Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com

funnybone
post Jan 7 2013, 04:15 PM

1,040 posts

QUOTE(Orbituary @ Jan 7 2013, 04:11 PM)
Yea, i agreed, why need to pump so much till almost overflow.. unless u know the petrol price gonna raise up very badly..thats also can enjoy 1 tank.. so, wats the point...

but maybe some will say bcos of the petrol brand that they prefer or force to use selected brand like me due to using company petrol.. i am lucky bcos 1 full tank ngam ngam enuff for me to travel for 5 days.. most importantly.. organised your time properly.. Cheers!
I agree to this. Its quite difficult to gauge how much more to pump after the click. I pump every weekend to get the 5X points for Maybank AMEX Card brows.gif . Usually every weekend there will always be half tank full still, maybe this will be different for certain individuals. But I guess petrol stations are everywhere even outstation brows.gif

This post has been edited by funnybone: Jan 7 2013, 04:16 PM
flex3x
post Jan 7 2013, 04:32 PM

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Jan 7 2013, 03:40 PM)
It is not advisable to pump again after the first click, I read somewhere in the past as after the first click, all subsequent fuel is not enter again into our gas tank.
I can't remembered from where I read the article but if I found it later I'll post again.  biggrin.gif
yes..this article got came out from FB link also..very long time ago d smile.gif
streamer2005
post Jan 7 2013, 05:30 PM

17 posts

Hi.. my fuel cap does not open when I press the button from my front driver's door. everytime need to use the lever inside the boot to open. anybody has any quick fix??
cybermaster98
post Jan 7 2013, 05:35 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Orbituary @ Jan 7 2013, 04:11 PM)
Yea, i agreed, why need to pump so much till almost overflow.. unless u know the petrol price gonna raise up very badly..thats also can enjoy 1 tank.. so, wats the point...

but maybe some will say bcos of the petrol brand that they prefer or force to use selected brand like me due to using company petrol.. i am lucky bcos 1 full tank ngam ngam enuff for me to travel for 5 days.. most importantly.. organised your time properly.. Cheers!
I always pump max cuz i drive alot (1800km per month) so i wanna reduce the number of times i stop to fill up.
Orbituary
post Jan 7 2013, 05:57 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 7 2013, 05:35 PM)
I always pump max cuz i drive alot (1800km per month) so i wanna reduce the number of times i stop to fill up.
bro, 1.8k permonth consider ok la..mine almost 4k per month.. did my first service on 1st week of oct..and today my mileage is about to reach 10500km liao.. lucky i got company petrol card.. so, i still drive with heavy foot + PB... hehe

This post has been edited by Orbituary: Jan 8 2013, 10:34 AM
Orbituary
post Jan 7 2013, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(streamer2005 @ Jan 7 2013, 05:30 PM)
Hi.. my fuel cap does not open when I press the button from my front driver's door.  everytime need to use the lever inside the boot to open. anybody has any quick fix??
i realised somrtime it doest open too.. i heard someone mentioned about during last TT.. press the fuel button b4 you shutdown your engine... maybe the fuel opener is control electrically.. anyone can confirm this?
FlyWheel
post Jan 7 2013, 06:16 PM

QUOTE(Orbituary @ Jan 7 2013, 05:57 PM)
bro, 1.8k permonth consider ok la..mine almost 4k per month.. didnt my first server on 1st week of oct..and today my mileage is about to reach 10500km liao.. lucky i got company petrol card.. so, i still drive with heavy foot + PB... hehe
So envy you has a good job bro! tongue.gif

I didn't pump to full each time, and I didn't have any pattern like every time have to wait until the last bar, sometimes even left two or three bars and I just happened to pass by a petrol station I will pump petrol, sometimes pump $100+, sometimes $90+, sometimes $110+ and sometimes even $80+.
But, as I didn't travel a lot so in overall when I total sum all the petrol bills I collected and average fuel consumption for my K5 is only at ±RM250/month. tongue.gif
pSykhotic
post Jan 7 2013, 06:22 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Orbituary @ Jan 7 2013, 05:59 PM)
i realised somrtime it doest open too.. i heard someone mentioned about during last TT.. press the fuel button b4 you shutdown your engine... maybe the fuel opener is control electrically.. anyone can confirm this?
I don't think so. I think I always kill the engine first, before I press that fuel access button on the door.
FlyWheel
post Jan 7 2013, 06:29 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 7 2013, 05:35 PM)
Bro, pls check the link below :

http://www.drivearabia.com/news/2010/09/13...or-your-wallet/

and please pay more attention to the below sentence :
[ Modern petrol station pumps are equipped with vapour recovery systems that feed back gasoline vapours into their own tanks to prevent vapours from escaping into the air and contributing to air pollution. Any additional petrol you try to pump into your tank may be drawn into the vapour line and fed back into the station’s storage tanks.]

You might end up paying more for nothing, pls check carefully with our petrol station as our system might not be the same as theirs as in the articles. biggrin.gif

jimz97
post Jan 7 2013, 06:41 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(bUGG @ Jan 5 2013, 10:43 AM)
I think u have to check with your regular petrol station. Definitely is not 82L.

Yesterday, my K5 show warning sign of petrol finishing "Distance to Empty is 50km" I remembered read your comment mentioning K5 tank is 82L. With my driving style, "AVG Fuel Economy" not more than 10L/100km, meaning rough estimation, at least I can still drive additional 50+100km "MINIMUM". So I actually drove the 50km and additional 31km and my car stalled. Luckyly it stalled 100m away from my house. I ran home, took my wife's car to buy 4L petrol. Fill up my K5 with the 4L petrol I bought. Is not easy to pour petrol into our K5, and I think I wasted about 1L of petrol. And after that, I quickly drove to petrol station, and I only manage to pump in 67L of petrol. So total together is about 70L.

So conclusion, K5 is 70L as stated in the brocure, and not 82L as u mention. Even though we force in, max another 2L....

Just to share my experience.
I always wanted to try how far it goes after fuel blinking, luckily not otherwise I got to get my bicycle to buy the extra fuel. (only 1 car at home). Anyway, thanks for sharing and it really light up my day after long work..certainly will share this 'joke' to my mates....take care.
TSbUGG
post Jan 7 2013, 07:35 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 7 2013, 01:57 PM)
Yes i guessed as much. You need to continue pumping. The K5 fuel tank is different from other cars. It has a longer 'neck'. From the first click, you can easily pump in another RM20 before its really full. Thats a good 10L more. That's how i got my max 82L.  biggrin.gif
WHAT!!! RM20 more? doh.gif I am speechless. I rest my case. oops.gif
FlyWheel
post Jan 7 2013, 09:37 PM

Hey guys, I just realized that our K5 door panel has a red color light which is just under the speaker ( the lights above the map/bottle holders ) BUT it doesn't light up each time when I open the door or close it, anyone know is the light supposed to light up or not supposed to ? hmm.gif
seongmeng
post Jan 7 2013, 09:42 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Jan 7 2013, 09:37 PM)
Hey guys, I just realized that our K5 door panel has a red color light which is just under the speaker ( the lights above the map/bottle holders ) BUT it doesn't light up each time when I open the door or close it, anyone know is the light supposed to light up or not supposed to ?  hmm.gif
yes, it always has this light on, not only open the door, even the door is closed, check the brochure
TSbUGG
post Jan 7 2013, 09:48 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Jan 7 2013, 09:37 PM)
Hey guys, I just realized that our K5 door panel has a red color light which is just under the speaker ( the lights above the map/bottle holders ) BUT it doesn't light up each time when I open the door or close it, anyone know is the light supposed to light up or not supposed to ?  hmm.gif
Only when is at "START" position... in other words... when engine start.
FlyWheel
post Jan 7 2013, 09:51 PM

QUOTE(bUGG @ Jan 7 2013, 09:48 PM)
Only when is at "START" position... in other words... when engine start.
If so, then I think mine is not function, got to send to SC... sad.gif
TSbUGG
post Jan 7 2013, 09:56 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Jan 7 2013, 09:51 PM)
If so, then I think mine is not function, got to send to SC...  sad.gif
is actually functioning, is too dim which normally u wont see it...try putting your hand right under the light... u will be able to see the light
FlyWheel
post Jan 7 2013, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Jan 7 2013, 09:51 PM)
If so, then I think mine is not function, got to send to SC...  sad.gif
Oops! Just check again closely, I found the light is on BUT the brightness level is very low, when I move my hand under the speaker I can see my hand turn red ( as the red light on it ) but really hardly see it if not placed my hand under it. Is this normal that the brightness level that low ? hmm.gif
FlyWheel
post Jan 7 2013, 10:00 PM

QUOTE(bUGG @ Jan 7 2013, 09:56 PM)
is actually functioning, is too dim which normally u wont see it...try putting your hand right under the light... u will be able to see the light
Ya! You were right, it is like that ! tongue.gif
FlyWheel
post Jan 7 2013, 10:10 PM

QUOTE(pSykhotic @ Jan 7 2013, 06:22 PM)
I don't think so. I think I always kill the engine first, before I press that fuel access button on the door.
Yes, correct! It function even when the engine is off. tongue.gif
maddriver
post Jan 8 2013, 12:48 AM

the madman!
1,160 posts

for those of you who want to take part in a grassroots motorsports event for almost next to no cost, pls click on the link below...

speedfest.my's first event

161 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:02 PM