5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

1024kbps
post Aug 30 2012, 06:25 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Aug 30 2012, 05:09 PM)
Should i use the ASMedia PCIe SATA3 controlleror Sata3 port on Asus P8Z77 pro mobo ? Whats the different n which one better ?
why dont just use the intel native sata ports?
Third party(jmicron/marvel/asmedia ect) sata controller still inferior to native intel/amd chipset sata port, in terms of read/write performance.
third party sata port should be use with optical disk drives, or slow hdd.
1024kbps
post Sep 4 2012, 06:18 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(Isolation @ Sep 4 2012, 03:45 PM)

lol...... 1min+ laugh.gif
This is the answer.

And remember, dun panic..
Err, "SATA2" is not the answer.. if you guys read the post correctly, he changed from IDE mode th AHCI mode, the boot time became slower, and SATA2 port is the answer??
My old Kingston SSD can boot pretty fast too, its SATA2 drive too.

Added on September 4, 2012, 6:27 pm
QUOTE(kwackers @ Sep 4 2012, 11:05 AM)

Any ideas/suggestions?
Try to use AHCI driver from AMD, http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/wind..._windows.aspx#2
your are currently using the default Microsoft AHCI driver.
and check if you have TRIM command enabled, by paste this on the CMD command prompt:
fsutil behavior query disabledeletenotify
IF "DisableDeleteNotify" = 0, Trim is enabled.

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Sep 4 2012, 06:29 PM
1024kbps
post Sep 5 2012, 06:08 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(kwackers @ Sep 5 2012, 07:16 AM)
Thanks for the advice.  I did as you suggested and installed the AMD AHCI driver.  Boot time is back down to ~20 seconds, but when I check Device Manager, no AHCI controller appears there anymore:
As long as your SSD is running on AHCI mode its should be fine,
Is there any "Storage Controller" on the device manager?
Any third party and native SATA controller will only appear under "Storage Controller", iirc.
1024kbps
post Oct 10 2012, 06:52 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Oct 9 2012, 02:54 AM)
there're so many ssd tweaking guides around including TS put in 1st page..
may i know which one is the simplest way and the best?
according to this site
windows 7 and SSD
When Windows 7 detects that you have a properly configured, fast SSD drive, it disables several unnecessary features, including Superfetch, Prefetch, and ReadyBoot. It also disables scheduled defragmentation operations for the SSD, which isn't necessary, and can reduce the usable life of the drive.

so how to properly configure?
some site has fewer steps and some have so many... hmm.gif
If your OS is windows 7, there are only a few tweaks needed, personally im using this http://www.elpamsoft.com/?p=SSD-Tweaker
a few more things are, disable hibernation(can be very large if your system ram capacity is high), and reduce the pagefile size, not disable pagefile.
1024kbps
post Oct 11 2012, 11:55 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Oct 11 2012, 10:27 AM)
ok done install this software..
so which one to tick bro? any recommendation?  icon_rolleyes.gif
You should hovering around the option on the SSD tweaker to see what the options does sweat.gif
The best setting is left everything unticked and disabled tongue.gif
And since hibernation is only useful when you have small ram + hdd, and since SSD greatly accelerated the booting speed, thus its not needed now, read this to figure out how to disable it http://support.microsoft.com/kb/920730
1024kbps
post Oct 17 2012, 12:51 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(alexzai @ Oct 17 2012, 12:42 AM)
Just upgrading from HDD to SSD today, wanna know is my SSD speed is normal or too low? newbie here ps..I'm using Corsair Force 3 120GB Motherboard H77M-D3H Processor Intel i5 3470

Please advise if it's too low or anything i can do about it. Thank you!
That SSD is sandforce based hmm.gif
Try to use ATTO bench instead, and you should use the ACHI driver from intel, not the default AHCI driver from microsoft

Added on October 17, 2012, 12:55 am
QUOTE(MaGNiFiCo @ Oct 16 2012, 10:41 PM)
if u want some faster hard disk for external i suggest just buy an external that supports usb 3.0. that will do i guess
bro 010G quite buggy. u shud just stay with current fw for now smile.gif
Yup yup, can consider these:
http://www.kingston.com/en/usb/personal_business#dthx30
http://www.sandisk.com/products/usb/drives/extreme/
http://www.sony.net/Products/Media/Microva...sm-q/index.html
Kingston one is the fastest, close to SATA 3GB/s speed, and larger capacity like 256GB also available.

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Oct 17 2012, 12:55 AM
1024kbps
post Oct 17 2012, 10:14 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Oct 17 2012, 09:49 PM)
got my samsung 830 128gb today...here is the benchmark i took..and pls give me some advice how to improve it...i feel like it seems low...do i need to install those samsung software? well it does give me a CD but too bad my pc right now has no dvd rom  tongue.gif

Why i got the feeling that, everyone bough a new SSD sure come here to post SSD bench as ask for help?
Sounds like bragging lol doh.gif
If you compare with the benchmark score with the other user here, yours one look already very good,
Can compare the result from here too http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/4520/sams...iew/index5.html
and please install a AHCI driver from Intel if you are using intel mobo, it will improve performance compare to defaul AHCI driver frim microsoft.

The Bundled software probably is disk cloning utility, if you install your OS and software from scratch, you dont need it.
If your OS is windows 7, you dont have to tweak anything iirc, beside disable hibernation and reduce pagefile size?
1024kbps
post Oct 17 2012, 10:35 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Oct 17 2012, 10:24 PM)
erm seriously i am not trying to brag here..before this i have help my fren to setup a new rig with m4 128gb inside...and having his score quite high..higher than mine so i would like to clarify only to make sure my ssd is healthy...i am unsure whether my use of 4 hdd + 1 ssd will bottleneck my sata for my ssd..so would just like some advice only
Just kidding lah tongue.gif
Whats your mobo? 4hdd + 1 ssd will not have performance impact for your SSD, i used all my SATA ports on my AMD mobo, 8 of them, no problem(although my ssd benchmark result are somewhat wierd).
Again, install the intel AHCI driver first, and run benchmark again.
1024kbps
post Oct 17 2012, 11:18 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Oct 17 2012, 10:50 PM)
hmm can i know how do i install the intel AHCI? in my device manager under IDE ATA/ATAPI controller shows Interl® 7 series/C216 Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller....i tried to download the intel sata driver again and has no exe file to execute...so i try to install it from the device manager...by updating the driver above...still same thing...i feel like is already installed the 1st time? btw i am using gigabyte z77x-d3h mobo
Did you tried to restart? if you already install the AHCI driver / intel RST,
on AS SSD it will show "iastor" on the highlighted area, if the intel AHCI driver is enabled,
"msahci" is the default driver from microsoft, its probably the most stable driver for SSD but the performance is not good compare to native one.
1024kbps
post Oct 18 2012, 07:27 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(soultaker @ Oct 18 2012, 02:54 PM)
this question has been asked few times already it this thread. i'm pretty sure you are lazy to reinstall your OS since you are also lazy to find the answer for your question.  tongue.gif

you can clone your disk, but you need to do some tweaking on your windows as some feature will not enable such as TRIM support.. other than than, superfetch & prefetch will not be disable by windows. this only applicable to Windows 7. If you perform clean install of your windows 7, by default once it detect you OS disk is SSD, TRIM support will be enabled. prefetch & superfetch will be disable..

after all it's your choice. good luck.
I cloned my Windows XP and 7 partition too, didnt do clean install as it quite hassle to redownload all the windows update, which is time consuming + slow.
For tweaking, just use SSD Tweaker http://www.elpamsoft.com/?p=SSD-Tweaker
will solve a lot of headache thumbup.gif
1024kbps
post Oct 18 2012, 07:41 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 18 2012, 07:33 PM)
trial / pro u use?
Trial, Pro version will not pop up iirc.
Or if you prefer to tweak the registry manually http://www.overclock.net/t/1133897/windows...-tweaking-guide
tongue.gif
1024kbps
post Oct 19 2012, 12:10 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

+2
The life of SSD depends on the flash type, SLC's life is longer than MLC, but SLC is faster and expensive [1]
P/E cycle, most ssd has 3k of programming/erase cycle, only few of them has 5k, eg the Kingston hyperx ssd, also more expensive, although normal ssd already have longer life unless you put them on server(lot more read/write).
SSD has no mechanical part and you dont have worry bout head crash[2], or mechanical part failure, if you accidentally dropped/kicked your pc/laptop, its a lot better than traditional hdd tongue.gif

Always make a scheduled backup by using your old hdd ect, even though ssd has higher endurance, their chance of failure sometimes is unpredictable.

I remember someone said on Anandtech: "Using ssd but worry bout its life, its like drive a ferrari buy worry bout the gasoline mileage" sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Oct 20 2012, 01:21 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Oct 20 2012, 12:43 AM)
But ouch... mine is a SATA2 and not SATA3 (i7 870 1156 processor). Do these SSDs really use upto 6Gbps bandwidth? Not planning on ditching my mainboard... let my processor 'kaput' as I have OCed it stable at 4GHz...  tongue.gif 

SATA3 device on a SATA2 = runs at SATA2 I bet...
You are correct in the bolded part
The fastest desktop SATA 6GB/s SSD(pcie ssd is different story i think) performance is read 550MByte/s and write 510MByte/s, which is close to SATA 6GB/s (600MBtye per second, according to wikipedia) limit already.
1024kbps
post Oct 23 2012, 11:58 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(volume_power @ Oct 23 2012, 10:55 AM)
was absolutely marvelous.. since the day I bought it the firmware was likely stable..

the poor thing for me is that Im still having my sata 2.0 mobo.. n bought out a PCIE card sata 3.0 slot in to my mobo but still the performance cant be the same as a mobo straightly having sata 3.0 holes..

here's some screenshots..

Overall i think is good already, bettter than change to new mobo just for the sake fully utilize the ssd potential.

third party sata card usually using marvel chip, many high end mobo also using the same thing, basically it has no match for native intel/amd sata 3 controller.
unless you bought the LSI pcie sata 3 card, which prolly will make some difference but its very expensive.
1024kbps
post Oct 24 2012, 01:09 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(volume_power @ Oct 23 2012, 01:41 PM)
Owh I didnt make my studies on LSIs..  I am totally noob lol..  doh.gif 
Any way, how much do they sell for a simple design LSI pcie sata 3 card here?
Well im no pro either, im still learning everyday sweat.gif
LSI is not for average pc user though, http://www.lsi.com/products/storagecompone...SAS9750-4i.aspx
You can check the other HBAs as well, cheapest one is 2xx USD tongue.gif
You may see some improvements on the benchmark but honestly, you can hardly feel any difference in real world scenario.

And honestly, your AS SSD benchmark result are better than mine, even though im using 990X mobo with HyperX SSD doh.gif
1024kbps
post Nov 6 2012, 11:55 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Nov 6 2012, 10:34 AM)
Asking this question on behalf of my brother.

He has been using his old 80GB HDD as OS drive (split into 2 partition, 71GB actual size + 3GB as page file)
typically he use up like only left ~7-8GB free space

what size SSD should he get? prefer to spend as low budget as possible as he know SSD will still have a lot of room to drop. Using SATA III

90GB/96GB = what is cheapest in market?
120/128GB = what is cheapest in market?

main concern here is reliability, price, capacity. Speed is not the concern.
If want cheapest, go for 64gb SATA2 based ssd loh, old hdd use as data and storage drive.
My XP 32bit dont use more than 7GB, and w8 only utilize 16GB currently. Can use NTFS compression to squeeze out more space, but that will increase write to ssd(shorter life span+performance impact) sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Nov 25 2012, 03:42 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Nov 24 2012, 07:25 PM)
hello.. i wanna ask about my prob i got lately.. my pc got BSOD prob.. it happen frequently.. my fren said maybe its caused by my ssd.. is it true? how i can prove it? is it can rma for dat prob?

btw, my ssd is intel 330 120gb.. i do believe de reliability is very good for intel ssd.. maybe its not my luck.. sad.gif
Well, if you want to check your SSD info, try to use CrystalDiskInfo to check the Smart status.
Or run "chkdsk /f" on command prompt, windows will check the bad sectors for you.
if both Smart status shows warning and windows found a bad sectors? back up your data first, although it may be a little too late, and of course RMA it tongue.gif

every pc components have a chance to fail, you can never tell when your pc is going to brick.
1024kbps
post Nov 25 2012, 09:20 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Nov 25 2012, 05:30 PM)
thanx for ur rep bro..already did ur suggestion both...seems no prob at all for my ssd...  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

so de prob not caused by my ssd  rght? but wat others possibilities de prob happened?
Whats your OS? or it could be your cpu degraded since you oc'ed so high tongue.gif
If your PC keep crashing, you should check the windows logs for more info, it records everything that happened to the system.
and make sure to disable automatic reboot when blue screen, so you can find out the BSOD codes code before it reboots.

Sign of bad hdd/ssd are: random blue screen, read/write file extremely slow, the hdd/ssd disappear without warning.
and of course you can see a lot of warning/error related to "disk" appear on the windows log.

1024kbps
post Nov 28 2012, 11:59 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Nov 28 2012, 10:09 AM)
errr....is it possible?? cpu degraded? summore im using WC,the temp not so high.... hmm.gif

btw, how to check window log? where i can find it?
I was just guessing sweat.gif well i never oc'ed intel cpu before. CPU degraded probably means it no longer can maintain stability at the specific voltage, you may need to increase more voltage to make it stable again.
i'd recommend you to play a couple of game/IBT/stress test to see whether if your pc still crash.
faulty psu and ram also can make pc unstable too.

go to "Run" and type eventvwr.msc, you will find the system log under windows logs.

Added on November 28, 2012, 12:02 pm
QUOTE(kronologi88 @ Nov 27 2012, 11:17 PM)
External SSD, where I can find it?
http://www.photofast.tw/products_ExternalSSD.asp ? sweat.gif
not as fast as Sandisk extreme usb thumbdrive/HyperX thumbdrive though. brows.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Nov 28 2012, 12:06 PM
1024kbps
post Nov 29 2012, 12:28 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(toytoybuysell @ Nov 29 2012, 08:48 AM)
USB 3 thumbdrives right??
Yup, but iirc some other SSD already selling at cheaper price, you still can connect the SSD to eSATA port provided your mobo support SATA 6GB/s, but the sata power connector is a bit hassle to connect sweat.gif
some SSD bundle a enclosure(Kingston HyperX SSD upgrade kit for example) to connect your SSD to USB port(no messy wires), but the transfer rat will be stuck at 480MBit/s (60MB/s) doh.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0542sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:29 PM