Primitive Fish V2, Fish that survived Milleniums

antzz
post Nov 22 2012, 11:30 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ballons @ Nov 22 2012, 08:22 PM)
haha i see. It seems big at the screen lol. how much endli cost at semenanjung for small one? im getting excited to keep a bichir lol but no money for now .. $_$
Sometimes price can be different even between same species and same size. Coloration, activeness, characteristics.. etc, u know, if u look thoroughly.

I bought my 8" Ornate for rm90. This guy has very special characteristics, i knew it the moment i saw him at the pet shop. Other smaller ornates was sold at rm70, just slightly smaller. But i knew my choice right away.

Ornates are more costly than Endlies (correct me if i'm wrong), thou Endlies can get way bigger than most other types of Bichirs.

My 2nd Endli, (named him Frankenstein II) bought @rm280 although slightly bigger than my 1st Endli, which i got for rm150. I noticed the 1st one was kept in a poor condition, small & bare tank. The colour so pale, can hardly see any markings on his body. Frankenstein II was another story. He was in great condition, being well-kept by his previous owner. He also has strong markings and good coloration. The owner even warned me about his enormous appetite, LOL. He's now about 13-14" in size.

Albino Bichirs has beautiful white-red colour, but they wont get very big in size, and also not as hardy as most bichir types.

Rope bichirs look a lot like snake. Long and thin body, looks very cool, but very much of escape artists. U must close ur aquarium almost all the time if u plan to own Ropes. Personally, i never tried them before. Maybe sometime in future sad.gif

Senegal bichirs are one of the most active sp of bichirs. Most recommendable.

My 1st two Albino Bichirs (really missed them) :

A few choices from mudah.my

Senegal Bichir @rm30 http://www.mudah.my/Senegal+Bichir+9+inches-18978863.htm

Endlicheri @rm50 http://www.mudah.my/Fish-18691417.htm

Delhezi @rm50 http://www.mudah.my/Bichir+Poplypterus+Del...6878.htm?last=1

Lapradei @rm180 http://www.mudah.my/Wild+Polypterus+Bichir...ei-19086921.htm

Good luck icon_rolleyes.gif
kakarocht
post Nov 23 2012, 10:09 AM

Hibernate Time.............
3,254 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Nov 22 2012, 07:05 PM)
Mind to share ur DIY filter? Should be interesting smile.gif
Hehe.. pump up ur monster, bro. Endlies look nicer as they get bigger. Feed them various kind of foods. Both of my bichirs take feeder fish as staple, but alternately grasp superworms and leftover crickets if they can get to it. My Endli can feed on 5-10 fishes for one night (sometimes even more, if he was left starving for quite some time).

Frankenstein II the plump guy tongue.gif

He has the 'gator' look somehow

Shot with yellow light on.. Oh my he's fat

My ornate bichir hiding in resin trunk

sure no problem. I'll try to snap the pic of the diy filter that i made (whether ready made/on progress project). If there is no any problems on weekend then probably i'll try to make the guide lines on how to do it. brows.gif costs is very cheap should be less than RM 100 +/- (depends on how big/size of filter you want to do) which already includes pvc's pipes and accessories. My tanks is very simple which I'm only using Fibreglass tanks (round shape which most of houses are using it) which is 6 x 6 feet. so my filter systems also simple as well which I only used the 12L bin (buy at tesco cost around Rm10 only) laugh.gif PVC requirement size small type (size around 1/2 inch standard size) be it the pipes or the accessories such as L shape, T shape etc cos my water pump only can accepts 1/2 inch pvc pipes. laugh.gif

Attached image(s)
ballons
post Nov 23 2012, 12:39 PM

Oh i see, btw im in Sabah, so i just hardly to get a diff sp of bichir. 1st time buy I think im going to have a tiger bichir lol. But it already sold out so the keeper say take the ornate. Somehow it was an endi. U guys really lucky to have a good fish shop there. Here dont have so much like vittatus, payara, and other rare fish. I hope someday will get one.. haha
antzz
post Nov 23 2012, 02:28 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ballons @ Nov 23 2012, 12:39 PM)
Oh i see, btw im in Sabah, so i just hardly to get a diff sp of bichir. 1st time buy I think im going to have a tiger bichir lol. But it already sold out so the keeper say take the ornate. Somehow it was an endi. U guys really lucky to have a good fish shop there. Here dont have so much like vittatus, payara, and other rare fish. I hope someday will get one.. haha
Dont worry bro, this hobby ALWAYS can wait, we have nothing to lose after all. Just hunt around if u get the time and chances. At the same time u can gather as much information as u can. Knowledge is power, as long as we know how to control our situation.

QUOTE(kakarocht @ Nov 23 2012, 10:09 AM)
sure no problem. I'll try to snap the pic of the diy filter that i made (whether ready made/on progress project). If there is no any problems on weekend then probably i'll try to make the guide lines on how to do it.  brows.gif  costs is very cheap should be less than RM 100 +/- (depends on how big/size of filter you want to do) which already includes pvc's pipes and accessories. My tanks is very simple which I'm only using Fibreglass tanks (round shape which most of houses are using it) which is 6 x 6 feet. so my filter systems also simple as well which I only used the 12L bin (buy at tesco cost around Rm10 only) laugh.gif PVC requirement size small type (size around 1/2 inch standard size) be it the pipes or the accessories such as L shape, T shape etc cos my water pump only can accepts 1/2 inch pvc pipes.  laugh.gif
Thats quite a big container. But i think the real kick is in the weight it bears, as we're talking about top filtration. That filter of urs, is it heavy? I think plastic or fiberglass tanks can hold much weight but not for most aquariums. We might need another extra frame to bear the weight. Good idea anyway. Here's some other ideas from the net :

Tower filter :

Quite heavy for the aquarium hood :

A simple one

[COLOR=blue]Double pump interesting idea :

Good luck icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Nov 23 2012, 02:35 PM
kakarocht
post Nov 23 2012, 03:20 PM

3,254 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eAQIxlpBcaQ&feature=share

this is the one I'm gonna do it. simple and easy. Cost less than 50 including the pvc's. this is also suitable for fish tank as well.

This post has been edited by kakarocht: Nov 23 2012, 03:21 PM
ballons
post Nov 24 2012, 02:21 AM

[quote=antzz,Nov 23 2012, 02:28 PM]
Dont worry bro, this hobby ALWAYS can wait, we have nothing to lose after all. Just hunt around if u get the time and chances. At the same time u can gather as much information as u can. Knowledge is power, as long as we know how to control our situation.

Yeah, thx bro. Hope I can learn more about keeping a fish at the highest level..hahaha.. I will pelan2 with the fish until I can handle the cost myself.
TSgenielee_83
post Nov 24 2012, 10:41 AM

120 posts

the regular diy tower would be find, but those ceramic rings are very heavy.
And two pumps' filter is better than 1 pump? meaning more bio load filtered at faster rate, and sponges getting dirtier 2x faster too, ya?
kakarocht
post Nov 24 2012, 12:15 PM

3,254 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Nov 24 2012, 10:41 AM)
the regular diy tower would be find, but those ceramic rings are very heavy.
And two pumps' filter is better than 1 pump? meaning more bio load filtered at faster rate, and sponges getting dirtier 2x faster too, ya?
should be no problem. cos ceramic rings is not heavy actually. how much amount you used for ceramic rings? single pumps will do. I used single pump like the pic that i post which is only suitable for my environment. sponges is depends on the qualities you used actually. apparently i used 2 types of sponge which is thick types (for koi) other is cheaper type of sponge. the 1st tray i put 2 types of sponge - below is koi sponge (those thick sponge which is selling big size around RM 30) the top i only put 2-3 layers of cheap sponge (used and throw). 2nd tray you can put either bio balls/ceramic rings/lava rocks/arang. 3 tray same as well either you wan to put like tray 1/2 method. your choice. if can show your aqua rig/pic will do.
Ayah Pimp
post Nov 24 2012, 05:00 PM

My Endlicheri..around 9 to 10 inch now. Makan xingat dunia...Aiyooo..sori..gambar diambil menggunakan nokia 3310S rclxub.gif

TSgenielee_83
post Nov 24 2012, 06:48 PM

120 posts

i find this quite ok.
But dont want the little tub that act as sump.

You -Tube: DIY trickle filter/ dry wet filter
Material: plastic drawers, drills, a small bin (sump effect), white sponge for top drawer, green and black for 2nd,3rd drawers. PVC.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZJBm89MuzU&feature=related

Please comment. Am thinking of doing one for my top tank (birchir).
And maybe modify abit ( maybe had the drawers sitting on a stool to make it higher than the tank?) so can be side to side filter for bottom rack tank.
TSgenielee_83
post Nov 24 2012, 06:54 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(kakarocht @ Nov 24 2012, 12:15 PM)
should be no problem. cos ceramic rings is not heavy actually. how much amount you used for ceramic rings? single pumps will do. I used single pump like the pic that i post which is only suitable for my environment. sponges is depends on the qualities you used actually. apparently i used 2 types of sponge which is thick types (for koi) other is cheaper type of sponge. the 1st tray i put 2 types of sponge - below is koi sponge (those thick sponge which is selling big size around RM 30) the top i only put 2-3 layers of cheap sponge (used and throw). 2nd tray you can put either bio balls/ceramic rings/lava rocks/arang. 3 tray same as well either you wan to put like tray 1/2 method. your choice. if can show your aqua rig/pic will do.
My plan is like this:

1st drawer-white foam
2nd and 3rd- green and black foam?

And regarding the power head, is put in the water connect with a pvc to the top.
You guys think enough power kah?

Then 3rd drawer either drill more holes (as trickle output) or one big hole as output direct into aquarium.
antzz
post Nov 24 2012, 06:57 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Ayah Pimp @ Nov 24 2012, 05:00 PM)
My Endlicheri..around 9 to 10 inch now. Makan xingat dunia...Aiyooo..sori..gambar diambil menggunakan nokia 3310S  rclxub.gif
Nice fish. Very clear water as well smile.gif

Well for the 'makan x ingat dunia part' Me too i'm having the same situation with my bichirs (i used to have two big bichirs, remember). Those feeder fishes we usually bought from LFS, sometimes they give us very small fish. Those fish so small that they often too weak to avoid strong current, and end up dead stuck in the filter media. What i do is, separate the very small ones into my turtle tank (they make good algae eaters on the turtle shell too laugh.gif ) Even i dont feed them any special food, just leftovers of turtle food. But they still grow very fast nod.gif Then only i catch them and put into predator's den.

Advantages are, u get more value for ur money. Reducing money loss from dead small fish. Save ur filter medias from dead bodies. Joy of fish growth monitoring, fun fish-catching sports, blah blah blah..

Added on November 24, 2012, 7:09 pm
QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Nov 24 2012, 06:54 PM)
My plan is like this:

1st drawer-white foam
U can as well put other media types below the foams, as desired.

And regarding the power head, is put in the water connect with a pvc to the top.
I think u may need more powerful pump, depending on the height of the tower.

Then 3rd drawer either drill more holes (as trickle output) or one big hole as output direct into aquarium.
Personally, i prefer one big hole than many small ones. Reason is easier to manage the noise and water flow. But thats maybe unique for me and my preference only smile.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Nov 24 2012, 07:09 PM
kakarocht
post Nov 25 2012, 09:48 AM

3,254 posts

My plan is like this:

1st drawer-white foam

here is the sample of the diy filters that i made but haven't fully complete as shortage of pvc accessories.

DIY 3 storey filters... brows.gif

1) 3 storey filters

2) The top layer hole is for the input.

3) The top layer hole with the pvc input.

4) The Trays with the holes for the filterations.

* remember when doing DIY means you need some patient to do it. If you've no patient I recommend you buy ready made will do. brows.gif

TSgenielee_83
post Nov 25 2012, 01:12 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(kakarocht @ Nov 25 2012, 09:48 AM)
here is the sample of the diy filters that i made but haven't fully complete as shortage of pvc accessories.

DIY 3 storey filters... brows.gif

1) 3 storey filters

2) The top layer hole is for the input.

3) The top layer hole with the pvc input.

4) The Trays with the holes for the filterations.

* remember when doing DIY means you need some patient to do it. If you've no patient I recommend you buy ready made will do.  brows.gif
where can i search for ready made trickle filter?

Added on November 25, 2012, 1:30 pmhttp://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a220m.1000862.1000725.246.tFrmbD&id=20272224281&is_b=1&cat_id=2&q=

This post has been edited by genielee_83: Nov 25 2012, 01:30 PM
LuQEE
post Nov 25 2012, 01:42 PM

66 posts

can give me good reason why you guys using trickle filters?
whats so good about it? sorry for abit newb on this.
is it the same as this filter on the video(the first tank? ignore the other tanks lol)

TSgenielee_83
post Nov 25 2012, 02:51 PM

120 posts

For me it's like dry wet filter.
All media is 50/50 in water and surface. Better bacteria breeding.
I wanna put foams so can tapis many times the bio-loads.
Carnivore tank is very heavy when we're talking bio-loads.

I might be wrong.
L3()nZ
post Nov 25 2012, 03:18 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Nov 25 2012, 02:51 PM)
For me it's like dry wet filter.
All media is 50/50 in water and surface. Better bacteria breeding.
I wanna put foams so can tapis many times the bio-loads.
Carnivore tank is very heavy when we're talking bio-loads.

I might be wrong.
Yea, big fish, eat more, big poo, heavy bio-loads tongue.gif
TSgenielee_83
post Nov 25 2012, 03:48 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(L3()nZ @ Nov 25 2012, 03:18 PM)
Yea, big fish, eat more, big poo, heavy bio-loads tongue.gif
Yep. But still we're still gatal punggung.
Also like to keep many big shitters. laugh.gif
Sambil WC sambil complain
LuQEE
post Nov 25 2012, 03:50 PM

66 posts

yes... i think i got the same syndrome as you all..
while WC curse curse due to the fishes excess bioload. lol

TSgenielee_83
post Nov 25 2012, 04:11 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Nov 25 2012, 03:50 PM)
yes... i think i got the same syndrome as you all..
while WC curse curse due to the fishes excess bioload. lol

i'm thinking of buying the trickle system from china.
Of coz DIY is cheaper, but heck.. i'm bad in this kind of stuff and 100% wasting my money buying
this and that yet not producing the product shakehead.gif

I plan to COD in Ipoh.
Trickle Filter

4ft tank maybe will either get 45cm (6 drawers) or 60cm (9 drawers).
Only putting sponges so hopefully it won't collapsed.

And about my lower tank. There's no space for a 3 tier filter.
Get a canister kah?

133 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:35 AM