Primitive Fish V2, Fish that survived Milleniums

antzz
post Nov 20 2012, 12:30 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Nov 20 2012, 11:06 AM)
i cant take credit for it though, since i just upgraded the design and
its use purpose to suit my need from planted tank community and i found out it really works for my oscar fish tank.

btw, already 2 days using new loose filter pads, so far so good, water is clearer. guess will see if it last at least a week.
will update with pictures of the filter pads later after it started become clogged
It was ur effort anyway. Have u tried other configurations? Like using filter pads looser than 0.5 microns?

QUOTE(awansakti @ Nov 20 2012, 10:29 AM)
The tile base is looking pretty well smile.gif wonder how it looks if fully covered with tile i.e. custom cut to shape.hehe
Thanks. But i havent had the time for decent photography, just taking a few snaps by my phone. So here goes

Aragorn in action :

Endi special shot :

mollymurder
post Nov 20 2012, 12:46 PM

45 posts

i heard tiles can lower down your water temp by 2-3° which is very good for a sub tropical tank..can u verify that antzz?
antzz
post Nov 20 2012, 01:00 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(mollymurder @ Nov 20 2012, 12:46 PM)
i heard tiles can lower down your water temp by 2-3° which is very good for a sub tropical tank..can u verify that antzz?
Honestly, i dont know that.. sweat.gif Thanks for the info. I will surely ask around and try to find out.

And oh, before i forget here are few things that i learnt from this tile project experience :

1) When choosing tiles, normal wall tiles are easier to cut and shape. Heavy duty tiles and slates (of sourse) are really a pain to cut in desirable design.
2) Many fishes are suitable with dark coloured base. They even feel more secure that way. So in many cases, the darker the better.
3) I think single tone colour tiles are better than those with certain patterns / shapes / drawings. They will provide more natural look in the base.
4) If ur tank can fit 2x2' tiles, go for it. It looks better and easier to maintain in future.
5) When cutting tiles, make it slightly bigger so u wont have large gaps between tiles. If they cant fit in the tank, u can slightly reduce the size by using carving / turner tool (kikir).
6) After done cutting, dont forget to turn the sharp edges by turner tool. U dont want to hurt ur hands (esp the tank dwellers, as well). Tile edges can be sharp sometimes, especially after being cut. Put gloves on as u work smile.gif
LuQEE
post Nov 20 2012, 02:36 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Nov 20 2012, 12:30 PM)
It was ur effort anyway. Have u tried other configurations? Like using filter pads looser than 0.5 microns?
yup, still experimenting with looser type of filter pads currently.
now probably using 50-100microns or soo. not sure which since they dont have labels on it.

awansakti
post Nov 20 2012, 05:47 PM

50 posts

Wah hensem la ur tank now. How big is it? 4ft? Looking good now. Good job! biggrin.gif
antzz
post Nov 20 2012, 06:59 PM

115 posts

Thanks.. (Err.. if u referring to my tank, that is.. lol)

My tank is 5x2x2, with wooden cabinet and hood. Comes with piping and sump tank. I used 4500/L per hour rotary pump. Overall shots :

awansakti
post Nov 21 2012, 12:10 AM

50 posts

cun lah thumbup.gif i think i saw this kind of tank in shop today. including sump and all lebih kurang rm900+ hehe
LuQEE
post Nov 21 2012, 10:16 AM

66 posts

bro antzz, how thick is the glass?
how do you do water change eh?
directly tap water from hose/pipe or manual labour extensive muscle bulging back-aching hose and pail bucket technique? brows.gif

antzz
post Nov 21 2012, 11:43 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Nov 21 2012, 12:10 AM)
cun lah thumbup.gif  i think i saw this kind of tank in shop today. including sump and all lebih kurang rm900+ hehe
Wah so cheap? I bought mine for rm2500, on 2008. Complete with filter tank, pump, piping, all the filter medias, installation (and after sales consultation). The store ordered the tank from KL. I understand they need to bear the shipping and labour cost, but the price so much different sweat.gif

Later i should consider custom made tank, worth every cents. But have to know all the parts function and scustomization.

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Nov 21 2012, 10:16 AM)
bro antzz, how thick is the glass?
how do you do water change eh?
directly tap water from hose/pipe or manual labour extensive muscle bulging back-aching hose and pail bucket technique?  brows.gif
If i'm not wrong, the glass only 10mm, the normal thickness.

I do WC the easy way, from hose to toilet, add the anti-chlorine (and salt, if needed) as the water flows in. If i do the manual pail to-and-fro conventional method, it would be a back-breaking experience LOL

If u dont hv much time to spend on WC, u can use a water pump attached with hose for the water out. Just put the pump into ur tank and on the switch. That way u can take the water out very fast. U can use another pipe hose for adding water in, simultaneously or one after another.

Good luck icon_rolleyes.gif
ballons
post Nov 21 2012, 01:11 PM

can i ask here.. what type of my poly is this.?

Attached image(s)
antzz
post Nov 21 2012, 07:36 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ballons @ Nov 21 2012, 01:11 PM)
can i ask here.. what type of my poly is this.?
Ur poly? Cant tell la.. The pic too blur to identify.. U hv carnivorous comm tank, bro? icon_rolleyes.gif
ballons
post Nov 22 2012, 12:39 AM

I mean Polypterus. oh sorry for that picture. I had it resize for fast upload.. hihi.. no i dont have one. I still newbie about fish keeping though. Really need help around here biggrin.gif well i only got 1 bichir and two peacock bass, but 1 of my PB died jump out off my tank. sad.gif

awansakti
post Nov 22 2012, 01:32 AM

50 posts

whoa tak tutup akuarium ka? poor fish. looks like endlicheri je
rickyfan8888
post Nov 22 2012, 08:43 AM

blood rules!!
1,245 posts

QUOTE(ballons @ Nov 22 2012, 12:39 AM)
I mean Polypterus. oh sorry for that picture. I had it resize for fast upload.. hihi.. no i dont have one. I still newbie about fish keeping though. Really need help around here  biggrin.gif well i only got 1 bichir and two peacock bass, but 1 of my PB died jump out off my tank. sad.gif
it is Polypterus endlicheri. Need to cover ur tank nicely, Polypterus are good jumper..be aware on this issue.
kakarocht
post Nov 22 2012, 09:30 AM

Hibernate Time.............
3,254 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Nov 18 2012, 04:55 PM)
If you use tile, also need to scrap the tiles once or while.
Or it'll gives polys kegatalan at the bottom.

cant find the filter pictures. It's like regular top filter.
Just have 3 or 4 tiers. Each tier has one type of media.
Quite heavy.

I read canister is not fit for heavy carnivorous fish. Bio load too much to handle.

Added on November 18, 2012, 5:01 pmshower system
shower filter blog

Few weeks back, i saw Taobao is selling alot.
Tempted to get two units ( birchir and oscar tanks).
Hard to find locally.

Issue: my 4ft is the regular type, ceramic rings are very heavy...
Haizz..
Can you post your aquarium pic? those shower system normally i'll diy it. Save cost but need to put own effort to do it. what i do is i get multipurpose 3 or 4 tray plastic tray. Tesco are selling it won't cost so much as depending on sizes/types/design max price i saw was RM 80 +/- only. brand if not mistaken is century. The larger the filter is better for larger thank (the best). All you need is PVC pipes, L shape pvc etc..Depending on your own setup. I'll show you mine (mini type) how i did it cos at the moment all my fishes i put it at my grandpa house since nobody staying there. doh.gif
ballons
post Nov 22 2012, 04:46 PM

hehe.. thx guys.. i really wonder wat fish it is.. the shop say it was ornate,but when i do so search its obviously not an ornate.. alrdy cover my tank..hihi B-) btw guys, how much time u feed a juvenile bichir per day?

This post has been edited by ballons: Nov 22 2012, 07:03 PM
antzz
post Nov 22 2012, 07:05 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(kakarocht @ Nov 22 2012, 09:30 AM)
Can you post your aquarium pic? those shower system normally i'll diy it. Save cost but need to put own effort to do it. what i do is i get multipurpose 3 or 4 tray plastic tray. Tesco are selling it won't cost so much as depending on sizes/types/design max price i saw was RM 80 +/- only. brand if not mistaken is century. The larger the filter is better for larger thank (the best). All you need is PVC pipes, L shape pvc etc..Depending on your own setup. I'll show you mine (mini type) how i did it cos at the moment all my fishes i put it at my grandpa house since nobody staying there.  doh.gif
Mind to share ur DIY filter? Should be interesting smile.gif

QUOTE(ballons @ Nov 22 2012, 04:46 PM)
hehe.. thx guys.. i really wonder wat fish it is.. the shop say it was ornate,but when i do so search its obviously not an ornate.. alrdy cover my tank..hihi B-)
Hehe.. pump up ur monster, bro. Endlies look nicer as they get bigger. Feed them various kind of foods. Both of my bichirs take feeder fish as staple, but alternately grasp superworms and leftover crickets if they can get to it. My Endli can feed on 5-10 fishes for one night (sometimes even more, if he was left starving for quite some time).

Frankenstein II the plump guy tongue.gif

He has the 'gator' look somehow

Shot with yellow light on.. Oh my he's fat

My ornate bichir hiding in resin trunk

ballons
post Nov 22 2012, 07:36 PM

QUOTE(antzz @ Nov 22 2012, 07:05 PM)
Mind to share ur DIY filter? Should be interesting smile.gif
Hehe.. pump up ur monster, bro. Endlies look nicer as they get bigger. Feed them various kind of foods. Both of my bichirs take feeder fish as staple, but alternately grasp superworms and leftover crickets if they can get to it. My Endli can feed on 5-10 fishes for one night (sometimes even more, if he was left starving for quite some time).

Frankenstein II the plump guy tongue.gif

He has the 'gator' look somehow

Shot with yellow light on.. Oh my he's fat

My ornate bichir hiding in resin trunk

Thx, really appreciate the information.Wow, nice bichir bro. They are big :-) someday i will make my own bichir tank for sure biggrin.gifD
antzz
post Nov 22 2012, 08:00 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ballons @ Nov 22 2012, 07:36 PM)
Thx, really appreciate the information.Wow, nice bichir bro. They are big :-) someday i will make my own bichir tank for sure biggrin.gifD
I remember one night when he ravages on lots feeder fishes (i think more than 10 pcs), he became this fat :

BTW my ornate bichir still not that big, only about 8".

Monsters of the tank : RTG, Endli & Ornate

ballons
post Nov 22 2012, 08:22 PM

haha i see. It seems big at the screen lol. how much endli cost at semenanjung for small one? im getting excited to keep a bichir lol but no money for now .. $_$

133 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:17 PM