126 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

1024kbps
post Apr 21 2013, 03:51 PM

李素裳
6,015 posts

QUOTE(amazinggrace @ Apr 21 2013, 01:52 PM)
Anyone can recommend a value SLC SSD?
why do you need SLC? i just googled Intel x25e, 32GB SLC SSD, 335 USD, discounted already lol sweat.gif http://www.amazon.com/Intel-X25-E-SATA-Dri...1/dp/B001RLG0GY

Even some of the high end workstation SSD also use MLC mostly
http://www.fusionio.com/products/
Neo|ofGeo
post Apr 21 2013, 05:36 PM

Stop Complaining and Read
3,142 posts

Just wait really,even if you building rig,
use normal hdd as your primary drive first.
Gaming performance wise won't be that affected unless for loading maps like Battlefield 3.

OC4/3
post Apr 21 2013, 07:49 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Apr 21 2013, 12:53 PM)
Never knew that the price could drop so much in a year. ohmy.gif
Well,IT product is like that
SSD price drop very fast but lately the price have shoot up again

Yagami5159
post Apr 21 2013, 11:01 PM

I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS SHIT
1,120 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 21 2013, 08:49 PM)
Well,IT product is like that
SSD price drop very fast but lately the price have shoot up again
All except Plextor, which it drop from RM3xx to RM29x. Still, I'm not quite sure why they're selling that cheap. hmm.gif
calamity88
post Apr 21 2013, 11:28 PM

36 posts

just a question dear Sifus. Is installing windows on SSD just the same as it would on a normal HDD drive? using the boot from cd steps then automated setup by the windows. Just bought a new SSD for my laptop here.
hmwgbworld
post Apr 21 2013, 11:44 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(calamity88 @ Apr 21 2013, 11:28 PM)
just a question dear Sifus. Is installing windows on SSD just the same as it would on a normal HDD drive? using the boot from cd steps then automated setup by the windows. Just bought a new SSD for my laptop here.
Yup, they are just the same for installation of OS.
calamity88
post Apr 22 2013, 12:12 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Apr 21 2013, 11:44 PM)
Yup, they are just the same for installation of OS.
thx!
OC4/3
post Apr 22 2013, 12:19 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Apr 21 2013, 11:01 PM)
All except Plextor, which it drop from RM3xx to RM29x. Still, I'm not quite sure why they're selling that cheap. hmm.gif
Maybe distributor lower margin to penetrate market perhaps??
Can't be reseller selling at very low margin when their margin is low enough
riku2replica
post Apr 22 2013, 10:38 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Apr 21 2013, 11:01 PM)
Have you heard of "Introductory Price"?

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 22 2013, 12:19 AM)
Its a marketing strategy. They have to do it to penetrate the market full of competitors(common brands) like Sandisk, Kingston, Intel, Ocz, G-Skill, OWC, Mushkin, Corsair, and more.
Yagami5159
post Apr 22 2013, 11:03 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Apr 22 2013, 11:38 AM)
Have you heard of "Introductory Price"?
Heard of it but rarely seen it being applied on hardware products.
hmwgbworld
post Apr 22 2013, 11:33 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:03 AM)
Heard of it but rarely seen it being applied on hardware products.
It is very common nowadays since many competitors manufacture/sell same type of hardware.

storm88
post Apr 22 2013, 12:18 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 22 2013, 01:19 AM)
we're requested by disti to sell at the price. It's not a long last price btw laugh.gif
KHOdin
post Apr 22 2013, 12:22 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

so is not worth to get a ssd now ? actually planning to get a intel 335 this week...
OC4/3
post Apr 22 2013, 12:24 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Apr 22 2013, 12:22 PM)
so is not worth to get a ssd now ? actually planning to get a intel 335 this week...
Market wide no stock for Intel 335
Best deal is Plextor now laugh.gif
KHOdin
post Apr 22 2013, 12:38 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

plextor write speed is kinda low ...
what about the price ? it got raised RM50~80? dint remember the price of last year ...
storm88
post Apr 22 2013, 12:49 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Apr 22 2013, 01:38 PM)
what about the price ? it got raised RM50~80? dint remember the price of last year ...
you cant just look at the Sequence write speed comapre to sandforce controller
that's a true speed compare to when Sandforce controller comes into incompressible data, the speed will drop like hell
Yagami5159
post Apr 22 2013, 12:53 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Apr 22 2013, 01:49 PM)
you cant just look at the Sequence write speed comapre to sandforce controller
that's a true speed compare to when Sandforce controller comes into incompressible data, the speed will drop like hell
+1
KHOdin
post Apr 22 2013, 01:18 PM

7 Stars Newbie
2,928 posts

owhh guess i still have much to learn ...what about the price is recommended to get one now or to wait ...? for 240/256 gb ...
Yagami5159
post Apr 22 2013, 02:06 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Apr 22 2013, 02:18 PM)
owhh guess i still have much to learn ...what about the price is recommended to get one now or to wait ...? for 240/256 gb ...
The M5S 128GB for RM295 seems ok to me, same goes to the M5S 256GB...
Performance and realiability seems fine, just need to do some settings in the power option that's all.

But honestly I can't guarantee on this, only time will tell. nod.gif
1024kbps
post Apr 22 2013, 06:21 PM

李素裳
6,015 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Apr 22 2013, 12:38 PM)
Low? Depends on the benchmarking tools used.
user posted imageuser posted image
As you can see, my Kingston SSD performance is already severely degraded(Used for quite long time already), so this comparison might not fair lol.
Too lazy to wipe the drive, going to sell it soon sweat.gif

126 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:08 PM