Or anybody in O&G companies such as Shell, are they hiring? =)

do pm me yeah.
ldhong
post Sep 14 2010, 11:34 PM

620 posts

anyone work with GUtor ? How's the company doing and benefits there??
feekle
post Sep 15 2010, 12:22 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(syarz @ Sep 13 2010, 06:40 PM)
have you guys heard of global industries ?
it is another company located in KL which is about O&G as well.. i would say working there is quite good actually in terms of benefits and environment (Especially if you are an experienced one)
any inside contact?
destroyer
post Sep 15 2010, 02:40 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(wishbone @ Sep 12 2010, 01:36 PM)
That's not always true. It depends on the type of qualification and experience the Master mariner has, i.e. supply boats, anchor handling, drillship etc. DP certification would probably add 50 percent extra on the day rate.

That aside, the color of one's skin also determines the size of the pay cheque. You gotta live with that.

USD500/day is pretty decent for a Malaysian master mariner.
i believe that skin colour only apply to company other than UK vessel. coz UK already standardize seafarer salary for those sailing under UK flagged vessel.

yep. usd500 per day is the normal rate for malaysia company for captain n chief eng.
Noyze
post Sep 17 2010, 11:05 AM

Auratus Nottiness
1,088 posts

Anyways, I was argueing with my Head of marine earlier and welll guess what? He challenged me to get cv's of malaysian master mariners then only talk about rates, the problem i'm having here is that the current masters we have are from myanmar or indonesia and crap man so many problems, main thing is hte language barrier >.< SO any masters around do send me ur c.v.'s then see how lah k?
clementlss
post Sep 18 2010, 02:00 PM

28 posts

Hi guys,

I am working with a local consulting firm (O&G design Consultant)... kinda curious, where are the big money? i don find it here, and no offence, i am really into the business looking for $$ and of coz doing my job well.. as far as i can see, those working for big big service players that get a better share of the pie...
destroyer
post Sep 18 2010, 02:14 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Sep 17 2010, 11:05 AM)
Anyways, I was argueing with my Head of marine earlier and welll guess what? He challenged me to get cv's of malaysian master mariners then only talk about rates, the problem i'm having here is that the current masters we have are from myanmar or indonesia and crap man so many problems, main thing is hte language barrier >.< SO any masters around do send me ur c.v.'s then see how lah k?
too bad one of my malaysian capt already sailed. maybe you can find more malaysian master in MISC.
whitesox
post Sep 18 2010, 06:51 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(clementlss @ Sep 18 2010, 02:00 PM)
Hi guys,

I am working with a local consulting firm (O&G design Consultant)... kinda curious, where are the big money? i don find it here, and no offence, i am really into the business looking for $$ and of coz doing my job well.. as far as i can see, those working for big big service players that get a better share of the pie...
only for seniors buddy, im with consultant also, u need to jump employer frequently to demand

214 Pages « < 203 204 205 206 207 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:39 PM