Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

feekle
post Aug 30 2012, 02:43 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Aug 29 2012, 01:09 PM)
Haha... Your BOSIET holds no value after this if you don't have PTW. Carigali's platforms require PTW to board.
they're enforcing it at the moment..be it offshore or onshore as long as within their area.

p/s: PTW is piece of cake...all can pass

This post has been edited by feekle: Aug 30 2012, 02:44 PM
feekle
post Aug 31 2012, 03:13 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Aug 30 2012, 10:36 PM)
all can pass, but i forgotten what was taught d. haha.
haha taught to fill the forms only biggrin.gif
feekle
post Sep 20 2012, 09:27 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(carloz28 @ Sep 20 2012, 09:18 AM)
I know one man from Petronas who worked his way up as a painter to a Dril Sup if the news encourages you.

That's was like 20 yrs ago..it's already hard to climb the ladder without a proper academic qualification, but you know in O&G anything can happen if you are strong and determined enough.
Not just O&G in everything u do...if u determine enough, u will succeed...
feekle
post Sep 25 2012, 12:42 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

any idea what's the salary scale of technip?

This post has been edited by feekle: Sep 25 2012, 12:43 PM
feekle
post Sep 25 2012, 01:38 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(badyuan @ Sep 25 2012, 01:26 PM)
Grad is 3.5k
wow..so high...btw thanks smile.gif
feekle
post Oct 6 2012, 08:42 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Sep 30 2012, 09:00 PM)
well, if they had revised the starting salary, that's good news to fresh graduates.
Meaning not easy to get it also, they just set up an office in sarawak..
feekle
post Nov 4 2012, 09:39 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(wunanwarrior @ Oct 26 2012, 01:31 PM)
hi all,i have something to ask and would love to hear opinions from all of you here..

1st,offer from transwater api,i will need to travel a lot for this position,i heard outstation allowance there is high,but still need to check with them because they just inform me yesterday.

2nd,i will attend 2nd assessment day with petra energy this coming wednesday,they offered fast-track engineer program which means in this 1 year,i will bond with them and after finish this program,they will assess and placed me based on my performance.(basically petra group consist of 7 companies,so in this 1 year program,they will send me to all the departments before being assess)

other information:this 2 company give same salary,transwater give much higher outstation allowance than petra,but i think work in petra means 2,3 months directly onshore/offshore,that is why they can not give high allowance..

so,let say i success in petra assessment day,i need help from all otai here to decide which one will suit best for my 1st step into this industry..im sorry for my bad english.thanks.
wow...never thought petra have such procedure for interview. I did my industrial training there 2 years ago & they rotate me to every department. For your post i think u belong in workpack department..salary wise (what i heard) is not that great..their rival sapura, TLO pays better & yeap..for new guys they'll send to offshore for 45 days.

This post has been edited by feekle: Nov 4 2012, 09:40 AM
feekle
post Nov 14 2012, 11:18 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(mrbak87 @ Nov 14 2012, 04:21 PM)
I'm working in Shell in Bintulu now as a Contracts Specialist. Any questions for me? biggrin.gif
What actually u do as a contract 'specialist' ?
feekle
post Dec 11 2012, 11:23 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 9 2012, 10:07 PM)
there's one more, as-built drawings. the AFC dwgs will be updated to 'As-Built' drawings to reflect the final built of the structures.
Don't ever trust As-built drawings..always kena tipu by it..damn those consultant..lazy to do revision which reflect the actual built. Just stamped 'As-Built' then handover..even client also didnt properly review it.

This post has been edited by feekle: Dec 11 2012, 11:24 AM
feekle
post Dec 11 2012, 09:12 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

feekle
post Dec 12 2012, 08:26 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(syarehey @ Dec 12 2012, 01:14 AM)
when is the walk in interview? Can't read your post,too small.
check this link..http://www.miricommunity.net/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=57818

Added on December 12, 2012, 8:26 am
QUOTE(chungyinjie @ Dec 12 2012, 01:18 AM)
Hi syarehey,
Pls can you advise petrofac's job opening detail? The snapshot is blur when zoom in, yet could not find any info in internet. Thanks.
http://www.miricommunity.net/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=57818

This post has been edited by feekle: Dec 12 2012, 08:26 AM
feekle
post Jan 16 2013, 10:18 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(gonzalo20 @ Jan 16 2013, 09:36 PM)
It seems like to enter this field u need good cgpa. Am I right?
good cable...
feekle
post Jan 29 2013, 08:12 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Jan 27 2013, 07:57 AM)
i am a non-engineering graduate, working in SHE related position in manufacturing/research laboratory environment for 3 years, then plan to take Master in SHE Engineering.

Upon finishing the MEng, will i be considered as fresh grad in SHE O&G when applying position in O&G and has to compete with other fresh engineering grads applying for SHE position also?

Is it feasible to pursue this Masters in SHE route as a ticket to enter O&G industry?

Need advice from veteran here. thanks.
ah...HSE coming from non technical background..always difficult to deal with..

This post has been edited by feekle: Jan 29 2013, 08:12 PM
feekle
post Jan 30 2013, 09:43 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(eyelash @ Jan 30 2013, 12:22 AM)
Your comment, so racist. To be honest, ONLY in oil & gas you can see a balance of race mixture. Do you see that in any other industry? Sadly no. Please don't get me started on accenture and the likes ok.

You don't get a reply because you don;t make the cut. As simple as that.
this is malaysia bro..can't deny the thing he say is really happening..
feekle
post Jan 30 2013, 03:40 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Jan 30 2013, 12:03 PM)
hehe from the statement implies that HSE from non technical background is common then..

mind to elaborate your experience with them.. smile.gif
Calculating man hours, operations issued progress report on daily basis..their job is just to compile the total man hours..that simple..also garu kepala..
feekle
post Jan 31 2013, 10:23 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(ch_teo @ Jan 30 2013, 04:49 PM)
scorecard for the manhours is simple, that is very worst if can't do it.

what is the most worst is risk assessment (which is the core of their main responsibilities), interpret wrongly and not competent to do.
If generating JHA / JSA also fail..seriously not competent
feekle
post Jan 31 2013, 10:25 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(nite_eif @ Jan 30 2013, 05:37 PM)
oh calculating manhours daily only ah their job..so easy one..that one like site supervisor only..

yes risk assessment is the core..
part of their job i think...part of generating a good risk assessment is understanding the job steps...if it's technical, that's where ppl with technical background have the edge over the non-technical.

e.g. welding jobs, fit up jobs...SHO/ SSS with welding/fitter background will do better.

This post has been edited by feekle: Jan 31 2013, 10:26 AM
feekle
post Mar 7 2013, 09:14 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(BillySteel @ Feb 26 2013, 01:43 PM)
Roughly:

Most metal to metal joints in this world are welded.

Welders are one of the most in demand job in the world actually.

Often to start as a welding inspector you need a CSWIP 3.1 most of us look down upon PCN WI's. Inspectors can work either for the client side (big bucks) or the contractors side. A 3.0 will help you gain the experience to take the 3.1 examination.

After a few projects usually you will meet some of the same inspectors you know cause they suka lompat.
And can do good business too..my friend a former offshore welder started his own fabrication business doing grill, gates for homes & even doing light metal fabrication to be used in oil plants since he poses the certificate..good money to the point he quit going offshore & go full time doing his business.
feekle
post May 2 2013, 10:30 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 16 2013, 04:42 PM)
For the most part oil and gasĀ  both upstream and downstream is not for small businesses. The capital required is huge, plus at least in Malaysia, the connections you need is significant ie. not just some random datuk but on the sultan level and ex-PM level biggrin.gif

There are people who start businesses in oil and gas obviously, I know one personally who's doing stuff on the downstream side, but the paid up capital for his company is in the 7-8 figure range, etc. There are other opportunities eg. software development and training but you're competing against the big names in an industry where money is not a huge problem so you need to know what your competitive advantage is.

The other reason why you don't see a whole lot of people leaving the oil and gas jobs to start their businesses is because the money is good. If you ever look at the Robert Walters salary survey for example, the base salaries are quoted in USD for this sector, compared to RM in other sectors. Not a lot of people who get paid US$100-200k salaries + bonus with pretty decent job security want to venture out on their own.

I'm not saying you shouldn't try though, so good luck!
Realistically speaking. How long can the industry pay someone with high salary, at one stage if he/she getting old. Have to think about backup plan. As my former colleague (a retiree) said :

Most ppl who are previously paid well , who are out of the industry & started their own business either got bankrupt in short term or pass away within 5 years.

Reason is simple : only professional in demanding / receive good money but don't know how to generate, managing business. Conclusion, Outside O&G they can do nothing...

This post has been edited by feekle: May 2 2013, 06:07 PM
feekle
post May 6 2013, 10:21 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(hanzstein @ May 4 2013, 12:11 AM)
preakzz=@Koalanii...twitter...the company is Halliburton... thumbup.gif
fuhh..ini engineer suka camwhore biggrin.gif