Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

SUSadvocado
post Mar 27 2008, 08:16 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(noellee69 @ Mar 21 2008, 10:13 PM)
bro, can giv me few example so tat i can google about the company lo;) coz i totally fresh in O&G industry... now try 2 read up more coz after i reading tis 32 pages, i dun c much discuss on structural engineer ..sigh ;( ...anyway thanx 4 helping
I am guessing Structural Engineers can also design Offshore Platform Structures, which basicly covers the whole Platform itself... it's like building a hotel in the middle of the sea, maximizing structural efficiency while minimizing the weight...

Not many people doing structurals i guess, and most if you start in consultant you will most likely be sitting infront of your computers while drawing 3D structures (and also piping) whole day, and night. The designs are probably done by those Structural Masters, coz you see, if the structure fails, the whole platform Lies on seabed. sweat.gif

If you are experienced enough and joins a client or service company, you will most likely be reviewing what has been designed and make decisions, and once everything is set you will have to go out and carry out the task of uprighting the whole platforms, I think they call it installation engineer or sumthing, quite an important role, but the whole process could take months and you'll have to work day and night, depending on the weather.

Just some random guesses. Hope it won't be misleading. thumbup.gif

SUSadvocado
post Jun 23 2008, 04:13 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(pinkdalmation @ Jun 19 2008, 11:47 PM)
mine is still kinda bengkak, and im leaving on saturday!
so fast!!
If your a girl, take care! Remember to lock your doors (even if the toilet cubicle is oven hot), even though pple workin there are generally nice and friendly, hardworkin & very careful pple, sometimes they can be abit naughty drool.gif , Coz most likely the guy girl ratio will be, ermm, 50:1?

For entertainment I think they have Astro, DVD players & tons of Pirated DVD, VCD, CD. Particularly Blue movies from all over southeast asia.

Internet access will probably be limited as I assume they using Satellite Communication if it's far away from shore. Phones are probably more easy to access so at least you can make calls.

They probably also have gyms & recreational rooms. You can also find some good spots to fish, even though it's not allowed...

If you are really bored, you can always eat as you probably will have 24 hours access to food. Quality of food varies depending on the cook. But bear in mind even 5 star Hotel mass produced Buffet doesn't taste that great.

If you are still onshore, suggest you bring along a Nintendo DS or PSP, or ur laptop (with entertainment installed). Or else you will either be chatting with guys or you will be sleeping (most likely) after work.

SUSadvocado
post Jul 11 2008, 09:31 AM

2,948 posts

I heard some hospitals like GlenEagles require you to strip down for examination (at least for guys). Is it true? Do girls need to strip too?

But seriously I think offshore life is not for everybody, and if you are doing design engineering, going offshore merely gives you an idea how they operate, how the life is, more on operations. It's very difficult to understand how the components works, unless you are dealing with Drilling, Diving, Installations, these 100% require offshore experience.

It might be a better option to start out as a consultant rather than operator. If you wish to do design engineering. From what I heard.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 11 2008, 09:57 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Jul 11 2008, 09:49 AM)
i edi grad with dip. of manufacturing engineering.. can sum1 help me..
am i can work at oil n gas?? now working edi as FA executive ..
Thou mite wan tu tiep mure propalie if thou wan ta wurk in tat industri.

Manufacturing what? If your manufacturing components used in the industry you can be a specialist, material guy or even QA/QC personnel or inspector.

Or you can start all over if your under 26.

This post has been edited by advocado: Jul 11 2008, 09:58 AM
SUSadvocado
post Jul 11 2008, 11:30 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(zeusu @ Jul 11 2008, 11:24 AM)
need to know your interest, education background, work experience, etc.

i think in alaska, most companies treat their employees pretty well.
In Alaska you might be able to see Wolverine from X-men hanging around hunting for food.

Alaska is a tough environment, don't know if it's better or worse than North Sea.
SUSadvocado
post Jul 12 2008, 08:34 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(crapster @ Jul 11 2008, 09:20 PM)
I did my medical at KLCC medical centre about 2 months ago. All i can say is that, it was an eye-opening experience for me. When I gave my urine sample, there was a guy there who had to make sure the urine came from me. Gosh, you can imagine the rest of the details i guess.
I'm assuming the guy followed you while you took the sample? Did he do full body check on you?

Added on July 12, 2008, 8:36 am
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Jul 11 2008, 04:02 PM)
u got friends there? care 2 intro... i dont wanna be working alone... can be depressing during the winter... it is summer here and it is already depressing..
I though Alaska is mostly winter the whole time... or you mean North Sea? If you survive both places then all you need is to survive Siberia and big desert in Middle East/Australia. After that I can say you can survive any environment.

This post has been edited by advocado: Jul 12 2008, 08:36 AM
SUSadvocado
post Jul 22 2008, 04:58 PM

2,948 posts

Nigeria is a cowboy town. Many people drive Military Jeeps and carry Military Guns to pay you visits. And yes they are Official Soldiers.

But Offshore should be safer than working in Factories. The difficult part is from the Airport On the Way to the rig. I heard you can hear pot shots firing when you lift off in the helicopter...

Make sure you are highly overpaid and has insurance covered if you decide to go there. Or if your looking for some excitement.

Weather aint nice either.

SUSadvocado
post Nov 11 2008, 10:18 AM

2,948 posts

Is working in Oil Companies that great? I heard it's pretty boring unless you go to site.

If you want challenge you guys should go for Refineries, processing plant.

That's where the real challenge lies in, but of course the money is less. But we all want job satisfaction more than money satisfaction right???
SUSadvocado
post Jan 21 2009, 10:08 AM

2,948 posts

I just passed A Levels was wondering whether i can enter the industry directly without having going into college or uni?

What will be the option i work hard and don't mind bad environment.

But does the recent oil price slump affect O & G companies? I heard Petronas got a big hit and is going to close plants and retrench people. But I guess most people affected or working on land.
SUSadvocado
post Sep 5 2009, 08:31 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(zydoce @ Sep 4 2009, 01:01 PM)
is it possible to jump from IT to O&G ? really enthusiastic in changing my path to O&G since O&G provide better pay..
I gues it is very possible, same as Accountants, Receptionists, Admins, Security Guards, O&G also needs IT players. You might also be able to work in the middle of no where to maintain the IT equipments.

I hear Technip starting salary is around rm2700 & gets whopping 6% increment annually. Not counting bonus etc.
SUSadvocado
post Sep 9 2009, 07:23 PM

2,948 posts

It all depends how high your initial salary is. Increments won't bring you to rm10k a month in 3-4 years if you start with say the higher end rm2.5k-3k.

Just calculate if you start with rm2.5k, going to rm10k is like 400% jump, have you heard of any company giving such increments under normal case?

If you jump companies, I doubt you get that kind of increment unless you go overseas.
SUSadvocado
post Sep 24 2009, 08:17 PM

2,948 posts

Is it like remote control a submarine? Sounds fun.

QUOTE(crow22 @ Sep 24 2009, 05:30 PM)
hi..im very new here..i want to ask all those seniors about rov pilot tech job opportunity..can anyone advise or tell me which company hiring rov pilot for trainee..i dun care if the salary is minimum pay as long as i get enough experience to be an expert an can enter this offshore field..i really need information in this..
SUSadvocado
post Sep 25 2009, 02:47 PM

2,948 posts

Do they give free shooting lessons?

Can we bring the bullet vest back home for souvenior?

I heard when you take helicopters to site, you will hear people shooting pot shots at the helicopter.

QUOTE(LeechFever @ Sep 25 2009, 01:26 PM)
Nigeria:

Pay: Very High
Personal Security: Armored Vechicles with personal bodyguard and free bullet proof vest
living standard: 5 star hotel? Don't know.
working condition: u get to carry gun, yeah! Just as long u don't stick ur head out any vehicle windows.

What I heard anyway, don't know if it's true.
SUSadvocado
post Sep 27 2009, 09:48 PM

2,948 posts

IT have chances anywhere there's computers. Don't worry.
SUSadvocado
post Nov 6 2009, 05:14 PM

2,948 posts

Please tell me which job has light load and pay high I would like to sign up.

QUOTE(thedarknight @ Nov 5 2009, 02:29 PM)
sifus, i want to ask you about working in the fabrication yard... (mmhe, kencanca etc) a friend of mine used to work in mmhe in pasir gudang but he quit saying the job load is too high while the salary doesn't compare to it (2~3 yrs ago lah).. care to comment?
how about now what's the expected salary for yard engineers (mech background)..
SUSadvocado
post Nov 7 2009, 08:35 PM

2,948 posts

You know the good thing about labelling Malaysia as net oil importer as soon as possible? That way government have an official reason to remove the oil remedy even further.

I believe there's still alot of oil in Malaysia just haven't detected or not worth the investment yet.

Anyway there are lots of fuel alternative but most are or will be controlled by the big oil companies which will tend to slower the alternatives in order to milk as much oil money before moving to alternative energy sources, where obviously they will start milking cash like they did with oil.
SUSadvocado
post Dec 9 2009, 09:32 PM

2,948 posts

When you say 36k-48k usd, do you mean monthly or annually? Coz you can dream on getting shot for usd36k per month for a fresh grad even if you were put on the front line you won't get anything close to that. Per annum sounds more likely.

In Hot Zone countries like Nigeria, it would be safer to work offshore than onshore. Oil & Gas areas are more secure compared to textile factories. It's common for armed forces wearing army uniform to raid these places for money and valuables.

The only times you might face gunshots are probably when your helicopter just lifted off or land. You will hear gunshots firing at you but don't worry they aren't that good at shooting distance moving objects.

Moving from heliport to airport is another fun & exciting trip.

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Dec 9 2009, 11:24 AM)
hi... i m a fresh mec eng. but lets say i get a job that i had dreamoff, those offshore o n g kind of job, should i take it even if it is in a hostile area? nigeria, iraq, angola, saudi arabia... etc etc... pay around 36k-48k usd
SUSadvocado
post May 28 2010, 08:09 AM

2,948 posts

Anyone working or used to work in Petrol Station? How is the pay. Seems pretty fun every now and then some nice cars come visit and you give it a clean on the windows.
SUSadvocado
post Sep 10 2010, 04:27 PM

2,948 posts

Is there any good opportunities in the petrol sales category instead of O&G? Is there a big difference between working in Shell itself or Shell Petrol Sales?
SUSadvocado
post Nov 28 2010, 04:45 PM

2,948 posts

But I hear when you work offshore it's like staying in a hotel in the middle of the sea.

Unlimited food supplies, drinks, satellite TVs, internet, gymnasium, playstation 2, can also go fishing in the evening. Good money good life. Just you will be seing the same guys (most likely guys) everyday.

QUOTE(azliayob @ Nov 26 2010, 05:09 PM)
Why not? oil and gas industry also need IT man.

Added on November 26, 2010, 5:11 pm
Agreed. But most of my colleague said they work offshore for a short time period only.

Collect more money in less working days..

0.0604sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:47 PM