126 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

horns
post Oct 14 2012, 05:19 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(guanchung @ Oct 14 2012, 03:08 PM)
yah i getting high end gpu gtx680 if 2013 so be i take gtx780
i waiting ivy bridge socket 2011 high end
i can wait feedback samsung 840 pro stable or failure
uh? i thought ivy bridge socket 2011 boards and cpu were released in the market for quite a while now. nevermind smile.gif

soultaker
post Oct 14 2012, 10:21 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(kszg @ Oct 14 2012, 10:08 PM)
yes i already to do lates firmware still same
what version lates now we can check if still same firmware i show u my screenshot
i already to do HDTUNE scan ssd no red alll is green no error
my ssd is intel 320 80gb

i can do reformat again if still problem
If you gonna reinstall your windows again, do not format it.. use the disk wipe utility.. this will completely erase all the data.. remember this is SSD where data is stored in flash not like traditional hard disk where data is stored in magnetic disk..
ronaldjoe
post Oct 14 2012, 10:32 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(kszg @ Oct 14 2012, 10:08 PM)
yes i already to do lates firmware still same
what version lates now we can check if still same firmware i show u my screenshot
i already to do HDTUNE scan ssd no red alll is green no error
my ssd is intel 320 80gb

i can do reformat again if still problem
Trim enabled? Something not right...
storm88
post Oct 14 2012, 10:50 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(dwks @ Oct 14 2012, 02:12 AM)
Hi, I wan to know will thr be any problem if I use ssd as an external HDD? I have a crucial m4 128gb, I hope I can use it as external HDD cause I cannot use it as internal HDD.
wanna know why u cant use your ssd? blink.gif
wowballs
post Oct 15 2012, 12:27 AM

29 posts

OCZ agitility 3 120gb user here. Any comment for my SSD ? is this good ? im using as OS and GAMING. any comment?
soultaker
post Oct 15 2012, 11:34 AM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(wowballs @ Oct 15 2012, 12:27 AM)
OCZ agitility 3 120gb user here. Any comment for my SSD ? is this good ? im using as OS and GAMING. any comment?
hmm.. i thought you were supposed to provide some comment/feedback since you were the one who is using it.. share something about your SSD since the 1st day you using it..
soultaker
post Oct 15 2012, 12:27 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(kszg @ Oct 15 2012, 12:07 PM)
must to do first disk wipe utility then i put windows 7 dvd then do i need press format ???
since you still getting error after reinstall your windows, you can try to do secure erase. for intel ssd, you can use the tool found here --> http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Des...Y&DwnldID=18455

but, ssd must be secondary drive, not OS drive in order to use this method..
TechBay
post Oct 15 2012, 06:01 PM

67 posts

I wanna to share the overall graph of NAND technology, for more clear&easy understanding picture about the NAND Tech that previously storm88 bring in.

Graph - NAND Tech

SLC- Single Layer Cell
High performance
Lower power consumption
Faster write speeds
100,000 program/erase cycles per cell
Higher cost
A good fit for industrial grade devices, embedded systems, critical applications.

MLC- Multi Layer Cell
Lower endurance limit than SLC
10,000 program/erase cycles per cell
Lower cost
A good fit for consumer products. Not suggested for applications which require frequent update of data.

TLC- Three Layer Cell
Higher density
Lower endurance limit than MLC and SLC
TLC has slower read and write speeds than conventional MLC
5,000 program/erase cycles per cell
Best price point
A good fit for low-end basic products. Not suggested for critical or important applications at this time which require frequent updating of data.

This post has been edited by TechBay: Oct 15 2012, 06:05 PM
ic-klass
post Oct 15 2012, 06:21 PM

959 posts

So TLC is no good?!.
Which SSD used it?
TechBay
post Oct 15 2012, 06:38 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Oct 15 2012, 06:21 PM)
So TLC is no good?!.
Which SSD used it?
It is not count as not good, it is a new technology and not ready for us as it haven't mature. Many reviews said that TLC is not reliable for long period of use. And there are at least 95% of SSD are using MLC. Still safe.

However, Samsung 840 is using TLC tech and "they claims to have improved its NAND fabrication and controller algorithm to the point where its TLC-based 840 are more reliable than many MLC SSDs on the market"

Source: Samsung TLC claims MLC Performance

This post has been edited by TechBay: Oct 15 2012, 06:42 PM
dwks
post Oct 15 2012, 07:32 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Oct 14 2012, 10:50 PM)
wanna know why u cant use your ssd? blink.gif
cause i dont have my rig right now and i dont live in my home. i live in hostel now...
everling
post Oct 16 2012, 01:14 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(TechBay @ Oct 15 2012, 06:01 PM)
TLC- Three Layer Cell
Higher density
Lower endurance limit than MLC and SLC
TLC has slower read and write speeds than conventional MLC
5,000 program/erase cycles per cell
Best price point
A good fit for low-end basic products. Not suggested for critical or important applications at this time which require frequent updating of data.
[/font]
It's Triple-Level Cell.

And at one time, 25nm MLCs had a lifespan of only 3,000 program/erase cycles. With 5,000 p/e cycles, TLC is well ahead of when 25nm NAND was first introduced.

As for lifespan, the numbers can be deceiving. Assuming that you consume 5 p/e for the entire SSD per day you are looking at 2.74 years of life. For a 256GB SSD, this means writing 256GB of data every day for 2.74 years. Since most people would struggle to write 50GB a day, most will do just fine.
TechBay
post Oct 16 2012, 02:58 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Oct 16 2012, 01:14 AM)
It's Triple-Level Cell.

And at one time, 25nm MLCs had a lifespan of only 3,000 program/erase cycles. With 5,000 p/e cycles, TLC is well ahead of when 25nm NAND was first introduced.

As for lifespan, the numbers can be deceiving. Assuming that you consume 5 p/e for the entire SSD per day you are looking at 2.74 years of life. For a 256GB SSD, this means writing 256GB of data every day for 2.74 years. Since most people would struggle to write 50GB a day, most will do just fine.
Correct that 25nm MLC i providing 3k p/e cycles. Due to Samsung ahead to 21nm TLC NAND, the p/e is reducing to 1k.

For samsung 840 256GB assuming one year used 36,500GB / years end up using 143p/e out of 1,000. Roughly can hold for 7 years.
And Samsung 840 128GB, can hold up to 3.5 years in estimation.

And Samsung didn't offer 60/64GB of 840 series? This may due to the SSD unable to hold up to 3 years under the warranty they're providing.

After all, Samsung admitted that write-erase endurance is lower than MLC, but not revealing about the lifespan.

And about the Samsung 840 Pro, it is using 21nm MLC toggle-NAND with disclosure of P/E and claimed 50% faster than TLC Nand.

Believed that Samsung 840 Pro will be a great stuff in SSD market but still have to wait for the real environment test.

This post has been edited by TechBay: Oct 16 2012, 03:01 AM
KIntos
post Oct 16 2012, 07:10 AM

1,132 posts

hmm. my crucial m4 128gb cannot update firmware to 010G from 000F. got error prompt out saying 'Object reference not set to an instance of an object.' somethings related to JIT debugging. remain 000F now.

could it becoz im using window updater?? maybe i should try boot file to update?

This post has been edited by KIntos: Oct 16 2012, 07:16 AM
storm88
post Oct 16 2012, 08:56 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(TechBay @ Oct 16 2012, 03:58 AM)
Correct that 25nm MLC i providing 3k p/e cycles. Due to Samsung ahead to 21nm TLC NAND, the p/e is reducing to 1k.

For samsung 840 256GB assuming one year used 36,500GB / years end up using 143p/e out of 1,000. Roughly can hold for 7 years.

And Samsung didn't offer 60/64GB of 840 series? This may due to the SSD unable to hold up to 3 years under the warranty they're providing.

After all, Samsung admitted that write-erase endurance is lower than MLC, but not revealing about the lifespan.

And about the Samsung 840 Pro, it is using 21nm MLC toggle-NAND with disclosure of P/E and claimed 50% faster than TLC Nand.

Believed that Samsung 840 Pro will be a great stuff in SSD market but still have to wait for the real environment test.

On general, 840 might works slower, but from the info i got, 840 might will be in good price staging. However i wasn't being quote an accurate price yet.

anyhow, the product need time to "Certify" if it really work lesser lifespan or so on:)
TechBay
post Oct 16 2012, 09:13 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Oct 16 2012, 08:56 AM)
On general, 840 might works slower, but from the info i got, 840 might will be in good price staging. However i wasn't being quote an accurate price yet.

anyhow, the product need time to "Certify" if it really work lesser lifespan or so on:)
Yea, of coz 840 will get a good price. The reason using TLC is because it can save the cost compare with MLC. But lifespan is quite true to verify with the time.

Actually no offense for this, just wanna to share. sweat.gif
horns
post Oct 16 2012, 11:51 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Oct 16 2012, 01:14 AM)
It's Triple-Level Cell.

QUOTE(TechBay @ Oct 16 2012, 02:58 AM)

now the above are the right ways people on the internet should write their comments on things smile.gif the common words "good, bad, limited" etc. really do not give the readers the correct ideas, and thus created such funny mus-conceptions as 'ssds die fast'. although tlc has the lowest p/e cycles, it's still up to the usage patterns of the user to determine that the drive dies fast or slowly.

noobandroid
post Oct 16 2012, 08:22 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

i may have a plan to integrate an msata to my current setup, by using gigabyte ez smart response, does it mean the msata will be for mainly caching for hdd? significant increase in overall r/w performance?
iVW
post Oct 16 2012, 09:47 PM

Busy Finding Money
886 posts

any sifu here would like to enlighten me on how to transform SSD into portable hard disk? I need the SSD with best read/write speed and turn it into portable one smile.gif
MaGNiFiCo
post Oct 16 2012, 10:41 PM

weeeeeeeeeeeee
1,604 posts

QUOTE(iVW @ Oct 16 2012, 09:47 PM)
any sifu here would like to enlighten me on how to transform SSD into portable hard disk? I need the SSD with best read/write speed and turn it into portable one smile.gif
if u want some faster hard disk for external i suggest just buy an external that supports usb 3.0. that will do i guess

QUOTE(KIntos @ Oct 16 2012, 07:10 AM)
hmm. my crucial m4 128gb cannot update firmware to 010G from 000F. got error prompt out saying  'Object reference not set to an instance of an object.' somethings related to JIT debugging. remain 000F now.

could it becoz im using window updater?? maybe i should try boot file to update?
bro 010G quite buggy. u shud just stay with current fw for now smile.gif

126 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:41 AM