Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

nash9701
post Jun 2 2013, 02:26 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

HSE/SHE : "Safety is Our Priority"
Planning : "We estimate the works can be completed within 8 months." Prepare list of item etc."
Execution : "Do this, do that, cepatla, tak apa, this one cannot do, not inside workscope, but must do, then pay later. Where got complete 8 months, etc."
Commisioning : "How come this one not same? You have do like this (but things already installed) etc."
Management : "Why the project delay? When the project can be completed? Complete all 5W 1H(what, when, why, who, which, how)"

Haha

(^__^)

This post has been edited by nash9701: Jun 2 2013, 02:27 PM
meonkutu11
post Jun 2 2013, 07:06 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jun 2 2013, 01:04 PM)
oh come on...  doh.gif
Gemusut-kakap gamnam sytle...
thesnake
post Jun 2 2013, 08:51 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(meonkutu11 @ Jun 2 2013, 07:06 PM)
Gemusut-kakap gamnam sytle...
that video is really thumbup.gif
ohsome
post Jun 3 2013, 12:18 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(AntiSurge @ Jun 1 2013, 10:22 PM)
the consultant working for us is Aker Engineering and the contractor is MMHE and Sapura Kencana. MMHE fabricating our topsides and Sapura Kencana fabricated our jacket legs.
Thanks for the info! I wonder why Aker has not posted any openings for freshies in their career section. Other than the subsea graduate programme which has been closed months ago.. sad.gif

TAGreptiles
post Jun 3 2013, 12:27 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

Hi people,

Spoke to an O&G recruiter over the weekend. Is there anyone who can share some insights to an ROV operator's job scope? Seems like a pretty good career option now, provided that i can get funds for the certification/course.
athrun300
post Jun 3 2013, 08:43 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 3 2013, 12:27 AM)
Hi people,

Spoke to an O&G recruiter over the weekend. Is there anyone who can share some insights to an ROV operator's job scope? Seems like a pretty good career option now, provided that i can get funds for the certification/course.
Sg got course in this nov. Need $2+++ euro. I plan to go before but heard there is oversuppy right now and it take some year to land a rov job after completion of the course. Any taiko can comment on this?
TAGreptiles
post Jun 3 2013, 09:35 AM

taggyMY
1,874 posts

QUOTE(athrun300 @ Jun 3 2013, 08:43 AM)
Sg got course in this nov. Need $2+++ euro. I plan to go before but heard there is oversuppy right now and it take some year to land a rov job after completion of the course. Any taiko can comment on this?
Are you from O&G background before this? After some research, they did mention that experience/know-how in hydraulics, electrical, mechanical is an added advantage. As for the oversupply, let me ask around and see.
feekle
post Jun 3 2013, 09:38 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Jun 2 2013, 02:26 PM)
Planning  : "We estimate the works can be completed within 8 months." Prepare list of item etc."
Execution : "Do this, do that, cepatla, tak apa, this one cannot do, not inside workscope, but must do, then pay later. Where got complete 8 months, etc."
Commisioning : "How come this one not same? You have do like this (but things already installed) etc."
Management : "Why the project delay? When the project can be completed? Complete all 5W 1H(what, when, why, who, which, how)"

Haha

(^__^)
rclxms.gif ..in the end, safety irritates everyone
x0x
post Jun 3 2013, 10:09 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(thesnake @ Jun 2 2013, 08:22 AM)
well, some issues need onshore support as well, and depending on individual workpacks of the work order on how well the material readiness is, and also manpower estimation. Not to forget, project delay is also caused by weather as well  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(thesnake @ Jun 2 2013, 12:32 PM)
Gumusut has high safety requirement which requires rounds of procedures and checklists first before executing anything. This greatly contributes to the delays on the project.
All project, EPC its always killed by Detail Design + Procurement ...If dwgs & material ready, all things can be made..i mean good AFC dwgs

k.mark45
post Jun 3 2013, 12:50 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Jun 2 2013, 02:26 PM)
Planning  : "We estimate the works can be completed within 8 months." Prepare list of item etc."

Haha

(^__^)
Hahahahaha. rclxms.gif That sums up every project mostly
abgkik
post Jun 3 2013, 01:33 PM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Jun 3 2013, 09:38 AM)
rclxms.gif ..in the end, safety irritates everyone
Safety is the most priority.. but it is not an excuse for project delay... wink.gif
Cityhong
post Jun 3 2013, 03:03 PM

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jun 3 2013, 01:33 PM)
Safety is the most priority.. but it is not an excuse for project delay...  wink.gif
Right!
nash9701
post Jun 3 2013, 11:27 PM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Jun 3 2013, 01:33 PM)
Safety is the most priority.. but it is not an excuse for project delay...  wink.gif
because in the end, whoever not comply is on them...hehe

Execution safety mindset different with permit auditor/HSE or whoever never been at field...on paper and site usually there will be differences, matter is how you manage the differences...

Note : Lately I noticed Dragger always return the gas detector late to owner (after send for calibration). Anyone experience this?

(^__^)

This post has been edited by nash9701: Jun 3 2013, 11:28 PM
athrun300
post Jun 4 2013, 08:07 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(TAGreptiles @ Jun 3 2013, 09:35 AM)
Are you from O&G background before this? After some research, they did mention that experience/know-how in hydraulics, electrical, mechanical is an added advantage. As for the oversupply, let me ask around and see.
I am OnG background. More to analytical side smile.gif
gilmar
post Jun 5 2013, 02:46 PM

141 posts

Currently I'm working as an admin in the Mining Department since Feb last year. Inter-company; I had interview with the water treatment plant and also operations from steel production. I'm now leaning towards a career in perhaps lab testing of minerals or oil and gas (gas chromatography, pyrolysis). However I'm not sure with a Bachelor's in Geology, whether those lab testing jobs are suitable or they only take chemist. Can those with a geology degree work in a oil and gas lab?
I'm not sure if I should stay in mining (they have increased my job scope to more technical such as technical drawing, maybe ore dressing, learning about boreholes) or transfer to somewhere else. Taking into account that maybe in the future I might want to do a masters in petroleum geology or environmental science, I'm not sure which is my best solution. So far my application for other jobs has not been successful.

This post has been edited by gilmar: Jun 5 2013, 05:39 PM
mohdyakup
post Jun 5 2013, 10:24 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(gilmar @ Jun 5 2013, 02:46 PM)
Currently I'm working as an admin in the Mining Department since Feb last year. Inter-company; I had interview with the water treatment plant and also operations from steel production. I'm now leaning towards a career in perhaps lab testing of minerals or oil and gas (gas chromatography, pyrolysis). However I'm not sure with a Bachelor's in Geology, whether those lab testing jobs are suitable or they only take chemist. Can those with a geology degree work in a oil and gas lab?
I'm not sure if I should stay in mining (they have increased my job scope to more technical such as technical drawing, maybe ore dressing, learning about boreholes) or transfer to somewhere else. Taking into account that maybe in the future I might want to do a masters in petroleum geology or environmental science, I'm not sure which is my best solution. So far my application for other jobs has not been successful.
Try join Core Lab Ltd, SGS
gilmar
post Jun 6 2013, 09:14 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(mohdyakup @ Jun 5 2013, 10:24 PM)
Try join Core Lab Ltd, SGS
Thank you

cypanz
post Jun 6 2013, 11:01 AM

42 posts

I just got an interview offer from Synergy Oil & Gas Engineering Sdn Bhd. Do you guys have any info on it? Their website doesn't say much though biggrin.gif Cheers everyone!
Vervain
post Jun 6 2013, 01:44 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Anyone interested on coordination job? Got vacancy for one MNC company.
ohsome
post Jun 6 2013, 04:39 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Jun 6 2013, 01:44 PM)
Anyone interested on coordination job? Got vacancy for one MNC company.
Hi Vervain. What kind of coordination job? Do they hire fresh graduates? smile.gif

135 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:54 PM