The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

Yagami5159
post Apr 12 2013, 10:38 PM

I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS SHIT
1,120 posts

Guys, Pros, Sifus, Gurus I need your help! sad.gif

I currently have the cash to buy one SSD but I can't decide which!

These two caught my eyes...
1. Plextor M5S 128GB
2. Crucial M4 128GB

Crucial M4 cost about RM36x with 3 years warranty while Plextor cost about RM29x with 3 years warranty as well...

Reliability and performance wise, which one is better?! yawn.gif

notworthy.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 14 2013, 12:24 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(lonelyhouse @ Apr 14 2013, 01:29 AM)
Plextor's write is quite low compare both?
Plextor using marvell controller, which it's good at reliability, while other SSD like OCZ, Corsair etc using SandForce, which it's good at performance but stability wise....not so much...

You won't notice much difference for both controller in real life ...unless you benchmark all of'em
Yagami5159
post Apr 16 2013, 10:22 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(Porie @ Apr 16 2013, 05:57 AM)
hey guys, want to ask something. I never used an ssd before for my laptop, and thinking of upgrading.

from what I see, plextor m5s is good. what do you guys think of the 240gb version? or getting the 120gb is sufficient enough?
Or purchase 2 M5S 128GB x2, raid 0 it...and enjoy...DAT SPEED! (For PC) nod.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 18 2013, 04:21 PM

1,120 posts

Hello guys,

So I've bought the Plextor M5S few days ago, the installation was fine, same goes to the OS. The speed was good as I expected as well.

But there's slightly some problem which I don't know whether it's the OS or the SSD.
So here's the problem:

1. I left the PC for 30 minutes, when I came back, my PC was completely shut-down without my knowing.
2. After I realized the PC was shut-down, I turned it back on, when it log in to my windows, my whole Window Start Bar froze...the Antivirus and stuff won't load up which made me forced to re-start it. After restart, the problem was gone. But I'm sure it'll be back soon.

Is there anyway to fix these issues? sweat.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 18 2013, 04:40 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Apr 18 2013, 05:27 PM)
i fresh install into my m5s yesterday, face same problem too soon after that

just because i forgot to do this:

The SSD Optimization Guide
http://thessdreview.com/ssd-guides/optimiz...zation-guide-2/

after i did that (not all, only necessary ones), it's smooth sailing thumbup.gif
Thank you for the fast reply,

I'm glad that It can be fixed without RMA it...you said only the necessary one, could you define necessary one? blush.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 19 2013, 08:16 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 19 2013, 02:39 AM)
ehhh, why did you have to do that?

my Intel 330 and Kingston 300 series both need not have me do anything.

Just booted Windows CD and install away just like any other drive.
Like I stated below:
QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Apr 18 2013, 05:21 PM)
Hello guys,

So I've bought the Plextor M5S few days ago, the installation was fine, same goes to the OS. The speed was good as I expected as well.

But there's slightly some problem which I don't know whether it's the OS or the SSD.
So here's the problem:

1. I left the PC for 30 minutes, when I came back, my PC was completely shut-down without my knowing.
2. After I realized the PC was shut-down, I turned it back on, when it log in to my windows, my whole Window Start Bar froze...the Antivirus and stuff won't load up which made me forced to re-start it. After restart, the problem was gone. But I'm sure it'll be back soon.

Is there anyway to fix these issues? sweat.gif
I'm having some problem after the installation, but after the tweaks all is fine...for now. Will update if anything happens.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 19 2013, 03:52 AM)
regarding Sandforce stability - in the past they had issues but now even Intel drives use them.

Here's a good article by Plextor that compares the differences http://shop.plextoramericas.com/blog/2012/...ssd-controller/

*take it with a pinch of salt though. IMO as long as they work, it's fine. I don't think one could actually tell the difference.
As for this...I read the reviews from neweggs, overclockers forum, anandtech, etc...loads of users complained about sandforce controllers for being shitty, even now too. The reason I bought the m5s it's because of the $$$, and I prefer reliability first performance second.
Yagami5159
post Apr 20 2013, 09:44 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 20 2013, 04:01 AM)
i saw your post. your problem is one thing but I'm referring to the URL in which the tweaks required to run well.

my SSD so far all don't need tweaking and run fine.
I saw the M5S but when I was shopping 2 weeks back, went for Kingston for a few reasons

1. disti
2. known brand

furthermore I had no time to research on Plextor.

now the question is - just because they're on OCer forums / anand - are their comments reliable? sometimes it's just n00b users.

both my SSD are Sandforce, no issues. I don't think Intel would go Sandforce on their SSD if it was not reliable to begin with.
I agree with you on reading the other and all but that's the only way to know whether the M5S is either a stable SSD or a piece of dung. There're some reason why I chose M5S over the other brand like OCZ Vertex, Kingston 3k, Crucial M4 and Intel 520.

You may or may not agree, but these are my POVs.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 20 2013, 04:05 AM)
hrm. my machines 24/7 on, no shutdown itself pun. sure not BIOS issue?

those recovery / shutdown are Windows settings. smile.gif that's more like tweak Windows for any drive rather SSD specific, no?
As for this I'm not quite sure all of the tweaks are working, As for now I din't experience any unwanted shut downs any-more, but my SSD are quite slow on terminating my programs while I want to shut-down. But no biggie. I can always click on Force Shut-down tongue.gif

Yagami5159
post Apr 20 2013, 05:22 PM

1,120 posts

Well the pricing are different now...everything went sky high.

That's probably the main reason why I chose Plextor. :\
Yagami5159
post Apr 20 2013, 07:17 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 20 2013, 07:05 PM)
Really thought current pricing now seems cheaper

Used to pay Rm800 for 80gb just a year ++ ago. while now u can get a m5s 128gb for rm299??
IKR, probably due to the floods in Thailand or something. For what I know right now is that never buy new released hardwares. The hardware sellers mostly gonna slit your throat dry.
Yagami5159
post Apr 20 2013, 08:51 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 20 2013, 08:53 PM)
Read below. No idea where u got that idea. Hardwares are actually cheaper compared to previous gen offering. On all aspect.. Cpu, mobo, ram, psu, gc,  only thing unchanged is casing n fans. N hdd has returned to normal levels but externals now are cheaper than ever.
+1
:/ Yeah, silly me. True, most of the 3RD GEN hardwares are indeed cheaper than the previous one, which makes me regret for deciding to build a rig on 2011.

As for the SSD price, I compared between 2012 December and 2013 April, most of the SSD price increased RM4x~8x.
Yagami5159
post Apr 20 2013, 10:52 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 20 2013, 10:35 PM)
y?? it was cheaper than the gen before.

its always getting cheaper.
Er...which part are you implying? That I bought the 2nd GEN Rig or the SSDs?

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Apr 20 2013, 10:40 PM)
yeah.. please compare price per gb plus speed/i/o read write of the drive...
Like Corsair Force 3 for instance, last year a friend of mine bought it for RM38x, but now the price increased to RM450. Which means, it cost about RM3.75/GB, the price were bloody outrageous. mad.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 20 2013, 11:10 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Apr 20 2013, 11:59 PM)
for 128/120 gb the price  are stagnant plus minus RM 50-70 for the last 12 month...look for bigger capacity u will find price are going down per gb.. plus now many SSD come with great reliability great NAND and great controller that give more value to end user.. but dun compare with enterprise standard which still expensive for individual use..
Could you define enterprise standard ? hmm.gif

Apologies for the trouble.

Edit:
Do you mean SSD for company use? blink.gif

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Apr 20 2013, 11:13 PM
Yagami5159
post Apr 21 2013, 01:02 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 21 2013, 12:23 AM)
U do know theres a few force 3 versions right.
no servers etc. not to be define as company. they require long term reliability. todays performance same as tommorows
2 version for each capacity?

CSSD-F120GB3A
CSSD-F120GB3

For what I've heard both of them having some lifespan issue...
Yagami5159
post Apr 21 2013, 12:53 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 21 2013, 12:59 PM)
+1
Q1 Q2 2012 paid RM430 for Intel 320 Series 80GB
BTW congrats for elite tag,just got mine too tongue.gif
Never knew that the price could drop so much in a year. ohmy.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 21 2013, 11:01 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 21 2013, 08:49 PM)
Well,IT product is like that
SSD price drop very fast but lately the price have shoot up again
All except Plextor, which it drop from RM3xx to RM29x. Still, I'm not quite sure why they're selling that cheap. hmm.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 22 2013, 11:03 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Apr 22 2013, 11:38 AM)
Have you heard of "Introductory Price"?
Heard of it but rarely seen it being applied on hardware products.
Yagami5159
post Apr 22 2013, 12:53 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Apr 22 2013, 01:49 PM)
you cant just look at the Sequence write speed comapre to sandforce controller
that's a true speed compare to when Sandforce controller comes into incompressible data, the speed will drop like hell
+1
Yagami5159
post Apr 22 2013, 02:06 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Apr 22 2013, 02:18 PM)
owhh guess i still have much to learn ...what about the price is recommended to get one now or to wait ...? for 240/256 gb ...
The M5S 128GB for RM295 seems ok to me, same goes to the M5S 256GB...
Performance and realiability seems fine, just need to do some settings in the power option that's all.

But honestly I can't guarantee on this, only time will tell. nod.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 23 2013, 08:39 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Apr 23 2013, 09:24 AM)
agree, no need to think so much
just get the best RM/GB ones
+1
But still...research is still reuqired, you don't want to buy a SSD that only last for a week now do ya? nod.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 23 2013, 10:01 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Apr 23 2013, 10:27 AM)
actually we upgrade from hdd because of we want from 40sec to below 10sec boot time...so i think 5 to 10 seconds is kinda big different .which is why im concern about plextor spec itself cant match with others. dint read much review yet but will do soon.
If you excluded the BIOS POS check, you can achive 40ish sec boot time by using a normal HDD (mine's green). As for plextor M5S I managed to made it below 40sec if I disable Non-Gui Boot which also include BIOS POS check (mine takes a hell of time) doh.gif

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 23 2013, 10:54 AM)
however, it has no problem to cold boot below 10 secs with w8 (fast boot turned on in power settings). without fast boot, it's usually around 17 to 18 secs from cold boot.

Sorry if I'm asking a foolish question but...what do you mean by fast boot in power settings?

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Apr 23 2013, 10:09 AM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0611sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:54 AM