Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

clementlss
post Mar 13 2009, 05:10 PM

28 posts

Hi all,

I am a semicon equipment engineer(1Yr), i have an interview with RNZ this coming monday, any tips? is the ccompany good? How much should i ask for?
clementlss
post Mar 16 2009, 10:43 PM

28 posts

Any idea on an intrument design engineer's everyday task? What kind of propect can be expected from this job say with 5 yrs exp?

clementlss
post Apr 28 2009, 01:34 PM

28 posts

If PESB?

Hows the company prospect? My bro is offered a trainee position there, hows the career advancement? And how does the salary increment looks like? Also i heard about a 4 yrs bond there... Any comment?

This post has been edited by clementlss: Apr 28 2009, 01:36 PM
clementlss
post May 19 2009, 06:47 PM

28 posts

Hi guys,

Need your expert opinions.

What is the prospect as mechanical engineer in oil and gas consultant firm?
Say after 4-5 yrs, what are the oppotunities? How does the paycheck looks like?

Thanks....
clementlss
post May 24 2009, 12:29 AM

28 posts

1 how low can an engineer pay go if starting fresh in an oil and gas consultant firm?
2 can a person working in consultant firm (in office doing calculation and stuff) earn as much as people working offshore( due to offshore allowances )
3 How much is the average increment in O&G engineering CONSULTANT company by %.

clementlss
post May 30 2009, 01:48 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(vanguard_13 @ May 30 2009, 12:49 PM)
economic in slow upturn now...so, better send off CV to ur company of choices...heheh~
Guys,

any service company hiring?

clementlss
post Jun 10 2009, 11:28 AM

28 posts

Guys just checking with ya all,

instrument designer in RNZ, ok or not? what is it like in terms of future, salary or anything that you guys can share with me..

Thanks alot.

This post has been edited by clementlss: Jun 10 2009, 11:29 AM
clementlss
post Jul 23 2009, 09:17 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(new~b0y @ Jul 23 2009, 04:02 AM)
Commissioning, maintaining and trouble shooting of instrumentation systems, depends on the company you work for.

If you have knowledge on Modbus, PLCs, SCADAs, OPC, then you stand a better chance.
Hi new~b0y,

If working for consultant firm like rnz, ranhill? what are their job scope? always go offshore or not? hows the frequency of going offshore for work?

thanks bro..
clementlss
post Jul 24 2009, 09:14 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(new~b0y @ Jul 23 2009, 04:04 PM)
I'm not so sure, I haven't worked work for consulting firm before. But I believe the scope of work will be similar to those consulting firms in the construction sector. The difference is the the clients are now the oil operators and they have a much higher budget and put more emphasis on safety.

Offshore wise, I think it will less frequent compare to most service companies. Perhaps once every two months or even less, depending on which department you work in.
Thanks bro.. at least i have a better idea on what is it about..

clementlss
post Jan 29 2010, 02:29 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(grunge @ Jan 19 2010, 05:39 PM)
I'm working in one of the big 4 o&g service company and we have a vacancy for 1 field engineer.
Hi bro, i pmed my cv to you. Thanks...
clementlss
post Mar 10 2010, 11:13 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(winston_light @ Mar 10 2010, 09:54 AM)
i apply via jobstreet if im not mistaken, it is not drilling contractor company, its a chemical supplier and service for oil & gas company which is similar to my current company but of coz this company is much much more bigger than my company so im gonna give it a try.

quite nervous, wish me luck biggrin.gif
Good Luck mate
clementlss
post May 8 2010, 07:16 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(asc825 @ May 7 2010, 03:01 AM)
Hi all sifu here...
i currently taking Mechtronic Engineering course, izzit any opportunity to work in OnG company after i graduate ? very interested about this job  biggrin.gif ....
but seems like all ppl discuss about electronic, mechanical, chemical engineering instead of mechatronic  doh.gif
so izzit i can work in any service company or OnG company ? icon_question.gif
hi, I am a mechatronics graduate n I'm doing instrumentation and control with a consultant firm...
clementlss
post Jul 7 2010, 05:26 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Noyze @ Jul 7 2010, 09:37 AM)
Dude, U wanna stay a sales engineer? then stick to SALES!!! u're a salesman not an engineer. Get your stuff sorted out dude.

As for pulling anyone in.. I dun see you guys rubbing any shoulders with me? so how? lolx. i'm currently based in Miri, sarawak, and i'm sure you guys are not cos if you are you would know how it works in O&G. Heck this is an Oil Town anyways.

Houston? I was based in Houston in like 96-99. Sorry am not there now lolx
If I may ask, u are which company now?
clementlss
post Sep 18 2010, 02:00 PM

28 posts

Hi guys,

I am working with a local consulting firm (O&G design Consultant)... kinda curious, where are the big money? i don find it here, and no offence, i am really into the business looking for $$ and of coz doing my job well.. as far as i can see, those working for big big service players that get a better share of the pie...

0.0224sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:11 PM