The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

hmwgbworld
post Dec 18 2012, 01:35 AM

3,375 posts

Nice Thread. Add me too, Corsair Force 3 120gb.
hmwgbworld
post Mar 5 2013, 03:51 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(siaokia1 @ Mar 5 2013, 10:53 AM)
Actually its called Half Slim. Looks like the below:

I have a made in China tablet which the SDD konk already so need to replace.

It is the mSata ssd. You can check pricelist for it, but it isnt cheap.
hmwgbworld
post Mar 11 2013, 02:11 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(little_orc @ Mar 8 2013, 02:16 PM)
I'm using an old amd mobo gigabyte 890gpa-ud3h now, is this mobo support newer version SSD like samsung 840 pro? I couldn't find any review or details in the gigabyte website:(

Doesn't want to spend another thousand ringgit to upgrade proc + mobo cry.gif
New SSD are still backward compatible. But it will not be fully utilized due to limited bandwidth by sata 3.0gb/s port.
hmwgbworld
post Mar 11 2013, 07:08 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 11 2013, 06:26 PM)
Look what we just got for the LYN servers brows.gif

Looks like LYN is growing way too fast, so new ssd are needed cool2.gif cool2.gif
The speed u need, SSD.
Rawr laugh.gif

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Mar 11 2013, 07:08 PM
hmwgbworld
post Mar 12 2013, 10:01 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Mar 12 2013, 09:52 PM)
Anyone can recommend me a good performance SSD for buget below RM500?
Try Intel 520 SSD 120gb RM419.
hmwgbworld
post Mar 12 2013, 11:58 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Kidz1995 @ Mar 12 2013, 11:12 PM)
what's the biggest difference between 320 series?
320 series is older gen that is slower speed.
Where 520 series is newer and upgraded version with 5 years warranty and better speed.
hmwgbworld
post Mar 13 2013, 10:59 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(deadmeat2012 @ Mar 13 2013, 10:51 PM)
what is the cheapest 500+ gb ssd out there now ?
Crucial M4 512gb RM1279 i guess.
hmwgbworld
post Mar 27 2013, 07:15 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Mar 27 2013, 04:11 PM)
err...any idea how fast can i boot up my pc if i add ssd to my rig?
currently it takes like 1min+ after i installed many things on it, used to be less than 1 min when i first formatted it..
There's a simple tip to reduce the boot time slightly by canceling most of the startup programs and some services.
1. Click Window logo icon
2. type "msconfig"
3. click services
4. click hide all microsoft services
5. manually disable some the services that not in use (if unsure, just dun bother it and skip to the next step)
6. click startup and disable those programs that u dun want them to load in starting window.
hmwgbworld
post Mar 27 2013, 08:34 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Mar 27 2013, 07:37 PM)
seriously?  shocking.gif
size doesn't matter right? just the speed.. if say i just install os and some software i always use in ssd, others i rarely use i put in hdd
so i get ssd that's less than 100gb (cant afford too big de..), will i still get the same boot time?

haha, only managed to stop 2 programs..
Hope that might help you for the moment before getting a ssd brows.gif .

Well the speed of ssd less than 10 sec i seriously doubt too.
My boot time is only around 30sec, from the moment of pressing power button till I see my window with everything loaded.
all ssd size at 2.5" mostly, except msata.
As long as u dont get old gen ssd then the speed will be significantly faster than HDD.

hmwgbworld
post Mar 29 2013, 12:14 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Tsuki91 @ Mar 29 2013, 12:10 AM)
This will be my 1st time getting an SSD for my desktop rig. I'm looking for something that have a capacity of 128GB & below the RM400 price limit. help is much appreciated >.<
Quite lot of choices available:

Intel 330 120gb RM369 or 180gb RM409 drool.gif
Crucial M4 128gb RM354
Plextor M5S 128gb RM359
Kingston HyperX 120gb RM369
hmwgbworld
post Apr 7 2013, 02:25 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Apr 7 2013, 01:40 AM)
Owh. sorry i am new to SSD family. so which BIOS is fastest for your knowledge? I don't feel much difference of the SSD when comparing to HDD....@.@ so how long you took?

How you manage your SSD? pure window on the SSD? how about those application software like adobe reader, intel stuff, graphic card tuner, motherboard tuner those stuffs? if I install frequently played games like dota2 on SSD, it will load faster?

How to optimize SSD and prolong its life?
OS, essential drivers and programs installed in SSD. Games/other applications u may install on ssd if it got many free space and u want the games load faster.
hmwgbworld
post Apr 7 2013, 03:06 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ Apr 7 2013, 02:58 AM)
Regarding the categories: user, libraries (documents, music, pictures, videos) is under C: drive also right...

Haha, game can load faster but with baka internet connection is useless also  laugh.gif

In singapore, you can get 50 Meg - 100 meg (forgot the exact amount) with the price of 5 Meg after currency conversion in Malaysia.  doh.gif
Yup those sub folders are under OS drive once u done the window installation. I don't bother using them because it is confusing for me. I try make as simple as possible with less folders and differentiate files clearly.
True that internet speed is terrible and and unstable sometimes. Every month saw the streamyx bill is headache to pay it doh.gif .
hmwgbworld
post Apr 13 2013, 07:46 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 13 2013, 07:13 PM)
Err for hardware,Low Yat pricing during PC Fair period=PC Fair price one
PC Fair only good for small goodies like thumbdrive etc
For hardware,NO
PC Fair= sweat.gif
Go there peep at girl better than to spend money
That also if you can tahan the crowd
Lol true, most of the time going to a pc fair just for sight-seeing and survey some hardware currency price. And lastly, showgirls tongue.gif .
hmwgbworld
post Apr 21 2013, 11:44 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(calamity88 @ Apr 21 2013, 11:28 PM)
just a question dear Sifus. Is installing windows on SSD just the same as it would on a normal HDD drive? using the boot from cd steps then automated setup by the windows. Just bought a new SSD for my laptop here.
Yup, they are just the same for installation of OS.
hmwgbworld
post Apr 22 2013, 11:33 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Apr 22 2013, 11:03 AM)
Heard of it but rarely seen it being applied on hardware products.
It is very common nowadays since many competitors manufacture/sell same type of hardware.

hmwgbworld
post Apr 26 2013, 12:34 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ Apr 26 2013, 11:47 AM)
for 250 GB range SSD, which is the most bang for buck?
Try Intel 335 SSD 240gb RM569, price taken from viewnet.
hmwgbworld
post Apr 30 2013, 09:21 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(nicholaswen @ Apr 30 2013, 02:46 PM)
now is which brand of SSD CHEAP AND GOOD??
Depends on capacity of SSD. Cheapest so far on the market maybe:
Plextor M5S 128gb RM299
hmwgbworld
post Apr 30 2013, 11:11 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Apr 30 2013, 11:08 PM)
I download a buttlots of data ( games , movie & shits).
'm using SSD as my C: drive. so, all my temporary files(win,IDM & browers) in there.
You can try set the directory of your download client to your HDD drive, this may help I think because I'm downloading like 2gb of files everyday too.
hmwgbworld
post Apr 30 2013, 11:14 PM

3,375 posts

Yup SSD for only OS, temp files and important programs, but I'm not sure if this helps or not. In theoretically, reduce the write data into the ssd can prolong its life.
hmwgbworld
post Apr 30 2013, 11:17 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Apr 30 2013, 11:15 PM)
sweat.gif
me 'bout 10gb per day of downloaded data( streaming & downloads)
10gb is really big lol, I guess my usage cant reach that high due to slow internet speed here.
However, 2gb average is only my download client. Streaming and other temp download files like document are not counted.

0.0528sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:21 AM