4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

everling
post Aug 18 2012, 10:45 PM

3,591 posts

To remove the system reserved partition, you need to partition your SSD/HDD first, then install Windows on it. There are guides for it that you can google up.
everling
post Aug 23 2012, 06:18 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Aug 23 2012, 05:59 PM)
SSD for speed and shock resistant only. Not design to last long. Life spam i think few times shorter than HDD.
My oldest SSD is currently 2 years old, and I am sure that there are other forumers with older SSDs.

Added on August 23, 2012, 6:20 pm
QUOTE(dragon528 @ Aug 23 2012, 05:53 PM)
I got question about this SSD, HERE , not sure whether is worth buy or not.
I have no idea if that SSD is good or not.

This post has been edited by everling: Aug 23 2012, 06:20 PM
everling
post Aug 23 2012, 06:54 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(dragon528 @ Aug 23 2012, 06:25 PM)
After check with the price and do compare. It seems worth for the capacity. I got check review around google, it seems that speed is slower compare other. Not really understand the review and also not sure is it the same model too.
I wouldn't buy that SSD due to fear, uncertainty and doubt (FUD).

And considering your rig, surely you can afford to pay the regular price for a reputable 256GB SSD with full warranty. The most expensive component in my rig is my SSD.

This post has been edited by everling: Aug 23 2012, 06:55 PM
everling
post Aug 28 2012, 01:32 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:43 PM)
Huhuhu, doing RAID 0 on my 2 x Intel 330 60GB really worth it.... rclxm9.gif
Sorry to burst your bubble, but scoring high in benchmarks is not "worth it", unless that was your goal. The average user really can't use all that performance, for example, it won't help you watch videos faster.
everling
post Aug 31 2012, 06:11 PM

3,591 posts

If the only reason you want to buy a good SATA 6.0 Gb/s motherboard is to pair it with your SATA 6.0 GB/s SSD, then you probably should not do it. In fact, if you have a better use for your money, then you should not do it.

Not only is replacing the motherboard a lot of work, as you need to dismantle your rig to do it, the typical usage performance gain is rather little. If you have budget issues, it would be best to wait until you replace your CPU as well.

Added on August 31, 2012, 6:15 pm
QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Aug 31 2012, 11:22 AM)
want to ask, if my system is ssd, and i download torrent to other hdd, will the ssd die quick?
thank.
Your SSD won't die faster. I download my torrents to my SSD.

This post has been edited by everling: Aug 31 2012, 06:15 PM
everling
post Sep 3 2012, 03:25 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Sep 3 2012, 12:24 PM)
next year will the 480/512 gb ssd price drop?
cos 120 feel not enough...>.<
In Viewnet's 2011 August price list, the Intel 510 250GB was priced at RM1839.
In Viewnet's 2012 August price list, the Intel 520 240GB is priced at RM829.

I wouldn't worry about it.
everling
post Sep 7 2012, 09:24 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(akky @ Sep 7 2012, 09:16 AM)
Just got my Intel SSD 520 120gb yesterday. Did a fresh install of Win 7. Running on Sata 6Gb/s port and AHI mode but my benchmark is so low.
Ran Intel SSD Toolbox and confirmed is running latest firmware.
Any idea what's wrong here?  icon_question.gif
thanks in advance
Do a benchmark with ATTO. It should be closer to the specs.

This post has been edited by everling: Sep 7 2012, 09:24 AM
everling
post Sep 7 2012, 12:06 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(akky @ Sep 7 2012, 10:13 AM)
I did the test with ATTO. Yes, it looks good but why the other looks so bad and different?
This is normal?
Yes. The benchmark is showing 500 MB/s read/write as expected. The reason for the difference is in how the programs benchmark the SSD and how the SSD works.

CrystalDiskMark and AS-SSD uses random data when writing and reading and ATTO uses non-random data for the same tasks. SandForce-based SSDs, including Intel 330 and 520, uses data compression when reading and writing to the SSD. So SandForce-based SSDs perform poorly on incompressible random data but performs very well on compressible non-random data. This is the reason for the difference.

In short, if you want to test if your SSD is working correctly according to specifications, always use ATTO. Or some other benchmarking tool that can use compressible test data.

This post has been edited by everling: Sep 7 2012, 12:11 PM
everling
post Sep 7 2012, 07:25 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ Sep 7 2012, 11:02 AM)
good performance ssd under rm600+- for video encoding..will be using for laptop

Please recommend....is corsair gt OK compare to crucial M4? what about vertex 4?

thank you
Any SSD will do, preferably the highest capacity you can get for your budget. You are likely to be bottlenecked by your CPU during the transcoding, so perhaps even a good HDD will do if capacity is important enough. Then again, if your laptop has USB 3.0 or you can install a second HDD, then you can stick with an SSD in your laptop as your primary for your OS and applications.

QUOTE(Effy92 @ Sep 7 2012, 07:11 PM)
Just migrate my os to intel 330 at my hp mini, my rig currently at my hometown,
My hp mini use Sata 3Gb/s so that the benchmark that i got, is the benchmark ok for sata2? look like too low  hmm.gif
Just check at hp mini thread my netbook running AHCI mode and TRIM enable  nod.gif
The read performance is good, but the write performance doesn't look right.

Do you have the Intel toolkit installed? It should be able to help in diagnosing performance issues and how to solve it.

This post has been edited by everling: Sep 7 2012, 07:25 PM
everling
post Sep 8 2012, 07:01 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(Effy92 @ Sep 7 2012, 07:33 PM)
Already installed the toolkit and optimize using the optimizer, and no performance issues stated there ,, unsure.gif  unsure.gif
Then I have no idea what might be the problem, sorry.

QUOTE(ketapang @ Sep 8 2012, 02:39 PM)
My budget is around RM350 only. Intel 520 is way to expensive for me. sad.gif
I don't really care about the speed, as long it reaches around 480MB++ then it's consider okay. The most important aspect is the reliability. I already narrow my choice for Intel 330 or Samsung 830. But Vertex 4 keeps coming to my head. laugh.gif
I'll also vote for the Intel 330.

QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Sep 8 2012, 03:12 PM)
hi,

i would like to buy 1 ssd for my dad's old thinkpad x61, the BIOS only support sata 1 but can bios hack to support sata 2. anyone know where can buy used old ssd? i dun think anyone selling sata 1 or 2 brand new adi lol.
As stated, current SSDs are still backwards compatible with very old SATA hardware. But you might not see much performance difference due to weak CPU performance.

QUOTE(milky @ Sep 8 2012, 06:50 PM)
using atto [attachmentid=3040139]
That benchmark looks correct for your SSD bottlenecked by SATA 3.0 GB/s. All is fine.
everling
post Sep 10 2012, 10:32 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(syin16 @ Sep 9 2012, 10:21 PM)
so any take on these ssd? your input on this matter is really appreciated
Crucial's M4? Marvell controller.

QUOTE(leo0089 @ Sep 10 2012, 04:19 AM)
hi guys, just got myself a 60gb Intel 330, and did the optimization,
so the bmark is suppose to be normal right? low seq. write in AS sweat.gif
[attachmentid=3042090]
Ignore AS for SSD performance validation. Only ATTO is acceptable because they use compressible data.

As for the lower write speed, that seems correct for 60GB SSDs.

QUOTE(Lurker @ Sep 10 2012, 09:04 AM)
gonna be in bukit bintang later...
issit still untill now no shops in lyp carries crucial m4??
Jayacom has it in their late August price list.
everling
post Sep 15 2012, 05:33 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Sep 15 2012, 10:34 AM)
But i bought a 520 intel 120gb as well.
Serves me quite good,purchased yesterday =P 5years warranty is the best part  rclxms.gif
hahahaa icon_idea.gif
The five years warranty isn't a good deal.

Three years ago, in September 2009, the first-generation OCZ Vertex 120GB (Indilynx controller, before the SandForce controller) SATA 3.0 Gb/s cost RM 1,599. In 2010, the first-generation Intel SSD X25-M 160GB was going for RM 1,850. Today, an Intel 330 120GB (SandForce controller) SATA 6.0 Gb/s costs only RM 310. In two more years, I expect a 120GB SSD to go under RM 150, perhaps even under RM 100, if the capacity remains available in the market. Three years from now, you might go out and buy a 480GB SSD for maybe less than RM300. Five years from now? Who knows.

Or to look at it in another way, the first generation Intel SSD, the X25-M, also had a five year warranty and it was first released in around August 2008. Meaning that these SSDs would start to have their warranties expire next year. If Intel will still have replacement X25-Ms in stock and you own a hypothetical X25-M that fails next year, will you bother going through the RMA process or would you just go and buy a cheap, modern and high-performance SSD?

Then again, if you typically have rather old components in your computer, maybe it was a good deal for you.
everling
post Sep 17 2012, 01:47 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Sep 15 2012, 08:33 PM)
Eventually, don't forget that you have mentioned that "warranty starts to expire next year" is not a valid sentence. Why? Cards who gives 5 years warranty such as ZOTAC, is still valid, Why?, even though the market doesn't sell GTX295 anymore,they will replace with a newer card.

Which do you think it's a better deal then?  thumbup.gif
True,i've heard alot of things about intel, still it's SF controller for 330 and 520. So not really sure.
Heard about reliability of crucial m4 as well.. hmm  thumbup.gif
Even in that case, the cheaper and shorter warranty item is still the better deal, because you get the option to replace ageing hardware sooner. With a five year warranty, you'll have to keep using it for two years longer in order to maximise your 'investment'. Whereas with a three year warranty, you can keep on using your SSD until it dies of old age or you can replace it with a newer model of your choice if you need more capacity or speed.

QUOTE(ukimaro @ Sep 16 2012, 08:40 PM)
Hey guys may I know whether an ssd deliver most of it's performance combining with an old am3 socket board that only has sata 2 ports?  Thanks
Yes, it will still deliver most of its performance. The primary advantage of SSDs is in its access time, and consequently the very high random read/write speeds, not the even higher sequential read/write speeds. SATA 3.0 Gb/s will not bottleneck this very high random read/write speeds as they are still less than 250 MB/s.

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 16 2012, 08:56 PM)
Hey guys,im using a lenovo y580 notebook. And im planning to swap the optical drive for hdd and use a ssd in the hdd bay.

I'm kinda on a tight budget,so i wana get a best bang for bucks ssd.
Anyone can recommend me a ssd?

And how many gb should i get?probably gona just load in my os,a few games and a few programmes..
I would recommend the Intel 330 series for a good balance between cost, capacity, reliability, availability and ease of warranty. Since you are keeping your HDD in the ODD bay, a 60 GB SSD will be enough if your budget is very tight. Otherwise I would recommend either a 120 GB or 180 GB for more flexibility and much better bang for buck. The 120 GB has 100% more capacity but costs only ~54% more than the 60 GB.

QUOTE(ukimaro @ Sep 16 2012, 10:22 PM)
Thanks bro but does it have full transfer speeds in terms of write/read ?
or is it advisable to upgrade mobo ? My bro wanna buy M4 or 330.

his mobo is here . http://my.msi.com/product/mb/770-C35.html
If your SSD is a SATA 6.0 Gb/s SSD, it will bottleneck the sequential read/write. But not the random read/write, which is where the SSD's primary advantage is in.

QUOTE(kona|kona @ Sep 17 2012, 01:12 PM)
ohh . wrong thread but anyhwow , how to cool hot hdd ? install fan in the back of the casing ?

coz i see some skru holes
I would strongly not recommend installing a fan directly on a HDD. The fan's vibrations might be harmful to the HDD.
everling
post Sep 17 2012, 02:19 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Sep 17 2012, 01:53 PM)
Is 60gb enough to pair with my 500gb hdd? For now,im left with 300gb space and my comp is still quite new,2 weeks old.
Anyway,i think 60gb might not be so future proof..am i right? sweat.gif

Also,will there be any price drop in the near future? (in year 2012)
It depends on how big your applications and games get. Laptop HDDs tend to be under-performers (because they need to reduce power consumption and heat generated) so I would prefer to store them on the SSD. The 120 GB would be a better buy for most people because of this and it does simplify things by quite a bit - you don't have to worry about the cramped storage space in a 60 GB SSD, unless all your applications, games and future usage will comfortably fit within 55 GiB.

I say 55 GiB because 60 GB = 60,000,000,000 bytes = 55.87 GiB. Windows internally uses GiB despite using the GB label. This is the reason your 500 GB HDD has only 465.66 GiB of actual capacity. smile.gif

As for near future price drops, I don't know. I haven't kept up-to-date on the manufacturer road maps.

This post has been edited by everling: Sep 17 2012, 02:23 PM
everling
post Sep 23 2012, 12:05 AM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Sep 22 2012, 11:45 AM)
btw just want to check out, does frequent scanning AV/malwarebytes will reduce ssd lifespan?
No. Read operations are safe.
everling
post Sep 28 2012, 03:23 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(whitewhite @ Sep 28 2012, 11:14 AM)
May i know is it any problem with this SSD? I'm am still new with SSD >.<
Intel 520 120GB Thanks
Please use ATTO to bench. It is linked in the first post.
everling
post Sep 29 2012, 10:19 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(whitewhite @ Sep 29 2012, 12:18 AM)
here is the benchmark test for my Intel 520 120GB SSD, i just bought it few days ago but sometimes i can't load into the windows dekstop is it any problem with this SSD @.@
Benchmark is fine. Your problem remains unknown.

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 29 2012, 11:30 AM)
I am going to get Samsung 830 128GB but I am still using an old school 775 mobo.

Will SATA II cause a huge impact on speed? hmm.gif
In benchmarking, yes, but in practical usage, not really. SATA version is not a reason to not use SSDs.
everling
post Sep 30 2012, 10:31 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Sep 30 2012, 06:11 PM)
Thanks a lot smile.gif
Which do you guys recommend.
OCZ and Intel is out due to it's price
M4 vs 830 which is a better choice notworthy.gif
As refer to benchmark 830 seem slightly better than M4 and some mentioned Samsung SSD is reliable
I'd recommend the Intel 330 due to price.

QUOTE(whitewhite @ Sep 30 2012, 07:42 PM)
Thank you, so is it my windows software problem??
I do not know. There are a lot of possible causes of failure between a power on to getting to your desktop. Your description of the problem was insufficient to diagnose the problem.

Did you try the SSD optimisation guide? Or perhaps try checking your cables?

QUOTE(jns6888 @ Sep 30 2012, 08:29 PM)
ya,thx u recommend me.
I would like to purchase a ASUS K46cm with i5 3317U notebook,
the techician ask me buy corsair SSD for it ,is abt 480MYR.
but both are now no stock now....
my budget is below 500 for SSD
need to clear to understand abt the SSD different
I would recommend buying the Intel 330 180GB. It should cost less.

QUOTE(Calvin789 @ Sep 30 2012, 08:50 PM)
hi guys..planning to change the hdd of my laptop..since im gonna take dj'ing as my career does ssd load songs faster?
Probably not. HDDs may be slower and less responsive than SSDs, but decent programs should be able to cache the songs appropriately so that you won't feel or hear the delay. But if you are able to comfortably budget for a decent SSD, I would recommend it anyway for the overall improvement, particularly in rebooting your computer and starting up your programs. And perhaps your DJ program would also benefit in some way.
everling
post Oct 2 2012, 05:45 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Oct 2 2012, 03:11 PM)
My m4 is doing fine, should i upgrade it? I check the website it can just update like that right, not like OCZ canot update primary window drive is it? Sorry for the noob question.
This is an OPTIONAL update for any drive in the field. It is only recommended if the end user is experiencing an issue related to the following items.
Do NOT use any other m4 firmware update for your 2.5” SSD such as the 01MG firmware for the mSATA form factor.

Version 010G includes the following changes:
    Improved Trim response time
    Improved power-on-to-ready time (known as POR, or TTR for Time-to-ready)
    Improved resume-time from low power modes, and improved reliability of warm reboot
    Improved power consumption by disabling HIPM (Host Initiated Power Management)

This is not intended to be a performance patch and is only intended if the end user experiences any of the four listed items. If you do not know what they are or you haven't noticed any problem, you probably do not need this update.
everling
post Oct 3 2012, 09:39 PM

3,591 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 3 2012, 08:44 PM)
i curious do u really need that big SSD? I am only using a 60GB SSD the rest i have HD

1TB x 2 and 3TB x 1
SSD allocate for system and some common use apps
It depends on individual needs and whether it is going into a laptop or a desktop. For laptops, you definitely want larger capacity SSDs.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:38 PM